Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Byousoku 5 Centimeter

Byousoku 5 Centimeter

Alternative Titles

English: 5 Centimeters Per Second
Synonyms: 5 cm per second - a chain of short stories about their distance
Japanese: 秒速5センチメートル

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 2
Chapters: 11
Status: Finished
Published: May 25, 2010 to Mar 25, 2011
Genres: Drama, Romance, Seinen
Authors: Shinkai, Makoto (Story), Seike, Yukiko (Art)
Serialization: Afternoon

Statistics

Score: 8.271 (scored by 7358 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3852
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #422
Members: 14,258
Favorites: 575

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 1, 2011
Karhu (All reviews)
Like others, I saw the anime first. I thought it was quite good and started to look for the manga for alternative ending. Well, I found a lot more.

First, I don't cry, ever. My eyes get little wet sometimes but that's all. Well, that was before I started reading Byousoku 5 Centimeter. After the first 2 chapters I had no choice but to take a break. My eyes were something similar to waterfall during the first reading session.

After reading more chapters (and taking some more breaks) I found feelings I didn't know to exist. Romance is so dramatic, beautiful and pure that it makes read more
Nov 28, 2011
Moon_Light (All reviews)
"Every minute felt like an eternity time, clearly as if it had a malicious intent, slowly ebbing away from me. I clenched my teeth and keeping myself from crying was the only thing I could do"

It all started when I was discussing the anime with a friend. It turned into a sort of debate on whether the ending to the anime was depressing or happy. Did he move on or just “chicken out.” Did Takaki get the short of the stick or was it really a good thing that it turned out the way it did. It kept going on or a while, in read more
Dec 23, 2012
Stosyl (All reviews)
I was 14 when I saw the first part of the anime on TV. It was melancholy and beautiful, and I loved it immediately. I didn't know there was more to it until five years later, when I watched it again. After watching part 2 and hearing Kanae's story, I cried harder than I had ever cried since I was a child.

After that I had to read the manga. The art is AMAZING, much more satisfying than Shinkai's anime, and there is a lot more development to the characters that allows you to understand where they are coming from better.

The epilogue that is part 3 read more
Dec 8, 2011
h2iro (All reviews)
After I had watched the movie "5 Centimeters Per Second: a chain of short stories about their distance", directed by Makoto Shinkai, one of the biggest problems with the movie I had was the lack of depth in the relationship between Kanae and Takaki.

In the manga, however, I feel like this relationship was explored more in depth, which left me with a more complete feeling after reading the manga. This also helped build both Kanae, Takaki, and Akari as characters, because narration from Kanae about her feelings revealed more dimensions to each character than what was depicted in the movie.

If you enjoyed read more
Dec 1, 2013
aNiceBoat (All reviews)
This manga is one of the best that I have ever read (and will probably read in the future).
I can not think of anything to change about it that would honestly make it any better. I won't lie though, I had to take a break every few chapters (especially after the first two), the emotions that it envoked just hit that hard. It is a very emotional tale of love and loss, one that will leave you both wanting more, and wondering if you could take anymore. Honestly, I loved every bit of this story. It left a piece of read more
Apr 11, 2016
saki88 (All reviews)
can i cry now?

no one died, but i am crying, really, really crying.

i didnt read the reviews because i might get spoiled about what happened, but i should have.. i should have so i could have prepared myself for what happened.

im really sorry but this could be a waste of your time to read my review. but please prepare a tissue or a handkerchief when you read this manga.

it is a great story, but really.. im a crybaby now while im typing this down.

i like the characters. but because of their age when things happened, it was awkward for them and they were both conscious. read more
Aug 28, 2017
FeelsBad (All reviews)
Prepare a box of tissues before you read Byousoku 5 Centimeter.

Even if you are a rock, this manga has the potential to dehydrate you by exhausting you of your tears. The feels are so heavy they just can't be done proper justice in a review. Both the art and story are perfect and convey the feelings of the characters extremely well. This is a must read if you enjoy emotional dramas, romance, or if you just like to cry. The best part is that this manga also has great reread value, the feels will hit you again and again; and the tears just keep flowing.

TLDR; read more
Mar 14, 2017
Sammy_Lee (All reviews)
I don't know if it's just that I'm actually too stupid to understand the plot, but this manga was so very boring and not worth the $23 I spent on it.

The initial plot, not too shabby. It starts off with the "first love" scenario that naturally ends in heartbreak. Then that plot is never addressed again. We find out that the main character never recovered from that heartbreak for like 15 years and we're even introduced to another character that is attracted to him for like 1 chapter and then never again. It just demonstrated heartbreak that lasted and we're shown the development read more
Nov 19, 2017
comiclove (All reviews)
Like its source material, '5 Centimeters per Second' is the mediocre piece of Shinkai's work in manga. Same issues with the story and characterization, but at least the art is consistent.

[Story - 4]

Same story as before: childhood friends try to keep their love alive despite the amount of distance between them. While I still dislike this story and its themes, due to how blatant and unrefined the execution is, I can admire that the pacing is a lot more suitable for a story with such melancholic ambience. I also appreciate that there is more thought given to portraying how more characters besides just these two read more