Kakegurui××
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Kakegurui 2nd Season, Kakegurui: Compulsive Gambler 2nd Season
Japanese: 賭ケグルイ××

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2019 to Mar 27, 2019
Premiered: Winter 2019
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 02:30 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Manga
Genres: DramaDrama, GameGame, MysteryMystery, PsychologicalPsychological, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.421 (scored by 9907499,074 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #18812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #491
Members: 222,216
Favorites: 753

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 27, 2019
AndoCommando (All reviews)
“When it comes to gambling, there’s always a risk involved.” – No one in particular, FACTS and LOGIC speak for themselves here.

Gambling is a concept we should all be able to relate to. Maybe not as the premise of a series or with having ever put one's own money on the line, but wagers are constantly made in our own minds regarding quality when a new show comes around. A mere glance at the seasonal lineup will inevitably lead to first impressions being made despite how little is known about an anime. But make no mistake, this is to our advantage no matter where in read more
Jan 29, 2019
Johan_Liebert_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
"What is life, if not a Gamble?" - F.E. Higgings

You should do all kinds of things in your life, go on an adventure, waste your time on a crazy idea that you know is not gonna succeed but do it anyway because your mind desires it. But, if there's one thing you must not do is to waste your time on this piece of trash.

Plot: 2/10

This has to be one of the most banal anime I've ever seen. The story, whatever it is, revolves around a crazy compulsive gambler named Jabami Yumeko who transfers to (insert generic Japanese High School Name here) and gambles read more
Mar 27, 2019
forster82 (All reviews)
SHORT SPOILER FREE REVIEW!

I personally found the first season of Kakegurui quite enjoyable, and I also enjoyed this season, but in the end, both seasons are basically the exact same thing and follow the exact same concept. If you are expecting something different and unique for this season, I'm afraid you might end up disappointed. Kakegurui is all about gambling, nothing more and nothing less. I'm a huge fan of gambling, and seeing an anime all about gambling is something I personally quite interesting, but even if you aren't a fan of gambling, this second season of Kakegurui has some pretty fun moments.

I gotta admit read more
Jan 30, 2019
vndb (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you think that this anime will carry a normal school theme. Have you ever thought that living in a school with gambling certainly doesn't think right? But this really happened, tells of a transfer student named Jabami Yumeko who moved to school in mid-semester.

Now that Kakegurui already has two series, the first series only focuses on character recognition while in the second series they focus more on the excitement of the story, as positive about this series, we have the character of chemistry and tense plots. This story is interesting and mysterious, but has a stain that enhances character interaction and links the audience read more
Mar 27, 2019
KatsutoSaki (All reviews)
Ever thought of taking a risk, a risk that’d even put your freedom, life into jeopardy just for the sake of THRILL? Well, anyone who’s sane enough wouldn’t do such a thing, that’s what the majority of people would think/say. BUT what if the word sanity itself didn’t exist among the most privileged/rich/ruling families of the world? And everything was just decided on a single game of chance?

Kakegurui features a similar setting in the form of a unique school that prepares its students for such upcoming reality they’d face in their world, that is gambling, while also teaching basic education like normal schools.

However, read more
Jan 29, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
“You are an idiot! Did you see what this idiot just did?!” — Phil Hellmuth

Nothing will ever come close to the hilarity of a Phil Hellmuth tirade, but watching several hawt women gamble their clothes away….wait, they’re not playing strip poker?…Mother F—ker!!! Eh, I’m here anyway, might as well finish the review.

Kakegurui×× — get your cocks ready for the ××× version, ya f—king compulsive dick touchers — is a show about compulsive gamblers who gamble compulsively in a moderately compulsive manner. By employing unique games (gambles, if you will) in each episode, it forces the viewer to engage the strategic portion of read more
Mar 28, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
GAMBLING ECSTASY CONTINUES...

So with the retconed first season's final episode, we continue on with Yumeko Jabami's gambling journey, but with the stakes even higher and a new threat that disrupts Hyakkaou Private Academy's student council, the Momobami clan. The price?, the throne to the whole school and everyone is vying for that spot....with Yumeko just wanting to gamble more of course.

The Momobami clan's inclusion to this second season does change this up a bit especially for the previously "fallen" student council members as they have a chance to redeem themselves to Kirari. So because of the Mombami clan, Kirari setup a voting election, but the read more
Jan 30, 2019
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
Preliminary
Thanks MAL for removing this at first btw 🙂

Orgasms and gambling, can't ask for much more lol

Art/Sound:
Once more, just like in my Dororo review, studio MAPPA is in control of kakegurui and thus it delivers exceptionally in the visual and sound departments! The tracks and voice acting are great; fitting the second season although I deeply miss the old OP! Orgasmic visuals (literally) are still present with tremendous facial details especially in "psychotic" moments, however it's general fluidity could use some improvement! I'd give both sound and art an 8/10!

Plot/Characters:
Alright, I'm not going to shit on the plot too much as the show isn't about read more
Jan 30, 2019
Lolonze_Rblx (All reviews)
Preliminary
may contain spoilers

All im going to say is... If you liked first season you are gonna like this one as well. Nothing much changed really. pretty much all of it stayed the same. Yumekos hunger for gambling looks worse than ever! You hate people that think way too much about anime? So do i. i dont like writing anything special so there is that.

Story: 7/10
plot was never the strongest side of Kakegurui. Still i think there is nothing to complain about since most people watch it because how entertaining it is.

Art: 8/10
Art looks way better than in season one imo! read more
Apr 5, 2019
GDrank (All reviews)
I was off-handedly recommended this show last season and it quickly became one of my favorite series. Each gamble is an exquisite test of adaptability, awareness and psychological warfare punctuated by feverish lust and unexpectedly tender emotion. Its episodic nature is used to even better effect in this season. I never thought I could get so gutted by an idol episode but there you have it. OP and ED are absolute 10/10s.

But it's the characters that shine the most. Yumeko's perfect countenance is disfigured as you're slowly exposed to how actually crazy she might be. Mary is a sublime foil to her, cruel where read more
Mar 29, 2019
Honokadere (All reviews)
I feel as if this is my time to talk about Kakegurui××, now it's finished airing and I've finished watching. Kakegurui as a series will always remain a 6-7 / 10 for me. I mean, I knew what was going to happen this season in Kakegurui×× because of the manga regardless; but it just never does enough for me, and personally the problem is pretty simple:

Way too many insignificant characters --> no development.

There are so many characters, a lot of which basically have one gambling session with Yumeko and then are shown no attention from then on. A character is thrown into the story, inevitably read more
Apr 3, 2019
Redstern (All reviews)
I watched the first season and really enjoyed it, but this season was nowhere near as good. If I could sum up my feelings in one word, it would be boring.

I'll start with a positive note. The art is the same as before, so if you liked the super detailed, intense facial expressions, and the deep, glaring, crazy eyes, those are still here. However what's not still here is the intense situations to go along with them.

In the first season, each game had real, devastatingly high stakes, and seeing the pure sadism from those involved was fantastic. However, that is missing read more
Mar 3, 2019
DoomRanger (All reviews)
Preliminary
I never expected a season 2 for Kakegurui to be honest but I’m glad there is one!

Kakegurui is what I’d call the epitome of expecting the unexpected. Well, that phrase itself contradicts its own meaning of course and Kakegurui perfectly fits the phrase.

Why does the phrase contradict? Well simply because expecting the unexpected would make the unexpected expected and basically the phrase itself throws you into a loop until the outcome is revealed.

Such is with Kakegurui. In the elite school, gambling is everything and losing a gamble can mean losing your life. Nothing matters anymore if you lose a large bet. What defines ‘large’?

Large can read more
Jan 30, 2019
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
Preliminary
It is easy to call this season more of the same. If you liked the first season this is just more of it, so eat it up.
If you were to pick out a difference it would be the motivations of those outside of the main characters
The plot has become about the seat of student council president being up for grabs and the votes being able to be gambled.
In theory, whoever has the most votes become president. And the position of president matters because...(spoiler) Reasons.

Also to keep things interesting they added more high ranking characters that are as sadistic as everyone else. That may be exaggerating, read more
Mar 30, 2019
ajaxdin (All reviews)
There are 3 major issues with Kakeuguri Season 2:
A:Most uninteresting gang of antagonists I have ever seen.
B:Irrelevant story
C:absurd of amount of plot armor on everyone

Starting with A:
Everything up until ending , Season 1 of Kakegurui was great, Show was new so You didn't know how far it would push gambling, characters were absolutely freaky, girl obsessed with human nails, Revolver lady, the idol, The president. Even if the they were not most developed characters, it was fun to watch them fall.
Now welcome to season 2, please choose between these amazing cast of villains: A edgy looking lady, edgy looking lady read more
Feb 14, 2019
SerhaTR0483-2 (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Money often costs too much." -Ralph Waldo Emerson

Story: 1
I gived 1 because is one big reason and too much little reasons. Big reason is: Jabami played every person in president's team, in 1st season. We all thought "OH İTS FİNALLY ENDED NOW COME ON BİG FİSH". And you know what's happened? MORE girl appeared as a rival! (with a shitty reason) And we turned again that meaningless gamble sh*t. Bravo! That's absolutely what we wanted!
Little reasons: >There is no teacher. How they will catch 2019's world with that education program?? Lol.
>Every episode is almost same as one before.
>There is even no read more
Apr 7, 2019
spacecraft555 (All reviews)
TL;DR Review

Kakegurui xx, is a good anime, but a terrible gambling anime. Season two of "Compulsive Gambler" has the same problem with season one. Yumeko... Never... Loses... She never does. This is one problem in the anime where every single gamble is an all in; because the anime would have no where to go if she loses her life, the Kakegurui xx makes it so that she never loses. Another problem in this anime is that the so called "gambles" aren't even real gambles. When you think of gambling, you think of poker, roulette, and maybe even RUSSIAN roulette. However, gambling in Kakegurui xx is read more
Mar 29, 2019
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
Gambling dasuki..............SAAAAA, SAAAAA, SAAAAAAA gamble DAYOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!

Oh shut your pie hole, Yumeko....ok so this is basically a repost since I just not happy as to how I did my review, and SOB, it only has 1 helpful hit. SHIT! So what we have here was the sequel of the previous "Kakeguri" anime, but unlike the previous season , this one adds an original anime character who goes by the name Rie Batsubami , who is called a "livestock" by the Momobami clan and lives the life of a servant, so basically I just don't know as to how her being an original anime character read more
Mar 28, 2019
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Honestly, the one thing that I'm more concerned about in this school more than anything is the validity of any kind of teacher or authority figure that's in this school.  Because there are none of them, and this place is run on what's essentially pure chaos.

Story:

Following the explosive introduction of Jabami Yumeko at Hyakkaou Private Academy, the story in this season begins with the student council president opening up elections for the position of student council president, which in this school means that you're the dictator of this entire educational establishment where everyone's vote is counted as a single betting chip to gamble. (Not that read more
Mar 1, 2019
Di-Ansatsu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kakegurui xx : Electric Boogaloo

Remember the first season of Kakegurui ? Sure it was no masterpiece by any means but it was a fun, stupid, crazy anime full of over the top characters, Jabami Yumeko was fun and they turned Mary into an interesting secondary character. In short, and despite being a bit repetitive at times at having some disappointing moments, it was good. Basically, the complete opposite of season 2.

Why season 2 sucks so bad ?

- First, 90 % of the first eight episodes (yes I’m dropping this crap before the end, sorry) is just a rehash of the first season. Without the originality. Or the fun. Or read more