Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fairy Tail (2014)


Alternative Titles

English: Fairy Tail Series 2
Synonyms: Fairy Tail Season 2
Japanese: フェアリーテイル

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 102
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2014 to Mar 26, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Saturdays at 10:30 (JST)
Producers: TV Tokyo, Dentsu
Studios: A-1 Pictures, Bridge
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.211 (scored by 133,460 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2982
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #133
Members: 308,436
Favorites: 7,869

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 1, 2014
Tatsuya-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the first time I actually write a review, so please forgive me if I write it in a bad way. Also, this is purely based on my opinion.

Despite reading the manga, I dropped this (for now, maybe I'll continue once it's finished airing) because so many things were wrong with this it wasn't funny anymore.

Story:
Pretty much not existing at all. The characters lose sight of their goals and every 10th / 20th episode (This includes the "old" Fairy Tail as well) they suddenly remember it. "Oh, right, we were looking for our dragon parents who vanished."
The "story" is made out of single arcs read more
Dec 6, 2014
Cosmicblaze454 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note: I wrote this review in the time of the filler arc.
==Mild Spoilers==

Fairy Tail (2014) is the direct sequel of Fairy Tail which continued the Grand Magic Games Arc.
Not only that many changes were made. Character designs are different but the biggest change happened is the change of studio which formerly was Satelight to Bridge (creators of Nobunagun and Devil Survivor 2)

The thing is the sequel did not solve any problems the Fairy Tail has. It only got worse. Its still has bad story, bad characters, and bad writing and this was added by the horrible animation. Bridge is very inconsistent in animating. The first read more
Dec 6, 2014
biggguy (All reviews)
Preliminary
After finishing the original Fairy Tail series, I wanted to see the heart-racing action/shounen anime in full glory once again, however, this piece of garbage did not live up to those expectations.

Upon the conclusion of the anime, I went on to read the manga and am currently up to date with the latest chapter. Then I watched the opening of the new Fairy Tail 2014. I had realised something, the WHOLE fucking plot was spoiled in the opening. The fact that you get to see which characters battle one another and the fact that there is a dark silhouette in the shape of a dragon read more
Sep 20, 2014
Erupt (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a 100% spoiler free review of Fairy Tail (2014) the sequel to Fairy Tail - An anime that I thoroughly enjoyed watching for 175 episodes and consider as one of my favorite anime.

I know what you are probably thinking,"there's already dozens of low rated reviews for this anime, despite it having such a high MAL rating; how is this not just another troll review by a typical fairy tail hater." So I would like to clarify that this is a 100% serious review with no hate specifically towards Fairy Tail or the shounen genre.

So if you have not seen either Fairy read more
Sep 8, 2014
TheHomie (All reviews)
EDITED: THIS REVIEW ENCOMPASSES THE WHOLE 102 EPISODES OF FAIRY TAIL (2014)
*NOTE: Due to the nature of this series some comparisons between the new series and the original run will arise but generally this review is spoiler free.

Fairy Tail (2014) was a highly anticipated sequel to the original run of Fairy Tail which lasted from 2009 to 2013. Now the original anime wasn't anything special or groundbreaking by any means however it was an anime that managed to avoid the majority of the pitfalls associated with long running anime like Naruto, Bleach etc. Sure it had the 'plot convenient' power ups and read more
Jun 5, 2015
Aiko_Hiroshi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fairy Tail 2014 is the sequel to the original Fairy Tail anime that aired from 2009-2013. It's actually an upgrade in many ways from the previous anime despite having a shaky beginning with their budget it seems (Early episodes have varying quality throughout). Let's just be clear, this is still the same Fairy Tail everyone knows and loves.

Story: I think a lot of the problems people have with the 2014 series is that the beginning of it is the second half of the Grand Magic Games (Which for whatever reason is the most critically panned non filler arc of the series, so it being read more
Oct 28, 2014
ImaginaryPanda (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am simply writing this because all the other reviews here gave me an incredibly negative impression of Fairy Tail 2014 before I even watched it.

I'm a fan of the first Fairy Tail series, many reviews here complain about all these changes and how horrible this season is.

But guess what? I've noticed none of these changes so far.

If you didn't tell me this was a new season, I wouldn't have even noticed.

It picks up right where it left off in season 1 and is the same old Fairy Tail I always enjoyed.

Art, Sound, Story, Characters...there's no difference. They're all great.

If you loved the read more
Jan 11, 2015
Lizard_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
Since 2014 is over I think it's appropriate to write a short review of how I felt about Fairy Tail in 2014. I watched all of the Previous episodes so of course I had some expectations going into this season.

Almost none of those expectations were met.

The fight scenes are terrible and leave so much to be desired. The humor isn't funny anymore. The dialogue is cringe-worthy at times. Natsu has become a pansy. I haven't felt any satisfaction from anything that has happened so far this season.

Overall Fairy Tail feels like it has become exclusively an anime for children and young teens. But read more
Dec 12, 2015
emojipiggie (All reviews)
Preliminary
I personally love Fairy Tail. It is very good and I wish more people would give it a try.

-STORY- 10 - The story is very interesting, and while some people think it is very weak, I quite like it and think it is very unique.

-ART- 10 - The art is quite outstanding, but I'm honestly not one to ask. It's pretty easy to see.

- SOUND - 10 - Fairy Tail has some of the best soundtracks and music I've heard in any anime. IT has amazing openings (*COUGH* the first one *COUGH*), and has really good endings as well.

- CHARACTERS -10 - This read more
Aug 24, 2014
jambol (All reviews)
Preliminary
Since the anime adaptation of Fairy Tail began in 2009, the franchise has established itself as a moneymaking machine. In fact, it appears that it is well on its way to establishing itself among the likes of Naruto and One Piece as one of those series that just doesn't seem to have any end in sight.

I was actually a fan of Fairy Tail during its initial run. Quirky characters, attractive designs, a lot of humor, it was just good fun. The story arcs were also, for the most part, pretty decent. There was character development and each episode kept me engaged. Unfortunately, now that Fairy read more
Jun 4, 2014
SIOPAOBUN (All reviews)
Preliminary
Picking up where the series last left off, A-1 pictures adapts Hiro Mashima's Fairy Tail at the Magical Games Arc. Now before I can actually review it, a lot of my gripes with series stems from the one before it and it's not like it's two separate series of continuity.

I didn't hate watching Fairy Tail at first. But the deeper I got into it, the more I felt it squandered all the potential it had at the start. In the end, I couldn't help but see it as the most generic shonen ever - it was as if the author ticked all the boxes read more
May 25, 2014
Priest29 (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a person who has fully watched the first fairy tail series i can say that this one is just as best so far from the first fairy tail series i cried plenty of times, goose bumps, adrenaline rush, laughter, sadness, pretty much anything and everything i cant wait till i cry out of joy n such from the 2014 one, the characters themselves seem so real to me. in a way it does seem to repeat it self but in a way it doesn't because theres nothing the same there bonds as friends tighten greater n greater

Ps. if you jump into this read more
May 31, 2014
EyeBall1844 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fairy Tail 2014 is the sequel to Fairy Tail starting off right where the other one left off, in the grand magic games arc. (Not going to go into detail about the story since most of those reading this will have already watched the first one) So Lucy a main female character is captured and now the gang has to go and bust her out of prison guns (magic) blazing right? Well, no. They sneak in to save her (Which is totally the smart thing to do) but right after they do they fall into a trap and now they have to escape the place read more
Jan 9, 2016
Corny632 (All reviews)
This will be a short one, since nobody reads long ones anyway.

Prepare yourself, because this is a possitive review.

I love Fairy Tail, and I'm going to tell you what's so great about it.

First of all the characters are splendid, they are colourful and funny, they are loveable, and emotional, and they feel trustworthy, and they are really charming too, I love basicly all of the characters in Fairy Tail, and my favourites in any order are Erza, Wendy, Natsu, Lucy, Gray, Juvia, Laxus, Gajeel, Sting, Rogue, Happy, Jellal, Zeref, Elfman, MiraJane, Kagura and Milliana etc.

Secondly while yes, it's not flawless, it's still amazing, the battles read more
Aug 22, 2014
lebullseye (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review, and i hope it actually sounds like a review..
so far i've only watched 11 eps, that might not be enough to write a review about it since it's still airing... but i just wanted to point out some things about fairy tail. i have watched some eps of the first series, but i dropped it, and this time i decided to give the new fairy tail a try since i know many that have recommended it saying that its amazing ...etc. and so i did, but that didn't last for too long since i dropped it after watching the read more
Dec 12, 2014
Elisia (All reviews)
Preliminary
As someone who has pretty much marathon-watched all the fairy tails in the past few months I was quite surprised to see the rather paltry scores the 2014 version achieved.

The major concern people seem to have is with the story and writing. In a shounen battle anime.
This seemed a bit odd to me.
That isn't to say that the story and writing aren't fairly poor, of course. They rely upon the same clichés in each arc. The writing is predictable and, hell, the characters even have catch-phrases.
But does any of that really matter for a shounen battle anime?

I would say no. What matters most in a read more
Jul 5, 2014
jdbe (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fairy tails climatic peak at the end of first series left a sweet taste in the mouths in some people returning for the second season, and left others with the kind which isn't so nice. There have been many revamps from animation to soundtrack, but don't worry, it still keeps its story as shallow as a puddle in the Sahara (basically it's non existent).

The story directly connects season 1 to season 2, and continues from the current grand magic games, where Natsu and fairy tail come up against other guilds for the crown of the best in Fiore. Problems arise, and fairy tail are in read more
Nov 28, 2015
Gaarito (All reviews)
Preliminary
I decided to write this review as there are many negative reviews of this anime I do not think it's fair.

Fairy Tail is a Shounen manga, says it all: SHOUNEN, it's nothing complex (of course it is.), Is a protagonist who is very Over Power that does not lose to anyone.

Shounen manga which the protagonist loses? It's hard to see

I was happy with the return of the same in 2014 even as the battle of the big games could not end at the apex that was. I began to read the manga so anxious to see the development of that arc, but only read to read more
Feb 17, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overview:

Time to look at a steaming #2. Fairy Tail 2! Despite the fact that I had a LOT of problems with the first Fairy Tale series, I honestly thought that Fairy Tail still had some potential. Fairy Tail had an excellent animation budget, a large cast of characters of whom at least a couple were interesting, and a solid soundtrack. Under a capable director and with a few tweaks and changes, perhaps Fairy Tail could have become a top tier shonen anime. After all, the first Hunter X Hunter series was garbage, but a slightly better budget and a few tweaks and BAM! all the read more
Jan 20, 2016
franky3121 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story
The author just can't seem to stick with a single plot and its just terrible as some of the arcs in this are just terrible especially the one with the 12 keys.

Art/ Animation
Ever since the reboot the animation seems to have been getting worse and worse for me. At one point the animation just seems to darken for some reason as if the show is getting dark and gritty, but its not and just doesn't make sense to screw over the brightness that you've been using for 1 series and half the current one.

Sound
Openings and Endings have always been great for Fairy Tail and read more