JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 4: Diamond wa Kudakenai


JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable
Synonyms: JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 4: Diamond wa Kudakenai, Diamond is not Crash
Japanese: ジョジョの奇妙な冒険 ダイヤモンドは砕けない

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 39
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2016 to Dec 24, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: VIZ Media
Studios: David Production
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, SupernaturalSupernatural, DramaDrama, ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 445077445,077 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1072
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #154
Members: 687,620
Favorites: 26,511
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 11, 2017
kfcrispy (All reviews)
I dont' know why there aren't more negative reviews about this series, but the JoJo series had been my favorite anime to watch (I don't read any manga), and this arc was a huge letdown after 3 solid, enjoyable, and often amazing arcs. The Stardust Crusader OVA from long ago got me hooked, and I was really looking forward to seeing Diamond is Unbreakable after finishing the TV series version of Stardust Crusaders.

I understand this TV series stays pretty true to the manga, but I feel that the writer Hirohiko Araki simply ran out of ideas after the EPIC Stardust Crusader arc and made this read more
Dec 23, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Morioh, an insignificant town that sits out in the sun for anyone to visit and the new home for the never-ending battle carried out by one family. Somewhere in this scrambled slice of suburbia, we're introduced to the latest member of the Joestar lineage, as we encroach on what would be one of many fights to come.

A new enemy Stand makes its entrance; veins protruding through swollen biceps; wrinkled brow plaster the expression of a robust figure; eyes fixated on the opposition; pompadour takes aim, a tangerine sky hanging above; onomatopoeias floods the screen—BAM! MENACING! RUMBLE!—with wall-to-wall color dancing around on the border of psychedelia read more
Dec 23, 2016
AshitaNoJonas (All reviews)
David Production was hardly a household name in the otaku community a few years ago. However everything changed when the fire nation attacked...I mean when they released their JoJo's Bizarre Adventure adaptation in 2012! While the budget was pretty low, David Production blew the community away with their attention to detail and loyalty to the source material and JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 4: Diamond is Unbreakable is no exception to this.

JoJo Part 4 tells the story of Josuke Higashikata, Joesephs illegitimate son. In Josuke's home town Morioh someone used a magical bow and arrow to transform normal people into Stand users. This time we get read more
Dec 23, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
To anime and manga fans, Jojo is a classic that many may have heard of. Even if you’re not familiar with the franchise, you’ll bound to hear something related to Jojo somewhere whether it’d be a joke, meme, or reference. Diamond is Unbreakable chronicles the fourth expansion of the franchise and it’s among one of the most celebrated. As a personal favorite, Diamond is Unbreakable sets up for an adventure that is far more than bizarre.

As the four story arc in the Jojo franchise, Diamond is Unbreakable unites a lot of similar themes from the previous series. These would include the unorthodox style of the read more
Jan 1, 2020
SynthwaveCrusade (All reviews)
JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 4: Diamond wa Kudakenai, the 4th part of Hirohiko Araki's iconic manga series. After the most iconic manga series of all-time, stardust crusaders, what can you do? Well, you make the greatest bit of media to even scrape the heavens.

[story-10/10]
Jojo part 4 takes us to the sleepy town of Morioh Japan, we follow part 3's protagonist Jotaro Kujo, Jotaro is looking for Josuke Higashikata, son of Joseph Joestar, of course Jotaro is here to talk about splitting the cash when Joseph dies, and also here on official business about a murder and the stand arrows, Jotaro meets Josuke and read more
Jul 8, 2017
Kak1 (All reviews)
I'd like to preface this review by saying I totally understand why you might enjoy this show. Don't just look at this review, see its rating then click off. This review is a thorough dissection of Araki's Manga and DP's adaption of DiU. It's more of a fun than deep experience but I'm going to explain why DiU's critical flaws make the show very VERY difficult for me to enjoy.

Story: 5/10

The story starts off insanely strong with a shot of a severed hand being in someone we don't knows home. The story is about a serial killer using his Stand to hide himself and read more
Jun 12, 2020
curvedtree (All reviews)
I have come to the conclusion the mangaka behind JoJo, after Phantom Blood and Battle Tendency, simply don't care about creating a world anymore and blinded fans simply take this series as it is the ultimate Shounen adventure.

"Diamond is Unbreakable" has a better pacing throughout the episodes than "Stardust Crusaders"'s hot mess, however the writer sometimes fails in the same way he did on SC with pointless episodes and minor characters, conveniently powers appearing or not being used and, as usual, a lame story (btw we are introduced to yet another "origin" for how stands are born).

Josuke, much like Jotaro, has a catchphrase that even read more
Dec 23, 2016
GoldenDevilGamer (All reviews)
You though Stardust Crusaders would be the last of the JoJo adaptations, but it was me, Diamond is Unbreakable! Jokes aside, the adaptation of the next part is finally over after a 39-episode run. David Production has proven to be a very loyal studio when it comes to adaptations. For the last couple of years, David Production have been working on adapting the JoJo's Bizarre Adventure manga series written by Araki Hirohiko into an anime format. After doing an adaptation for the first three JoJo parts, David Production has adapted the fourth Part of the series, Diamond wa Kudakenai also known as Diamond is Unbreakable read more
Dec 24, 2016
ChrissyC (All reviews)
Jojo: Diamond (PT 4).

When Diamond tells the main story it usually repeats the excitement and anticipation that Jojo is known for.
Diamond has certain interesting stands like Crazy Diamond & The Hand which makes you anticipate their uses and potential.

The art direction in Diamond is a better step for Jojo, character designs are slim. Diamond removes the over-masculine/stiff design that Jojo 1-3 had.
The color palette accompanies the new character designs with smooth and soft fills.

The opening themes fit in the 1/3 and 3/3 sections of Diamond. The ending theme like in all the Jojos borrows a popular western tune. "I Want You" read more
Dec 23, 2016
KanghisKhan (All reviews)
Holy shit, this was a masterpiece.

Jojo always sets and meets high expectations, but this season was something else. Everything about the show just pleases you, the art, characters, the fights.
This season is definitely the best Jojo season and I can't wait for the next one to come out.

To be honest, its first few episodes were so different from the previous seasons that I was kind of confused, the way the story started out and honestly you could argue that it was a bit slow. But when it reaches the main story, oh boy you are in for a treat.

As for the read more
Dec 27, 2016
Ginga_Daiuchuu (All reviews)
(If you're 11 and haven't experienced JoJo, skip to the safe space for my 'spoiler free' interview)

1999
"Let the joy of love give you cancer"-Araki

There's a reason why DiU sits near the top of almost any JoJo fans ranking.

Because its an absolutely and positively inspired piece of work.



Let's get the obvious criticism out of the way first. While the voice acting is grade A, this show puts the ugh in ugly, (I.E Quality Queen). But some episodes (I.E Bug Eaten) are stellar looking, with strong color pallets and character design. It's just quite obvious the budget from part 2 isn't there, which, while a shame, isn't read more
Dec 23, 2016
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken: Diamond wa Kudakenai Review

Story (9/10) Great
More Specifically (9.50/10) Great+

The Story for Part 4 of JoJo's Bizarre Adventure I felt was great for it's uniqueness and laid back atmosphere presented in majority of the Part. It's definitely nothing like the first 3 Parts when it comes to tone as the first 3 were a combination of comedy, tension, hype fights and bizarre situations. Now although you can say that this Part of JoJo's had all of those things it definitely added it's own flavor of slice of life to the series which at first (back in 2015 when i read the read more
Apr 22, 2019
diabolicalx (All reviews)
Jojo's Bizarre Adventure in general is an interesting show because I don't like it for a very specific reason. I dislike Jojo because I cannot ignore the fact people explain the plot or fight moves while standing by spectating. Yes, sometimes the show will poke fun at itself with Jojo saying "Why are you just standing there" (or something to that effect) but I just can't. It reminds me of shows where suddenly the hero gains some ridiculous power or strength because love, friendship, or intense emotional states. Bleh.

Like "Oh my god, look! He isn't digging in the ground, he's building up forceful energy read more
Sep 27, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
The JoJo franchise is one I have some fondness for. It has an absurd naming scheme, over the top machismo & action, but I've still found it pretty endearing. I've talked about JoJo, Stardust Crusaders series 1 & 2. This time around, I'll be discussing Diamond is Unbreakable. Like the others, this is brought to us by David Production. It aired from April to December of 2016. I look forward to seeing a bunch of characters named after musicians & bands fighting in an absurdly over the top fashion. Let's get right to it.

Story:

We open with Joutarou heading to a small town called Morioh to read more
Sep 13, 2019
Rainling (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly, I love the Jojo franchise but this season in particular was extremely boring and I felt like there was no reason to watch it. I was really trying my best to enjoy and watch this season but it felt like a whole filler. This season they were fighting a normal dude who's stand wasn't even that powerful which I found extremely boring to watch just after I was binging the other series not even a month before. When each episode came out, I found myself dreading to watch it. I wish I could've enjoyed this season but honestly it wasn't going to happen.

Story: read more
Mar 7, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
DORARARARA!

JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken: Diamond wa Kudakenai brings us to the quaint *cough* mundane city of Morioh, a new Jojo with Josuke Higashikata, new Stand users be it allies or villains and our major focus for Part 4 being searching for a serial murderer who's been out on the loose for almost 15 years...

JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken: Diamond wa Kudakenai's core cast for the most part LA enjoyed alot though there were some aspects of the "Morioh Warriors" that could had more potential from them. The newest Jojo of Josuke voiced by Yuuki Ono reminded LA alot of Joseph Joestar in Battle Tendency read more
Aug 14, 2020
jimmyking007 (All reviews)
Having been binging JoJo for the past few weeks, part 4 was the show I really wanted to write a review for. Until I saw it from myself I couldn’t believe that the growth in writing between seasons would be so significant. And with part 4, I feel like this is more apparent than ever.

Characters: I feel like starting with the characters is best due to how many are introduced and how crucial they are to how the story works. Both protagonist and antagonist are a huge step forward. The supporting cast can honestly vary, especially because of the sear size. But the main read more
Dec 27, 2016
ItIsIDio (All reviews)
• Foreword for those interested in Diamond is Unbreakable with no knowledge of the JoJo universe.

Ok, as a note to people that maybe are reading this that have no knowledge of the other seasons or parts of JoJo and are interesting in picking it up, I can say that each JoJo part can work independently of the others and can be consumed in any order you want, although the most optimal way is watching them in order as to not be spoiled. You see, JoJo is organized in parts, with each part following the story of a different protagonist from the Joestar family, in a read more
May 4, 2020
Thisizaraisu (All reviews)
I firmly believe that this is the best part of JoJo's Bizarre Adventure that currently has an anime adaptation. The characters are the most fleshed-out they've ever been, the main villain is one of the best in the series, the music is phenomenal, the humor is top-notch, there are just so many great elements combined together in creating the most enjoyable experience JoJo's experience that I've ever witnessed.

I want to talk a bit about how Diamond Is Unbreakable subverted my expectations. Given what I knew about Part 4 (the fact that it is set around high school students, the main conflict is more of a read more
Aug 19, 2019
ShaIIot (All reviews)
[Prerequisite information]

JoJo's is bizarre. I believe that any reviewer worth his pixels should summarize their opinions on the previous parts before they start their review, since these opinions are integral to the reader's understanding. So, that being said:

Part 1: A bit boring, but does a good job at establishing the JoJo vs Brando rivalry. The quintessential hero JoJo.

Part 2: Best part I've seen so far. The Pillar Men are good antagonists and Joseph is the best protagonist. The quintessential anti-hero JoJo.

Part 3: [CONTROVERSIAL OPINION ALERT] Worst part I've seen so far. Would take too long to explain, if you're interested, PM. Basically, very overrated, but read more