Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Samurai Champloo


Alternative Titles

English: Samurai Champloo
Synonyms: SAMURAI CHAMPLOO
Japanese: サムライチャンプルー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 20, 2004 to Mar 19, 2005
Premiered: Spring 2004
Broadcast: Saturdays at 10:30 (JST)
Studios: Manglobe
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 260,366 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1012
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #62
Members: 464,003
Favorites: 17,390

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 21, 2010
META_BODY (All reviews)
"Samurai Champloo" may not have the same ring to it as "Cowboy Bebop," yet it is a title that has a similar function: to illustrate a combination of multicultural pulp fiction sensibility. Where Cowboy Bebop was a past + future fusion of jazz, rock, and blues, spaghetti western, kung fu, and noir cinema genres, and a setting equating outer space to the great frontier, Samurai Champloo is a more wildly anachronistic mélange of Edo-period history and contemporary hip-hop and bohemian culture. "Champloo" itself comes from the word "chanpurū," Okinawan for "something mixed," and a source of Okinawa's pride in multicultural acceptance. Cowboy read more
Apr 3, 2013
Beatnik (All reviews)
I caught Samurai Champloo as it aired back in 2004, and though I liked it enough, it didn’t impact me as much as I hoped it would. Though maybe that’s not entirely true, as the soundtrack did indirectly change my life, thanks to the composer Nujabes introducing me to instrumental hip hop and providing a soundtrack to my life for the next few years.

I recently re-watched the show and felt compelled to write a retrospective/review of the series. While watching Jin, Mugen and Fuu traipse around 19th century Japan getting into ridiculous adventures, I realised Shinichirô Watanabe’s follow up to Cowboy Bebop is one of read more
Dec 16, 2006
Jin (All reviews)
Samurai Champloo is the latest work from Writer/Director Shinichiro Watanabe, who is most recognized for his work on Cowboy Bebop. One of the very few things Champloo and Bebop have in common is their great scores. Champloo mixes two subjects which would never be put in one sentence together, western hip-hop and eastern samurai swordplay. Yet the mixture comes out with a brilliant result. The fights scenes are hyped up with the speed and flow from the music and come out magnificent. But Champloo isn't all about fighting. Many things happen along the road for the read more
Jun 10, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
Historical anime don't usually interest me, but when it's as tongue-in-cheek and as full of anachronisms as this, I'm not sure it really counts as a historical anime anymore.

STORY - Like its predecessor Cowboy Bebop, Samurai Champloo is a very episodic series, and it's perfectly safe to miss a few episodes here or there. Even the overarching story remains incredibly vague for almost the entirety of the series and the audience is sometimes left to wonder if there really is a point to all of that searching when they knew virtually nothing to begin with. There's something about the lack of details that makes this read more
Oct 18, 2009
YoungVagabond (All reviews)
For anyone who has watched Cowboy Bebop, they know that director Shinichiro Watanabe loves blending completely disparate elements together, be it science fiction, physical comedy, spaghetti Western, bebop jazz, or space epic, all into the same story.

As diverse as "Cowboy Bebop" was, it has nothing on the sheer schizophrenia of "Samurai Champloo", Watanabe's most recent effort. On the surface, it's a mixture of comedy and samurai epic about Japan in the mid 1600s. However, that doesn't do the series any more justice than calling "Cowboy Bebop" a space western.

One episode is a Shaolin Soccer-esque comedy about a baseball game. Another is a zombie horror story read more
Sep 10, 2008
FarewellToWords (All reviews)
The premise is simple, three complete strangers drawn together by fate to embark on a long, very parlous journey across unfamiliar territory. However, it's not the plot which makes Samurai Champloo note worthy, but rather the characters themselves. There is a very strong relate-ability present in the main characters Jin, Mugen and Fuu; no matter who the viewer happens to be it's a more than safe bet they will instantly find common ground with at least one if not all three. This element within it's self is the very one which drives the series forward, it offers added interest and added suspense as each of read more
Dec 31, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
[b]Samurai Champloo[/b]
Maybe the story is not the best out there or is not the kind of art style that i usually like but it is good despite if i like it or not and the story even if it's not what i was expecting it was kind of good because it was episodic for the most part (which i don't like that much but if it's well made i will like it) and it's good, entertaining and enjoyable for the laughs and fight scenes.

[b][u]Story[/u][/b]
We follow the story of a girl named Fuu who wants to find a samurai that smells like sunflowers, she brings Mugen read more
Apr 14, 2009
darkmac (All reviews)
Samurai Champloo is frequently compared to Cowboy Bebop, but there's one thing that really sets it apart: the action. There wasn't anything bad about Bebop's action, but Champloo's action is among the best of any anime out there, especially among TV series. Though the main characters both use swords, they fight with wildly different styles (Mugen's use of shoes is particularly brilliant), and the fights against enemies with various weapons throughout the series all manage to make themselves interesting and different. Even if the rest of the series were terrible, it would be worth watching simply for the action.

But the rest of the series manages read more
Jul 5, 2015
wutdahek (All reviews)
I'll try not to make this too long so you can go watch Samurai Champloo asap.
Samurai Champloo is a beautifully made anime that shows us the power of fate and will also make you laugh your ass off at times. Fuu, an accident prone waitress, Jin, a mysterious ronin and a badass Mugen all cross paths in the first episode, and after a series of comical mishaps, they begin their adventure together to find the Samurai "who smells of flowers" that Fuu is looking for. The journey that comes ahead will truly grip you and cause you to become attached to the characters and read more
Oct 8, 2015
Snaxia (All reviews)
And as if I were to dive into an ocean wave, Samurai Champloo envelops me inside its charm and wit. Flowing in the rhythmic waves of this piece is enjoyable with every tide.

Shinichiro Watanabe, known for directing such popular works as Cowboy Bebop, Sakamichi no Apollon, and the more recent Zankyou no Terror, has a gift for creating a superb combination of quirky characters, immersive music, and entertaining plot lines. Samurai Champloo embodies Watanabe’s recursive blended style by merging Japanese Edo culture and contemporary nuanced hip hop. What results is a hip yet sophisticated story which is complemented by its loveable characters.

The convenience of read more
Nov 11, 2015
Rich_anime (All reviews)
I cannot rate this show highly enough. Unlike many I found it more enjoyable than Cowboy Bebop. Although I think Cowboy Bepop is overall a better story this just had a great feel to it, something which is not tangible or easy to describe.

First of all the music is brilliant throughout. It shouldn't work yet Old School Hip Hop blends seamlessly into Edo Japanese culture, it's extremely well delivered.

I think this is a rare anime. Each episode, whilst technically linked, is almost independent from the rest. The plot of each episode has no real purpose in the grand scheme of the story but brilliantly allows read more
Aug 16, 2017
Adi (All reviews)
Substance over style, style over substance? Pretty visuals, or powerful plots? Glamorous production, or memorable themes? Sometimes it feels like writers and producers often ask themselves this question as a way of deciding what part of the show to sacrifice in service for another—a tightly written, genuinely complex narrative or brilliant visuals, dizzying cinematography and a high-flown music backing? Sometimes as a viewer it feels like we have to ask ourselves the same question—what I just watched, did I enjoy it superficially or was it something deeper than that? Why does one matter more than the other? Sometimes I have to ask myself if I read more
Nov 11, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Cowboy Bebop is one of my favorite anime of all time, but what about Bebop's little brother, Samurai Champloo? Honestly...I felt that Champloo was a crushing disappointment and really isn't that good in comparison. I know that isn't a popular opinion to state, but it is truthfully how I feel. Now I am going to analyze this series in depth to further elaborate.

Story: 7/10

The story is that a little girl named Fu is wandering around trying to find a mysterious samurai that smells of sunflowers. On her journey, she meets the cool headed Jin and the Wildman Mugen. Jin fights with a traditional kenjutsu style, read more
Aug 16, 2007
daimira (All reviews)
Fuu is a young orphaned girl doing her best to survive while working in a teashop. But her world as she knows it begins to unravel the minute a wandering Okinawan swordsman by the name of Mugen slouches into the shop while the daikon's abusive son and his rude cronies are also having some fun. When Fuu becomes the victim of their nasty games, she immediately offers Mugen fifty dango if he saves her from them. At the same time, a masterless samurai named Jin bears witness to the daikon's cruelty and quickly intervenes, easily dispatching the daikon's "best of the best" guards. Mugen also read more
Apr 3, 2008
Monkey_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Story:
The story has a main central plot. Two samurai (although I think Mugen shouldn't really be considered a traditional samurai) and a teahouse waitress meet and the swordsmen end up accompanying her on a journey to seek out the samurai who smells of sunflowers. However, each episode, or occasionally every two episodes, really has its own story, but still falls into the main storyline perfectly because these episode stories are really the stories of their travels.
In the beginning the whole sunflower samurai thing was somewhat vague and unexplained, but the truth of it becomes revealed throughout the series. I think it was a great story read more
Dec 19, 2014
Play2X (All reviews)
I promised to some friends that some day I would do a review on Samurai Champloo.
And well, since the dough for the Nikuman is still rising, I might as well do this now. So, where to start?

First of all, if you visit my profile you'll find out rather quickly that I'm not a big fan of Watanabe Shinichiro. Or his works. Still, I try to rate it as objective as possible. So, lets get started already.

The first point on my list would be the story aspect, which I split up in three sections (something I'll do for every category, be prepared): The actual story, the read more
Oct 30, 2007
Huntsman (All reviews)
This show could have been something special on the same page as such classics like Ninja Scroll(NOT THE TV SERIES), Samurai X OVAs, Rurouni Kenshin, or Basilisk.

Samurai Champloo could have been great like the classics above, but it ended up like Samurai Deeper Kyo. Just average, nothing special. There was nothing really special about the show. The characters were interesting, but not compelling. By the end I didn't really care that much about anyone of them. The mix of comedy was the one pretty good part of the show. The music was just bad, no make that terrible. The action never got me excited. read more
Jun 30, 2007
Lance20000 (All reviews)
Story: Well the fact that the whole thing starts off with them looking for a Samurai that smells like Sunflowers is kinda weak, but what it grows into is something that only happens in a couple of shows. One thing about this story is it kept me guessing until the end of the series at what would happen.

Animation: Personally I loved this style of animation it was very original and I have never seen a style like this again. But some people wont like this style so if you dont like it oh well.

Sound: Although I am not a big fan of hip read more
Sep 3, 2016
Omegas82128 (All reviews)
I just finished it and I have this feeling to write a review about it so I will. So when I started watching the series, I thought to myself it's not that bad. But I was wrong, it's actually impeccable. It's an action, comedy thriller. In the start it seems the characters don't have much to them, but you do realize they are unique, they might a few elements that resemble the generic anime types but in the end they are unique. As the story goes on, you get to realize it's just more than action, comedy and music. It has great character development, there's read more
Jun 12, 2016
DOWA (All reviews)
Samurai+Hip-Hop can do something wrong ?
starting overview :
STORY:
The premise simple is find a samurai. The series is pseudo episodic each episode has stories but still have a lineal story. The episodic stories are good~. Some episode are very good , other are decent , meh , but mostly episodes are good.
I need to do talk about the start question:
Samurai+Hip-Hop can do something wrong ? the answer is ...... NO and YES
The mix style is little shocking really you can have a idea of samurais dancing and fighting hip hop REALLY some drop the show and read more