Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hinamatsuri


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Hina Festival
Japanese: ヒナまつり

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2018 to Jun 22, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 21:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: feel.
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.331 (scored by 105,436 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #421
Members: 219,791
Favorites: 2,146

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 22, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Once every now and then, we get comedic showstoppers that does what it needs to do: entertain. I’ve seen a lot of comedy shows in the past few years and believe me, Hinamatsuri belongs in a category of its own. It’s entertaining not just on the level of being able to make me laugh but also able to capture the magic of what comedy really is about. It’s only 12 episodes but manages to make an addicting impression.

As a fan of the manga, delightful is just one of many words that came to mind when I heard about the adaptation. The manga contains over 70+ read more
Jun 22, 2018
Yasaal (All reviews)
Back when I first started Hinamatsuri in the midst of other shows for the Spring season Hinamatsuri felt different. Compared to the others, it pulled me in and in a different way too. In the first five minutes I was slightly taken aback by the artstyle but when I continued watching it, it hit me with it's wonder. Hinamatsuri is exactly that kind of anime, and it continued to be so till it's end, it calms you down, then immediately rushes out with the comedy and before you know it, you're laughing out loud. Oh and there are tons of heartfelt moments too, what more read more
Jun 22, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
In every way, Hinamatsuri goes above and beyond what is expected of comedy anime.

It is not simply one of the best because it’s absurdist humor is well directed and often hilarious, it’s one of the best because it doesn’t stop at just making funny jokes. Every character is so well rounded to be believable and the story develops in a surprisingly organic fashion. Jokes don’t bog down the pace because they’re seamlessly woven into the story and character arcs.

Hinamatsuri tells the bizarre but heartwarming story of three young girls; Hina, Anzu, and Hitomi. Starting off the series is the most prominent of the three, read more
Apr 27, 2018
ta07 (All reviews)
Preliminary
A lot of comedy anime are based on formulas. Here is a premise. Here are jokes that arise from that premise. Basic sitcom stuff. Hinamatsuri takes these fundamentals and grows them to reach a much higher form of comedic storytelling.


First the Fundamentals of Comedic Storytelling


It should first and foremost be stated that humor is subjective. Though this doesn’t mean that there are not techniques used to craft jokes. Just because the jokes do not land for everyone doesn’t make them not jokes. This can make it hard to discuss comedy. If we disregard everything as subjective, the ability to have a conversation is lost, so read more
Jun 22, 2018
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
What makes a great comedy anime?

Comedy

Timing

Character reactions

Direction

Character relationships

These are all ways to make a comedy anime better. However unlike my 3D Kanojo real girl and Love is hard for an Okatu reviews where I compared them with each to see which one was overall better (spoilers Wotaku Love is hard for a otaku won) but instead I just want to talk about I believe that Hinamatsru or Hina Festival is by far one of the best comedy/slice anime to ever come out. Am not saying that its competitor Comic Girls was bad or anything in fact Comic Girls was a good comedy/slice of life anime read more
Apr 27, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hinamatsuri is an anime about this Yakuza-bro who is totally a badass. He meets this weird alien girl AND THEN THEY FUCK. Oh wait, wrong series. And then they become something like "friends" or "family", and instead of developing as characters they rather start a trip to self-discovery and find new sides within themselves, but also from each others. Pretty neat.


My favorite part of this series is Hina. Her whole presence radiates disinterest. Whenever she does anything, it comes off as a combination of curiosity and not giving a fuck. For example, even when she is impressed she be like "woah", but also, "meh". This read more
Jul 13, 2018
Ant1989 (All reviews)
I really can't see why so many people are liking this thing. It simply isn't funny. Yes, it does have some moments that it actually gets you of guard, but most of the time you can easily guess when it will break expectancy, and how.

Characters are poor, or at least they can't shine alone, and there is very few interaction between them, many jokes are about the adversities of a single character, many of those aren't funny. I understand that good part of jokes comes from sad things, but that doesn't mean sad things are fun by themselves. I don't really thing the writer read more
Oct 31, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
They say life will either make you laugh or cry, and that’s exactly what lies in the power of comedy. Comedy is a form of art and it’s reflective of the times we live in, this art can be a powerful tool and the great comedies know how to wield it. As the saying goes, humour is like a rubber sword–it allows you to make a point without drawing blood. Beneath the humour in Hinamatsuri lies a rich layer of social commentary and life lessons, it’s what makes this series much more memorable. It perfectly balances the thought-provoking themes and gut-busting segments through a combination read more
Aug 3, 2018
Jezza_G (All reviews)
Kept waiting for something to happen.

This show is fairly easy to watch and there are some moments that will make you laugh.
Overall though nothing really happened. You would think a show about girls with telekinetic powers and some shadowy organization would have more violence, fights or anything really.
Instead you are treated to 12 episodes of Hina wanting food and lazing about. Nitta caring for and often complaining about Hina. Ansu's life as a homeless teen (which was probably the most interesting part of the show) and finally Hitomi working in Nitta's favorite bar and occasionally helping Hina or Ansu.

This show is very episodic, with read more
May 13, 2018
Takros_Knonnar (All reviews)
Preliminary
A diamond in the rough, very funny and innovative story blend with a can't be better context for a comedy that stand out from the normal highschool rom com superpower stuff. Also the show includes some real life situation and even able to make gags out of it while doing the educational stuff at the same time. The art is nice although it's liek they are catching up with the new flashing style of A place further than the universe and Yuru camp, but the character design is funny, fressh and hillarious as well. Absolutely a must watch for this season.
Apr 28, 2018
UnjustifiedYeti (All reviews)
Preliminary
TLDR: Hina is a fun and bubbly anime which focuses on unique experiences in unique circumstances. It's a funny side watch that doesn't focus on the sci-fi tag, but centralises on the interactions of random individuals. You're at the right place if you want a nice watch that will brighten your day, even if it's by a little.

Scores~ Story [7] Art [6] Sound [6] Character [8] Enjoyment [8] Overall [7]

Story [7]
Hinamatsuri's story isn't spectacular, but something that develops at a nice pace and is enjoyable. While the anime doesn't particularly explain the context of the story (pre-Hina appearance), any need for this closure is read more
Jul 1, 2018
Artrill (All reviews)
[6.0/10]
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
Sometimes you are better off leaving your expectations low and not getting enraptured into something too quickly. For someone that has watched a lot of television and film, I still haven’t broken the habit of brushing my cynicism aside when I see something exceptionally well made. Whether it be the first episode of Kill la Kill, which is vibrant, eccentric, and perfectly paced, or the hook in Nichijou, as we witness a well-known anime cliché get upturned in its opening sequence, setting lofty expectations for the series. The point here is, when a show gives you everything in its opening, you either buy into read more
Jun 22, 2018
Zaber_san (All reviews)
This Spring 2018 season, we are given sequels of popular shows that ever aired on the anime community. From My Hero Academia 3, Tokyo Ghoul:re, Steins;Gate 0, High School DxD Hero to SAO Alternative GGO (even tho its a spin-off). Then we are blessed with Romantic-comedy segmented shows like Wotakoi, Tada-kun and 3D-Kanojo Girl. Of course this are not the only anime the aired this season. There are countless of them as well as leftovers from the last season which is Winter 2018. However, despite of many choices of anime to watch, there is one lacking the season without this genre. The "Comedy" genre. Sure, read more
Aug 11, 2018
AkiraAmon (All reviews)
Hinamatsuri! My 100th anime completed ! I found out about this anime through a youtube video from Sydsnap around when I completed by 90th anime or so. Scrolling about this anime , I already knew it was going to be good. If you watched a lot of anime you can already tell an anime is going to be good even before watching it. So I saved this anime for my 100th special.

And to no surprise it was amazing. The comedic parts of this anime is so fresh and sometimes subtle. It never gets boring and repetitive like a lot of the comedy anime read more
Jun 24, 2018
johnthegreenseer (All reviews)
Man, was this anime a ride or what? I previously wrote my review on this series when I reached the midpoint of the anime but I thought I'd update you guys since my opinion's changed a bit. Hinamatsuri is an anime that primarily follows the titular character, Hina—a psychic girl that finds herself living with a wealthy yakuza member, Nitta, after mysteriously appearing in his house one night. While the premise is a bit unoriginal, it still has a few interesting moments.

This series is considered to be a comedy, but I find some of the jokes failing to land. Don't get me wrong, I find read more
Jul 10, 2018
netosolano98 (All reviews)
Its been a while since I found a comedy anime/tv show that really made me laugh out loud and at the same time made me go into tears.

One of the best comedy anime I ve seen, with an incredible and unexpected slice of life

STORY 8 I ART 10 I SOUND 9 I CHARACTER 10 I ENJOYMENT 10 I OVERALL 9.4

So whats Hinamatsuri about?

Well its about many things actually, three main girls with each one of them with really different personalities surrounded by a lot of intersting characters

Hina a girl with incredible psychic powers that suddenly crash in the apartment of a yakuza member read more
Jun 22, 2018
KanghisKhan (All reviews)
Hinamatsuri, or what other people call it anzumatsuri. This show was definitely a welcome surprise to me. It's a show that doesn't necessarily do anything out of the ordinary, but does it well. It has nice quirky jokes hear and there and its a real feel-good anime. If you do watch this, I can guarantee you will have that creepy smile on your face all the way through. It's jokes are very innocent and wholesome.

I didn't think there were any stand out character designs or music in the show, but they all played a part in the anime. I hope for season 2, they read more
Feb 10, 2019
Moe_Blob (All reviews)
I came to this show expecting a silly show about psychokinetic girls and yakuza members getting up to mischief, but I left with a lot more than I was expecting.
This is my first MAL review, and it will contain *spoilers*!



The show starts off as a normal enough comedy, with great animation and well designed characters. The gags are quick and funny, and never failed to make me laugh. The infamous 'fight scene' from the second episode and the ever brilliant 'girly club' scene are particularly great. But as the show expands, it not only maintains its comedy and writing, but also touches on themes read more
Jan 16, 2019
biecomaia (All reviews)
I fell in love with this anime. Hinamatsuri is a real masterpiece, from the start to the end. First of all, i just loved how things happen fluently, the plot and its cohesion just don't fail. If the previous events would take the next episode to a sad episode of a funny one, it just happens, the concern with the plot is the priority of the series, and is makes everything happen naturally, taking us to all kinds of episodes, and every of them very emotional, beautiful, funny or cute. The fact is that in the end of each episode you will love it for read more
Nov 12, 2018
Alstoria (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hinamatsuri -
* Story *
Sometimes I think anime is going in a way I just don't understand and I think this is the case. From Yakuzas to naked girls coming out of some sort of spaceship... Oh and, they have powers, psychic powers. I really like this story because it remembers me what I'm watching, it remembers me that I'm watching anime. This story is the kind of story I want a newbie in the anime world to watch, because this is exactly what you will find in the overall of anime. This story, is the pinnacle of the anime.

* Art *
I'm not the one to read more