Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

No Game No Life


Alternative Titles

English: No Game, No Life
Synonyms: NGNL
Japanese: ノーゲーム・ノーライフ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2014 to Jun 25, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 21:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.431 (scored by 541,692 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1472
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #12
Members: 839,426
Favorites: 28,334

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 4, 2014
javycane (All reviews)
"Give people bright colors and fan service and they go crazy and lose any logic"

No game No Life is a curious anime to me. I Consider myself to be a not so cruel scorer always giving anime a chance and always looking for positives but this is not the case for No Game No Life with me. Considered to be the next best thing since canned bread everybody seems to love this and I'm the only one who cant see what is so good about it. I will try to give my vision on the show in the next couple of sections so please bare read more
Jun 25, 2014
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
【1】 All bloodshed, war, and pillage is forbidden throughout the world.
【2】 All disputes are to be resolved through the outcome of games.
【3】 In games, wagers will be made on what both parties decide to be of equal value.
【4】 Unless contrary to "Three", the game content and the things wagered do not matter.
【5】 The challenged party has the right to decide the contents of the game.
【6】 "As per the Oath", the wager will be unconditionally adhered to.
【7】 All matters for group conflicts will be decided by a representative.
【8】 If cheating is detected during a game, it will be regarded as a defeat.
【9】 The above rules are read more
Jul 16, 2014
raindrop (All reviews)
[contains spoilers]

Make no mistake, No Game No Life is built to be a blockbuster. Madhouse adapting "one of those" wildly successful isekai light novel series made sense considering their generally poor commercial performance as of late. And NGNL, a blitzkrieg of dastardly clever action and outrageous gags, as unsettling as it is original, certain delivers a blockbuster, but not without significant shortcomings.

The anime centers around Sora and Shiro: brother and sister, two certain victors in an absurdist world, whose ambitions and exploits, leave impressive opponents - and subsequently, you, the viewer - confounded and amazed at the same damn time. Ostensibly, the pair could be read more
Jan 6, 2015
Myhv (All reviews)
I don't normally write reviews, mainly cause I don't think that many people will be interested in my totally subjective opinion, but this time I decided to make an exception. Mainly cause I can't stand to see so many people slamming this series with the same repeating arguments, completely ignoring the positives.

As I've said, I have very much subjective and in many ways probably biased love for the series. I assume it's mainly because it saved me from the rot of meaningless flashy series, where fan service replaces story and various "grabs" are there instead of plot twists. But isn't this virtually the read more
Jun 29, 2014
MarlyTT (All reviews)
Here's the obligatory premise of the show for this review because I'm assuming you can't read the Synopsis up there due to allergy or something: Sora and Shiro have tremendous gaming skills and are bored with the regular world. A message arrives for the siblings, and when they open their message, they are stunned to see the scenery around them change to a world they had never encountered before. They've been summoned by Tet to...

Yes, the premise is pretty much a carbon copy of Mondaiji-tachi. In fact, it's so similar that I had to actually check when the respective light novels were released. They're read more
Jun 27, 2014
BlueEldur (All reviews)
Preliminary
No Game No Life(NGNL) is a wish-fulfillment show in which the protagonists are given an entirely arbitrary world in which they are the best at what governs that world: games. Wish-fulfillment, you say? Yeah, I am grouping this one up there with SAO, and I don't think I'm in the wrong when doing so. I mean, Sora's backstory is literally him getting awful grades and not giving a shit about what his parents say. It's the classic angsty mentality "me vs. the world" or "nobody understands me" type of mentality that many adolescents feel they are driven into, and this show plays off of that. read more
Jun 26, 2014
Kane-san (All reviews)
No Game No Life is a clear example for the anime community of overconfidence. It's a story of Sora and Shiro, an expert gaming duo, sent to another world where everything is settled through games. While this may appear to be simply following the hype of Sword Art Online as other animes have done, this is actually a much more advanced and original premise than meets the eye.

Unfortunately, the shows only aspect in its favor is the story's usage of different and unique games in order to settle disputes. The rest of the anime leaves much to be desired, simply applying clear attempts to read more
Jul 1, 2014
stu556 (All reviews)
In short: Low-brow pandering garbage.

The entirety of the show exists to facilitate the main character, Sora, in his traverses through a graphene-thin plot-composite synthesized from recycled tropes, clichés, and genre-hangups that not only weigh down the show and story but comprise the majority of what little weight the show has.
In attempting to make Sora more than run-of-the-mill, the writers marginalised the remaining characters to make room for their protagonist's greatly inflated ego: Steph and Jibril are reduced to idiots (who were very boring), Clammy is relegated to a spot as half-baked rival (or something, she was even more boring), and Shiro plays the read more
Jun 27, 2014
Kapodaco (All reviews)
It's not uncommon for one to wish themselves out of a certain situation. Whether it be from an instinctual desire for a grander lifestyle or the pursuit of happiness, one's desires vary from person to person. This may also be what appeals to many who are fans of roleplaying or out of body experiences. The desire for what one cannot have has driven many to madness, and this topic has been used by many forms of entertainment over the years. What No Game No Life does with this topic is shows what can be accomplished when the main character takes what he has learned and read more
Jun 28, 2014
TheNekoOtaku (All reviews)
No Game No Life is one of those classic examples of "Over Hyped" anime. before I start pointing out everything wrong with the anime I will say the one good thing it has going for is the animation and the wide range of colors it has going on in many shots do make it nice to look at but it's not enough redeem it.

Story: It's rare to come across an anime that shares the same plot with another and No Game No life is the first time I came across this, now your wonder what anime I'm talking about? well It's Problem Children read more
Nov 1, 2014
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
"There's no way to know the rules or the goal, yet there are 7 billion players making whatever moves they want. There are no parameters and no way to even know the genre. This world is just a crappy game."
‒ Sora, No Game No Life

Is it really that bad? Real life is a wide open sandbox game with the most realistic physics and graphics in existence.

No Game No Life is a show that is full of games and tactics. Just one problem: they don't work. And I don't mean some small loopholes here and there. The very foundation of the tactics requires knowing read more
Jun 25, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Life is like a game, if you play your cards right, then you’ll win. Perhaps this is more if a metaphorical statement but it is how No Game No Life (NGNL) is constructed as such. Well, not initially but in the mysterious world of Disboard, everything is determined by game – including your life. But first, we need to trace back a bit. This is because NGNL is based off a light novel of the same name focusing on two main characters and siblings as they conquer through Disboard and become Gods of their world. It’s a game like they have never played before.

Written by read more
Jun 26, 2014
Demi_V (All reviews)
NEETs are usually referred to as people who take a long break from society to do whatever they please, causing others to view them as “lazy” or envy them for having freedom. But if NEETs were born with superhuman intelligence and prove to be more noteworthy than your average student or professional, they deserve a lot more respect.

Meet No Game No Life, Madhouse’s new light and playful production, featuring NEETs with an objective to become God of a new world. It’s understandable that NGNL is a fantasy where you can use your wildest imagination and can’t possibly go wrong, but a common mistake that read more
Jan 16, 2016
D-ohnuts (All reviews)
Fiction exists as a distraction. There exists many kinds of fiction: comedy, adventure, drama, etc. And then there's shallow wish fulfillment shlock that only exists for the purpose of pandering. Thus, No Game No Life exists.

No Game No Life is the "story" of two NEET siblings, Sora (18 years old) and Shiro (11 years old) who form a team known as "Blank". One day, they get sucked into another world called Disboard, wherein every conflict is resolved through games, including political affairs. Thus, when Stephanie, the princess of Elchea, loses her inheritance to the throne after losing a game of poker, Sora and Shiro decide read more
Jun 25, 2014
AtlasInvictus (All reviews)
Everywhere I go here on MAL I see people praising this show. 10s are almost the standard since this show aired. Almost impossible to escape to the hype surrounding this anime I found myself watching the first episode even though I am against fan-fiction like stories such as this one. So, what do I think of the show?

Well, it has been quite a bumpy road with No Game No Life for me. A surprisingly weak start with almost every cliché in just two or three episodes a pandering show like this could ever contain and more headshakes I ever did when watching anime since Sword read more
Jul 8, 2014
Rivayne (All reviews)
No Game No Life, the anime everyone was talking about this season. Everywhere on MAL and the anime subreddit everyone was praising NGNL. I tried hard to like it but I just couldn't, there was almost nothing redeemable about this show. If the show is bad then why do people watch it? And how did it get so popular? Well I guess I'll try my best to describe, while not spoiling as much as I can.

First off I'll start by listing all of the positives about this show, the art and animation was beautiful, nothing less to be expected by MadHouse. The OST was read more
Nov 6, 2014
Kimuraaaa (All reviews)
No Game No Life is yet another anime about games, but this one is different, and in a lot of good ways, the world created is a charming yet surprisingly deep land of politics and interesting characters all around.

Instead of writing an essay about this i'm going to create a list of Positives and Negatives, I know when you're just looking to see if an anime is worth watching you usually don't want to read all that much.

Positives

- The story always seems to be moving forwards and never seems to slow down always introducing new and interesting characters to meet.
- The art style is beautiful, read more
Jun 25, 2014
ToastytheBaker (All reviews)
Blank can unite this burning land and bring an end to all this Disboard!! (haha puns, Disboard, discord.)

-Overall
No Game No Life is about 2 NEETs, Sora and Shiro, who are geniuses when it comes to games. They are transported to a world where games decide everything from national borders to theft. Because Sora and Shiro are amazing at games, this world, called Disboard, (haha discord, this board, disboard, hahahaha games haha) seems like their dream world. The art reflects this, with it's unique coloration and artstyle.
The voices are very well done, and the soundtrack is very fitting. The characters each have comedic elements associated with read more
Jun 30, 2014
ar2000 (All reviews)
A lot of popular shows have plenty of problems that are often ignored because they pander to their intended audience and NGNL (No Game, No Life) is no exception. The impressions one would likely get from the hype surrounding NGNL are it’s “an amazing show with an original premise and spectacular story-telling.” Though this is mostly exaggeration, as this show is far from amazing, it’s also far from awful for plenty of good reasons. NGNL’s glory stems from how well it knows its audience and that is a point in its favor, but there are definitely issues with it that should be addressed.

It’s easy to read more
Jul 10, 2014
NlSHlKlN0 (All reviews)
Do you ever just have those series that you really want to love, but just can't for various reasons?

Well, No Game No Life, or NGNL for short, is that anime for me.

The premise starts out interestingly enough, with two genius gamer, hikko-NEET siblings who find themselves transported to an alternate fantasy world where everything is decided by games. There, they are caught up in humanity's struggle for survival, which is mostly based on politics and the relative strengths of the other races, since in the alternate world there is no war or killing. Since Sora and Shiro are already incredibly skilled at games due to read more