Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?

Juuni Taisen

Alternative Titles

English: Juni Taisen: Zodiac War
Synonyms: 12 Taisen, 12 Wars
Japanese: 十二大戦


Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2017 to Dec 19, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Graphinica
Source: Novel
Genres: Action
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)


Score: 6.731 (scored by 59,817 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #45862
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #576
Members: 138,386
Favorites: 307


  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Dec 19, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
I'm sick and tired of seeing people treat Juuuni Taisen like crap just because the plot is predictable.

It might just be intentionally predictable!!
I know, how blasphemous!
As if its intention was to besmirch the name of our beloved Fate and the tarnish the genre it birthed into existence!

Did it really take everyone 12 episodes to realize that the show reveals the order of every characters’ death by the end of the first episode?
Would it be so far-fetched to imagine that Juuni Taisen actually wants to put an original spin on the battle royale genre?
Or does every battle royale show have to read more
Oct 27, 2017
iorn (All reviews)
Fate zero is an anime.....

Juuni Taisen is an anime about 12 scumbag mercenary's named after the Zodiac signs or whatever the fuck, fighting to the death for one wish.

There's 12 characters and 12 episodes and since all but one of them has to die by the end of the anime... They kill someone off every episode, and to give the characters a little depth before they die the writers shove 15 minutes of exposition down your throat before killing the character said exposition corresponds to with an obsessive level of violence effectively wasting your time because you just learned the backstory read more
Dec 19, 2017
dadnaya (All reviews)
Do you know what Juuni Taisen lacked? The music in comedy anime where someone does something stupid. Everything was so stupid here that it might've been better to just make it a comedy anime. And even with that my score would've been maybe 5 instead of 4

After watching all of the show, I want to say that this anime... Had potential. And a lot of it. But it went downhill really fast.

I'm going to talk about the pattern of the anime, which makes almost every episode the same, the poor "border story" and why the anime which is tagged only as "Action"- doesn't do anything read more
Nov 7, 2017
timscribbles (All reviews)
Some spoilers.

It's unbelievable how terrible this anime is. The premise of the show is that these 12 "badass" mercenary warriors each representing a zodiac animal are pitted against each other to fight to the death for the victory to be granted any wish much like that of the Fate series. The battle that takes place every 12 years (like the zodiac calendar) is supposed to be a war that replaces all other wars in the world to prevent the unnecessary loss of life, but yet the show constantly flashback to each warriors history of years of war experience. This completely contradicts the whole premise.

While read more
Dec 19, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Every season nowadays, we get one of those “dark, edgy” shows that can make our stomach growl. From this year, we had plenty of those. Titles such as Kakegurui, Chaos;Child, and even Vatican Kiseki Chousakan tried to sell its ideas to viewers with mixed results. Then, there’s Juuni Taisen, a show that features a battle royale theme. Based on the signs of the Eastern Zodiac, it’ a character battle for the ultimate grand price of having a wish fulfilled. But honestly, Juuni Taisen is a show that betrayed expectations. It didn’t fulfill my wish of a show that is memorable. Instead, it delivered a half-assed read more
Oct 25, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
This is an extremely fast-paced show so if you are the type of person that likes deep character development and to bond with the characters in a killing game story this might not be for you. If you are the type of person to like nonstop action with a small amount of character development you've come to the right place. Every episode we learn the short backstory of a character then we watch them fight. The story itself is about 12 people representing the zodiac killing each other to retrieve a poisoned gem from each other bodies and then getting the one inside you read more
Dec 19, 2017
LaLeLuLiLo (All reviews)
Before the start of the fall anime season, Junni Taisen was one of the animes that caught my eye. The reason why is because it had the term Novel on what material it was adapted from. As in it wasn’t a light novel series or a regular novel series, but rather it was one single novel. As in all it needed to do has been done, and all that’s left is to adapt it to animation that has an ending in sight that will leave little to no loose ends. What started as mild intrigue was quickly overtaken with dissatisfaction as the first two episodes read more
Dec 19, 2017
Pipe (All reviews)
Sometimes it is easy to grab a club and hit a series as hard as possible with an unconvincing criticism, and we forget that our tastes are not the same as those of the readers.

The plot is about a group of assassins (zodiac configuration) who joined a fight to death called Juuni Taisen, that's all.

First, let me ask you something. What story do you expect from a fight to the death or deathmatch? All the characters will die, so the story is easy to follow. The substantial part of the spectacle is not in the fight against death itself; it is in the background from read more
Oct 31, 2017
SevenMacaw (All reviews)
I think this may be the most underrated anime of the season... but for good reason.

Juuni Taisen is a battle royale anime, pitting 12 characters against each other in a fight to the death. A simple enough premise right? Every character is explored and as a result you do feel some connection or sympathy with a character when they die. And as its a Battle Royale, nearly every character... well dies. Written by the same writer of Katanagatari this anime is NOT meant to be a Mystery anime. People come into this show and somehow become upset when a character they like dies - if read more
Dec 19, 2017
Protaku (All reviews)
Juuni Taisen is one of the best examples of a bonafide "what if" anime: What if the show was 24 instead of 12 episodes? What if the art and animation were more consistent? What if half the show wasn't pure flashbacks? What if the character deaths weren't so laughably predictable? I really could go on, and it's a shame imagining what could have been an outstanding show.

The anime is plagued by a myriad of small problems which by themselves would be insignificant and ignorable, but when you account for so many of them, it becomes detrimental to the viewing experience. On its surface, Juuni read more
Dec 23, 2017
Hari_Charan (All reviews)
I am sick of people saying that this anime is a non-sense. I loved the anime from the beginning. The first 2 episodes were totally unpredictable and then it got predictable. The unpredictability once again returns in the last episode. I mean who would've thought that.
This anime is not just about action but also has awakening meaning.You get pretty awesome action. Intense strategizing. All 12 characters different in their thinking (except for the Dragon & Snake Brothers). Overall I loved it. I was excited every single episode. the OP is excellent. Art could be better though. One Bright spot in the Fall2017.
Dec 16, 2017
Ferentarius (All reviews)
This work is not a battle royale cliche you see dozens of times adapted, but a mere mainframe to explore the way of the warior with heavy character emphasis. From the start it's just 12 people, essentially and aesthetically bound by simbolysm ties which alone should haw rang a bell for anyone with more exposure to books rather than mainstream media.
Looking at how the story is build around 12 episodes, there is almost no room for more world building or entertainment candy by prolonged character study and stretched EPIC fight visuals. It's bound to realism even with the fanatasy elements in it. I could read more
Nov 28, 2017
Varthek (All reviews)
It's a good anime, but I see some problems. Like, if you really pay attention you can see the order of the deaths by just looking at the ending animation. And on the episode 9 the animation is not that good. But still funny to watch everybody dying in different and unexpected ways.

The anime doesn't give you time to enjoy the characters fully, but the flashback on their stories makes us like them a little more, even though they die very easily.I like the way lifes are so volatile and end so quiclky, it gives tension to the work and gives us more expectations.
Jan 19, 2018
Mikasabestowaifu (All reviews)
Disclaimer: This review might contain spoilers on the anime "Juuni Taisen". Please excuse me if I make a mistake or you don't understand a part, as English is not my first language. Thank you.

Juuni Taisen or How to Scam the Audience

As a fan of NisiOisiN it is uncomfortable to write this review. I still can not believe that Juuni Taisen, an anime based on his novel, could be so mediocre.

And the worst thing is that at the beginning it looked promising. Everything seemed to point to this anime would be avant-garde to break with the clichés of the formula "Battle Royale"; however, episode after episode, read more
Dec 19, 2017
Raggadish (All reviews)
I have observed some mixed opinions about Juuni Taisen (Zodiac War) during its airtime. Like that the plot is weak, it´s predictable, the fights are boring, the deaths are stupid, and the characters are scumbags with no development. And from the other side that it´s actually quite good, even great. That the characters are fairly interesting, with as much focus on their past, (with some interesting stories) as the actually death game. In my review I will give you my point of view on this, and how I perceived the whole show.

I wouldn´t call the plot weak, just narrow. The premises are a death read more
Jan 3, 2018
mateimac123 (All reviews)
I never thought I would write a review, but here I am. I am writing this because too few people seem to get what this series is about.
First of all, I have to say that if you only like action-comedy shounens, this is not a series for you. If you want just a lot of fight scenes and plot twists, watch something else.
Now, let me explain why I liked Juuni Taisen.

Well, all the characters die in the expected order, and there aren't any major plot twists. In each episode, we get some backstory, a bit of fighting (I will talk about that later) and usually read more
Dec 20, 2017
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
If you were given one wish to have anything you want, what would you choose?

This is the question our 12 combatants have over their heads as they try to survive in this battle royale anime where only one can survive. It is the formula that been used in many battle royale anime and so it also applies here. Who will win? Who will lose? But, most importantly, who will get the longest backstory?

So sit back, relax and "Everybody, clap your hands!" as I present to you the anime review for Juuni Taisen. Lets begin:

Story: 6/10

So like I said, the anime is about read more
Dec 19, 2017
Burguburu (All reviews)
A show that could be much better if had at least 24 episodes:

Things that i like:
+The opening
+Some characters designs
+Rat so some degree
+Some parts of episode 10
Things that i don't like:
-Too much flashbacks
-Some episodes are predictable
-Bad animation in most episodes
-Rushed battles.
-The twins are boring and they have TWO episodes of flashbacks.
-Anticlimatic and dumb deaths (The Horse, Sheep)
-Overpower Rabbit (and no flashback)
-The wish in the last episode
-Ox past is not fully explored.

Also the series could be better if they explain more about the presentator of the game that we never know where come from. Whose are those people that are betting for the game? read more
Dec 19, 2017
CadenGallic (All reviews)
Juuni Taisen is a very unique breed of anime. It's left me with more mixed feelings than most shows I can honestly think of. Some of it's good, some of it's bad and what we're left with is a very strange package to unwrap right before Christmas. Well, let me try and tackle this with some structure.

The three key things that define Juuni Taisen as a show are it's characters, it's thematic storytelling and it's anti climaxes. And all of them have their ups and downs.

So i'll start with characters. It's hard not to be immediately drawn in because all the characters have pretty read more
Nov 16, 2017
allanpeter (All reviews)
The premise is like Fate zero, the animation is good, another than that there's nothing good. i didnt feel like I connected with the characters and apparently, some of the strongest competitors are weak and die so fast. it felt completely random who was going to die(with some exceptions) and most of the reasons for the death were completely stupid(i.e out of carelessness and honestly I think that's how most if not how most people died so far). I watched until ep 7). Also like the most helpful post said they just kill everyone then spit out of exposition(either before or after they die), it read more