Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Darling in the FranXX


Alternative Titles

English: DARLING in the FRANXX
Japanese: ダーリン・イン・ザ・フランキス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 13, 2018 to Jul 7, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.571 (scored by 220,685 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #129
Members: 444,571
Favorites: 9,833

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 17, 2018
-chronos (All reviews)
Preliminary
Inspired by old familiar mecha, Darling in the FranXX tries to incorporate over-the-top elements of Gurren Laggan and symbolic yet dramatic elements of Evangelion.

Where it doesn't fail to deliver in generic combat, it not only fails to deliver in consistent plot, which it tries to build upon, but adds unnecessary elements of melodrama from characters, which just makes them look unrealistic and unlikable, it adds on extra awkward elements that makes sympathizing with the cast a pain and following the plot a chore.

Perhaps the cartoony mecha style emphasizes on that, but in the end it's a shallow show that foreshadows heavily on plot twists, read more
Jul 7, 2018
Yasaal (All reviews)
***Caution:*** This review contains spoilers for this predictable show. I have specifically and very clearly marked the spoiler sections (there aren't as many as you think, only 3 paragraphs’ worth) so you can still easily read my review and do not need to worry. As for the fans of the show, enter at your own volition since you will not find this review to exalt it in any manner, so to those who consider FranXX a 10/10, keep your temper in and let's begin. If you're a regular reader, please carry on :)

FranXX was hyped a lot. And that's just the short of it, it read more
Jul 7, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
For decades, glorious Nippon has been growing closer to extinction. To cure Nippon through the limitless power of anime, our lord and savior Trigger has blessed us with Darling in the FranXX! But to our surprise, this anime was touched by Satan himself, A-1 Pictures, and its true purpose was to accelerate the extinction!!

(Long spoiler filled review ahead. Spoiler-free TL;DR at the end.)

With the declining birthrate in Japan, people are living longer, but fewer babies are being born; there aren’t enough young people to take care of the elderly. The Japanese government is spending more money on health care, the workforce is shrinking with less read more
Feb 22, 2018
ascendedkaito (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seeing this number of positive reviews on this show made me decide to write an honest review on it. This review is written by a person who was on the Darling in The FranXX hype train before it arrived at the r/anime station, and also by a person who absolutely loves Trigger and their work, from the Gainax beginnings to their "independency".

Darling in the FranXX started out pretty solid, if you ask me. It already introduced a very interesting metaphor in the first 2 minutes, and I was very excited at that point. Then came the naked girl cliche. Ignoring it as an "A1 shenanigan", read more
Jul 7, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
4 Cups of Evangelion
2 tablespoons of granulated Gurren Lagann
1/4 teaspoon of Star Driver
1 dash of Beauty and the Beast

And last, but not least.

69 metric tons of CRAP! (freshly steamed)

In case it wasn’t obvious, these are the instructions for one serving of Darling in the FranXX.

There is a tacit understanding in the anime industry, as well as the filming industry, that you are allowed to draw inspiration from other works, but not plagiarize said works. There are, of course, exceptions to this rule — particularly, in regards to satirical natured shows (Gintama and Inferno Cop, being the perfect examples) — however, solemn show’s dance on read more
Jul 7, 2018
VileKurata (All reviews)
“What kind of fuckery is this?” Amy Winehouse.

Well, folks, it’s finally time to talk about the most notorious anime of 2018. Darling in the Franxx.
After the success of Little Witch Academia and Kill la Kill, as well as the unfortunate failure of Kiznaver Studio Trigger, decided to make Darling In The Franxx but with the help of A1 Pictures/Cloverworks. Like many others on the internet, I was really excited for Darling in the Franxx. Maybe that was my biggest mistake and like with Beatless, Black Clover and Re:Zero I was expecting too much. However, even if the anime had failed to live up to read more
Apr 4, 2018
heychrisfox (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's easy to not like Darling in the FranXX. It has a lot of things acting against. Yeah, butt-piloted mechs are silly. Yeah, the mech designs themselves are like Voltron had a bad hair day. Yes, much of the plot is composed of teen melodrama. And yes, the show clearly wears its heart on its sleeves, drawing inspiration from the last two decades of mecha anime.

It's easy to not like Darling in the FranXX. Why do I think it's worth the time?

Where Darling shines is in how all of the best parts of its disparate inspirations and intrigues blend together. Clearly drawing from read more
Jul 7, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
For the better half of my life, I have been looking for an anime series where bunch of kids --who don't know what sexual intercourse is-- fight against tensai super robot power rangers inside settings which has plot for 6 episodes, but still lasts for 24: Filling the remaining air time with b-grade melodramatic past stories, and current time with slice of life soap opera which looks like the anime version of Jersey Shore. For such a specific request to be filled, I had almost lost all hope. Then my boy Trigger arrived to town and not only did this exact thing, but filled the read more
Feb 19, 2018
Exill (All reviews)
Preliminary
I decided to write a review after episode 6 as this series keep getting better and better after each episode for me. If they keep this up until the very last episode I will definitely make this anime as one of my recommendation to people who want to watch some quality mechs anime.

Story (9):
The story itself about the pilots of the mech, their relationship with other pilot and I think about finding their purpose in life other than fighting with their mechs. The beginning of the story itself is quite typical. The usual boy meet mysterious girl (Eureka 7 did this, Evangelion did this, Comet read more
Feb 25, 2018
ZakkuRa (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've never watch an anime with mechs on them though I heard them and see some but never actually watch it. This will be the first one, and as I can say, its the best one. Though it might change as episodes progress but I hope not.

So for the story, well, its great though the way they control the mechs will be much better if they just rely on batteries xD. The story focus on their so called Parasites which are pilots of the mechs. They think that their whole life was depend on piloting a mech even though theres alot of things worth your read more
Feb 24, 2018
Snundae (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll be as fair and objective as possible here, additionally, this review will be practically completely spoiler-free!

Story: 3 (Poor)
Art: 8 (Very Good)
Sound: 6 (Fair)
Character: 1 (Pathetic)
Enjoyment: 1 (Pathetic)
Overall: 1 (Pathetic)

Some can be accredited to its massive hype up until its release, but also to the objective analysis of the different parts that make up this anime. I will be delving into the different parts that I rated it on, and explaining why I chose that number. Hopefully you can come to your own conclusion about whether you'd want to watch this or not, or whether you agree with me or not, but regardless;

Let's get read more
Feb 17, 2018
attacuu (All reviews)
Preliminary
!! POSSIBLE SPOILER WARNING !!

NOTICE: These reviews will each be episode by episode (updated on Mondays), but at the end of this shows airing, I will finally type up a full cumulative review on the show.

Now let's get into Episode 18's review.

Story: 7 (last week: 7)
Thus far we have had many ups and downs in the lives of these Parasite pilots. This past week we had what seemed to be an up but it came with the inevitable down we all knew would have to happen. We are slowly learning that everyone is just the APE's pets besides Squad 13 who start to have their read more
Apr 21, 2018
fisixisfun (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, all the negative reviews here have been done when only the 6th episode has released, so they are suffering from a SEVERE lack of information to even properly judge this anime.

If you consider up to the current episode, ep 15 right now, this anime is a MASTERPIECE. There simply is no other way to put it. It mixes elements of romance, action, suspense, and mystery perfectly to create the ultimate plot. The character development is INSANELY strong, and we get to know the preferences and backgrounds of almost all the main characters. This leads to a plot that makes sense and read more
Feb 22, 2018
Starkan (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off, i have no clue how to write review, but here's what i think about this anime. I don't usually share my thoughts like this, but i've changed lately

In my opinion the anime definitelly deserves more than #500 ranking. To be honest, i'm giving it 10/10 overall just so it gets more ranking.

I love anime like this, when i started watching anime for first time, i wanted to see a anime like this, where couples fight. A true anime couple. When i first started watching anime, i watched the boo hoo bad anime SAO and in fact, i liked SAO's first few episodes, Just read more
Jul 7, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
“How can I become popular?”

Darling in the FranXX is a sad attempt at creating or rather, replicating a legacy act. It took inspiration from what popular shows like Evangelion and Gurren Lagann did, without understanding a thing about what made them work. It tries to expand on ideas without understanding how to sell them, let alone incorporate them meaningfully. It wants to craft a setting to draw us in and make us remember it but instead, FranXX falls flat on its hormone-driven face. It’s a brilliant showcase on why the insular nature of anime writers & directors is detrimental. It is the definition of an read more
Apr 18, 2018
Mr_Butterscotch (All reviews)
Preliminary
It was the 14th episode. I was wracking my brain trying to figure out what exactly was causing the fans to go livid. Given what happened in the last few episodes the actions of a certain character who is taking all the hate seem justified to me, albeit selfish. I tried reading the rants people wrote online and ended up not connecting with them, to the point where I decided to re-watch all 14 episodes fearing I’ve lost my sensibilities. Then it hit me - I was looking at this series all wrong. It was never about mecha, or relationship drama, nor was it about read more
Mar 11, 2018
Jon_C (All reviews)
Preliminary
So what if Evangelion had more robots, more characters, more ecchi, more romance, a little less overwhelming dread and christian imagery, and a whole lot more colour?

You'd get Darling in the Franxx. Is it a romance anime with a mecha aesthetic? Is is a mystery anime with mecha and romance mixed in? Or is it proper mecha, with some mystery and romance thrown in to build character? Or is it all three. Time will tell. And that's what makes Darling in the Franxx unique and extremely interesting, as far a I'm concerned.

Currently Darling is a joyous, fun, wacky ride with great potential for story, read more
Feb 24, 2018
Malik_Curriah (All reviews)
Preliminary
Im terrible at writing reviews.

So far:
This is Fantastic. It feels like a combination or Neon Genesis, Guren Lagann and Kill la Kill. That is, beautifully playful and colorful animation and characters, mixed in with dark undertone and a slightly eerie post apocalyptic setting.

Story:9
The story presents itself as a story of Giant robots fighting powerful monsters but it's really a story about a bunch of orphaned and disturbingly manipulated yet innocent and animated children discovering what love is (with a crazy and sporadic zero two teasing the MC), while at the same time discovering the world. It's also rather intelligently told, as there are quite read more
Jul 7, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Before Darling in the Frankxx actually aired, I asked myself if Trigger could ever replicate the success of Kill la Kill. Remember that series back in 2013? Their debut show made a significant impact for anime fans all over the world. From then on, Trigger produced some questionable series like Kiznaiver but also reminded us that there are still golden eggs such as Little Witch Academia. Sometimes I still have to ask myself, what the hell is Darling in the Frankxx?

To be fair, Darling in the Frankxx is actually a co-production between Trigger and A-1 Pictures. It’s an original TV anime that adheres to more read more
Mar 3, 2018
PuruRuru (All reviews)
Preliminary
Inconsistencies: writers can't decide whether Hiro is new in the team or not. The children pilots are supposed to have no idea about what romance, sex and everything affiliated are, but they are quite self conscious about their bodies and sex.

Low value script. Quite a lot of pointing out the obvious, e.g. in a deserted village "it's like a small city or something" followed by more 0 value assertions of a similar fashion that take too long. Too much talk about kissing to prove that they don't get what that is and what romantic relationships are. Of course, actions prove the opposite. A lot of read more