Kyokou Suiri


In/Spectre

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: In/Spectre
Japanese: 虚構推理

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2020 to Mar 29, 2020
Premiered: Winter 2020
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Manga
Genres: MysteryMystery, DemonsDemons, SupernaturalSupernatural, RomanceRomance, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.951 (scored by 113010113,010 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #38292
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #544
Members: 270,549
Favorites: 950
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2020
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Words, words, words. What the hell do they even mean? Well, I don’t know! But someone has to figure out what the hell this show is about and whether or not it’s good. Lucky for you, I happen to be extremely qualified in deciphering bullshit, and In/Spectre certainly is grade-A bullshit.

Where do I even begin untangling this web of nonsense? First of all, there’s so much goddamn talking. If you want to see some good animation, find a different anime! But is the dialogue good or bad? Let’s establish a criterion. Dialogue-heavy anime can work well if the writing is witty, informative, believable, and read more
Mar 28, 2020
jd2001z (All reviews)
Usually, in the mystery genre, they use all the evidence and logic they have to search for the truth. Instead, Kyokou Suiri uses all the evidence and logic it has to create a lie.

The story is about two characters, Kotoko Iwanaga and Kurou Sakuragawa. One of which is a “goddess of wisdom” for the youkai who live in the world, and the other is a seemingly plain human who is not what he seems. The two of them band together (or you can say Kotoko clings on to Kurou) and they try to solve the worries and concerns of the youkai around them.

Episode 1 introduces read more
Feb 1, 2020
Ilovebeanbag (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Too much speaking" is a common criticism for this anime. Well, even though it is true, all it does is make it a little boring in the last few episodes. This anime didn't stray away from its core message. And the ending was spreading well wrapped.

You should watch this story as a seinen themed one. Because this anime doesn't have conventional main characters, and characters are actually three dimensional and their actions arise from very relatable reason.

My most loved element of the story is... Great character interactions... The people in the story actually have souls and behave in a way that's relatable. You will read more
Mar 28, 2020
SunlitSonata (All reviews)
In/Spectre is the type of series that tests the notion “how far are you willing to stretch a good idea?”

This is the type of series where if I explained the overall plot of the series to someone, they might be able to see the unique space in storytelling it’s going for. What the series is “about” is a yokai Rosalina attempting to create a fake internet rumor to prevent an imaginary ghost from gaining power by society’s belief in its existence.

Conceptually, this is a brilliant idea for a story and overall, I think the execution is at least good. While so many mystery read more
Mar 28, 2020
Ethan_07 (All reviews)
Human beings are storytelling creatures.

Our little stories are vital for us to convey truths, and sometimes, create lies. However, truth manifest lies. Lies, conceal truth. In every mystery and detective anime, there is always one definite truth. Everything else is just a fabrication to bury the truth, layer upon layer. In most cases, a clear line is drawn between what is real and what is not. But, what if, just what if – the line no longer exists?

Then, truth and lies are no longer differentiable. They are blended into each other, and being played around by whoever’s behind them to reach a desired conclusion. read more
Feb 25, 2020
W_Braveheart_W (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll start by saying I had high expectations for this show, and am an anime only viewer. I speak nothing of the Manga here, It is probably paced differently there, as it is a different medium entirely.

Unfortunately, I have to say watching this show is like reading a really wordy book where you already know what the characters are thinking. It starts with a really strong first episode, and the background for the main characters was very interesting, but everything else in this show moves at a snail's pace. Every option must be explored and explained. This show regularly wastes half of an episode talking read more
Feb 1, 2020
HEISENB3RG (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I saw that In/Spectre was getting an anime adaptation, I knew that I needed to watch it. As a huge fan of Blast of Tempest (same author and creator) I was extremely excited to get to watch this anime. And boy am I glad that I am watching it and I hope that you will be too.

Story: 8/10
The premise of this show is quite entertaining and interesting, following Kotoko Iwanaga as she solves various supernatural problems with the help of Kurou Sakuragawa, while simultaneously and humorously pushing her affection onto him. It presents itself very well within the mystery genre. Unlike lots of read more
Feb 1, 2020
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show honestly makes me want to read the manga, it's really a great show.

Being that I have an interest in Youkai and that kind of culture. This is the right show for me, and it can be for you! Here are reasons why!

The story has a vast number of interesting points. From it's great characters, one which being Kotoko whom despite looking tiny, and having one real leg and one real eye, is not only quite smart, full of spunk and wisdom, but honestly a badass in some scenes. She really is great. While the mystery behind Kurou is a good plot device to read more
Feb 2, 2020
YESTORAKS (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kyokou Suiri wasn’t a series that was at the top of my expectations list going into this season, but it was definitely mid-tier with a bullet.  Along with Runway de Waratte (which debuted about as promisingly as one could hope) they were my main sleeper picks.  Kyokou Suiri is an interesting and odd manga (actually based on a liht novel on the Kodansha Taiga seinen imprint) and there was a lot of promise here even if the show is flying way under the radar.  And while I wouldn’t put it on the same pedestal as Runway, I did like this premiere an awful lot.

It seems like forever ago now, but Brain’s Base was read more
Mar 28, 2020
Rirakkusu (All reviews)
There’s a reason why there are little to no “In/Spectre-like” anime out there. While it’s unique premise stands out in the nowadays flooded seasonal charts, it’s also harder to execute than most. Writing mysteries with a brilliant “inspector” (pun intended) as the protagonist is difficult because not only do you have to portray them as such, but you also have to clear the high bars set by the nature of the story.

Luckily, In/Spectre does deliver on its promises. The latter part of the second arc is, without a better word to describe it, exceptional. Its setups are ambiguous yet easy to see once laid out. read more
Mar 28, 2020
Stark700 (All reviews)
Japanese youkai lore has been a fascinating subject in the realm of anime, manga, and video games. Every year, we are graced by media related to these supernatural entities, based on the Shinto religion. And while Kyokou Suiri (ln/Spectre) certainly isn’t among the first to explore such themes, it does embark on a supernatural quest with a lovely little oddball named Kotoko Iwanaga.

Let’s allow reality to hit us first. Kyokou Suiri has a fair amount of volumes but the anime allows the show to be only 12-episodes. To make things more complicated, the early chapters (manga version at least) are fairly long, some expanding well read more
Mar 28, 2020
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
It’s really hard for an anime to feel original these days. So many series I’ve seen lately have felt like I was watching the same series, with the same characters, with different names. So when I come across a fresh and unique story, I have to acknowledge it. That’s exactly what I got out of Kyokou Suiri.

Kyokou Suiri is some of the best fun I’ve had watching anime in a long time. Based on a light novel originally, it tells the story of a girl who’s traded her leg and eye for god like powers. She teams up with a boy who also has god read more
Mar 3, 2020
HoofyHands (All reviews)
Preliminary
I went into Kyokou Suiri (In/Spectre) excited and came out bored. In/Spectre isn't a bad anime. I love the art style, the character designs and concepts, the romance, the soundtrack and lastly the voice work. The problem lies entirely with supernatural "mystery" element. And I use mystery loosely. A good mystery tries to get the audience actively engaged in trying to solve the crime (e.g. Poirot) and a bad one makes the audience passive by having some Deus Ex Machina solution (e.g. CSI, Bones). Kyokou Suiri does neither. Instead its like having someone explain to you a Mystery novel they recently read. This is read more
Mar 2, 2020
VoidLogic (All reviews)
Preliminary
I found this to be a disappointing adaptation and I will not be watching the remainder of it.

I think that there are three main problem areas which prevent the show from succeeding:

It has a grating pace. The plot structure is basically episodic monster of the week, but stretched out over several episodes at a time. And It is constantly perforated by repeated or only tangentially related flashbacks made up of panning stills and dull narration.

The characters lean heavily into stereotype to make up for the dreadfully lacking ability of the team to develop them on their own in the new medium.

The dialogue is mostly read more
Mar 15, 2020
Kigachan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note: Have not read the manga
I wanted to enjoy this anime from the preview, I really did. Interesting main character with disabilities that actually limit her in a believable way? Mamoru Miyano? Very interesting case files dealing with supernatural causes? Yes, yes, yes!

Instead what I got was a mystery anime with maybe 2 arcs vaguely trying to moonlight as the Monogatari series in which they talk every episode and not much gets done at all.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm okay with anime that's very dialogue heavy, but it has to be interesting. And I know a lot of the reviews here say read more
Mar 28, 2020
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
It’s been a while since a good dialogue heavy supernatural mystery show aired, although it did not quite live up to shows like Noragami or Bunny girl senpai, it was overall a pretty good show. This review will consider various technical aspects alongside important storytelling elements and determine how well the show performed in each of them.

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Kyokou Suiri was described as a Monogatari derivative by many online, however, I always felt like that title was a bit of a mischaracterization. While the show features a dialogue heavy direction and several cute girls alongside a black-haired boy, the resemblance stops there. Kuro is read more
Feb 1, 2020
Synchronisity (All reviews)
Preliminary
Not always do we come across series that is dialogue heavy to the core and follows a slightly unconventional story path than other anime. How can a series consisting of nothing but conversation between the protagonist and the supporting character for 80% of screen time can be some damn entertaining that it will keep you at the edge of the seat till last second? May I present you Kyokou Suiri!

Plot-

You can pretty much guess it from the summary. Kotoko Iwanaga is a mediator a.k.a. "goddess of wisdom" who acts as a consultant for the youkai which are usually invisible to normal humans. What makes read more
Mar 28, 2020
Watame (All reviews)
In/Spectre is a 2011 Japanese novel published by Kodansha and written by Kyo Shirodaira (Blast of Tempest), with illustrations made by Hiro Kyohara and by Chasiba Katase. A manga adaptation with art by Chasiba Katase has been serialized since April, an anime television series adaptation by Brain's Base premiered on January 11, 2020. The anime focuses on Kotoko, when she was still just a girl, Kotoko was kidnapped by the spirits that asked her to become a mediator between the two worlds, as well as the Goddess of Wisdom for these spirits. However, great power always comes with a price: an eye and a leg. read more
Feb 27, 2020
diabolicalx (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is getting very high scores so i thought i'd take the time to toss my opinion out there.

This is a fast paced show that assumes you are an idiot.

Well, maybe not...but boy does it beat a point to death! It isn't terrible...and the beginning had me there for a good few episodes...you will find yourself feeling "ohh, wait so thats where we are go---oop. nope we aren't okay"......or those super cringe moments where you suck on your teeth and hope the scene fades.

I guess I just couldn't believe the characters. I understand this show doesn't need to be realistic....i actually am read more
Apr 25, 2020
lLeco (All reviews)
Rating (My opinion) 6.5/7*

A lot of Talking, TALKING, TALKING, NONSENSE, TALKING, TALKING AND MORE TALKING. If you are the type of person that enjoy mystery and a lot of dialog instead of action, then this anime is for you. Kyokou Suiri is an anime that is mostly focused in a mystery plot that doesn't make sense, I tried liking the show at first, I really did, but by the time I got to Episode 7, I was wishing for the show to end, it was boring, I couldn't stand it. I don't know how it got to the point of the whole 'Last Boss' but read more