Black Clover

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Black Clover
Japanese: ブラッククローバー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 170
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2017 to Mar 30, 2021
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:25 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, MagicMagic, FantasyFantasy, ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.011 (scored by 342166342,166 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5302
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #83
Members: 1,034,205
Favorites: 23,619
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 7, 2017
Goober-fish (All reviews)
Preliminary
"If you flip the 10, it becomes a 01!" -Some Jerk

Let me preface this pre-review by saying this, I am in love with this series, but for all the wrong reasons. Black Clover, or, Black Clover as the gringos say, is the sophomore effort of mangaka Yuuki Tabata, and it is a far cry from his debut work, Hungry Joker. Hungry Joker had the unfortunate fate of being axed by the higher-ups at WSJ, thus is the fate of most new kids on the block who don't have a proper sense of what they are doing or are given little time to spread their wings. read more
Mar 30, 2021
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
No long running show and fanbase has got as much disrespect as Black Clover(ok, Boruto probably has got more). Yet, the fans have stuck by it for years and as Black Clover’s story continues to surpass its limits, their loyalty is finally paying off.

Black Clover is a show that is in many ways the literal embodiment of its protagonist’s struggle. Asta goes from being the laughingstock of town to the literal saviour of the kingdom. During that internal journey, we also watched the anime gradually evolve and get better as time went on. Production qualities seemingly increased as the popularity increased as well. Asta’s journey read more
Mar 30, 2021
KANLen09 (All reviews)
This is the first time that I'll be reviewing a long-running series, so spare the pardon if there's any for pleasantries. But without further ado..."Please marry me, Sister Lily! I won't give up until I've hit my limits!"

"If you flip the 10, it becomes a 01!" - Some Jerk a.k.a remember how Black Clover was despised by everyone?

Black Clover is one of the many myriad of Shonen shows that Weekly Shonen Jump has been banking on imitating the success Shueisha once had since the diminishing of the Big 3 (One Piece, Bleach, Naruto), alongside many other WSJ titles that have constantly received headlines for breaking read more
Mar 30, 2021
_cjessop19_ (All reviews)
Black Clover has probably had the best and most significant turnaround in quality of any anime series I’ve seen so far, and it surely deserves all the praise and hype that it gets now as it trends worldwide more often than not, earning itself (in my book) the title of being a quality shounen series.

I think we can all agree that Black Clover started off quite poorly. Bad voice acting, bad animation, it was just overall shit. Having started later throughout the series’s release (around episode 120), I decided to stick around in the promise of it improving thanks to word of mouth by fans read more
Mar 30, 2021
LordSozin (All reviews)
Black Clover is not for everyone, I’ll admit. It’s the trashiest to mid-tier Shounen series out there that manages to gravitate to a certain group of viewers: Shounentards, with its cliches, tropes, and generic power fantasy. It lacks anything substantial or impactful. It doesn’t reinvent the Shounen wheel or elevates it. It’s a lackluster written series that exists purely for entertainment for people like me--who self indulges in battle shounen without a second thought--even if it’s the same type of blueprint that I’ve seen before, but with its own modifications. Thus, I don’t have any hate or resentment directed towards this controversial series. I simply read more
Dec 7, 2017
MurasameKills (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

UNBIASED REVIEW TO BALANCE OUT THE HATERS

Are there many shounen clichés here? Yes. Is it a groundbreaking anime that will have the anime elitists praising the very ground the characters walk on? No. Is it still a fun, comedic, action-adventure/magical-fantasy and enjoyable shounen? Yes. I give this anime a 7, good on the MAL scale, because it is.

To start: Personally I don't think that cliches are all that bad if done right. There is a reason that cliches, or as we call them in the business "genre stereotypes" exist, and that reason is because they work, they are enjoyable, and people read more
Dec 5, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
Preliminary
We used to have Big 3 when it comes to anime including shows like Naruto, One piece, and Dragonball. Throw Fairytail in there also. Now as those shows are going away we look to replace them and this show was supposed to be one of those shows hyped to the point it crashed streaming websites when it released. The thing is all this show has are the bad parts of the Big 3. The story also wants to be compared to them and since it is I'm going to compare them here.

The story is about a boy who can't use magic but through some stroke read more
May 7, 2020
MasterShikato (All reviews)
Preliminary
FIRST OF ALL!!!!!! THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE ANIME BUT I WILL POINT OUT THE GOOD THINGS AND BAD THINGS ABOUT THIS ANIME

STORY 9/10-The story of the anime is actually good I really enjoyed it and actually binged watched the whole series upto the latest ep.

ART 6.5/7/10- I'll be honest there are episodes that the animation really sucks, and for me I can't really stand those episodes that have really bad animation. But their animation keeps getting better.

CHARACTER 10/10- I reallu loved the character development

OVERALL 9/10- WELL FOR ME BLACK CLOVER IS STILL A GOOD ANIME
Aug 11, 2018
magaiverix (All reviews)
Preliminary
Short review about this show= Overall 9/10 (raiting fluctuates around 7-9) why? ez I just like medieval epoch with magic, dungeons, adventures, actions, some hide romantic= My era my dream world. (DONT forget read the bonus especially those which are gamers and like this anime).
Story 6/10 it means not good atm, becouse 50 episodes and I am at 23 episode and main story is still hiding somewhere, but main hero still surprises with its own character and adventures.
Art 7/10 I would like more detailed art, but..... the feeling that it would be 2002 year with art drawing style, but you can still watch if you read more
Mar 30, 2021
iishoxyii (All reviews)
This past season of anime has been full of adventures, romance, and a bit of strangeness, with the likes of Attack On Titan, Horimiya, and now Redo of the Healer as we have drawn curtains on this action, comedy, shounen adventure show “Black Clover”. This particular anime has stood out as an example of hope during the gloomy snowy days, since it started giving an adventure shounen with a different type of storytelling it’s been quite the journey of 170 episodes. “Black Clover” is an anime series that has been written and illustrated by Yuki Tabata, if you liked “Fairy Tale” then I’m sure you’ll read more
Apr 18, 2020
CascadingRadium (All reviews)
Preliminary
Holy F the anime has gotten so much better. I dropped the anime when it was at ep 30 or so because i found it kinda boring and annoying tbh. I picked up again and damn 100 ep 2 day binge. GUYS DON'T MISS OUT ON THIS ANIME. First few eps are legit kinda bad but its all for the character development(I mean it ALOT of character development for a lot of characters in the show). Don't fall the heapload of negative reviews as they are all from 2017 era. Sort by recent and you'll see a lot of 10s and 9s. Peace
Mar 30, 2021
Arvanitis (All reviews)
Black Clover has received tons of hate and criticism, so my role here is to make it clear; why someone should go for it or ignore it. Of course, there are many flaws, but it is undeniable that some things were handled well for a battle shounen anime.

Starting as an adventure of two brothers who dive into the world of magic, Black Clover introduces us to a world full of colour, battles and a big number of characters. But aside from that, Tabata Yuuki tries to deliver political and moral messages in his own way. The main arcs revolve around pacifism, trust, hope and positive read more
Jun 26, 2019
Mpolo98 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I hate this show. It’s horrible. Don’t watch it.

The story is a horribly crafted compilation of clichés I’m 65 chapters in and I still don’t know anything about the world. What is magic? How does it work? Why sometimes a grimoire is needed to do magic and sometimes not with no apparent reason? Why mana usage is only relevant sometimes and others is completely ignored? How does mana work? How is it used to do magic? The kingdom has 2 kings the normal king and the Wizard king, what do they do? Which one rules over the other? Is the wizard king just the head read more
May 11, 2019
ptrish (All reviews)
Preliminary
Black Clover, possibly one of the rockiest starts to an adaptation there is. Once you hit episode 13 or so however, the show becomes this train barrelling at full speed, and god damn it works.

Why? It's not hiding what it is.

Black Clover is a generic, campy Shonen series that has done EVERYTHING you have already seen if you've watched a good amount of Bleach, Naruto, or One Piece. But the execution. Black Clover has single-handedly made me enjoy Shonen again, and that's a tough thing to do because I lost almost all interest once Bleach got the axe.

What are some simple reasons of why it read more
Apr 20, 2019
moinkleedle (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't know why people keep saying that this anime sucks! I personally enjoyed it and I think that it is underrated. I think that the story is good even though there are many other animes that are similar. I think that art is done nicely and I liked the voice acting even though some people thought that it sucked. I don't know why but people hate this anime because they think that Asta's annoying. Sure he screams a lot but that's what makes me like Asta more. I personally think that Asta's fun and likeable and is not annoying just because he screams a read more
Jan 28, 2020
irgmreigmosdmso (All reviews)
Preliminary
I started to watch this show from the very beginning. At first I thought that it will have a lot of potential, but it had a very slow start and it got kinda boring. After I took a break and came back to it I was mindblown and it quickly became one of my favorite anime among: Dr. Stone, Demon Slayer, MHA Season 4 and others. Don't listen to the haters saying that the animation of some episodes it's garbage. Maybe it is for them because they are probably watching at a very low quality, but for me every single episode, aside from the 5 read more
Dec 30, 2019
Zei33 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think it's time I wrote a review of Black Clover. At the time of writing, I've watched a horrendous 108 episodes. I've really given it my best shot.

Here's the short of it: Black Clover is an anime for people who don't watch much anime.

Black Clover really, badly wants to be one of the big boys. You've got a bit of Naruto and Fairy Tail, even One Piece influences. I haven't watched much of the extremely long-form shounen series, with Naruto being the only one I enjoyed and completed, so I'm sure that there are influences from others as well.

There is a whole cast of read more
Jul 24, 2018
jRad522 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me make it perfectly unequivocally clear that this anime, Black Clover, is a gargantuan pile of hot hot salty garbage. It is also perhaps one of the most successful unintentional comedies it has ever been my pleasure to enjoy. Or is it intentional? After 41 episodes, I still find myself unable to say. That, ladies and gentleman, is the magic of Black Clover.

Story:
Imagine the most basic Shounen anime ever. Congratulations, you have just imagined Fairy Tail. Now make that just a little more seedy, and you have just gotten a good handle on what Black Clover is like. Fairy Tail but with read more
Feb 6, 2018
snake44 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I dont know why this is given a 6/10. Like ever since the first couple episodes I loved this show! With all of Asta's badass moments it just fuels me. I love anime were the mc is just so badass and everyone thinks so too. Too bad thats not what everyone thought in the beginning but it does get better especially the recent episodes. Just give this show a chance and watch it the whole way through. Its just so cool how the mc has the power to negate all magic!!! And in future episodes everyone is going to know that and either think of read more
Dec 30, 2017
HerroThere (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't know what happened, but the anime to me is a complete joke. I enjoyed the manga alot, and to be fair i did like different things like the art and how everything was animated, that wasn't bad. However the sound, the progression, transitions were all disgusting for what this could have been.

Sound
- it felt like the voice actors came cheap and they picked whoever offered to do it. It sounded terrible it didn't feel like most of the voice actors even fit with the characters
-The sound gets irritating as well from basically how bad it all played out. Especially if their shouting read more