One Punch Man 2nd Season

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: One Punch-Man 2, One-Punch Man 2, OPM 2
Japanese: ワンパンマン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 10, 2019 to Jul 3, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Web manga
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ComedyComedy, ParodyParody, Super PowerSuper Power, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.411 (scored by 409726409,726 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #18652
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #74
Members: 846,239
Favorites: 5,102
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 30, 2019
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Preliminary
One Punch Man, a series loved by many for bombastic animation and hilarious physical comedy has been viciously murdered by J.C. Staff.

Unless you have been living under a rock for the last year, it’s known throughout the anime community that Madhouse handed the second season of OPM to J.C. Staff—a studio known for cutting corners in their animation. Our expectations were low, but JESUS CHRIST THIS IS GARBAGE.

The art is awful. It’s flat, the color pallete is dull, and the shading is messy dog shit. Character designs were changed from their clean cool style to jagged and hideous imitations of their former selves. Metal read more
Jul 2, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
I wish I could say the sequel for one of the most popular anime of this year to be good. I really wish I could. One Punch Man’s release back in 2015 made headlines with its high caliber animation quality and ultra comical character cast. The manga itself is also very popular. Ask anyone who’ve read the series will tell you that it’s more than just your usual battle shounen. Known for its top notch quality comedy and unorthodox storytelling, it’s a sensation. But this…second season is nothing short of a horror story. It’s the type of horror that scared me to realize how far read more
Apr 30, 2019
xShinigami3125 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tldr: it's bad, read the manga.

To start this off, I am a huge fan of the manga and webcomic , and as an anime only you might get at least some enjoyment out of it, but for someone like me it's just a terrible adaptation.
The animation is one of the obvious criticisms, but it's not only a downgrade compared to season 1, it's also pretty bad compared to your average action anime nowadays.
The use of still images is quite prevalent, and impossible to miss, and the few well animated bits are often lacking a real impact, which makes the punches feel hollow. read more
Jul 2, 2019
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*Mild Spoilers for One Punch Man Second Season*

The second season of One Punch Man is a miserable fall from grace, with a quadruple whammy of circumstances contextualizing the gravity of the show’s failures. It’s a sequel to one of the most well-animated mainstream anime of all time, released over 3 years later. On top of that, this franchise’s counterpart, Mob Psycho 100, got adapted for a second season that practically pushed the boundaries of current TV anime 3 months before this season came out. Combined with the awful feel and presentation of this new season, that set of circumstances becomes the world’s nastiest measuring stick. read more
Jul 2, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
It's not a very hard task to tolerate with low production values, but when the heart and soul of a beloved franchise gets destroyed by directing that completely misses the point of the series, it becomes near impossible to overlook the massive amount of problems we have at hand. Welcome to the 2nd season of One Punch Man, sequel which inferiority is beyond comparison, show which is not only terrible but an absolute disgrace towards its fans. This is simply not acceptable.

This review will cover 3 main points explaining why I personally found this series to be complete bollocks. These are 1) Comedy 2) read more
Apr 30, 2019
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
Preliminary
PLEASE READ THE WHOLE THING (I KNOW IT'S LONG BUT HOPEFULLY WORTH IT)

Let me get this out of the way before I say anything: I never thought the original One Punch Man was this phenomenal anime that it was portrayed as being; I acknowledge that it was a decent/good show but nothing more. With that being said, this new season is a downgrade from the original in about every aspect so you can more or less see where I'm going with this review.

Great, now that I've induced the hatred of rabid OPM fans and essentially destroyed my chances of receiving any positive feedback or "helpful" read more
Jul 2, 2019
Pipe (All reviews)
One Punch Man 2 is just tiresomely stupid and ugly.

Four years ago, Madhouse animated One Punch Man aka OPM and blew the charts with an outstanding production. The fans waited four years for a sequel, and in exchange, they got a piece of trash that is in pair with productions just as "Mommy, please save my eyes," "Honey, I destroyed OPM." I do not know if "Boku no Pico" is better than this junk, but it is clear that J.C. Staff failed severely. In one sentence: OPM2 is the kind of sequel you may end up wishing you’d never seen. If you are an OPM read more
Apr 30, 2019
zal (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am glad Madhouse or Bones' animators aren't involved with One Punch Man anymore, while the first season animation was so remarkable it just doesn't fit the show.

This is not an issue that stems from the anime but from the manga, Murata crippled One Punch Man. As you might know, One Punch Man's manga is not its original source but the webcomic is and that has such "bad" or "amateurish" drawings that combined withe the parodical and comical nature of One Punch Man made the webcomic hilarious.

Murata saw the webcomics potential and corrupted it. Perhaps instead of Murata himself it was actually magazine read more
Jun 29, 2019
willster88 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, let me just preface this by saying this:

What's with all the salty manga readers giving terrible reviews and still getting to the top of the review charts? OBVIOUSLY it's hard to match the amazingly dynamic and fluid fight scenes of the first season, but that's no reason to just go "uGh, iT's sO gArBaGe", like come on get over your elitism. It wasn't even close to "viciously murdered by J.C. Staff".

Now that I've scared away all of the readers, here is my review of this season:

(Very mild spoiler warning)

Story: 9

The arc that this is adapting from the webcomic/manga marks a tonal shift from everything read more
May 1, 2019
just-_me (All reviews)
Preliminary
One's work was always about the character development and comedy/ satire, but all I hear complaining in this season how lack luster the animation is, which is to some extent is true but that is entirely the case here.

Animation is lacking in this season but even this animation is ten times better than anything we usually get, but people complain how fight scenes are not well directed and camera view is weird, to them my answer is did you not watched the episode 3, which was close to the first season in my opinion. Also king and and fubuki are great addition to the read more
Jul 2, 2019
Oranvdk (All reviews)
Utterly deplorable.

I can't help but compare this season to the first and at the same time they can't be compared. This season is such a letdown compared to the first that I almost don't want any more OPM anime if it's still animated by JC Staff.

The animation is obviously the main deal-breaker here. Where S1 had plenty of amazing showcases of fluid, exciting animation, S2 had... like 2 "fairly" well animated shots (which were both in the last episode). The overuse of action lines and crappy rapid fire punches made this feel like some childrens anime. Nothing excited me about the action in this season, read more
May 1, 2019
DrawStuffGeorge (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review on this site, but I really felt like saying my bit. So far I've been really enjoying season 2 of one punch man, of course season 1 was simply incredible and following up to an anime of that quality and popularity is very hard to do and there will almost certainly always be complaints. The animation, although not as 'good' (subjective) as season 1 is still pretty good and still very much feels like one punch man. The story (at least so far) is quite entertaining and has been adapted from the manga fairly well, considering that adapting any manga read more
Apr 30, 2019
Animer_man (All reviews)
Preliminary
We must not disrespect someone who are trying their best to impress us. Yeah I am talking about J.C staff! They have given a good hard work on this show adaptation till episode 4. I know episode 1 and 2 was decent but after these two the series finally got the grip and started the hype train. I know it is a bad thing about studios to change place but the fault is of the director which started to work on other anime Boogie pop and the others and left One Punch Man to dust and then J.C helped the show to get its sequel, read more
Jul 2, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Modern superhero movies suffer from regurgitated stories, negligible character developments, and unmemorable villains. Yet Hollywood inundates the public with action-packed spectacles (advertisements) for the mere purpose of generating boat-loads of cash and previewing the eventual sequel. Which, in turn, previews the subsequent film — creating an endless cycle of bombasity. Frankly, it’s nauseating.

Given the pitfalls of the superhero genre, I expected the first season of One Punch Man to be a parallel Japanese equivalent of the cookie-cutter, American model. What I received, however, was a self-deprecating, meta anime that humorously broke the formulaic ‘rules’ of a soulless industry. Instead read more
May 21, 2019
Oiks_Tooru (All reviews)
Preliminary
Looking for a sequel to One Punch Man? You're in the wrong place.
To call this the second season of the near worldwide phenomenon that is One Punch Man is an absolute insult. To call it an adaptation of either the webcomic or the redrawn manga is an absolute insult. Had I scored this disaster of a sequel comparatively to its predecessor, I'd have scored it even worse. As it stands, I'll treat this as its own property and move from there.

The story is solid - as one might expect of something written by ONE. The story is one of only two redeemable traits about this read more
Jul 2, 2019
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
While I can't completely condone what I was presented with in the end, I couldn't forgive the sins that this sequel to an beloved show had committed.

As an individual who genuinely loved the 1st season of One Punch Man, I had to face the reality before me. Yes, there is no doubt that when the 2nd season was announced a while back, I knew it was never gonna live up to the hype and legacy that its predecessor left behind for it to carry on. When I finally saw the first revealed trailer, saw the quality, and realized that the studio in charge is by read more
Jul 2, 2019
JillFanatic (All reviews)
We’ve all heard this before since it’s a tale as old as time: A sequel of a popular property isn’t nearly as good as the original. This is a phenomenon known as sequelitis. Sure, there is the possibility that the sequel made just doesn’t quite live up to the original work, but is still an ok experience overall, like Incredibles 2. However, OPM2 not only fails to build upon the source material, but it’s also a complete disaster as a standalone product. Hideous visuals, an underutilized cast, and unfunny jokes make watching this season about as fun as diarrhea, although there were some decent scenes read more
Apr 30, 2019
LordToine (All reviews)
Preliminary
MINOR SPOILERS

Not as bad as made out, but definitely nowhere near what was and what should have been.


This show honestly received way too much flak and hate when the first trailer released. Four episodes in, it's safe to say that S2 of One Punch Man is still worth the watch — even if it really cannot stand anywhere near Madhouse's excellent S1 from a technical standpoint. As (mostly) an anime only for OPM, I can say that most of my opinions from here on aren't jaundiced as everything I know about the story so far is from the anime.

Story:

The story continues where we left off, read more
Jun 2, 2019
ZanZus (All reviews)
Preliminary
In my opinion, this tournament is a Filler. Original web comic didn't have this arc, which kinda explain the poor comedy in it.

I think and hear me out, I think this whole arc and so much more is extra crap added by the artiest who adopt the web series. I never found his comedy to be good and it shows in this season compare to the previous where he didn't add anything to the story. His influence in the story is so much clear in Season2 and more in the upcoming material from the manga. Or it could be because of the serialization. Either-way, read more
Jul 5, 2019
Fable242 (All reviews)
I'm just going to start off by saying I really can't figure out why so many people are complaining about the story and the comedy isn't as good as the first season and keep placing all the blame on the studio. Honestly speaking as long as you’re a manga reader you will know that they follow the script almost to the T with only a bit rearrangement and cut off here and there. All the comedy and story came from the same script that the first came from.

I already understand that humans find it hard to accept change especially when it started off on read more