Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shokugeki no Souma: Ni no Sara


Alternative Titles

English: Food Wars! The Second Plate
Synonyms: Shokugeki no Souma 2nd Season, Shokugeki no Soma 2, Food Wars: Shokugeki no Soma 2, Shokugeki no Soma: The Second Plate
Japanese: 食戟のソーマ 弍ノ皿

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2016 to Sep 24, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: Ecchi, School, Shounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.461 (scored by 191,952 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1342
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #148
Members: 326,463
Favorites: 2,004

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 24, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Grab a seat, sit back, and relax. Shokugek no Souma (Food Wars) is back and that means, fans are in for more treat and foodgasms. From the series that bought you excitement of cooking and extravagant culinary arts, the second season has a lot to offer as well and it’s no understatement.

First things first, the sequel is a direct continuation from the first and thus, the story connects from established characters and storytelling. Therefore, there’s no reason to watch the second plate without tasting the first. Do note that there’s also no recap so the second season really gets straight to the meat of the read more
Sep 24, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Order up!...AGAIN!

Shokugeki no Souma 2nd Plate left off where the first season did with the Autumn Election and it really ramps up the tension for Souma to be in the Elite Ten if winning the tournament.

LA's views on the Shokugeki no Souma of the previous season was nothing but awe as to how cool and awesome the anime franchise which is essentially Iron Chef: The Anime with food porn and gasms which makes it weirdly unique to it and 2nd Plate may still have the same flavor (huhu) as the original season, but it both makes it great and falls under the same problems of read more
Sep 30, 2016
Dream95 (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma returns after an extremely successful 1st season... and it is just as entertaining as the previous edition.

Shokugeki no Souma has been one of my favorite series for some time. Why? It's because it so damn entertaining. Where it might lack in the story, it makes it up for its consistent entertainment found in every single episode. That's not to say the story is bad however, as I find it quite fun and solid. Don't like ecchi? Well, as much as others like to say it, the show isn't ALL about those ridiculous 'foodgasms'. It also involves a good amount of emotions, read more
Sep 25, 2016
GoldenDevilGamer (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma was a big surprise for many for 2015. What initially seemed like a weird mix of shounen, cooking and ecchi turned out to be one of the most interesting and suspenseful anime of the year. It ended up being one of the most popular anime of the year. With the first season ending incomplete, the second season’s role was to finish up what was started. Although the second season never reaches the heights of the first season due to its really fast pacing and lack of buildup, but even with a flawed adaptation, Shokugeki no Souma is some of the best fun read more
Sep 24, 2016
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
Shokugeki comes back with this second season! As someone that picked up the manga, I expected that now that I know everything that will happen, I wouldn't be as much interested as before, back when I fell in love with this anime, but I was totally wrong! the pure epicness of Shokugeki no Souma is more than enough to make me as scream like a fanboy just like before.

Shokugeki Season 2 started really strong and full of action and character development since the first second due to the place the first one ended, that doesn't usually happen so the pacing might feel wrong at the read more
Sep 24, 2016
Sokah (All reviews)
Having enjoyed the first season I was glad to hear we were getting more, but what we got wasn't more. In the 2nd season of Shokugeki no Souma they've chosen to abandon anything resembling story or character development and given us a cooking competition. The first 10 episodes are a series of duels with different characters we have no reason to care about and the final 3 episodes are "restaurant rescue" episodes.

Now abandoning a story isn't necessarily bad. I like cooking shows, I watch Beat Bobby Flay, Cuthroat Kitchen and many others, none of which have story or character development either. read more
Jun 29, 2017
2_bit_encryption (All reviews)
The only thing frying in this culinary show were my brain cells.

*Character*

So you've got the main character, who is the greatest cook ever! He's so good, no one can believe how good he is! And he fights other cooks in cooking battles, and he always wins! Except when he loses, but even when he loses we are still reminded that he's sooooo great!

Then you've got this Meat Girl. She's the BEST at meat! Not as good overall as the main character, who is the greatest in the whole world, but she does have huge, and I mean HE-YUGE tatas. read more
Oct 6, 2016
jster_winter09 (All reviews)
Before I wrote this review I watched the series like 4 times and still fun to watch even you watch it over and over again.

Shokugeki no Souma: Ni no Sara one of the best anime in the year 2016, though disappointing because it only has 13 episodes but still hoping for another season of this amazing anime series.

This season has a pretty good story line and i think it is the reason that the ratings of this anime is pretty damn high. Excellent visual graphics and amazing animations is what to expect when you watch this season.

This season concentrates about the lead character striving read more
Sep 25, 2016
dertswa687o (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma's characters all have one goal: be the best chef. They all have different reasons for wanting to be the best, as the show will often remind you, but in the end their goals are one and the same. Perhaps that's what makes this second season of Shokugeki fall a bit flat. They're simply not progressing towards that goal for the majority of the show. It starts to make everything feel a bit pointless.

The majority of my complaints for this season come from the tournament arc:

-It barely matters who wins.

Winning the tournament simply shows that you are the best in the class. While read more
Oct 8, 2016
KingCarlo0420 (All reviews)
First, I'm soooo excited to see shokugeki having another season. This is one of the things I considered when watching an anime, If there is a high probability of getting another season.. and I'm sure there will be another season next year.

*********************************
Let's start with the NEGATIVES:
- I'm kinda disappointed that it will only have 13 episodes, but still, I think its fine as long as it will left me in awe every episodes.

- The story is a LITTLE BIT fast-pacing. Particularly in episode 1 where they already began cooking, and the judges where already sitting in their chairs. Unlike in the manga, the judges where read more
Sep 26, 2016
Chiburo (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma: Ni no Sara

Art/Characters: The art style is just like the previous season; that is to say it is impeccable. The sharp design and the detail of not only the people but of the food as well is really what makes this show stick out among the crowd. The way the food is presented and the flavors can be seen rather than just heard about drags me into this world of food and excitement. One of the best parts about this art is the amount of detail that the food has as a finished product. If layers are important to the composition of read more
Sep 24, 2016
tigermaskshinobi (All reviews)
I just can't get enough of this show. I feel I would become mentally ill if I don't get Season 3 by next week xD. ( but then i realize i am already mentally ill from all that waiting for Hunter x Hunter :3 )
The most praiseworthy thing about this show is the Character development. I just love watching Souma grow as he tries to figure the chef he needs to become and cook the food that only he can, not to forget all these badass cooking moments. Just how can a cooking show be this exhilarating? the whole atmosphere of the show just pulls read more
Nov 10, 2016
summitsama (All reviews)
This series is just concentrated entertainment. It has every element and they are blended together in perfect harmony, much like (some of) the food that is prepared in the show.

1. It's funny. The chibi drawings in particular are cute and always at least get a smile out of me. Everything in this show is so over the top that you have to laugh at it. Sometimes it's just so stupid, but in a good way, because it doesn't take itself seriously. There is no pretension here.

2. It really energizes you. There is constant competition, overcoming-of-challenges, people are gracious in read more
Oct 9, 2016
Lax_Caux (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma is back for another round of refined culinary duels!

AND MAN..... WHAT A SEASON IT WAS!

Shokugeki took the concept of BATTLE SHOUNEN to a brand new level! In the Autumn election arc, the screenwriters crafted make one of the most exciting and creative tournments on the history of shounen anime. The duels were full of twists and turns, great dialogue and imagery. Autumn Election is at the same level as DBZ'S Namek Saga; Saint Seiya's Sanctuary Arc or Samurai X's Kyoto Arc and other great shounen sagas, it reaches the quintessence of a shounen perfectly. If you liked the first season, you read more
Oct 4, 2016
PikaCheeks (All reviews)
Well another season of Food Wars / Shokugeki and it's just as good as the last season as I see it.

Story still follows a very shounen formula of Main Character just having to get better. The characters are enjoyable except for one I found, the music is still good as it compliments scenes and the art/animation is just the same as last season's. Overall a solid second season to Food Wars without losing or gaining anything.

The one character that sort of threw me out of enjoying Food Wars less is the Subaru guy who studies his opponents to the very detail. Like it's an interesting read more
Sep 26, 2016
Whoahoho (All reviews)
So, a 2nd sequel of Food Wars has just ended, needless to say I had my fill of food porn, so I'm getting down to business:

Storywise, there hasn't been any much development in a romance sense, it was still all about food , exaggerated factoids, and over the top aphrodisiatic judging, and If Gordon Ramsey, Antony Bourdain, Jamie Oliver and other celebrity chefs watching this, will surly give the creator, Yūto Tsukuda an earful of ridicule , then again since this anime's story line is still connected to the original anime, it was basically as mediocre as it can be thus a 5 over read more
Sep 29, 2016
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Making a sequel for an existing series usually implies trying to accomplish one goal: Don't screw up too much. It's common knowledge that sequels are usually never as good as the original, so the general baseline when making a sequel is to make the newly made material up to at least the standard of the previous season to try and eradicate the stigma as much as possible. So what happens when you adapt a second season of one of the two most popular cooking manga into a 13 episode series instead of its predecessor's original 24 episode run? Well you get Shokugeki read more
Sep 24, 2016
skyrip (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma: Ni no Sara, is the second season of an anime culinary show, which has elements of ecchi, comedy and even bits romance. I was really surprised at how much I liked the first season. I enjoyed the simple flow of the story, the original characters and their interactions. It had this weird thing about it, which you don´t see in many anime. There was no real antagonist. Even when there was an opponent of the MC, they soon turned friends. All the characters had good and compact backstories. It even had a somewhat romantic feel between the MC and Erina Nakiri, which read more
Dec 30, 2016
Tsubaki_8970 (All reviews)
This is a little bit late but I'm going to be reviewing Shokugeki no Souma season 2.

Story - The story was very good. I liked it a lot I enjoyed the 43rd annual Totsuki Autumn Election Arc it was very good and enjoyable. That being said the story wasn't as great as the first season. I didn't like the last couple of episodes. Also, the matches could have been a bit longer.

Art - The art is great as always. If you like anime with great visuals, art and animation then you will love this anime. Every character has a spectacular design and the animation read more
Oct 23, 2016
KingHarkinian (All reviews)
The first season disgusted me from the start with a completely shameless cheap fanservice policy, which thankfully died down as the series went along.

My reaction was very negative to Shokugeki because no matter where I looked, it felt like the most boring characters ever had been shoved into the most generic nekketsu ever(only with food) and the whole had been coated into some sort of boob wrapping to make it "appealing". And I'm not by any stretch opposed to fanservice. Fanservice is great. Just like salt in your food. And just like salt in your food, if you have none it lacks taste, if you read more