Horimiya

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Horimiya
Synonyms: Hori-san and Miyamura-kun
Japanese: ホリミヤ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2021 to Apr 4, 2021
Premiered: Winter 2021
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: CloverWorks
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Theme: SchoolSchool
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.211 (scored by 446970446,970 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #3132
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #138
Members: 829,180
Favorites: 20,679

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 3, 2021
RebelPanda (All reviews)
On the surface, Horimiya is a finely polished anime—Glistening character art, bright lighting, realistic backgrounds, glittery visual effects. Every voice actor suited their character, and their performances are convincing. Both the opening and ending credits are slickly animated with the utmost care and talent. The original soundtrack is average, but it fits every scene. Though I was immediately drawn to this anime for its impressive technical qualities, they weren’t good enough to overlook the subpar writing.

Beneath the superficial presentation, Horimiya is a computer-generated romantic comedy story that thinks in cliches: It merges tropes from the mediocre rom-com anime with the worst parts of sappy read more
Apr 3, 2021
SenbeiPan (All reviews)
Hey.
Hey you.
Yes, you.

Are you a girl who does the chores every day and babysit your younger sibling but wants to be popular in school? Or are you a boy with a gloomy-looking who doesn't talk to anyone in the school but wants to be an edgy boy? Or do you have fantasies about having a popular girlfriend who is a homebody after school? Or do you have fantasies about having a silent and gloomy boyfriend who is actually cool-looking and polite but will abuse you when you want? If all of the 4 answers of yours are no, then there is no reason to watch read more
Jan 30, 2021
NextUniverse (All reviews)
Preliminary
(TLDR at the bottom, as always, thanks for reading)

*Obligatory I have read the manga statement*

Good lord, I don't understand the love for Horimiya.

Let's say we have a cookie jar. Each cookie represents an anime in the romance genre, and for anyone who loves loopholes, I mean anime with romance as the main genre as opposed to sub-genre. You could probably fit about a good 10, 15 or so anime in there. Of course, with Horimiya now in the mix, if I managed to take out the cookie representing Horimiya, it would neither look nor taste like a distinction.

In other words, Horimiya is #42897 of the read more
Apr 3, 2021
Twumi (All reviews)
[Overall Score: 8.5]
Horimiya is one of the most anticipated adaption ever. After years, when everyone gave up on an adaption, there was an announcement. It might not be an exaggeration to say that Horimiya is Winter 2021 most anticipated anime right after SnK final season. After reading the manga for so many years, I was also happy to hear the news. Did it live up to my expectations? Yes.

Horimiya feels like it’s about to cross that line between a light-hearted rom-com and an over the top romance drama, but it never does, which is a good thing (A reference from the Oscar winning film, Parasite). read more
Jan 30, 2021
HellLyter (All reviews)
Preliminary
Anime touting a gimmick always worry me. They throw in these attention grabbers in an attempt to say "Hey look! I boast something different than those other shows of the same genre and concept as me, come and watch!" But they often end up being entirely one dimensional because they solely revovolve around that one singular idea. Then the author realizes that they actually need more than a unique shtick to write a story and fail to craft an engaging narrative filled with expressive characters to support it. Whoops!

I'm worried because Horimiya so far feels like yet another example of this for the RomCom genre. read more
Jan 30, 2021
Snowstrife (All reviews)
Preliminary
A great take on Rom-Coms… y'all need to chill on the hate

Romcoms usually take a misstep and follow a formula of cliche tropes and becomes something that becomes hard to watch, this does the exact opposite. As a person who loves romcoms and romance type anime, this anime hits all the points for a great and original romance.

The characters are a major factor in this anime that creates a more entertaining anime. Our two main characters complement each other and create moments of awe that we will never have.

Izumi Miyamura is a different type of MC. He isn’t the braindead MC, but a realistic read more
Apr 3, 2021
KANLen09 (All reviews)
"You are worth more than you know, capable of more than you think, and loved more than you can imagine."

Undoubtedly the rom-com of the season, Horimiya has the potential to be great in every aspect of the genre, but the elephant in the room is obviously CloverWorks and the production team behind this show: the classic case of quantity over quality. I'd like to think that we're playing a baseball match with CloverWorks for Winter 2021: Strike 1 for the horrible adaptation of The Promised Neverland (Season 2), Strike 2 for the abominable business practices of hampering Wonder Egg Priority's Behind-the-Scenes tragedy of director Shin read more
Jan 30, 2021
AstralBread (All reviews)
Preliminary
KareKano is a 1995 shoujo manga with a 1998 anime adaptation directed by Hideaki Anno.
Here are some quotes from its synopsis:
“Yukino Miyazawa is the female representative for her class and the most popular girl among the freshmen at her high school... However, in reality, she is an incredibly vain person... She wants nothing more than to be the center of attention and praise—which is why she cannot stand Soichiro Arima, the male representative for her class and the only person more perfect than her...
...Soichiro visits Yukino house to bring her a CD and sees her uninhibited self in action; now equipped with the truth, he read more
Jan 30, 2021
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Normally don't watch a lot of romance animes, or don't have a major interest in them. But this show is far different for me. To the point I'm for sure am gonna read the manga afterwards because of how great I find it. It's one of the best of the season, and let me explain why.

Story and characters
The story follows a case of misjudging another, which leads to surprise interactions, which develops into a wonderful friendship. As we meet the actual Izumi, and not the one thought of by his classmates for years on end, believed to be an otaku, when really he's an average read more
Jan 30, 2021
skysurf (All reviews)
Preliminary
A show containing the typical elements you would find in most Shoujo: the bishounen tropes where guys are drawn prettier than girls, colorful sparkling backgrounds for short scenes that are supposed to be cute and a school romance atmosphere intended to make the heart of teen girls go dokidoki depicting the usual (unrealistic) fantasies girls have around that age:

- A boy that is a nice guy but at the same time has a "rebel side": MC looks like a regular guy at school but wears piercings outside of school. How rebel is that, uh? Oh, his beauty level is also supposed to be increased dramatically read more
Apr 3, 2021
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
Horimiya had the potential to be a truly great series, but it immensely squandered it.

I genuinely wanted to like everything about it from the story to its characters to its gorgeous aesthetics and visual directing. I truly desired to see this show as something deep, dynamic, wholesome, and metaphorical. I wanted to believe this was a series that can boast and fulfill its unique takes and subversions of the typical romcom genre. But as both an adaptation and an anime in general, Horimiya just simply failed to take care of the basic fundamentals.

The story initally starts out fairly strong with the hooking premise of a read more
Jan 30, 2021
Nobody_1899 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’ve been hearing about Horimiya manga for a while, yet it hasn’t caught my attention at all, then the anime aired, so I watched a couple of episodes out of pure curiosity, and it managed to totally and completely catch my attention.

This show has provided me with everything you can expect from a GREAT romcom anime, it has top tier characters (Hori san + Miyamura), comedy, narrative, relationships, drama, romance, and more.

The artwork is outstanding, as expected from CloverWorks, and the voice actors and actresses did a fantastic job as well.

I'm loving it, you would most likely love it, and I plan on continuing to read more
Jan 30, 2021
k0tar0 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is the definition of mid.

The main premise of the show is that the main characters act differently outside of school.

If that sounds interesting to you then go ahead, watch it.

Episode 1 was bearable and had some potential but by the second episode, it was very clear what type of show this would be. It's another self-insert rom-com show; The quiet outcast boy who meets an attractive/popular girl who would in other circumstances, never interact with each other. The comedy in the first two episodes has no intelligence and consists of slapstick and yelling. While other romcoms that occupy the same slice of life read more
Apr 10, 2021
Ranivus (All reviews)
"Hori is toxic" "Hori is a -phobe" "This anime deserves a 1 because of that ONE THING"
Those are the words you hear often if you live past the year of 2020 mostly thanks to Twitter. This take is typically comes from western 'audiences'. Don't listen to those kind of takes for this anime/manga. Those come from close minded individuals who lack the understanding of context and most importantly, understanding that HUMANS ARE COMPLEX AND IMPERFECT PEOPLE. Especially in high school.
If you are of High School age and STILL don't understand that people have different opinions, then you are going to fail in the real read more
Apr 3, 2021
LilBoOfficial (All reviews)
I have mixed feelings toward Horimiya, mainly due to its inconsistency. One day the comedies fine, the characters are likeable, and the extremely generic story doesn’t feel problematic; while the next day the comedies gone stale, the characters feel as basic as the storyline, and I’m dying at the contrived drama. Majority of the time, it’s the latter. It feels like they blatantly don’t know what they’re doing. But there’s still something in Horimiya that managed to keep me invested, despite the aforementioned complaints. I’ll try to break down both sides of the spectrum throughout this review, since I’m split down the middle.

Horimiya started off read more
Apr 3, 2021
Luubie (All reviews)
Have you identified yourself with any characters? Visual, psychological, habits and customs are aspects that we develop since our birth and we constantly relearn. Some are more notable, even those who are not friends can see that you wore a different outfit or cut your hair. But there are other identities that are not easily understood, from the emotional side, to the introspective, something that many hide, whether through fear, trauma or insecurity. Horimiya is not just a famous novel that adapted a popular manga ... Not really ... It is about how jovial aspects are put into conflict and changes, where interpersonal relationships are read more
Mar 13, 2021
Simme-22 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This will be my second review, also on a show I don’t like. After watching the latest episode (10) I simply couldn’t wait any longer. Although if the ending is beyond a masterpiece, the show is just that bad. This show is literally an inside joke among my friend group because of how bad it is.

I won’t go on too long since I don’t like long reviews

Story 2/10 they have some kind of idea of what they’re doing in the first 4 episodes but the rest is just introducing new characters with filler like content. They focus on character to character with no apparent changes read more
Feb 3, 2021
cliquelain (All reviews)
Preliminary
When watching Horimiya one question constantly grazes through my head; if only. If only they had given ANY time for character development and backstory before making the relationship progress rapidly in minutes, maybe then I could actually care about the characters. It's laughable that the premise is *oh my god this girl and boy who look a certain way at school actually have completely different personalities!* - why is it laughable? The premise is done and explored within the first 4 minutes of episode one. It doesn't even give the viewer time to fully grasp the preconceived self of the mc's, no it does not. read more
Mar 2, 2021
stalkyoo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Horimiya is a good anime to watch if you're feeling bored, very lighthearted and enjoyable. So far no complaints, but my issue is... why is it ranked so high?

While it isn't a bad anime and the first episodes hooked me and made me wait for more, the story as a whole is nowhere near memorable. The characters are generic, the development is incredibly fast paced and after 7 episodes it feels like there's nothing more to tell to the story. It feels like any basic romcom, except the comedy is almost nonexistent. There isn't really any flow to it and at this point the story read more
Apr 3, 2021
IrrelevantGuy (All reviews)
Romcom is a tricky genre. It's hard to tell exactly what you are getting just by looking at the synopsis. Most of the times, you get your generic romcom with intolerable characters, and at other times, you find something like Horimiya.

For quite a long time, Horimiya has been a pretty massive name in the manga community, but it wasn't until recently that it started garnering attention from the anime viewers. Despite what some people may believe, the 2021 adaptation of Horimiya isn't actually its first anime adaptation. Before this, an OVA based on the much less popular web comic was released 8 years ago, which read more