Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Boku no Hero Academia 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

English: My Hero Academia 2
Japanese: 僕のヒーローアカデミア 2ndシーズン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Apr 1, 2017 to Sep 30, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.831 (scored by 118,768 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #126
Members: 339,260
Favorites: 5,849

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jun 3, 2017
239 (All reviews)
Does an anime have to be completely original, to be a masterpiece? Should the story be unpredictable for it to be good?

I don't think so.
There is beauty in simplicity.

The portrayal of every single component of the specific fictional world is the most important point in creating a series.

Despite having your typical shounen, (young boy has a dream he wants to achieve so he has to overcome many obstacles on its way despite being an underdog in comparison to many other characters) this series does everything right so far. It does not try to hard with its plot, but still offers a big cast of interesting read more
May 6, 2017
myanimeinfo (All reviews)
Remember those shows where the second season/part tries to go too big and then falls on its face and then goes down the memory drainage as unremarkable.

I am grateful that this didn't happen to My Hero Academia. Oh make no mistake - the season does start with a bang but the formula for it is simple and solid. With this approach you can be fairly sure of even better things to come as the season progresses.

The story starts in the aftermath of the previous season. Although things have not yet settled down and the villain of the last season is still on the loose but read more
Jun 5, 2017
riorangel21 (All reviews)
I'm speechless,

While Season 1 lacks of characterization with its characters, Season 2 finally putting some major character developments for the supporting characters while its Main Character also having a good development and don't get left behind at all.

For once, Yuuki Hayashi's soundtrack is a massive one in episode 10, bringing that scene into one of the most intense, well directed scene this season and not 100% sure but that last scene's animation really feels like Yutaka Nakamura's work ( Black & White frame by frame animation + Yutapon Cubes Destruction ) AND PROVING THAT BONES IS THE BEST SHOUNEN STUDIO ON THE ANIME INDUSTRY.

Yuuki Hayashi's read more
May 9, 2017
ipoopcandy (All reviews)
WARNIN':
This review does not cover the whole series but rather only 6 episodes currently out
TL;DR: It's okay, nothing special(for now)


I was going to review the new Attack On Titan but then this popped out and I had to take a look at it. Last season of My Hero Academia left me mellow. The first two episodes got me as I saw our struggling protagonist facing adversities due to being one of rare people who do not have a super power but it all went down the crap covered drain when he suddenly obtains a superpower from the strongest hero, All-Might. His inability to completely control read more
Jun 4, 2017
CrispiestBacon (All reviews)
Whenever I watch this show I begin to get flash backs of SAO.

That should sum up exactly how I feel about this anime.

The show has a great concept and interesting characters, but unfortunately they are for the most part are sorely underdeveloped and have very little depth to them (as this season has progressed this is slowly began to change with a few characters). The fight scenes are well animated and are a breath of fresh air into to dullness that is created through the tropes and rehearsed plot points that you could find in dozen of other animes.

The thing that truly read more
Jul 6, 2017
rdeyoung8 (All reviews)
Yo, I've pretty much exhausted my patience with the overly generous reviews for this show, so I'm going to resist the masses and give this show a real review.

This show is super basic. I don't have a problem with shows being basic, so long as they are good. Unfortunately, this show really isn't that good. Being basic AND not that good is a pretty deadly combo. The only thing positive I can really say about this show is that it's very professionally made and well polished.

As far as I can tell this show is attempting to be the new shonen super power of read more
May 27, 2017
Papermate (All reviews)
If there's one word I'd describe this season by it would be "BEAST".

Unfortunately the first season of Boku No Hero Academia didn't live up to my expectations. The fights were minimal let alone good and didn't give leave me with interest for future episodes.
Now this season went far beyond my expectations...This is a next level of BEAST anime.

Story:
The story is at the UA sports festival arc. I won't lie it's slow paced if your'e looking for a story line. But it starts to heat up as new characters such as Endeavour are introduced and inter-linking relationships appear. So far, I have liked everything about read more
May 28, 2017
RiceballJones (All reviews)
EDIT: I felt the need to raise my score of this anime by 1 point because the latest episode was so good. Obviously one episode isn't enough to change my opinion of the entire anime, but it did complete something that I really wanted out of this anime that you can read later on the review. So far we can assume both of Todoroki's parents are pieces of shit and the unexpected end to the match was pretty satisfying. I want to learn more about Todoroki.

Believe me when I say I HATE to be the guy who bashes on popular stuff, but sometimes I just read more
May 27, 2017
kuragure (All reviews)
HYPE HYPE HYPE HYPE HYPE HYPE FUCKING HYPE
Almost every ep ends with a feeling where your heart doesn't stop racing and leaves you breathless; thirsting for more. Spring 2017 welcomes us to a not so old friend by the name deku and brings us to another season of HYPE, Boku no Hero Academia.

Story: 9/10
As one who has read the manga, i can say that the second season sticks to source but makes it better. The first episode doesn't linger that much and brings us right to the next arc: the sports festival. all i could say without spoilers is that the anime really does read more
May 6, 2017
TheSatox (All reviews)
After the great first season a year prior, there's no question that this new season of Boku no Hero Academia would garner a lot of hype and attention. But does it deserve the attention its previous season bought it or is it simply another cookie cutter shounen action show to scratch our generic action craving itches for the season? After watching nearly everything this season of Hero Aca has to offer I can safely say that this season goes far and beyond what the first season and most shounen shows do and that makes for one hell of a shounen show.

Story: 8 (Great)

While the first read more
Jun 23, 2017
jballot1234 (All reviews)
So I don't really write reviews for MAL but after catching up on the 2nd season of Boku no Hero Academia I finally feel compelled to do so. My first impression of the first season of Hero Aca was somewhat of a disappointment. Although it was definitely a cut above other shonen manga adaptations, I expected much more from the same studio that produced FMAB and Mob Psycho 100. Although the artwork was flashy and the soundtrack was impressive, the pacing was staggered, non-action related artwork appeared flat and lifeless, and characters were introduced too quickly without being given time to fully develop. Season 2 read more
Jun 8, 2017
NICK1994 (All reviews)
I'm writing this review mostly because of the insane fight Todoroki vs Midoriya in the 10th episode. As long as I've read the manga till the last chapter (for now) and I know what is next, I say one thing - I'M JUST DYING TO SEE THE ANIMATION OF THE NEXT EVENTS AS PERFECT AS IT WAS IN THE FIGHT TODOROKI/MIDORIYA!!~~~<3
Hell yeah this anime makes goosebumps with its story, animation, SOUND (!!!!) and characters development. I like the anime about school, but only two animes (Assassination Classroom) were able to develope ALL the characters equally, even the supporting ones. It is brilliant and read more
Jul 8, 2017
Angie_1707 (All reviews)
I'll be honest here and say that the first season of BNHA wasn't that great but I enjoyed 10/10 even getting into the fandom but the second season had pulled of the adaption of the manga so well. And this time the arcs we'll be getting are the sport festival, Stain villain and the end of term test.

(Just going to mention that I have read the manga)

Story (8/10):
When it comes to the story so far since I've seen 14 eps, the sport festival arc has concluded but this arc is actually regarded and the least enjoyed arc and is childish (but is to be read more
Jun 25, 2017
Phanthasma (All reviews)
Well, this is a anime that has a lot of potential, even can be the next "Dragon Ball" or "Naruto", this anime is something different to the other shounens.
*SPOILER ALERT*



Story: 10: The Story is quite Simple, randomly people started having superpowers (or in the BnHA World, Quirks or Kosei), this continues until the actuality, where 80% of the world have Quirks.
So, where is the Special about this? Izuku Midoriya. The main character doesnt have a quirk, that makes him having a lowself esteem and being a crying character. however, he never stoped dreaming about some day being a hero, like All Might, the number 1 read more
Jun 18, 2017
Hashimoto_Yuu (All reviews)
Bones comes back! From 2010 to 2014, their anime didn't have as good quality as they had done. But in Boku no Hero Academia, they say to fan that: "Sorry for your waiting, we come back!". Thanks to Nakamura, fight scenes in Boku no Hero Academia are so great. In season 1. we are impressed by the battle between All Might and Noumu and in season 2, all of us can't help seeing the battle between Midoriya vs. Todoroki. I'm sure that, Boku no Hero Academia is anime has the greatest fight scenes in Spring Anime 2017. About story, Bones adapted BHA is as similarto read more
Jun 6, 2017
RemIsNr1 (All reviews)
soo..... I dont know how to begin, this season is way better than the first one.
I would give him an "overall 9" but the last ep that came out, "11", is just too good, it gives you a strong feeling of accomplishment, an eyegasm.
I cant wait to see what happens next.

As for the art, its is not the most beautiful art style you'll ever see, but it is very good, i'll rate it 8/10

Idk why, and its just my opinion but for me the story is just "outstanding" .. the "Boy that gets more powerful as the story continues" shounen types of anime are kinda read more
Jun 2, 2017
Zeldro (All reviews)
So, I started watching this anime alongside the new Attack on Titan because I wanted another show to watch on Saturday mornings, and also to see if it lives up to the hype.

Does it live up to the hype? Hell no. But neither does Attack on Titan.

Is it bad? Hell no. I love waking up early on Saturdays to see the new episode.

This review, along with my score, will be edited throughout the coming weeks, and eventually when season two is completed. For now, here are my thoughts (on both season one and season two).

My Hero Academia, to me, feels very uninspired, uninteresting, and cliche. read more
Jul 11, 2017
Coolfizz10 (All reviews)
The first season of MHA was great after about Episode 3. Memorable characters like Iida, Tsu, and Uraraka helped maintain my interest for the remaining 10 episodes. The hallway scene where the entire place is being evacuated for trespassers was one of my favorite scenes in that season. However, 9 episodes into Season 2, and the magic is practically gone. The climax near the end of S1 was so fun to watch. But what happens after a huge incident like that? N O T H I N G. Everybody goes and plays sports. That is just flat out boring. Tournament arcs are some of the read more
Aug 20, 2017
EmpirenXD (All reviews)
I decided to make this review at 20/25 because there really isn't much left in the season to talk about and I don't want to waste any more time watching this dreadful show.

***Story***: Boku No Hero Academia is severely lacking in this department.

There is no real point to watching Boku No Hero Academia season 2. Everything within the season is a complete one-off. The anime spends 12 episodes doing a sports event for no reason in-universe and certainly no substantial reason for the viewer to care.

The pacing in BNHA is terribly sluggish, even to the point of adding completely useless filler episodes that add nothing read more
May 16, 2017
dimsumtime (All reviews)
Season 2 starts off on a high note with the annual sports festival to divert the attention away from the villains that infiltrated the academy in the first season.

Everyone wants their quirks to be noticed and this season shifts away some of the focus from Deku and gives Todoroki some of the spotlight but also doesn't fail to show Bakugo's explosive personality either. Those moments were GOLD.

**SPOILERS**
The events were intense and it seemed like Todoroki has stolen the show until Deku puts his brain to use and thrusts himself to victory in the obstacle course.Todoroki and Bakugo see Deku as a an obstacle/ read more