Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji: Ultimate Survivor


Alternative Titles

English: Kaiji: Ultimate Survivor
Synonyms: Tobaku Mokushiroku Kaiji, The Suffering Pariah Kaiji
Japanese: 逆境無頼カイジ Ultimate Survivor

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2007 to Apr 2, 2008
Premiered: Fall 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.311 (scored by 81,080 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2352
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #557
Members: 171,370
Favorites: 5,591

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 18, 2008
bigjig (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kaiji is the devil child [insert Slayer- Hell Awaits soundtrack] among the 2007 Autumn season lineup, an outcast, the underdog just like the character himself – people take one look at those long noses and run for the hills – A TENGU IS COMING!! AAARGHH!!

It also just happens to not only be the best anime of the season; it ranks up among some of the best anime of all time. If there were to be a list of the current best five anime for the 2007 season it would be: 1. Kaiji, 2. Daylight, 3. Daylight, 4. Daylight, 5. Maybe Ghost Hound – nah, read more
Dec 9, 2007
Torisunanohokori (All reviews)
This review was originally written after the first arc, and has since been revised to cover my opinions of the entire show, with minimal spoilers.

Story: Itoh Kaiji, a bum with 3 million yen worth of debt gets into a gambling cruise to pay off his debts. The game played on the cruise is Gentei Janken (Restricted Rock-Paper-Scissors), where the players get four cards of each type and battle it out. What's the catch? Several things; each card can only be used once, cards can be bought off of other players, con men abound, and losing forces one into the vaguely established but read more
Feb 16, 2017
basilevs27 (All reviews)
---The review contains spoilers---


3/10. Explanation:

Starts off strange to say the least. A young man is deep in debt and is being given a chance to repay it by boarding a cruise ship to do the 'gambling' (?). At this point I was already a bit wary, because why would a loan company give an opportunity to repay the debt and get rich on top of that to somebody who owns them money? Surely that's not a profitable thing to do. Why not collect the money from them or make them repay somehow, idk. On the ship though, this series becomes amazing, and I mean read more
Apr 19, 2008
slpless (All reviews)
Edit: added more stuff and reworded some things

What drew me to Kaiji was the interesting premise, gambling. Considering the manga had over 30+ volumes, there had to be something to this. However, the question pops in my mind “how is one able to make an anime about gambling?” In the end, I found that a more important question is “how can one make a good anime about gambling?” and Kaiji isn’t a very good example.

Itoh Kaiji owes 3 million yen to the yakuza and is forced to go into a special cruise ship to gamble his way out of debt. The gamble is read more
Jan 20, 2014
Kynov (All reviews)
Kaiji, maybe is one of the genius anime that would be rarely be consumed these days. Many reasons for it, like people these days are just loooking for anime which have cute girls (or we can said seeking for MOE). Cant blame on it since anime industry now are using cute girls for their sales and of course for seeking profit. Anyway, there is no cute girls in Kaiji so please step out if you’re looking for it. But honestly you would miss a show that would make hold your breath from the beginning to the end.

Kaiji itself have a simple story, Its about read more
Feb 5, 2008
eternalmetal (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can see everyone staring at the straight 10s on the board and either think im being biased, or that I grade too easy. According to the ratings here, I grade more than a point lower on average than everyone else. Well, in any case, I will explain why every category deserved a 10.

Story: While not being too complex, it exists. The main character has worked himself down to having a massive debt that would take him countless years to pay back honestly. Everybody Kaiji gambles with are people who once were hopeless gamblers that are given a chance to win read more
Feb 9, 2009
noteDhero (All reviews)
What happens when you take the "No one win's but I" attitude and you place it into the hands of a bunch of desperate, shameless losers? Why, you get Kaiji of course!

Art - 7
I understand that the art style was supposed to echo the tone and content of the story. Many will say that the character design is supposed to depict “real-life, gritty” characters. I would disagree. I think that Kaiji is a very stylized, over-exaggeration of “gritty, real-life.” If this is supposed to indeed be a more realistic art style, I just don’t think everyone has pointy chins, noses, read more
Feb 2, 2014
DiabloMask (All reviews)
I chose to write a review about this anime because people have to know how good it is.
It's actually one of the very few that i'd give a 10/10 without hesitation, it's my personal opinion, but i really can't see someone who like psychological thrillers not liking this show so much, so i think you should give it a try at least.

If i had to describe Ultimate Survivor Kaiji, i'd say that this anime is a pure psychological thriller, it's actually the only anime i've seen so far that was totally realistic and showed how scary the world is, how weak humans are, and how read more
May 28, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
Kaiji Ultimate Survivor explores human vices, the temptation of evil & the shattering of hope all through the usage of gambling. Kaiji is a psychological thriller building much tension as Kaiji's thoughts on society & goodwill are put into question.

The story of Kaiji begins when he takes a massive debt from this friend forcing him to resort to gambling on a secluded cruise called Espoir. (French for Hope) From this point onwards, Kaiji enters the gambling world where games cost millions of money & where a person's life matter less than money. Throughout the series, there's many challenges that emphasizes hope being nothing than a read more
Apr 30, 2010
ExDeath (All reviews)
Kaiji was a very interesting series for me, in that I found it to be so incredibly hit-or-miss, it's difficult to review.

First, there are many pros. The art is the first thing you will notice, but don't let the cover fool you; this anime is pretty well-drawn. The style fits, and you won't even notice anything unusual after 5-10 minutes of watching. The music and ambient sounds are some of the best I've come across, as well as most (but definitely not all) of the voice acting. This comes across to give the series a very creepy and believable atmosphere.

The story is read more
Sep 14, 2015
themegamancave (All reviews)
With the various 10’s all dominating the top reviews for Kaiji on MAL, I found it even more necessary to get a review written of my own for this series. Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji: Ultimate Survivor is an anime focusing on suspense and intense twists and turns along the way of its storytelling. This series had me on the edge of my seat at times, but I became bored with it at others due to certain segments being drawn out longer than necessary. Let’s break down each section individually.
NOTE- This review contains spoilers.

The unique style of storytelling in Kaiji is what really makes read more
Jan 12, 2010
MrOnsen (All reviews)
Kaiji is an anime you would probably avoid at first glance. To be honest, I did too when I first saw it. It stayed in the back of my mind for a few months until a friend told me it was great and I found out that the artist and creator was Korean. So, with a bit of reluctance, I started viewing Kaiji and I was blown away. The artstyle quickly became very enjoyable and I didn't mind the pointy noses or weird eyes after the first episode. If you are avoiding this anime due to the odd artstyle, do yourself a favor and stop read more
Jan 12, 2016
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Kaiji isn’t a mainstream series like Naruto or Bleach. If your high school has an anime club and that is where you hear about the series you watch, then you probably haven’t heard of Kaiji: Ultimate Survivor. However, if you spend time on MAL and read through suggestions, you have probably at least heard of Kaiji as a sophisticated and highly lauded work. I will be examining this 2007 anime that is already widely viewed as a timeless classic. Instead of my usual format, I will be breaking the review into pros and cons because Kaiji is a special series, so I figure it deserves read more
Sep 12, 2010
Darklonestrife (All reviews)
Kaiji is another gambling series done by the same people who made Akagi. If you happened to read my review on Akagi, you will notice how disappointed I was. But the same cannot be said about Kaiji. This time the producers realized their mistakes and fixed it. Now, this is a gambling series done right. Thumbs up.

STORY... The plot revolves around a man named Kaiji, who is in his early twenties and is debt-ridden. It doesn't seem he will ever be able to pay off his debts, but as if sent from the heavens or hell, a messenger comes to him with an "once in read more
Aug 9, 2008
Quizerno (All reviews)
This series does not get alot of love. If you don't enjoy enjoy thinking alot about your anime, you will not like this.

However if you can think about it alot, you will enjoy this alittle or very much.

First of all the story deserves it's credit. Gambling is not interesting unless it is presented in a interesting way. The original author of the manga (Noboyuki Fukumoto) has created series based on gambling, finances, detective work, and basic struggle of surviving. And he does his work with perfection in psychological description.

Kaiji is a character you see grow. By the end of the series you will read more
Oct 13, 2009
Splendiferous (All reviews)
First off, the reason that I am writing this review is that I feel this series is too overrated, the two current reviews here are both exemplary of that.

Summarized review:
Story had the potential to be great 9-10/10, however, after a while it gets really old, and all the cleverness is taken away, leaving a big sob show.
Art - I am a big fan of this style of art, the huge noses, 2D characters, angular character design etc.
Sound - Nothing memorable, nothing to complain about.
Same goes for characters and enjoyment, will get into more detail in full review.
Overall : 6, vastly overrated due to read more
Apr 1, 2009
IcehawkDown (All reviews)
Murphy's Law, whatever can go wrong WILL go wrong. This is the basic premise surrounding almost any anime related to games. As you watch a show like Kaiji, you already know that over the course of whatever game they are playing, things will go badly. The key to these shows it to surprise you anyway, to be caught off guard by the things that go wrong, and to be impressed when the good guys overcome the odds.

Kaiji (mostly) accomplishes this. The main character, Kaiji, plays several different games in which he risks his life/body parts, etc. Some of the games he plays are extraordinarily read more
Sep 12, 2017
Coldonylum (All reviews)
This is my first review so please bear with me :P
I am also aiming at keeping this extremely spoiler-free, only explaining my viewpoint and impressions.

TL;DR:
The story was very very unpredictable and excruciatingly tense, well paced and v well plot centered. I personally enjoyed the art style which kept its strong consistency throughout. The voice acting was superb, as well as the restless soundtracks. Each character - no matter the role - felt real and distinctive. Very addicting.

Story- 10/10:
Cutting straight down to the chase - I loved the story. The story started off with a very amusing and somewhat relatable mc. The story dived straight read more
Nov 1, 2011
Kurano (All reviews)
Money is a very important part of our lives. To even do anything, you need money. Food? Money. Anime? buy a computer, which costs money. Clothes? Money. The only thing I can think of that won't cost money to build or maintain is yourself. So what do you do when you desperately need money, fast? Kaiji's answer to this question is to gamble for it. And damn, there's a hell of a lot of gambles in this anime.

Basically, the story revolves around Itou Kaiji, who's broke and also in debt for about 3 million yen. Some black suits come and talks him into gambling on read more
Aug 21, 2014
DeXeTer (All reviews)
Gyakkyou Burai Kaiji: Ultimate Survivor is an amazing show and one of the best anime thrillers of all time up there with monster and death note well the first half of death note anyway on to the story

Story 9
A young man named kaiji is poor never has good luck when it comes to gambling as well as slashing care tires and stealing care emblems and putting them on his wall one afternoon being frustrated losing his latest card came with his neighbors does his usual routine of slashing cars and stealing their emblems once he does that he read more