Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Black Clover


Alternative Titles

English: Black Clover
Japanese: ブラッククローバー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 51
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2017 to 2018
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:25 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.621 (scored by 68,283 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #50962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #319
Members: 228,469
Favorites: 1,473

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Dec 5, 2017
Colorly (All reviews)
This review is going to be short as possible and try to explain why this anime is fucking horrible.
I don't even need to break down in different sections to explain how bad this anime is. The story is pretty much your run down the mill trying to be achieve high status so people can praise him. It's similar on how Naruto wants to be Hokage while Asta trying to be the wizard king. The fucking story is bland and it's literally FAR from original. Unlike Naruto, Asta is fucking pitifully annoying always running around and screaming like a maniac at least 100 times in read more
Dec 7, 2017
ManicStylo (All reviews)
"If you flip the 10, it becomes a 01!" -Some Jerk

Let me preface this pre-review by saying this, I am in love with this series, but for all the wrong reasons. Black Clover, or, Black Clover as the gringos say, is the sophomore effort of mangaka Yuuki Tabata, and it is a far cry from his debut work, Hungry Joker. Hungry Joker had the unfortunate fate of being axed by the higher-ups at WSJ, thus is the fate of most new kids on the block who don't have a proper sense of what they are doing or are given little time to spread their wings. read more
Dec 7, 2017
MurasameKills (All reviews)
UNBIASED REVIEW TO BALANCE OUT THE HATERS

Are there many shounen clichés here? Yes. Is it a groundbreaking anime that will have the anime elitists praising the very ground the characters walk on? No. Is it still a fun, comedic, action-adventure/magical-fantasy and enjoyable shounen? Yes. I give this anime a 7, good on the MAL scale, because it is. It's not trash like some other reviewers are claiming here.

To start, I will respond to the haters: Personally I don't think that cliches are all that bad if done right. There is a reason that cliches, or as we call them in the business "genre stereotypes" exist, read more
Dec 9, 2017
YukiMisa (All reviews)
I watched 10 episodes, that I can say, a great classic senen, like Naruto, HxH, etc.
Characters typical for this genre, the protagonist (hyperactive, eternally screaming) and his best friend (a genius, always serious) dream of becoming a local "Hokage" despite their origins.
Art does not cause disgust.
Opening and Ending are normal.
Only one misfortune, if you looked at many long senens, then you will not see anything new.
In general, if you like fighting senens, look bravely.
It looks easy, 10 episodes looked at one go.
P.S. Why does the Hero Academy have such a great rating, although in fact it is the same typical Senen.
Dec 5, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
We used to have Big 3 when it comes to anime including shows like Naruto, One piece, and Dragonball. Throw Fairytail in there also. Now as those shows are going away we look to replace them and this show was supposed to be one of those shows hyped to the point it crashed streaming websites when it released. The thing is all this show has are the bad parts of the Big 3. The story also wants to be compared to them and since it is I'm going to compare them here.

The story is about a boy who can't use magic but through some stroke read more
Feb 25, 2018
KurataLordStage (All reviews)
Black Clover Review Episodes 1-20.
When Black Clover anime was announced in 2016 I was personally excited because I wanted to see another series from shounen jump get adapted into an anime. Psyern, Black Clover and The Promised Neverland were Shounen Jump Mangas that I wanted to see get adapted. However, as I looked deeper to the Black Clover announcement I started to get scared because for starters it going to adapted by Studio Pierrot who are notorious for having bad filler. The worst example of this was in Naruto Shippuden or as I now like to call it Naruto Fillerppuden where in 2015 only 8 read more
Feb 2, 2018
Schkob (All reviews)
Black Clover is probably one of the worst shounen shows I have ever seen. The plot, to the filler, to the art design is so dreadful that I find it hard to believe that this show was made in 2017. The structure is simply nonexistent and the characters are as generic as possible, with little to no empathy attached to them. I highly recommend NOT watching this pile of garbage, and watching literally any other show ever made. (Even Pupa is better honestly)

Without question, this anime is by far one of my least favorite shows I have ever seen in my life.
Feb 26, 2018
biswambhar (All reviews)
Ok , i will start with saying ,
The anime is quite good. The rating doesnt clearly reflect how good this is,
The rating is such cause of some butthurt people who cant aprreciate its charm and cant get out of their narrrow minded thinking,


Most poeple reason of rating this one really low is cause the story is same with all previous one like naruto.


But , let me say onething,
Every (Most) people in this world wake up in the morning , wash their mouth, eat breakfast and then do their lunch , wash teeth, etc,,,etc, and sleep only to repeat the same thing,
All of the people read more
Feb 6, 2018
Cabadula (All reviews)
I dont know why this is given a 6/10. Like ever since the first couple episodes I loved this show! With all of Asta's badass moments it just fuels me. I love anime were the mc is just so badass and everyone thinks so too. Too bad thats not what everyone thought in the beginning but it does get better especially the recent episodes. Just give this show a chance and watch it the whole way through. Its just so cool how the mc has the power to negate all magic!!! And in future episodes everyone is going to know that and either think of read more
Dec 30, 2017
HerroThere (All reviews)
I don't know what happened, but the anime to me is a complete joke. I enjoyed the manga alot, and to be fair i did like different things like the art and how everything was animated, that wasn't bad. However the sound, the progression, transitions were all disgusting for what this could have been.

Sound
- it felt like the voice actors came cheap and they picked whoever offered to do it. It sounded terrible it didn't feel like most of the voice actors even fit with the characters
-The sound gets irritating as well from basically how bad it all played out. Especially if their shouting read more
Feb 27, 2018
tleonardo (All reviews)
What I don't understand is why some people give this anime so much shit. They talk about how it's unoriginal and the same thing as Naruto. Honestly, who cares! An anime doesn't have to be original. In my opinion, it should just have a good story, characters, and animation in general, which Black Clover has! There is a reason why animes like Naruto succeed, it's a story platform that works and appeals to the audience. To me, this show is the ideal shōnen anime and everyone should give it a chance. So everyone who gives this show bad ratings should just stop their whining and read more
Feb 27, 2018
ntnyfranky (All reviews)
When black clover came out everyone was dissatisfied. We all expected an exciting magic adventure...but instead got large doses asta's super annoying scream. However, like other great anime:Naruto and Hitman reborn the anime gets way better after 10 or so episodes. It's at this point. that asta becomes a full blown badass crushing the expectations and ribs if all challengers. Reminiscent of Guts, asta won't let anybody stop him taking all challengers head on. It's gotten to the point where I can't wait to see him just destroy another punk mage who thinks he is the bee's knees. Now I won't lie those first read more
Feb 1, 2018
yanphi (All reviews)
People were already shitting on the show before it was even fully out. The first 13 episodes or so are pretty boring/trash but everything has been progressively getting better.

Episode 17 was amazing. That is turning point of the show. I guarantee that people should watch up to that part of the show and they will see how amazing and how good it is.

During episode 17, the animations were significantly better along with a whole lot of other things so watch all the way up to episode 17. If you like it, I told you so its good. If not then i really suppose its read more
Dec 8, 2017
Brother_Nero (All reviews)
Black Clover has a large problem that seems endemic to the Shonen category in general, it spends entirely too much time trying to make things easy to understand. Whenever anything happens on screen, the exact way you should feel about it is conveyed by dialogue specifically addressing it. Rather than building up context to form a straightforward underdog protagonist, the writers would rather just have enough people say it in enough circumstances for us to believe it to be the case. Like, Asta did not just pathetically get rejected by a girl that he likes for the Xth time in a row, he needed to read more
Dec 7, 2017
AbyssAnime (All reviews)
As of writing this review I have only seen up to Ep.10, mild spoilers may occur containing information up to that point.

TL;DR: The story is nothing unique but is still solid. Characters and the fact that Studio Pierrot are the ones adapting this are Black Clover's biggest flaw. Black Clover, despite these flaws I do still find very enjoyable though.

It's disappointing to see how lowly ranked this is and some of the stupid reviews that just call it trash. Yes, Black Clover has many flaws (just as any anime have flaws), simply based on these flaws i took a guess at what studio made read more
Feb 3, 2018
TalkingAkuma (All reviews)
This anime is very good.
Whatever you have heard, you should ditch it.
The way I see life is this: you don't experience anything without an initiative.
Whether that initiative be wrong or not, you should at least give it a chance.

Overall:
This anime has a lot of potential. Me personally, I would give this anime a 8/10 so far in its current state. If it follows the manga to an extent, and improves on its characters emotional stances, I will recommend it to other people. With all that happens in the manga it will be an interesting ride, for anyone willing to watch it. However people read more
Mar 12, 2018
asampsell (All reviews)
I am not finished with this series however I am actually really enjoying it so far. I've noticed from other reviews you either love it or hate it. This show is about these two orphans who grow up in a small village in the Clover Kingdom. This world is full of magic and people are usually born with it. However, Asta one of the main characters is born with no magic and struggles to keep up with the others as he grows up. Yuno is the other orphan that was born with magic power and alot of it. These two are always competing and read more
Feb 25, 2018
superjaru (All reviews)
I have no idea why lots of people rated this animation with low scores. I love all of this animation. I think this kind of animations , we can see other animations like this. I mean animations with main powerful character like SAO etc. No doubt I love it. But only the thing I hate in this animation is Astra's voice. It's kind of annoying beccause he always shout every time, but it's just a little bit mistake of this animation. But overall is good.

We can see growth of main characters in the ways of mind and skills. They can improve their skills potentially. This read more
Dec 25, 2017
Swifty9748 (All reviews)
(Spoiler Free!)
Hello there! I just want to say but this is the first review I have ever done.

I am going to make this a quick review and to start of, I want to say to the people who hate on this anime because of the main character's shouting, you are stupid. As generic as Black Clover is, it is still very enjoyable and I am going to continue watching each new episode as it airs.

I don't really want to go too in depth into talking about the story, but I will say it is very good, it is not amazing but it is read more
Dec 5, 2017
DensetsuNoJack (All reviews)
I'm not sure if this is a review as much as it is a rant. If you're still interested in reading what I have to say after being told this, thank you. Thank you for reading. Gratitude is one hell of a virtue, and cultivating virtues should be a part of learning how to live in a civilized society. Patience... other great virtue, but extremely overlooked in MAL. People seem eager to "being opinionated", which is not the same as "being knowledgeable". "Knowledge" is pretty much subjective when you're watching an anime, though. Evidently, it helps to know a few things about Japanese contemporary culture/history read more