JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 4: Diamond wa Kudakenai


JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Diamond Is Unbreakable

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 4: Diamond wa Kudakenai, Diamond is not Crash
Japanese: ジョジョの奇妙な冒険 ダイヤモンドは砕けない
English: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Diamond Is Unbreakable
Spanish: Jojo's Bizarre Adventure: Diamond Is Unbreakable Temporada 3
French: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 39
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2016 to Dec 24, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: VIZ Media
Studios: David Production
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, SupernaturalSupernatural
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 636705636,705 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #131
Members: 926,394
Favorites: 33,974

External Links


Streaming Platforms

May be unavailable in your region.
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 11, 2017
kfcrispy (All reviews)
The JoJo series had been my favorite anime to watch (I don't read any manga), and this arc was a huge letdown after 3 solid, enjoyable, and often amazing arcs. The Stardust Crusader OVA from long ago got me hooked, and I was really looking forward to seeing Diamond is Unbreakable after finishing the TV series version of Stardust Crusaders.

I understand this TV series stays pretty true to the manga, but I feel that the writer Hirohiko Araki simply ran out of ideas after the EPIC Stardust Crusader arc and made this filler arc (for the money) about nothing significant, creating characters that were hard read more
Dec 23, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Morioh, an insignificant town that sits out in the sun for anyone to visit and the new home for the never-ending battle carried out by one family. Somewhere in this scrambled slice of suburbia, we're introduced to the latest member of the Joestar lineage, as we encroach on what would be one of many fights to come.

A new enemy Stand makes its entrance; veins protruding through swollen biceps; wrinkled brow plaster the expression of a robust figure; eyes fixated on the opposition; pompadour takes aim, a tangerine sky hanging above; onomatopoeias floods the screen—BAM! MENACING! RUMBLE!—with wall-to-wall color dancing around on the border of psychedelia read more
Dec 23, 2016
AshitaNoJonas (All reviews)
David Production was hardly a household name in the otaku community a few years ago. However everything changed when the fire nation attacked...I mean when they released their JoJo's Bizarre Adventure adaptation in 2012! While the budget was pretty low, David Production blew the community away with their attention to detail and loyalty to the source material and JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 4: Diamond is Unbreakable is no exception to this.

JoJo Part 4 tells the story of Josuke Higashikata, Joesephs illegitimate son. In Josuke's home town Morioh someone used a magical bow and arrow to transform normal people into Stand users. This time we get read more
Dec 23, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
To anime and manga fans, Jojo is a classic that many may have heard of. Even if you’re not familiar with the franchise, you’ll bound to hear something related to Jojo somewhere whether it’d be a joke, meme, or reference. Diamond is Unbreakable chronicles the fourth expansion of the franchise and it’s among one of the most celebrated. As a personal favorite, Diamond is Unbreakable sets up for an adventure that is far more than bizarre.

As the four story arc in the Jojo franchise, Diamond is Unbreakable unites a lot of similar themes from the previous series. These would include the unorthodox style of the read more
Jan 1, 2020
SynthwaveCrusade (All reviews)
JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 4: Diamond wa Kudakenai, the 4th part of Hirohiko Araki's iconic manga series. After the most iconic manga series of all-time, stardust crusaders, what can you do? Well, you make the greatest bit of media to even scrape the heavens.

[story-10/10]
Jojo part 4 takes us to the sleepy town of Morioh Japan, we follow part 3's protagonist Jotaro Kujo, Jotaro is looking for Josuke Higashikata, son of Joseph Joestar, of course Jotaro is here to talk about splitting the cash when Joseph dies, and also here on official business about a murder and the stand arrows, Jotaro meets Josuke and read more
Jul 8, 2017
Kak1 (All reviews)
I'd like to preface this review by saying I totally understand why you might enjoy this show. Don't just look at this review, see its rating then click off. This review is a thorough dissection of Araki's Manga and DP's adaption of DiU. It's more of a fun than deep experience but I'm going to explain why DiU's critical flaws make the show very VERY difficult for me to enjoy.

Story: 5/10

The story starts off insanely strong with a shot of a severed hand being in someone we don't knows home. The story is about a serial killer using his Stand to hide himself and read more
Mar 25, 2021
TheAceAttorney (All reviews)
JoJo's part 4: Diamond is Unbreakable/Diamond is not Crash will either be your favorite Part for a while, or your least favorite. As you can tell already, it's my favorite and I'm currently on the mid point of SO (which is also pretty good). Before DIU my favorite Part was Battle Tendency, and while Stardust Crusaders was okay it didn't live up to BT before the final arcs in my opinion.

STORY:
The story takes place directly after Part 3: Stardust Crusaders. Jotaro Kujoh, protagonist of Part 3, has planned a visit to Morioh, a small town in Japan, to find the bastard child of Joseph read more
Feb 19, 2021
Austin0404 (All reviews)
To many, JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is unbreakable is an experience like none other, and if you're one of those many people like myself, I'm glad to know you feel as I do.

Now why is it that I feel that way? Well let me explain.

JoJo part 4 as I'll refer to it as, is the 4th installment in the JoJo series and the most unique one at it's time, unlike it's previous parts, Diamond is unbreakable decided to branch off into it's own unique story, while of course still following the JoJo timeline, it was in itself, something brand new.

A murder mystery case comes read more
Dec 23, 2016
GoldenDevilGamer (All reviews)
You though Stardust Crusaders would be the last of the JoJo adaptations, but it was me, Diamond is Unbreakable! Jokes aside, the adaptation of the next part is finally over after a 39-episode run. David Production has proven to be a very loyal studio when it comes to adaptations. For the last couple of years, David Production have been working on adapting the JoJo's Bizarre Adventure manga series written by Araki Hirohiko into an anime format. After doing an adaptation for the first three JoJo parts, David Production has adapted the fourth Part of the series, Diamond wa Kudakenai also known as Diamond is Unbreakable read more
Feb 9, 2021
lemm1ng (All reviews)
Diamond is Unbreakable differs quite a bit from the other JoJo's Parts - instead of traveling all over the place it fixates on a small town called Morioh. However, this does not mean that we get any less action and story in this part!

JoJo's is known for it's wacky, bizarre and often unpredictable setting. And this part definitely outdid itself. The idea that the story takes place in a small town really contrasts itself from the previous parts. Instead of going through long adventures to defeat the big bad guy that wants to kill everyone, this part is a lot more laid back but still read more
Sep 6, 2020
cucumber-turtle (All reviews)
There is much to love about Diamond is Unbreakable. The atmosphere of this part is a huge change from the dangerous adventurous and mysterious atmosphere the first three parts built up. Every Jojo preceding Josuke Higashikata was living on the edge, constantly having to fight enemies and grow stronger, meanwhile Josuke Higashikata is shown to live the life of a high school student, and fights enemies (and others) on the side. Part 4 is about more than defeating enemies, it's about making friends and allies too. This change can be very polarising, but it's very fitting.

Part 4 focuses on building the setting we are read more
May 4, 2020
Thisizaraisu (All reviews)
I firmly believe that this is the best part of JoJo's Bizarre Adventure that currently has an anime adaptation. The characters are the most fleshed-out they've ever been, the main villain is one of the best in the series, the music is phenomenal, the humor is top-notch, there are just so many great elements combined together in creating the most enjoyable experience JoJo's experience that I've ever witnessed.

I want to talk a bit about how Diamond Is Unbreakable subverted my expectations. Given what I knew about Part 4 (the fact that it is set around high school students, the main conflict is more of a read more
Dec 27, 2016
Ginga_Daiuchuu (All reviews)
(If you're 11 and haven't experienced JoJo, skip to the safe space for my 'spoiler free' interview)

1999
"Let the joy of love give you cancer"-Araki

There's a reason why DiU sits near the top of almost any JoJo fans ranking.

Because its an absolutely and positively inspired piece of work.



Let's get the obvious criticism out of the way first. While the voice acting is grade A, this show puts the ugh in ugly, (I.E Quality Queen). But some episodes (I.E Bug Eaten) are stellar looking, with strong color pallets and character design. It's just quite obvious the budget from part 2 isn't there, which, while a shame, isn't read more
Feb 28, 2020
ShinTakuya (All reviews)
Upon getting a feel for the premise of Part 4, I came into the story expecting not to enjoy it as much as the previous parts. Boy was I wrong. To me, Jojo's just keeps getting better with each season, and Part 4 is no exception.

One of the things that keeps Jojo's fresh is the slight shift in premise and genre that comes with each season

Part 1 started us off with a manly Hokuto no Ken (Fist of the North Star) style adventure mixed with horror, with references to more traditional supernatural things such as vampires and werewolves. Part 2 took that to the next read more
Aug 18, 2021
Lion_Sin (All reviews)
"The summit is what drives us, but the climb itself is what matters. -Conrad Anker"

The above quote is just another generic quote, exemplifying that the journey matters more so than the destination. I hated that since the journey has reason solely due to the destination, so if the destination were not present or useless, that journey would be useless, waste, and a bunch of idiocricy by the travellers.

Why did I bring the above point up? BECAUSE THAT'S WHAT I THOUGHT BEFORE ARAKI SENSEI'S MASTERPIECE OF PART 4. If you are a true anime fan, you cannot deny that Stardust Crusaders [1st and 2nd season] is read more
Dec 23, 2016
KanghisKhan (All reviews)
Holy shit, this was a masterpiece.

Jojo always sets and meets high expectations, but this season was something else. Everything about the show just pleases you, the art, characters, the fights.
This season is definitely the best Jojo season and I can't wait for the next one to come out.

To be honest, its first few episodes were so different from the previous seasons that I was kind of confused, the way the story started out and honestly you could argue that it was a bit slow. But when it reaches the main story, oh boy you are in for a treat.

As for the read more
Mar 11, 2020
Sonalisa (All reviews)
I rarely write reviews about anime I've watched, but I felt that I have to write a review for this specific season.

Story:

I've watched Jojo part 1 and 2 but I can't say genuinely I've enjoyed them, to be frank, I've skipped some episodes because they were too boring or not very important for the progression of the story. HOWEVER, Jojo part 4 has exceeded my expectations. Each episode becomes more interesting than the one before it to the point that I couldn't start or end my day without watching 2 episodes or so of this masterpiece.

Art:

what I love most about this season is the art read more
Jul 5, 2021
UnraisedSwine7 (All reviews)
I absolutely adore part 5 of Jojo, I wish I could inject it on my veins. If it were a drug, I would be addicted beyond repair.

Part 5 begins with the protagonist, Giorno Giovanna (GioGio haha clever pun), walking through the streets of some Italian city. At first, this scene serves only to portray the degenerate state of Italy in relation with drugs and how they influence the youth. However, it also shows an important aspect of Giorno: his powerlessness and insatisfaction with the situation even if he himself is a criminal who aspires to be a Gangstar (another clever pun with the Joestar's name read more
Apr 20, 2020
Jojofan221 (All reviews)
[Spoilers]

Jojo's Bizarre adventure part 4 is when this series went from being an entertaining series with a few obvious flaws and a variety of memes to an excellent series that I would highly recommend. Part 4's art is a big complaint for a lot of people, but personally I found the smoother, more cartoonish art-style to be very pleasing for the eyes and enables some of the vibrant color palates stand out as well as the darker color palates for darker scenes, part 4 makes excellent use of color to set tone. The story is a fresh take on the concept of JJBA in which read more
Jun 6, 2020
shiroitamago (All reviews)
I notice some reviewers writing that this season is filler. This is a foolish take as this season does NOT deserve the negative reviews some ADD riddled, battle anime shounen !@$# on this site would have you think. I find this line of thought especially strange when you can essentially link up every plot thread in DIU, which leads itself to rewarding the audience with the strongest narrative yet and firm world building within show's setting: the town of Morioh.

At the time of writing this, this is the best animated Jojo part yet. Unlike previous entries (which are fantastic), the main characters are more read more