Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Juuni Taisen


Alternative Titles

English: Juni Taisen: Zodiac War
Synonyms: 12 Taisen, 12 Wars
Japanese: 十二大戦

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2017 to Dec 19, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Graphinica
Source: Novel
Genres: Action
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.021 (scored by 18,987 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #34402
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #726
Members: 106,240
Favorites: 200

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Oct 27, 2017
iorn (All reviews)
Fate zero is an anime.....

Juuni Taisen is an anime about 12 scumbag mercenary's named after the Zodiac signs or whatever the fuck, fighting to the death for one wish.



There's 12 characters and 12 episodes and since all but one of them has to die by the end of the anime... They kill someone off every episode, and to give the characters a little depth before they die the writers shove 15 minutes of exposition down your throat before killing the character said exposition corresponds to with an obsessive level of violence effectively wasting your time because you just learned the backstory read more
Nov 7, 2017
timscribbles (All reviews)
Some spoilers.

It's unbelievable how terrible this anime is. The premise of the show is that these 12 "badass" mercenary warriors each representing a zodiac animal are pitted against each other to fight to the death for the victory to be granted any wish much like that of the Fate series. The battle that takes place every 12 years (like the zodiac calendar) is supposed to be a war that replaces all other wars in the world to prevent the unnecessary loss of life, but yet the show constantly flashback to each warriors history of years of war experience. This completely contradicts the whole premise.

While read more
Oct 25, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
This is an extremely fast-paced show so if you are the type of person that likes deep character development and to bond with the characters in a killing game story this might not be for you. If you are the type of person to like nonstop action with a small amount of character development you've come to the right place. Every episode we learn the short backstory of a character then we watch them fight. The story itself is about 12 people representing the zodiac killing each other to retrieve a poisoned gem from each other bodies and then getting the one inside you read more
Oct 25, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
To be honest, I was amazed at the aesthetics of the show, and could see how easily this alone would be one of the underdogs for the Fall season.

Story:
To the setting is just like the Chinese Zodiac, where the 12 animals pit themselves against each other in a battle royale for the supreme, where the last animal/human representative standing would be granted a wish of any kind (oh, and also obtain the poison gems).

Right from the start, this show embodies folklore with the oh-so-exact replicate of the order of the animals, so the order of assassination goes backwards (spoiler predictability) or that the creators choose read more
Nov 8, 2017
dadnaya (All reviews)
After watching half of the show, I want to say that this anime... Had potential. And a lot of it. But it went downhill really fast.

I'm going to talk about the pattern of the anime, which makes almost every episode the same, the poor "border story" and why the anime which is tagged only as "Action"- doesn't do anything interesting with action. Minor spoilers but I do not specify names.

So, when I first saw Juuni Taisen, I got hyped "Another Fate? Sounds cool!" and the story is pretty simple. 12 fighters, 1 wish, fight to death, last one standing (probably).

Where did it fall off? Basically read more
Oct 31, 2017
SevenMacaw (All reviews)
I think this may be the most underrated anime of the season... but for good reason.

Juuni Taisen is a battle royale anime, pitting 12 characters against each other in a fight to the death. A simple enough premise right? Every character is explored and as a result you do feel some connection or sympathy with a character when they die. And as its a Battle Royale, nearly every character... well dies. Written by the same writer of Katanagatari this anime is NOT meant to be a Mystery anime. People come into this show and somehow become upset when a character they like dies - if read more
Nov 28, 2017
Varthek (All reviews)
It's a good anime, but I see some problems. Like, if you really pay attention you can see the order of the deaths by just looking at the ending animation. And on the episode 9 the animation is not that good. But still funny to watch everybody dying in different and unexpected ways.

The anime doesn't give you time to enjoy the characters fully, but the flashback on their stories makes us like them a little more, even though they die very easily.I like the way lifes are so volatile and end so quiclky, it gives tension to the work and gives us more expectations.
Nov 17, 2017
Vitari (All reviews)
Holy crap, this might be the worst anime.

The plot is weak, the fights are.... I'd say lackluster but they are over so fast. There is just no flow to this anime. The only halfway redeeming quality is the female competitors go around half naked, but it's not enough to hold your attention.

If you like story, don't waste your time. If you like character development, don't waste your time. If you like epic, mindless battles, don't waste your time.

This anime has nothing to offer except to eat some of your life.

I'm supposed to write a longer review, but there is nothing more that can be read more
Nov 16, 2017
allanpeter (All reviews)
The premise is like Fate zero, the animation is good, another than that there's nothing good. i didnt feel like I connected with the characters and apparently, some of the strongest competitors are weak and die so fast. it felt completely random who was going to die(with some exceptions) and most of the reasons for the death were completely stupid(i.e out of carelessness and honestly I think that's how most if not how most people died so far). I watched until ep 7). Also like the most helpful post said they just kill everyone then spit out of exposition(either before or after they die), it read more
Nov 28, 2017
froggy25 (All reviews)
Well, that's going to be a short one.

Juuni Taisen is a story about 12 warriors with exceptional capabilities killing each other until there's only one left who will have their wish granted, and some shady guys betting on them for world domination or whatever. Honestly this isn't explained at all and don't expect any explanation about this, the writers simply don't give a damn about writing a coherent scenario.

You know about character development, right? Well, when a character gets character development in this anime (via flashbacks), they are killed right away. Predictable doesn't even start to describe how terribad this is. The viewer doesn't know read more
Nov 17, 2017
WilliamBenning96 (All reviews)
So it's very premature to be criticizing this show on the actual story, but so far the BEST and WORSE aspects of this show are the same characteristics. The story and more specifically the predictability of who will win.

Unlike fate, future diaries, battle royal, (hunger games in a way), and almost every other battle royal. THERE IS NO PLOT ARMOR. We don't have a main character that "Must survive" or that everything centers around. At first you are like oh yeah Boar is the main character totally a bad ass going to win it all.....


SPOILER



But NOPE dies right in the first episode. Watching it read more
Dec 12, 2017
YabviMash (All reviews)
Be Warned, this review contains Spoilers. (Not that it matters, this anime is so predictable and not worth it, spare yourself the time.)

Juni Taisen is among the most disappointing, and bad, anime I have ever watched.

The story; if it can even be called one, is your run of the mill 12 warriors enter a field and die. There is absolutely nothing plot-twist in this story, there's no big surprise because it's all executed in a fashion that after the first time it happens, you can summarise it'll happen for the next set of episodes.

The art was fairly mediocre, nothing interesting about it; The read more
Dec 5, 2017
Ensaru (All reviews)
This anime is loosely based on the Zodiac Race. Is it worth your time? Definitely. Are you looking for a traditional Battle Royal anime? Then this is not for you.

Story:
The plot is what you will expect from a battle royal anime, but this time the focus is less on who is going to die, and more of a brief study of the aspirations and mindset each participating character has in this event. In that regard, it's also less about the battles themselves and more about the history and hubris of the characters; and in what way would it lead to their fate. If you read more
Nov 15, 2017
Osku (All reviews)
Going off of 7 episodes thus far, this anime promised a lot with the trailers but didn't really deliver in my opinion. I enjoy horror/gore and action anime but when it doesn't have a plot then its rather boring to me.

The anime as we all know it, is a battle royale between the 12 zodiac warriors. They must all fight to be the last one standing and whoever is left alive wins and gets a wish granted.

Characters: We got to sort of meet all of the characters at this point. We know what Boar, Dog, Chicken, Monkey, Horse and Rams lives were like read more
Dec 13, 2017
Mario_Isla (All reviews)
Sometimes stories of authors who have had a recognized work are animated under the idea that they work only for the recognition of the author.
Some examples are Elfen Lied (decent) and gokukoku no brynhildr (garbage).
Or another example we have Mirai Nikki and Big Order.
This time we have Nisio, Isin who is the author of Monogatari Series and the adaptation of his work Juuni Taisen that follows the same idea as before. Let's start.

Story (1): 12 warriors must fight for the last one to win a wish. The premise would not be bad if it were not because it is too predictable. Anyone becomes a clairvoyant read more
Dec 12, 2017
ladyruru (All reviews)
I don't know why people say this anime o terrible. this is so good anime, this is a real battle royale. you have no time to show off skill like anime FATE. you have no time to talk to much and have a less action. this is a real battle royale anime

12 warrior must killing each other, and there is a time limit, because they all swollen a poison. sure the normal thing you finish the game is killing so fast as you can.

I watch Anime Fate before and Too much Show off. people meet, show off their skill and nothing happen, just show off read more
Dec 7, 2017
_Keiji (All reviews)
In Juuni Taisen, 12 warriors are battling to death. That's it, ok. So, the first impression of the anime was: "There are going to exist a variety of strategies for each warrior, and this is the anime focus." But no. The anime focus on the past of each warrior, to see their difficult past.

Let's start by the Art and the Sound (7 and 6, respectively): The 3D element is well used in the anime, and that was the only thing that caught my attention about the art. About the sound, well... I like the opening.

Character (8): The characters are very well made, and have defined read more
Dec 5, 2017
Ibrahim800 (All reviews)
Battle royale between 12 character for getting any one wish. What wish? Who gives it? Why is city empty? Who cares. Lets have some amazing fights........or lets just go looking at 12 backstories of some random guys you just so you can just see them dying 5 minutes later.

Story: This is one of the main reason why its mediecre at best. More than half of story is flashback for every character which also mean that this character will die very soon. It these flashbacks it always is about some pseudo-philosofical teory why somebody fight or what is and isnt good or another bullshit. This is read more
Nov 30, 2017
Izuru_Kamukura10 (All reviews)
Junni Taisen technically is an anime following the same concept as the Fate series. Yet it effectively looked so bad in comparison.

Character development is just dump a long frustratingly annoying backstory then kills them in the instant. The character-viewer connection is near non-existent so we've given little reason to root or like them in any way. And personally the lack of recognizable protagonist makes it hard to invest in this anime.

Seems like its only purpose is blood, guts and actions with little character development.

All in all, its a frustrating to watch and just painfully hard to see this anime as anything but read more
Nov 29, 2017
tamahomeanime2 (All reviews)
This Anime is boring with just killing as a plot device. The Anime is predictable in which character dies next. Just look at the end credits and it will tell you the order they die in with the exception of the snake the order it exactly like the end credits.
I would say the show it boring and lack character development but it isn't the worst anime I personally have ever seen. This Anime also doesn't know how to create characters with proper development and the only one who seems interesting to me is the monkey but tat doesn't matter anymore. Now that I think read more