Itai no wa Iya nano de Bougyoryoku ni Kyokufuri Shitai to Omoimasu.


BOFURI: I Don't Want to Get Hurt, so I'll Max Out My Defense.

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: BOFURI: I Don't Want to Get Hurt, so I'll Max Out My Defense.
Synonyms: I hate being in pain, so I think I'll make a full defense build., I Hate Getting Hurt, So I Put All My Skill Points Into Defense
Japanese: 痛いのは嫌なので防御力に極振りしたいと思います。

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2020 to Mar 25, 2020
Premiered: Winter 2020
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: SILVER LINK.
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, GameGame, Sci-FiSci-Fi, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.571 (scored by 164843164,843 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #13802
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #490
Members: 311,045
Favorites: 2,289
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 25, 2020
AstralBread (All reviews)
Finally, a VRMMO series written by an author that actually played MMOs before. Even more shockingly, it’s written by an author that can actually write.

You see, because the author actually played MMOs before, he understands that in reality all of them suck major balls, so instead of portraying his fictional game as “realistic,” he portrays it as fun. In a sense, the game is portrayed the way an unspoiled newcomer sees MMOs: as a new world of adventure and endless possibility, one you explore with genuine curiosity and sense of wonder. Not a repetitive grind-fest, fantasy accountant simulator regarding stats and gear, and disappointing technological read more
Jan 29, 2020
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
Preliminary
I must be pretty far from the target audience because many people seem to be enjoying this show a lot while it isn't working for me at all, sometimes for the exact same reasons. I had my suspicions when reading the synopsis, but they are not always reliable and people were spreading hype about this. Here is the main problem:

If everything is perfect, then nothing is interesting.

Everyone loves the protagonist for being cute and overpowered.

Everyone is perfect friends with everyone else. No conflict to be seen here. Never have I seen an MMO community that is so perfectly friendly. Even in terms of light-hearted read more
Mar 25, 2020
LaLeLuLiLo (All reviews)
I don’t like talking about other anime when doing a review, since I just want to focus on just the show. However it is obvious that a superficial comparison can be made on this show and a previously aired title “Rise of The Shield Hero”. Since I remembered when Shield Hero was airing a few seasons ago, I made an off hand comment that the Protagonist was basically an example of a min-max build(even though it was against his will). Lo and behold that this season introduces another min-max build but this time is properly acknowledged, and also happens to be another defense build with read more
Mar 25, 2020
Stark700 (All reviews)
There once was a shield hero who entered a parallel universe but after being betray- . Oh wait, wrong show. But granted, Bofuri does have a character with a big shield so what gets people watching this anime with a VRMMO setting? Virtual reality is no stranger to the isekai creative realm. Sword Art Online became one of the biggest franchise of the past decade. Bofuri has nowhere near that level of popularity in horsepower and for most people, they’re turning to heads and asking themselves, “what the hell is Bofuri?”

A good question. For the sake of this review, I’m addressing it just the anime read more
Jan 29, 2020
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
It was quite sad to see this show get hate for it being a 'Not a realistic mmo' who really cares about that? This show is not only just beyond cute, but it's a great laugh also. Here is why!

Maple is just a treasure honestly. Both in and out of the game, I'd love to be her friend myself. It's also real cute how everyone in the game wants to protect her in the message forms. It really is sweet. But Maple isn't the only treasure, her friend is too. Both of them make a wonderful and amusing team together.

With the story following these read more
Jan 30, 2020
UltraVee (All reviews)
Preliminary
*The following review may containg few minor spoilers*

This show is a parody, isn't? No??? What a shame...

Really, after watching the 4th episode I was wondering about that, because Maple is literally the infamous Mary Sue.
A complete noob doing what nobody else tries to do in a game, collecting rare skills as it was leaves falling in the autumm, obtaining the skills that luckly are the one that she needs most in the moment. Her "luck" is so uncanny that even the developers are surprised.

Another point that is affected by this is the plot. Until now there is only exploring, but with no real steaks. read more
Feb 16, 2020
flyro (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fun and dumb, cute girls playing a vrmmo while being rewarded for doubling down on their dumb builds. Devs actually try to balance cute girl's dumb build because she's too powerful. Nice.
Not a lot going on here, just cute girls doing fantasy vrmmo stuff at their own pace without worrying about anything.
Her friend is actually good at video games and makes a regular sane build, and relies on her skills to kick ass. Maple just does her own thing.
Might not be your thing, but it's just fun to watch maple do dumb shit creative shit no one's thought of and be rewarded for it.
Feb 5, 2020
UnNamed_Beast (All reviews)
Preliminary
Minor Spoilers below:

This anime is about a poorly executed OP MC who "because she doesn't want to get hurt in a Freaking VR GAME!", decides to put all her points in defence to not get hurt. Why not just turn down the pain settings in the menu like every other VRMMO in anime? I don't know.

The main problem I have is that in Isekai/fantasy, there's always a special power or plot device that allows the character to be OP or at least they turn it into a fun gag like One Punch Man.

This is a video game so none of that should be happening. The read more
Mar 25, 2020
Liddo-kun (All reviews)
At first, this show looked like standard cute girls doing cute things show that come dime a dozen these days. However, after two episodes I realized this show struck a powerful chord.. as New World Online reminded me of the fun days I played in the real game Ragnarok Online. Reminded me all of the item gatherings, meeting friends, forming a guild. It's all here.

NONE = Also none of the excess baggage that other shows try to shove into my face. Trying to save the world from evil? trapped in another world? trapped in a game? people dying if they lose? generic harem plot? None read more
Feb 12, 2020
ArbiterofWhim (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Minor spoilers]

There are some things in the world that man was not meant to understand. This nugget of wisdom is one I cherish, as it was bestowed upon/yelled at me by a homeless woman outside of my local subway station. It reminded me that there are lessons to be learned from the most unlikely of places. The same can be said of this show. The lesson here is that you can come up with the most painfully, soul-drainingly generic pile of isekai/vrmmo garbage and still have hordes of mouthbreathers climbing over each other to suckle from the tit of mediocrity that you have dangled in read more
Feb 5, 2020
JayWrites101 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you remember what it was like playing your first video game? Itai no wa Iya nano de Bougyoryoku ni Kyokyfyri Shitat to Omoimasu (I Accidentally Made A DEF Build) does! They perfectly capture that simple joy of experimenting to find your niche, while giving you an experience that will appeal to both hardcore gamers and non-gamers alike.

The setting and some characters are ripped straight out of SAO. (The character 'Iz' for example is a blacksmith one letter away from a lawsuit =P) but the story (at least, so far) cannot be anything farther from the inconsistent mess of its predecessor.

We start off meeting read more
Jul 11, 2020
Corrupter (All reviews)
i just hate this anime like some of the fights were ok but the mmo and the mc are the dumbest things in existence.

First the mmo: it was really dumb and unrealistic and people are arguing that it is supposed to be unrealistic, my response to that is how is the plain and hella weak mc so much stronger than anyone else like she starts the game and pretty much already has invincibility, all the other side characters and everyone else in the game are incredibly weak its stupid.

The mc: i just dislike her, she acts like a baby and even though there is a read more
Mar 25, 2020
Yautja (All reviews)
If you think SAO is awful, mediocre or overrated, you should think the exact same about this, or else you might just be a hypocrite. This anime is SAO meets TNY meets Moe Trash, with even more insane plot armor / contrivances than SAO could ever hope to have. Also, spoilers.

Bofuri has absolutely nothing going for it beyond the ever present CGDCT, which wouldn't be a problem or worthy of such a negative rating if not for the game aspect which has lead to an insane amount of the aforementioned plot convenience, awful characters and a litany of other issues.

Bofuri's lack of a (complex) story read more
Mar 25, 2020
ArgoNaga (All reviews)
Bofuri isn't very unique when it comes to isekai but it's fun to watch. A anime that is almost like a slice of life. It doesn't have over the top drama which is a good relief as they're just playing a video game.

Really good characters with their own traits but would like more development on the side characters.The animation is surprisingly well done compared to shows like Arifureta. The music is also very chill compared to other isekai which is very refreshing.

Though i feel like Bofuri did rush the end a bit. Would also like to see more real world interaction in maple's life and read more
Mar 14, 2020
PersiaJuliet23 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really love this kind of anime specially in terms about the online games in the old days.. Because it was very fun and more exciting and lastly you can related in terms of battle style and guild wars experience... Even though I can't really read in the light novel but I know what will be happened next scene and there are lots of speculation that will be happened in the next scene so that it will be more exciting and more spectacular moment in this anime...

About the characters: it was a good, even most of them are broken character, but in terms of battle read more
Mar 25, 2020
Suitwo (All reviews)
This will be my first review so if my points aren't well expained I'll blame it on that.

Now at first I really liked it, I wasn't going to watch it at first because I had just finished The Overly Cautious Hero (OCH) and didn't want to something like it, but in the end there wasn't much else that peaked my interest and the idea behind a character building only defence seemed interesting.

I'll start with what I liked, the art was great, whever a spell or ability was cast you could see how much effort had gone into it, everything looked so clean and crisp. As read more
Feb 13, 2020
Sevenbones (All reviews)
Preliminary
8.5/10 for me.

It reminds me of the series "Avatar: The last airbender" in the sense that it's not only about fighting; they also go out of their way to have fun experiences. It's really sad that the anime isn't adding more of those adventures.

When there are fights, the fight scenes well animated, and the characters come up with creative ways to overcome challenges. It's not just "I yell really loudly for a long time, so I can become stronger"


*My favorite thing about the MC, is that Maple doesn't take herself overly seriously. In fact, she doesn't do anything expecting to become OP, read more
Jan 29, 2020
Groenboys (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ever since SAO became a thing every other isekai/game anime has tried to recreate that lightning in a bottle. This caused an oversaturation of isekai and game anime to the point some mmo anime are indistinguishable of normal isekai. Bofuri seems like another anime just jumping on this trend. Heck, this main thing is that the mc is all about her defense and shield, just like the isekai Rising of The Shield Hero. But unlike Rising of The Shield Hero, this anime is actually good.

The anime follows Maple, you usual moe bait mc. She joins a new VRMMO game called New World Online. When she read more
Mar 26, 2020
Allsiss (All reviews)
It should be fairly easy to gauge your potential enjoyment of Bofuri based on your reaction towards it's synopsis. If you were reading about the MC becoming the most overpowered player in the game and thought to yourself:"Hell yeah, I want to see a cute show about a shield loli wrecking everyones shit up!", then I can recommend this one without much hesitation. Maple is very cute, beloved by all and definitely ends up dominating everyone and everything in every way possible and with strength to spare.

Now if that last part has you worried, you'll want to stay away. If you were hoping for a read more
Mar 26, 2020
eff-fume (All reviews)
Itai no wa Iya nano de Bougyoryoku ni Kyokufuri Shitai to Omoimasu, or also called BOFURI is a new quirky and colorful entry into the “accidentally OP” MC genre of MMO/isekai or alike anime - and I am genuinely in love with it.

Any educated viewer might slide their eyes over the poster and premise and immediately shudder in horror or smirk in a condescending disgust to have spotted another shlocky, bland and generic MMO “kinda isekai, but not really” trash that the anime industry has served us. Yes, the character designs look like SAO rip-offs, specifically Maple’s main armor looks like the armor set the read more