Riding Bean

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: ライディング・ビーン

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 22, 1989
Producers: Youmex
Licensors: AnimEigo
Studios: AIC, Artmic
Source: Manga
Genre: ActionAction
Themes: CarsCars, PolicePolice
Demographic: SeinenSeinen
Duration: 46 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.071 (scored by 79407,940 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #34212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4229
Members: 17,179
Favorites: 63

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 16, 2008
Archaeon (All reviews)
Riding Bean is one of Kenichi Sonoda's early works, and though it was originally planned as a series, only one episode was ever released.

The anime follows the exploits of the legendary courier "Bean Bandit" (a truly unfortunate moniker), and his partner Irene Vincent. They are framed for the kidnapping of a wealthy heiress, and are subsequently hunted by the police and various other parties.

The art and animation of Riding Bean is quite typical of it's time, and bears a resemblance in places to the style of Lupin and Giant Robo. Riding Bean does however have something that sets it aside - the chases. Very few read more
Nov 30, 2015
herbeey (All reviews)
I love trashy 80s anime about hyper masculine crap such as cars. It's silly trashy fun. The dub in this is beautifully bad purely because the main character who has a very enjoyably tricked out car has zero charisma. The dubbing of Percy, his arch rival, is a riot though. Percy is the over the top police detective obsessed with catching our hero, The Road Buster!!! The Road Buster (aka - Bean Bandit) does criminal underworld driving jobs and trashes many police cars every time. This anime has a strong sense of fun to it. Percy is especially fun, but take time to enjoy the read more
Aug 13, 2011
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
Ever imagined an anime version of "The Fast and the Furious"? Well, me neither. But if there was one, it'd probably be something similar to "Riding Bean" (okay, I concede "Initial D" might be a more obvious choice, but I haven't seen that yet).

"Riding Bean" is about cars. Cars, gangsters, and more cars, to be exact. All the action centralises around fast and furious car chases down the highway, or the main character (nicknamed "Bean Bandit") doing some incredible things with his incredible sports car (named "Roadbuster" - you just know it's a badass car because it has a name) to get him out of read more
Nov 8, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

While many anime fans in the 1990s were familiar with Gunsmith Cats, very few have ever seen its prequel "Riding Bean". This 1989 OVA was written before Kenichi Sonada began the Gunsmith Cats manga and was intended to be its own series. However, it wasn't well received and it only got 1 episode. Why is it worth your time to watch it? The answer is simple. In addition to being hilariously stupid, it has one of the WORST English dubs in the history of anime!


Plot and characters:

The basic plot is that there is a legendary driver that will do any job for a price. Basically read more
Sep 8, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
As a person outside of having to review the show, this show is pretty awesome for vintage anime and I truly injoyed it. As a reviewer… I have to nit pick. The problem with that is that the story is really very good and I believe it has the workings of becoming a whole series is the Manga-ka Kenichi Sonoda had not had a falling out with the studio. After the OVA was created, Kenichi created the manga and the manga ‘Gunsmith Cats’ where Rally Vincent was the star though her design was altered.

Anyway, going back to the story, it’s pretty awesome in how read more
Sep 16, 2009
RobdeFR (All reviews)
Riding Bean is a prequel of Gunsmith Cats, featuring a character of Smith.

Bean is a hired driver for sly tasks, be it driving criminals after a bank robbery, or taking the little daughter of a millionaire back to his father. For those tasks he used his bullet proof modern sports car and performs his missions without fail.

The story was pretty entertaining, sometimes silly but in a positive way at that. And was good for this genre of anime. The animation was very good and you can see that it had a good financing backing the project. The character were all consistent, except a slight fail read more
Dec 1, 2019
AxeWorld (All reviews)
So here's the thing. Riding Bean is pretty mediocre. It's a little schlocky 80s action OVA that I only watched because it's attatched to Gunsmith Cats... and it's not that particularly exciting. But here's the thing, the crappy english dub elevates this to a whole another level of schlock. The protagonist sounds like a tool, the antagonists sound absolutely ridiculous, the side characters are all trying so hard. ''I'll have a stawbewy ice-cweam and miwk''. All of it, accidental brilliance, and I doubt I would've enjoyed this OVA nearly as much in its original form. So props to you dub team, you crazy bastards. You read more
Oct 29, 2019
EggheadLuna (All reviews)
Riding Bean is an awesome, awesome, awesome—oops, accidentally clicked the repeat button—OVA and my favorite adaptation from the Ken'ichi Sonoda répertoire. If you have ever experienced Gunsmith Cats, this is like that—ramped up to two-hundred! Half-naked girls, explosions, crazy car chases, the fetishization of rare guns, and much more! Since this is a forty-six minute OVA, there will be spoilers! You have been warned!

• Bean Bandit and his voluptuous friend, Rally, are professional getaway drivers. In the first scene we are already exposed to Bean’s badass nature as he chases a bunch of robbers down in his custom Porche chassis (with Corvette ‘Stingray’ machinery)! Bean is read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
What I initially thought would be an Ender’s Game porno turned out to be a ridiculous eighties action story with healthy doses of blood, cars, and pedophilia to appeal to every possible demographic. Riding Bean was the precursor to my last review, Gunsmith Cats, and even contains Rally Vincent as a secondary character. But unlike Gunsmith Cats, Riding Bean kind of sucks.

In what I assume is Chicago, Bean is a courier who, along with his partner Rally, get framed for kidnapping a young girl while the actual kidnappers take her father hostage and steal the ransom money. In a fit of testosterone laden action, Bean read more
Sep 11, 2013
droidnoise11 (All reviews)
One thing that you see and get a good feel from this movie is the over-the-top, ridiculous, and exciting feeling of a 80’s movie. No doubt one of the most interesting protagonist I’ve ever seen in any sort of anime OVA and no doubt one of my favorites. The overall action and car chase scene made it stand out hell of a lot then I predicted.
They really don’t do anime like they used. OVA’s back in the day were gory, bloody, violent, and pretty fucking insane for the most part.
I’m on a bit of a OVA kick right now and I’m going to try to read more
Apr 28, 2021
YamaGucci_g00n3y (All reviews)
This film aged extremely well, in my opinion. Try watching it in HD.

Don't watch it dubbed though. I listened to about 10 minutes of the dub, laughed, and switched to sub.

The story is really straightforward and easy to follow, and the premise is also really easy to pick up. The 80s action movie vibes in the film are very strong, but I think it was executed well -- nothing too cliche. It didn't feel contrived, even though you had over-the-top action sequences. Furthermore, I really liked the characters. I think it was a nice contrast to have the anti-hero being sensitive regarding children and read more