Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Boku no Hero Academia 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

English: My Hero Academia 2
Japanese: 僕のヒーローアカデミア 2ndシーズン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 1, 2017 to Sep 30, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.801 (scored by 209,307 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #292
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #96
Members: 406,560
Favorites: 7,883

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 30, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
After watching the first season of Boku Hero no Academia (My Hero Academia), I can’t help but feel wanting for more of this series. The first season consisted of only 13 episodes. It adapted the general premise of the story and had its character roster in set. However, it missed the opportunity to expand more and build on those elements. Have no fear. Season 2 is here and it’s set to fill the gaps for you diehard fans of this classic shounen adventure.

One major part of the sequel is that the length is almost twice the duration of the first season. It consists of 25 read more
May 6, 2017
myanimeinfo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Remember those shows where the second season/part tries to go too big and then falls on its face and then goes down the memory drainage as unremarkable.

I am grateful that this didn't happen to My Hero Academia. Oh make no mistake - the season does start with a bang but the formula for it is simple and solid. With this approach you can be fairly sure of even better things to come as the season progresses.

The story starts in the aftermath of the previous season. Although things have not yet settled down and the villain of the last season is still on the loose but read more
Sep 30, 2017
ZephSilver (All reviews)
It's easy to point the finger at Boku No Hero Academia and label is as just one in the same with any other shounen that populates the medium. To make broad statements like the characters themselves are just repackaged personalities with only a fresh coat of paint and appearance to their name. Or something to the effect of its story being recycled. And if you were to choose that stance, defendants would be hard-pressed to argue against it. But if you did choose that stance, that then calls into question the very essence of critiquing a shounen in such restrictive terms, to begin with.

If read more
Sep 30, 2017
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*Minimum Spoiler Plus Ultra Review*
If you did not watch BNHA S1 then go watch that ASAP.
TL;DR: Hype Hype, Finally a Shounen Anime worth watching Plus Ultra Hype! BNHA S2 is basically Naruto and DBZ's illegitimate child, Hunter X Hunter's bastard child raised by the all mighty Bones STUDIO that has stayed true to the manga and doing the show justice it really deserves! Definitely Binge-Worthy!
[Story: 8/10 , Characters: 9/10, Art: 9/10, Sound: 8/10, Enjoyment: 10/10]

"So many to kill, so little time. None of you are worthy. None of you are All Might" - Stain

If there is one genre that can always hype people read more
Sep 30, 2017
LiaNF (All reviews)
This is a two-part review where I'll be weighing in the positives and negatives of this show.

Starting with what I thought it did right:

Despite Boku no Hero Academia’s rather familiar and simplistic premise, its thematic consistency and high production value made it possible for this title to gain recognition and significant following among the anime community. Season 1 managed to deliver in an impressive note and thankfully, that didn’t waiver at all in its continuing season. Much like its predecessor, Boku no Hero Academia 2 looks and sounds just as good—if not, even better. While it still didn’t take any risks, it did capitalize read more
Jun 5, 2017
riorangel21 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm speechless,

While Season 1 lacks of characterization with its characters, Season 2 finally putting some major character developments for the supporting characters while its Main Character also having a good development and don't get left behind at all.

For once, Yuuki Hayashi's soundtrack is a massive one in episode 10, bringing that scene into one of the most intense, well directed scene this season and not 100% sure but that last scene's animation really feels like Yutaka Nakamura's work ( Black & White frame by frame animation + Yutapon Cubes Destruction ) AND PROVING THAT BONES IS THE BEST SHOUNEN STUDIO ON THE ANIME INDUSTRY.

Yuuki Hayashi's read more
May 9, 2017
ipoopcandy (All reviews)
Preliminary
WARNIN':
Anime is almost done but hey 1 ep could change my whole outlook on this shitepaste(no it couldn't)
TL;DR
Don't

Alrighty after quite some time I watched through all these episode of season 2 and can confirm that this anime is letting me down more than a quadriplegic Parkinsons patient.

Art and sound.
They didn't improve much from the original and even there they were nothing worth noting. I do not wish to stick on this for long until some adrenaline pumping action scenes come up. Opening is a bit of a doozy, the first one was definitely better at setting the mood for this type of anime but alas read more
Sep 30, 2017
Lindle (All reviews)
Boku no Hero Academia is often said to be the new Naruto or One Piece - the next smash-hit action series. Season 1 laid the groundwork for that, but at a mere 13 episodes, it couldn't truly demonstrate why Hero Academia deserves to be considered THE new great action series. But with season 2 comes a solid 25-episode run, giving it the chance to spread its wings and prove that not only is it a great successor to the old genre greats, but in many respects improves on them.

A big part of why this works better than the first season is that where the first read more
Jun 4, 2017
CrispiestBacon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Whenever I watch this show I begin to get flash backs of SAO.

That should sum up exactly how I feel about this anime.

The show has a great concept and interesting characters, but unfortunately they are for the most part are sorely underdeveloped and have very little depth to them (as this season has progressed this is slowly began to change with a few characters). The fight scenes are well animated and are a breath of fresh air into to dullness that is created through the tropes and rehearsed plot points that you could find in dozen of other animes.

The thing that truly read more
Jul 6, 2017
rdeyoung8 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yo, I've pretty much exhausted my patience with the overly generous reviews for this show, so I'm going to resist the masses and give this show a real review.

This show is super basic. I don't have a problem with shows being basic, so long as they are good. Unfortunately, this show really isn't that good. Being basic AND not that good is a pretty deadly combo. The only thing positive I can really say about this show is that it's very professionally made and well polished.

As far as I can tell this show is attempting to be the new shonen super power of read more
Sep 30, 2017
bmoore07 (All reviews)
In our modern culture, where creative entities by and large are satisfied with mediocrity, it’s Boku no Hero Academia 2 that ceaselessly strives for more. This show’s scorching, all-consuming ambition forged a path for itself that stretches far beyond the insulated bubble of the shonen genre; naturally, a monstrous whirlwind of hype quickly trailed behind. For most seasonals, hype is dangerous. It not only generates an insurmountable amount of expectations for said seasonal to meet but it also influences casual viewers to approach what they watch with a harsher perspective than usual. However, BnHA2 is not the average seasonal. This is a show that ascents read more
May 28, 2017
RiceballJones (All reviews)
Preliminary
EDIT: I felt the need to raise my score of this anime by 1 point because the latest episode was so good. Obviously one episode isn't enough to change my opinion of the entire anime, but it did complete something that I really wanted out of this anime that you can read later on the review. So far we can assume both of Todoroki's parents are pieces of shit and the unexpected end to the match was pretty satisfying. I want to learn more about Todoroki.

Believe me when I say I HATE to be the guy who bashes on popular stuff, but sometimes I just read more
May 27, 2017
Papermate (All reviews)
Preliminary
If there's one word I'd describe this season by it would be "BEAST".

Unfortunately the first season of Boku No Hero Academia didn't live up to my expectations. The fights were minimal let alone good and didn't give leave me with interest for future episodes.
Now this season went far beyond my expectations...This is a next level of BEAST anime.

Story:
The story is at the UA sports festival arc. I won't lie it's slow paced if your'e looking for a story line. But it starts to heat up as new characters such as Endeavour are introduced and inter-linking relationships appear. So far, I have liked everything about read more
May 27, 2017
kuragure (All reviews)
Preliminary
HYPE HYPE HYPE HYPE HYPE HYPE FUCKING HYPE
Almost every ep ends with a feeling where your heart doesn't stop racing and leaves you breathless; thirsting for more. Spring 2017 welcomes us to a not so old friend by the name deku and brings us to another season of HYPE, Boku no Hero Academia.

Story: 9/10
As one who has read the manga, i can say that the second season sticks to source but makes it better. The first episode doesn't linger that much and brings us right to the next arc: the sports festival. all i could say without spoilers is that the anime really does read more
May 6, 2017
TheSatox (All reviews)
Preliminary
After the great first season a year prior, there's no question that this new season of Boku no Hero Academia would garner a lot of hype and attention. But does it deserve the attention its previous season bought it or is it simply another cookie cutter shounen action show to scratch our generic action craving itches for the season? After watching nearly everything this season of Hero Aca has to offer I can safely say that this season goes far and beyond what the first season and most shounen shows do and that makes for one hell of a shounen show.

Story: 8 (Great)

While the first read more
Jun 23, 2017
jballot1234 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So I don't really write reviews for MAL but after catching up on the 2nd season of Boku no Hero Academia I finally feel compelled to do so. My first impression of the first season of Hero Aca was somewhat of a disappointment. Although it was definitely a cut above other shonen manga adaptations, I expected much more from the same studio that produced FMAB and Mob Psycho 100. Although the artwork was flashy and the soundtrack was impressive, the pacing was staggered, non-action related artwork appeared flat and lifeless, and characters were introduced too quickly without being given time to fully develop. Season 2 read more
Jun 8, 2017
NICK1994 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm writing this review mostly because of the insane fight Todoroki vs Midoriya in the 10th episode. As long as I've read the manga till the last chapter (for now) and I know what is next, I say one thing - I'M JUST DYING TO SEE THE ANIMATION OF THE NEXT EVENTS AS PERFECT AS IT WAS IN THE FIGHT TODOROKI/MIDORIYA!!~~~<3
Hell yeah this anime makes goosebumps with its story, animation, SOUND (!!!!) and characters development. I like the anime about school, but only two animes (Assassination Classroom) were able to develope ALL the characters equally, even the supporting ones. It is brilliant and read more
Sep 30, 2017
XHellScytheX (All reviews)
I'm sure that at some point in their lives, every adolescent has fantasized about being a superhero. They concoct their own unique super powers and envision themselves saving the world. While such abilities are practically an impossibility in our society, in the world of Boku no Hero Academia, possessing super human traits is the norm. Many heroes exist within this universe, and dreams about becoming a superhero can actually come true. In this second season of Hero Academia, we immediately pick up directly after the conclusion of the first season and continue to follow our protagonist Midoriya as he strives to become the greatest superhero read more
Jul 8, 2017
Angie_1707 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll be honest here and say that the first season of BNHA wasn't that great but I enjoyed 10/10 even getting into the fandom but the second season had pulled of the adaption of the manga so well. And this time the arcs we'll be getting are the sport festival, Stain villain and the end of term test.

(Just going to mention that I have read the manga)

Story (8/10):
When it comes to the story so far since I've seen 14 eps, the sport festival arc has concluded but this arc is actually regarded and the least enjoyed arc and is childish (but is to be read more
Jun 25, 2017
skele404 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I admit it, on my first review i looked like a fanboy, but now lets do a more realistic review. (Spoiler alert)

Story: This is the weakest point of BnHA, with most of the stuff being cliche, the story just feels like sky high, but well executed, is nothing out of the world or the best story ever, but it will keep u catched.

Art: Art is simplistic, but the style of drawing is cute, and reminds me like a american cartoon mixed with anime, and god the animation was extremely good.

Sound: Strongest point of BnHA, the soundtrack is beautiful, u can remember songs from the soundtrack, read more