Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works


Alternative Titles

English: Fate/stay night [Unlimited Blade Works]
Synonyms: Fate/stay night (2014), Fate - Stay Night
Japanese: Fate/stay night [Unlimited Blade Works]

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 12, 2014 to Dec 28, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Notes
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: ufotable
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 28 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.361 (scored by 235,674 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1902
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #112
Members: 386,946
Favorites: 7,380

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 13, 2015
dissipated (All reviews)
Includes insignificant spoilers.

This is the most overrated anime I have ever seen. If one is expecting a grand follow-up to Fate Zero, one is gravely mistaken. You are about to say ‘8.43?’, ‘How can this be?’, and ‘This is scandalous.’ (Jojo reference). Well move closer to the screen and let senpai explain.




Story=3
The story consists of tossing a teenage boy into the Holy Grail war (an Armageddon between masters (contemporary individuals who supposedly command their respective servants) and servants (summoned titans) for the sake of obtaining the Holy Grail). This should be a gruesome event with fights to the death, BUT . . . ‘Fuck that,’ read more
Dec 27, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
If there’s one word that any anime fan can be familiar with, it may be ‘Fate’. The franchise adapted from the highly popular Type-Moon visual novel has been around for a decade. In 2006, an anime adaptation by studio DEEN was released in an attempt to adapt the visual novel. And while it included the characters from the series, there were controversy regarding the actual adaptation. Then, there was the movie titled ‘Fate Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works’ movie that was released four years later. But even so, that only ran less than two full hours in a futile attempt to adapt the Unlimited Blade read more
Dec 27, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

In life, one thing is true for everyone: we all have desires. Wanting to be wealthy beyond imagining, finding the love of one's life, obtaining that dream job; there is always a goal, a wish that seems impossible to reach no matter how hard one tries. Aspirations bring about both the best and the worst in people, due to the very nature of what they bring. And if these wishes do happen to come to fruition, they affect not just the winner, but those closest, too. Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works Season One is the beginning of such read more
Jan 8, 2015
TheShikiMaSTER (All reviews)
Okay, So before I review the 1st half of this season,
I like to state that I'm not really familiar about this franchise that much to my knowledge, so this is literally my first time watching this series from this point on along with episode 0 so keep that in mind.

I've heard most people talk about this show during its airing so I decided to give it a shot.

The show starts off well enough given us introduction to the main characters including the plot about the holy grail having the power to grant any 1 wish to the master along with their servant in defeating read more
Dec 27, 2014
SpikeykoaLa (All reviews)
As a note, I have not read/played any of the Type Moon visual novels from which this anime is based. I did however find Fate/Zero to be excellent. Coming off of Fate/Zero I was completely pumped to jump right back into the world in Fate/Stay Night. After watching the entire first season I have to say that I'm slightly disappointed.

Story: 6
The story itself is relatively generic as a battle-royale for the holy grail, but is made more complex by the interesting heroes that are summoned to fight and their interactions with their masters. This season however was quite boring. There read more
Jan 1, 2015
RedZombee (All reviews)
This review is coming someone who only has watched Fate/Zero. I've seen a tad of the 2006 version of Fate/Stay Night as well.

Now I understand that fans of the visual novel must be thrilled. I've been told this adaptation has been completely faithful. Which is what I was afraid of.

By being faithful to the Fate/Stay Night canon are completely undoing everything the Zero canon set the table with. Now please grant me the time to explain why that is.

;Story~!

I've said it before I'll say it again. The Fate concept is one of the greatest I've seen. Previous to this series I thought it was read more
Jun 27, 2015
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW OF BOTH SEASONS**

If anime history has taught us anything, it’s that visual novels are an incredibly difficult medium to adapt into anime form. Whereas a VN can contain hours upon hours of dialogue in order to establish characters, the story, the setting, and the lore, anime do not have such a luxury. In addition, VN’s offer the player the ability of interaction; they allow you to choose what path to go down and ultimately what “ending” you will receive. Choosing a poor option can actually result in death, thus shattering the concept of plot armor and keeping the reader on edge. Enter read more
Feb 16, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
The Fate franchise is among the most recognizable and highly lauded titles in the anime community. It should go without saying that this lofty praise is largely due to Ufotable's impeccable presentation and production values. When it comes to the Fate franchise and other Type-Moon adaptations, the studio pull out all the stops as evident with Kara no Kyoukai and the critically acclaimed Fate/Zero.
If there was ever a black sheep attached to the Fate franchise's name, many will without a doubt point to the 2006 lackluster adaptation of Fate/Stay Night and the 2010 Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works movie by Studio DEEN. The Fate read more
Jul 5, 2015
Azphix (All reviews)
Let me give it to you straight:

This part of the Fate series is one of the weaker ones, it doesnt compare at all to Fate/Zero because pretty much what we get is a high school setting with our usual cliche hero saves the world storyline.

That being said, this particular season (as well as its prequel) has amazing animation, the motion of the fights are fluid and the effects are pretty darn good. What i was disappointed with was the story and the characters for the most part.

Flaws:

The biggest flaw is how we dont really get much character development out of the characters, read more
Dec 27, 2014
Cosmicblaze454 (All reviews)
“People die if….. Oh shit wrong adaptation.

Studio DEEN’s horrible adaptation of Fate/Stay Night Unlimited Blade Works is one of the most dreaded adaptations in anime. Now ufotable, in all of its HD glory, will now adapt one of the most loved routes of the visual novel. And it turns out to be great.

Let’s us go to the specifics.

The story is different from the Fate route as it now focuses on Rin Tohsaka. As it goes on, ufotable manage to showcase masterful execution. It makes interesting premise and makes the audience want to know and watch more. This Fate/Stay Night fix the problems of its read more
Dec 28, 2014
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
On July 27th earlier this year, there was a public presentation held by Ufotable regarding what their long-awaited remake of Fate/stay night (F/SN for short) would actually cover as that had been unknown up to that point. When the preview was finally shown and it was revealed that they would be covering the Unlimited Blade Works route (UBW for short) as a full TV-series, there was a cry of relief and happiness resounding all throughout the fanbase of the franchise (if you were following the live stream at the time you'll know what I am talking about). Type-Moon's ten year old work of art has read more
Dec 27, 2014
Gilgy (All reviews)
Please note: At the time of this review the second season for Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works (TV) has not aired yet.

As a rather avid fan of Type-Moon, Nasuverse specifically, I was highly enthusiastic to watch the first season of Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works (TV). I must say here and now that it did indeed meet, and partially exceed, my expectations. I knew it was going to be great. I knew it was going to be a true adaptation, which has never happened for the Unlimited Blade Works route (disregard that crappy DEEN movie). I mean, it's Ufotable. The same studio that brought read more
Dec 27, 2014
Mickdrew (All reviews)
I’ve been holding off on giving a definitive score for this show; mostly because I wanted to make sure the rating was accurate. Having now seen the series, I can confirm what many already know: Fate/Stay Night is a great anime. Both in terms of an adaptation of the original Visual Novel and as its own show, I think we can all be at ease in the knowledge that ufotable has done it again. Rejoice all who hath cometh, the adaptation you've been waiting for is here!

For anyone new to the Fate series, the series in essence revolves around seven masters who summon historical figures read more
Jun 16, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
In 7th grade, I stumbled across the original Fate/stay night TV series produced by Studio DEEN and it was one of my favourite programmes at the time. It had magic, legendary heroes, action, and all that guff. Of course, I got older and I watched other shows that had way more to offer on that front so the original Fate/stay night didn't really hold up for me that well over time. In fact, I can't bring myself to sit through the original Fate/stay night series nowadays since there's so much wrong with it. Then enters ufotable, Type-Moon's best friend when it comes down to adaptations read more
Dec 27, 2014
amirhoss (All reviews)
Fate is without a doubt among one of the best Visual Novels out there but unfortunately at first it didn’t have much luck in it’s transition into an anime, that is until Ufotable partnered up with Type-Moon and with Garden of Sinners they proved they know how to handle Type-Moon works and with Fate/zero’s success they jumped right into Fate/stay Night. In Fate’s story there are three routes you can take and Ufotable chose the second route for their TV series while leaving the 3rd route for a movie.

For the second route(Unlimited Blade Works) there is already a movie done by Studio Deen. They also read more
Dec 31, 2014
Social_Elitist (All reviews)
Why is the FSN remake the savior of anime? Gee whiz, I hope the fan base ready their magic circuits and frap on their doushjins!

Over hyped as it pierced into the heavens, because Ufotable are going to re-animate so the action scenes look even more amazingly artificial and I thought it was just going to be cool action fiction thing with sprinkled anime archetypes but it ended up being stupid and pretentious.

Firstly, nothing is deeply complex of this show, there is a lack in themes or anything to think about because the show uses common story telling techniques to explain the known adventure. Nothing read more
Jan 8, 2015
skyscan (All reviews)
I'm not a very good writer, sorry if I'm not able to properly articulate my exact feelings on the show.

The art/animation is outstanding. Nothing really to say here. The one failing moment was their attempt at CG water during some of the scenes with Caster.

The sound track was a near copy of Fate/Zero. It would have been more appropriate to invent new songs. Instead we see recycling of old ones. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, but it would have been nice to have something entirely new for a new show.

The characters are were this starts to fall apart. Excluding the fact that each conversation read more
Dec 29, 2014
DJNOSTYLE (All reviews)
"I am the bone of my sword -- steel is my body and fire is my blood"

If you have so much as set a single foot into the anime community since 2006, you have most likely heard of the Fate series by now. And even though its first anime adaptation (Modeled after the TypeMoon visual novel) propelled it down a critically ignored hill of decency, the series has come a very long way.

Following the success of Fate/Zero, the prequel and first story in the Fate universe, studio ufotable announced that it was going to reinvent the original TV series. However, this time it would follow read more
Jan 29, 2015
newyearmassacre (All reviews)
Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works (TV) is the most misleading anime since Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni, but instead of pretending to be a moe slice of life, it pretends to be a generic shounen. If you've only seen Fate/zero so far then you're most likely to be mislead and be disappointed, if you've read the visual novel then you're probably one of the many people who praise it like it's the second coming of Christ.
Cutting to the chase, this adaption of Fate/stay night is finally a faithful one, which is to 've expected from studio Ufotable. The dialogue has many hints about the protagonist's read more
Dec 13, 2015
Lockensocke (All reviews)
(Disclaimer: If you havent seen this show yet I would recommend reading the synopses of it before reading this review. Also, this review covers both season 1 and 2, since they are not really separated)

Fate/Stay night UBW is an anime of many genres. It tries to sell itself as an action anime, but this anime consists of very limited actions scenes. It tries to present a deeper story with lots of ancient heroes, which is meaningless since they never tell anything about them in greater detail. Last but not least this anime also got a harem and a highschool aspect which were completely unecessary.

So read more