Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Boogiepop wa Warawanai


Alternative Titles

English: Boogiepop Phantom
Synonyms: Boogiepop Never Laughs, Boogiepop Doesn't Laugh
Japanese: ブギーポップは笑わない Boogiepop Phantom

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 5, 2000 to Mar 22, 2000
Premiered: Winter 2000
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:45 (JST)
Producers: VAP, d-rights
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Light novel
Genres: PsychologicalPsychological, SupernaturalSupernatural, DementiaDementia, MysteryMystery, DramaDrama, HorrorHorror
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.201 (scored by 2090420,904 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #29642
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1395
Members: 77,573
Favorites: 657

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 19, 2008
Beatnik (All reviews)
If David Lynch's son grew up in Japan and became a filmmaker like his father, and if his brain had a mouth, it would vomit Boogiepop Phantom onto our screens.

Peppered with some of the best sound editing I've ever heard in an anime, this montage of scarred urbanites and neo-humans colliding into each other violently is the forbearer for anime hits like Baccano. Boogiepop Phantom began the light novel trend in Japan and has spanned multiple mediums to tell this fractured story of an urban legend stalking the streets of urban Japan dispatching creeps who feed on cute school kids.

I could go more into read more
Mar 28, 2018
AestheticOnion (All reviews)
With the new “Boogiepop” adaptation recently being announced, I decided to revisit the old one, hoping the sudden news might finally give this hidden gem the recognition it deserves. Boogiepop Phantom is Madhouse's semi-adaptation of the on-going self-titled novel series from 1998, particularly the second and the third volume of the series, "Boogiepop and Others" and "Boogiepop at Dawn." It was released at the beginning of the year 2000, following the wave of deep, complex and esoteric shows filled with dark character drama that emerged as a magnitude response to Neon Genesis Evangelion's deep impact on the entire genre. Unfortunately, even though Boogiepop was a read more
Jul 21, 2009
Lordcrab86 (All reviews)
If I were to describe Boogiepop Phantom in 5 words or less, it would be: dark, atmospheric, strange, confusing, and more importantly, outstanding. So what makes this show outstanding? Well that's where this review comes in handy ; ).

First off, Boogiepop is a horror anime, pretty much like Elfen Lied and Higurashi no Naku Koro ni and all three shows also have a few similarities: blood, gory violence, very disturbing, great art and animation, and a dive into the human psyche. But then again, there are the differences between the three and what makes Boogiepop different from the other two is also what makes it read more
Jan 24, 2015
Mikochondria (All reviews)
Dementia is one of the rarest genres when it comes to TV anime. There are currently only 3 of them listed on MAL: Neon Genesis Evangelion, Serial Experiments Lain and Boogiepop Phantom. Most anime watchers have probably heard of the first two countless of times while Boogiepop does not get the same amount of recognition. So why is Boogiepop not considered a classic as well?

Let's start with the story. Boogiepop has an episodic and non-linear structure that works surprisingly well. Each episode focuses on one character and a theme related to said character. Some episodes move the plot forward more than others, but each of read more
Jan 4, 2019
literaturenerd (All reviews)
It's now 2019 and I'll start the year out with reviewing something... challenging.


I was thinking about taking it easy and just gushing praise on Space Brothers or Mononoke or Kino's Journey. However, I don't have much to say on those series that hasn't already been said many times before. Those series are great and most people here on MAL are already aware of that. Instead, I'll be looking at an overlooked little title called Boogiepop Phantom. This series has a lot of stuff going for it, but can still be very frustrating.

Boogiepop Phantom was adapted from a longrunning series of light novels, but this read more
Sep 22, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
Cerebral, visceral, and downright disturbing, Boogiepop Phantom is a terrific non-linear mind screw. Using resources often left untapped in most other anime, Boogiepop sets itself apart in multiple technical aspects to highlight a furious blend of the paranormal and the severe flaws of Japanese society.

The story stays taut throughout, never afraid to throw in a new disturbing twist to keep up the gripping suspense. But its real strength is its odd narrative. Boogiepop is told by handing off the perspective to a new character every episode. Each character reflects either a disturbing paranormal trait or highlights one of the flaws of the conformist attitude of read more
Dec 19, 2007
bobide (All reviews)
Boggiepop Phantom is a dark spooky anime about the paranormal. At only 12 episodes it packs in quite a dose of dizzying plot connections and things that not only make you scratch your head they'll have you freaking out. Generally each episode focuses on a certain character and goes through their story. Each episode is not the next part of the time line. Things are mixed up and thrown around. Scenes introduced many times from many views. This is great as it keeps the mystery going but also gives the answers, that is if you're able to follow along.

Good story aside, let me talk about read more
Mar 29, 2015
Shioxus (All reviews)
As the anime industry evolves, some things are inevitable. Great directors pass on, the public's tastes change, and the wellspring of originality runs drier and drier.

When studios need to release something, but can't come up with ideas, one of two things happen. They either look at what's selling and create something that they think will pacify the masses, at the cost of new and interesting concepts.
Or, they decide to adapt something popular from another form of media and hope for the best.

Adaptations can range from good to bad depending on a variety of factors. The loyalty to the source material, the director/studio in read more
Nov 19, 2012
mahoganycow (All reviews)
As I watched the fifth episode of Boogiepop Phantom, a friend walked by my desk and politely asked what show I was watching. I said "Boogiepop Phantom" (which is a decidedly strange title, even by anime standards). He said "huh?" and I repeated the title. He gave me a quizzical look and asked what it was "about." I answered as honestly as possible, as I always do, and the answer I gave (minus some colorful language) was: "I don't have a clue."

And I don't think I'm the first. Judging by the release date, I think it's safe to say that this series has been baffling read more
Jun 28, 2010
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
Dark, creepy, and infused with an atmosphere so dense you can cut it with a knife, "Boogiepop Phantom" stands out as a unique viewing experience of the WTF genre that contrasts starkly against almost every other anime out there.

My first reaction (along with most other people's probably) was "WTF is this?!" (a sure sign that an anime from this genre is doing it right) But after a couple of episodes, I found I could start forming some connections and get a vague idea of what was going on. Because of the complicated story and non-linear story telling method, "Boogiepop Phantom" is a show that can read more
Jan 14, 2013
SchrodingersMatt (All reviews)
Five years ago, a series of terrifying murders took place across an unnamed city in Japan, forever changing the lives of two young girls. In the present day, rumors begin to arise of a mysterious entity known as Boogiepop. No one knows who or what she really is, or even if she exists at all, only that if you meet her in the night you will be taken away. One night, all the power in the city goes out, and a mysterious column of light rises to the heavens, changing a few people's lives throughout the city in an instant. There's a speech-impaired girl who read more
Mar 21, 2016
plisetskytrash (All reviews)
I just finished watching Boogiepop Phantom and honestly I have no idea what I have just watched. And it is not because the plot is too complex or because there are too many different points of view of various supporting characters who are all troubled or because of constant change of time and location. It’s because some parts of the storyline are missing. Some people say Boogiepop Phantom is like a puzzle. You only need to watch carefully and put all pieces together so you can understand the story. That is not true. The biggest problem here is there is lots of missing piece so read more
Dec 16, 2011
_laz_ (All reviews)
“Time does not exist. Only the illusion of memories exist.”

Confusing and mindnumbing but episodic with a puzzle plot
atmospheric and has “good” production values but unimpressive artwork and weak soundtrack
great overall mystery as a whole but not so good stand-alone stories
fleshed out characters related to the story but bland and forgotten because of the size of the cast
uncommon and interesting but forgotten like the moe/ecchi mediocrities produced today

Boogiepop is an anomaly, having the right set of characteristics to deem it as an anime masterpiece in the dementia genre and be remembered by the anime community. In fact, many reviews in different anime websites besides read more
Sep 22, 2008
DEATHNOTEJUNKIE8 (All reviews)
even though we all live are on individual life's we all some how are affect by a certain experiences believe it or not this anime have taught me a lot about letting go of bad memories and making room for new ones. i learned that no matter what situation you in you have choose in life and what ever choose you make this choose will have maybe an impact on your life each individual in this anime had a choose or event that mold and shape there future . some was bad some was good. and it also taught me about how people are read more
May 20, 2014
Flawfinder (All reviews)
The series's structure isn't too unusual. There's some sort of mystery going on behind the scenes, but it's told in a fragmented manner and leaves it to the audience to piece things together themselves. Memento is the most obvious thing that enters our minds when it comes to doing this sort of story, but there are stories that go all the way back to the Stone Age that have tackled similar concepts. Plus, it's a bit of a risky storytelling style because when done wrong, you can alienate the audience entirely and make them unable to follow what's going on. I know I got lost read more
Jul 30, 2019
Pandemonium1 (All reviews)
The anime on its own doesn't give much insight into the mind of its creator. For that one would probably need to read a few of his light novels too. But that doesn't take anything away from it.

The concept isn't particularly mindblowing. It is just another supernatural story but it does achieve quite a lot in its execution. It explores many philosophical and psychological themes--the most prominent ones being time and change. It also presents its own philosophy which I thought was something along the lines of accepting change so that we may attain a higher state of being. One of its episode's take read more
Aug 21, 2016
BowlingJD (All reviews)
This was one of first anime to appear at the turn of the century. With a strange title, Boogiepop Phantom, and riding a hot up and coming director by the name of Takashi Watanabe (Slayers), Studio Madhouse went with the theme of the 90’s in a vastly changing scene of dark and experimental sci-fi anime. This one is no exception and possibly one of the darkest anime of its time. It has a puzzle-box type of show where the viewer must piece events together chronologically in order to make sense of things, all while watching the various characters break down mentally in this town stricken read more
Oct 17, 2018
precastzero180 (All reviews)
If anime is notorious for anything, it's the the jigsaw puzzle plot. And BOOGIEPOP PHANTOM is the ultimate puzzle plot. That's saying something considering the show doesn't even give you all of the pieces. Set against the backdrop of Kouhei Kadono's larger multimedia project of BOOGIEPOP (of which I cannot claim any familiarity with beyond this program), one can be forgiven for coming away from PHANTOM feeling like they are missing the bigger picture. The context for the events within the show and many of its characters, especially those named in the OP, is at best merely hinted at and clearly can be made sense read more
Apr 19, 2013
Caraniel (All reviews)
An excellent mystery anime but extremely confusing at times.

PLOT: I’m having severe difficulties reviewing this show as its fairly random at times, and I didn’t really know what was going on half the time! It takes a similar structure to Baccano!, in that it consists of a large cast of characters and the timeline jumps about the place to cover their stories, and often shows the same scene in different perspectives. Its also similar to Paranoia Agent as the viewer doesn’t really know what’s going on for much of the time and its full of quite strange characters. Another show that I could compare Boogiepop read more
Sep 16, 2018
Quiddity131 (All reviews)
Boogiepop Phantom is up there for me as an enthralling and exceptional anime experience. It has one of the most unique narrative structures and styles I’ve seen in an anime and is a worthy viewing for that reason alone. Fans of horror are strongly recommended to check this show out, as its one of the best in the genre.

Given its narrative structure, providing a plot summary doesn’t do much good, it is probably better to describe the setting the show takes place in. One night in an unnamed city, a pillar of light appears. Approximately a month has passed, and there is strange goings on. read more