Black Clover
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Black Clover
Japanese: ブラッククローバー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:25 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, MagicMagic, FantasyFantasy, ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.241 (scored by 237157237,157 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #26642
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #129
Members: 584,752
Favorites: 11,026

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Dec 7, 2017
Goober-fish (All reviews)
"If you flip the 10, it becomes a 01!" -Some Jerk

Let me preface this pre-review by saying this, I am in love with this series, but for all the wrong reasons. Black Clover, or, Black Clover as the gringos say, is the sophomore effort of mangaka Yuuki Tabata, and it is a far cry from his debut work, Hungry Joker. Hungry Joker had the unfortunate fate of being axed by the higher-ups at WSJ, thus is the fate of most new kids on the block who don't have a proper sense of what they are doing or are given little time to spread their wings. read more
Dec 7, 2017
MurasameKills (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

UNBIASED REVIEW TO BALANCE OUT THE HATERS

Are there many shounen clichés here? Yes. Is it a groundbreaking anime that will have the anime elitists praising the very ground the characters walk on? No. Is it still a fun, comedic, action-adventure/magical-fantasy and enjoyable shounen? Yes. I give this anime a 7, good on the MAL scale, because it is.

To start: Personally I don't think that cliches are all that bad if done right. There is a reason that cliches, or as we call them in the business "genre stereotypes" exist, and that reason is because they work, they are enjoyable, and people read more
Dec 5, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
We used to have Big 3 when it comes to anime including shows like Naruto, One piece, and Dragonball. Throw Fairytail in there also. Now as those shows are going away we look to replace them and this show was supposed to be one of those shows hyped to the point it crashed streaming websites when it released. The thing is all this show has are the bad parts of the Big 3. The story also wants to be compared to them and since it is I'm going to compare them here.

The story is about a boy who can't use magic but through some stroke read more
Aug 11, 2018
magaiverix (All reviews)
Short review about this show= Overall 9/10 (raiting fluctuates around 7-9) why? ez I just like medieval epoch with magic, dungeons, adventures, actions, some hide romantic= My era my dream world. (DONT forget read the bonus especially those which are gamers and like this anime).
Story 6/10 it means not good atm, becouse 50 episodes and I am at 23 episode and main story is still hiding somewhere, but main hero still surprises with its own character and adventures.
Art 7/10 I would like more detailed art, but..... the feeling that it would be 2002 year with art drawing style, but you can still watch if you read more
Apr 20, 2019
moinkleedle (All reviews)
I don't know why people keep saying that this anime sucks! I personally enjoyed it and I think that it is underrated. I think that the story is good even though there are many other animes that are similar. I think that art is done nicely and I liked the voice acting even though some people thought that it sucked. I don't know why but people hate this anime because they think that Asta's annoying. Sure he screams a lot but that's what makes me like Asta more. I personally think that Asta's fun and likeable and is not annoying just because he screams a read more
May 11, 2019
ptrish (All reviews)
Black Clover, possibly one of the rockiest starts to an adaptation there is. Once you hit episode 13 or so however, the show becomes this train barrelling at full speed, and god damn it works.

Why? It's not hiding what it is.

Black Clover is a generic, campy Shonen series that has done EVERYTHING you have already seen if you've watched a good amount of Bleach, Naruto, or One Piece. But the execution. Black Clover has single-handedly made me enjoy Shonen again, and that's a tough thing to do because I lost almost all interest once Bleach got the axe.

What are some simple reasons of why it read more
Jun 26, 2019
Mpolo98 (All reviews)
I hate this show. It’s horrible. Don’t watch it.

The story is a horribly crafted compilation of clichés I’m 65 chapters in and I still don’t know anything about the world. What is magic? How does it work? Why sometimes a grimoire is needed to do magic and sometimes not with no apparent reason? Why mana usage is only relevant sometimes and others is completely ignored? How does mana work? How is it used to do magic? The kingdom has 2 kings the normal king and the Wizard king, what do they do? Which one rules over the other? Is the wizard king just the head read more
Jul 24, 2018
jRad522 (All reviews)
Let me make it perfectly unequivocally clear that this anime, Black Clover, is a gargantuan pile of hot hot salty garbage. It is also perhaps one of the most successful unintentional comedies it has ever been my pleasure to enjoy. Or is it intentional? After 41 episodes, I still find myself unable to say. That, ladies and gentleman, is the magic of Black Clover.

Story:
Imagine the most basic Shounen anime ever. Congratulations, you have just imagined Fairy Tail. Now make that just a little more seedy, and you have just gotten a good handle on what Black Clover is like. Fairy Tail but with read more
Feb 6, 2018
Cabadula (All reviews)
I dont know why this is given a 6/10. Like ever since the first couple episodes I loved this show! With all of Asta's badass moments it just fuels me. I love anime were the mc is just so badass and everyone thinks so too. Too bad thats not what everyone thought in the beginning but it does get better especially the recent episodes. Just give this show a chance and watch it the whole way through. Its just so cool how the mc has the power to negate all magic!!! And in future episodes everyone is going to know that and either think of read more
Dec 30, 2017
HerroThere (All reviews)
I don't know what happened, but the anime to me is a complete joke. I enjoyed the manga alot, and to be fair i did like different things like the art and how everything was animated, that wasn't bad. However the sound, the progression, transitions were all disgusting for what this could have been.

Sound
- it felt like the voice actors came cheap and they picked whoever offered to do it. It sounded terrible it didn't feel like most of the voice actors even fit with the characters
-The sound gets irritating as well from basically how bad it all played out. Especially if their shouting read more
Nov 7, 2018
QRIGIN (All reviews)
Black clover is really underrated on MAL. Let me explain befor you judge. The story starts a lot like naruto and fairy tail but thats only the start.

Black clover is about a boy who is really special. He has no magical power in a magical world. Just like the guild he will join he is strange. The story is about people who have strange personalitys or powers and overcome it or even use it as an strength.

There are guild members who cant control their magical power (even when the power level is really high), are addicted to fights and can get really violent because of read more
Jan 28, 2020
irgmreigmosdmso (All reviews)
I started to watch this show from the very beginning. At first I thought that it will have a lot of potential, but it had a very slow start and it got kinda boring. After I took a break and came back to it I was mindblown and it quickly became one of my favorite anime among: Dr. Stone, Demon Slayer, MHA Season 4 and others. Don't listen to the haters saying that the animation of some episodes it's garbage. Maybe it is for them because they are probably watching at a very low quality, but for me every single episode, aside from the 5 read more
Apr 8, 2020
Wayward9 (All reviews)
Extremely overrated show that imo has no right to be as popular as it is. The OPs are amazing and there are some kinda cool fights but that's all I can say for what makes this show good. The rest of the show is unbearable how disgustingly cliche everything is. The characters are static and flat, meaning there's not much more to them beyond a couple of personailty traits that the show repeats multiple times until make you hate the characters. The comedy revolves around all the common anime tropes and makes me feel like I'm losing brain cells the longer I watch it.
Feb 27, 2018
Teegz (All reviews)
What I don't understand is why some people give this anime so much shit. They talk about how it's unoriginal and the same thing as Naruto. Honestly, who cares! An anime doesn't have to be original. In my opinion, it should just have a good story, characters, and animation in general, which Black Clover has! There is a reason why animes like Naruto succeed, it's a story platform that works and appeals to the audience. To me, this show is the ideal shōnen anime and everyone should give it a chance. So everyone who gives this show bad ratings should just stop their whining and read more
Apr 18, 2020
CascadingRadium (All reviews)
Holy F the anime has gotten so much better. I dropped the anime when it was at ep 30 or so because i found it kinda boring and annoying tbh. I picked up again and damn 100 ep 2 day binge. GUYS DON'T MISS OUT ON THIS ANIME. First few eps are legit kinda bad but its all for the character development(I mean it ALOT of character development for a lot of characters in the show). Don't fall the heapload of negative reviews as they are all from 2017 era. Sort by recent and you'll see a lot of 10s and 9s. Peace
May 7, 2020
MasterShikato (All reviews)
FIRST OF ALL!!!!!! THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE ANIME BUT I WILL POINT OUT THE GOOD THINGS AND BAD THINGS ABOUT THIS ANIME

STORY 9/10-The story of the anime is actually good I really enjoyed it and actually binged watched the whole series upto the latest ep.

ART 6.5/7/10- I'll be honest there are episodes that the animation really sucks, and for me I can't really stand those episodes that have really bad animation. But their animation keeps getting better.

CHARACTER 10/10- I reallu loved the character development

OVERALL 9/10- WELL FOR ME BLACK CLOVER IS STILL A GOOD ANIME
Jun 2, 2019
yousufreco (All reviews)
To be Honest i have seen many shonens in my life and this one stays the best when it comes to teamwork and giving its characters their fair screentime the only thing the anime lacks to deliever is proper animation.
however it goes good and bad from time to time the ost is beautiful and the characters are enjoyable and fun to watch i'd recommend it the villians are very interesting the magics are unique and each magic is good in a way or another characters develop each arc and most importantly they grow not only in power but aswell as a character.
Feb 1, 2018
yanphi (All reviews)
People were already shitting on the show before it was even fully out. The first 13 episodes or so are pretty boring/trash but everything has been progressively getting better.

Episode 17 was amazing. That is turning point of the show. I guarantee that people should watch up to that part of the show and they will see how amazing and how good it is.

During episode 17, the animations were significantly better along with a whole lot of other things so watch all the way up to episode 17. If you like it, I told you so its good. If not then i really suppose its read more
Oct 2, 2018
GreatGeneralXin (All reviews)
This is my first review.
I personally wanted to write a review because everyone demerits this series.

Story: 8+1=9
An orphan lad with no specialties except hard work thrives to achieve his goal. Neither his dead father is a hero nor he has support from powerful people. Only person that acknowledge him is his childhood friend and rival with very special abilities.
+1 point because I personally like anime, movie or anything when 'start with a goal and how it is achieved' theme.

Art: 8
The manga is very good but anime follows a dull color theme, which may or may not satisfy everyone and some mistakes to.

Sound: 8
read more
Dec 25, 2017
Swifty9748 (All reviews)
(Spoiler Free!)
Hello there! I just want to say but this is the first review I have ever done.

I am going to make this a quick review and to start of, I want to say to the people who hate on this anime because of the main character's shouting, you are stupid. As generic as Black Clover is, it is still very enjoyable and I am going to continue watching each new episode as it airs.

I don't really want to go too in depth into talking about the story, but I will say it is very good, it is not amazing but it is read more