Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Haikyuu!! Second Season


Alternative Titles

English: Haikyu!! 2nd Season
Synonyms: Haikyuu!! Second Season
Japanese: ハイキュー!! セカンドシーズン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2015 to Mar 27, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 02:58 (JST)
Producers: TOHO animation, Shueisha
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.891 (scored by 167,983 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #194
Members: 274,960
Favorites: 5,792

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2016
contrassexual (All reviews)
This is my first review ever and I absolutely loved the show, so expect this to be very biased.

Story: The story is the best one you can get from a sports anime. Of course there's nothing complex, such as a great mystery or an awesome plot full of twists and something like that. Nevertheless, it's still awesome and original. We actually get some background on almost every character, even the less important ones. Our main characters are a yin-yang duo: they are opposites of each other, and yet, they become a single destructive weapon for their team. We also have Hinata's ambition on the Little read more
Mar 26, 2016
-Remix- (All reviews)
As you probably already know, competitive spirit, teamwork, communication, and perseverance are all common themes that unite the sports genre as a whole. Therefore, to truly differentiate one show from other similar shows, scriptwriters need to engage the audience in a remarkably new and refreshing way.

I think for some people, this show is able to connect with them on some deeper, meaningful level. The way that this show engages with its audience is truly something else. The way Karasuno interacts, the way they crack jokes, and their never-ending drive to succeed – it makes you feel excited. It’s as if you are there physically with read more
Mar 27, 2016
Salokannel2 (All reviews)
The sports genre.. if you're not a fan of it then it can't be helped but GODDAMN how much you're missing out. Most people don't start watching anime with the sports genre and even when they dive deeper into the vast sea of anime genres, it is one that usually is missed out.

Now how does Haikyuu, a simple series mean that you miss out a lot?

Well, a lot of sports genre is usually thought the same way as battle shounen where "friendship is magic" since many times in sports anime, as well as in Haikyuu also, shounen genre plays a great role. Even tough read more
Mar 26, 2016
0207xander (All reviews)
This review comes from someone who actually plays volleyball, so my opinion is god ;)

Hello everyone, it’s your family friendly, volleyball playing, review writing member of the MAL community here, bringing you what is known as a "review”. I hope I can do the series proper justice and be fair to the quality of the show while also conveying the series from the perspective of someone who is passionate about the sport. This review is going to be pretty unconventional and non-structured, so I’m sorry about that, do your best to follow along with my style of reviewing.

To start, I want to say that Haikyuu read more
Apr 2, 2016
yahzee (All reviews)
Haikyuu's second season continues with its excellent high-quality storytelling that made many fall in love with the first season. While Haikyuu is most certainly a sports anime at its core, it's also an extremely well-crafted tale of the trials and hard work that every player goes through. Most importantly, Haikyuu makes you actually care about what happens in the show. Whether it's a loss or a victory, Hinata or a player on the opposing school's volleyball team, the show manages to grasp us as viewers and force us to invest heavily in the fictional world of Haikyuu.

With most sports anime, the pacing of the story read more
Aug 17, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
Just one more point. You take a deep breath in, trying to truncate the overwhelming anxiety infiltrating your own body. Your pulse quickens and your mouth feels like gritty sandpaper, all while trying to keep your body from collapsing out of sheer exhaustion. The raucous cheering from the crowd serves as nothing but a muffled backdrop to the sound of your intensifying heartbeat.

Just one more point. It's your turn to serve. Countless nervous eyes upon you, the florescent gymnasium lights oppressively beat your feeble body down with rays of warmth. The thought of the win or loss being on your shoulders causes your legs to read more
May 18, 2016
AniDeMax (All reviews)
To be honest at first i dont like volleyball that much but when i gave haikyuu!! a try it seriously made me want to watch it more. so here's my review. This is my opinion so you dont have to argue with me. XD

Story : All i can say is wow it met my expectations. These guys i love the team they are fun, silly, and awesome characters. I enjoyed most of the parts which were funny also. I like how they say the story of each member. So we can understand them more. We have Hinata dreams to surpass the "Little Giant" which read more
Apr 4, 2016
oihisoka (All reviews)
The second season of the Haikyuu!! surpasses the first one by having more creative “funny” moments, longer screen time for the secondary characters, and impressive plot/character development. I’m sure many of us watch anime out of enjoyment but having an anime that is motivating & inspirational will eventually leave a deeper impact — I’ve started running after watching Hinata and Kageyama run during practice, no jokes.
The strongest element of the show is hands down, the characters. Not only do we focus on the achievements of the main protagonists but we also get to see more of the “secondary” characters in the show (I hate read more
Jun 2, 2016
ofshoyos (All reviews)
Before we begin, I'd like it to be known that this series of Haikyū! (ハイキュー!) has been highlighted as my favorite show for quite a long time. How exactly is this a big deal? Despite the ratings that I give to almost every anime being generous, I would have to say that this one is well worthy of the rating-scale at 10. There comes too of the saying that I am, in actuality, a very meticulous person when it comes down to watching a show; I'd prefer the shows that I've watched to be meaningful, containing some underlying message that may be served as a read more
Apr 4, 2016
awee9044 (All reviews)
Story: After their bitter defeat against Aoba Johsai, the team carries on through training with the same determination. A summer camp filled with new and strong opponents becomes the catalyst for Karasuno's evolution. When the evolution is complete, Karasuno forges ahead to the Spring High with the same goal as always-to go to nationals.

Art/Sound: The new characters this season are drawn perfectly, and the voice actors assigned to them do very well in portraying the characters' personalities. In addition, the 4 OST's do well to set the mood of the anime. The opening songs/videos give viewers a feeling of perseverance and determination that usually read more
Apr 27, 2016
DarthInvader (All reviews)
To Whom It May Concern: The following review will be an unbiased, honest & systematic review that's just to the point. I will refrain from spoilers to the best of my ability. This critical review is mainly intended for people wondering whether to watch the second season since they finished first or for newcomers who are for some odd reason wants to start this anime for second. Please don't be the latter.

Story: 6/10
Haikyuu!! Season 2 attempts to refrain from being just another sports anime while still incorporating most of the tropes throughout the entire season. The story, being simple as it is, continues from read more
Apr 6, 2016
TakeTheWindward (All reviews)
"Some people want it to happen, Some wish it would happen, Others make it happen." - Michael Jordan

Haikyuu freaking second season. There's this term called escapism, it carries a negative connotation with it because the assumption is that one is running from reality through some medium. Lots of time, as anime fans, you may browse through endless sites saying "aw man anime is escapism" or some bullsh!t like that. However, sports can be looked at the same way and nobody bats an eye, very hypocritical of the world today isn't it? Many athletes, whether professional or recreational have a different persona when it comes to read more
Sep 22, 2016
abovetheveil (All reviews)
I tried to find a flaw to justify a 9 out of 10 but failed. This anime just did everything right in this.


Story 9/10
It was great. Seeing them go through bootcamp, struggle to find their own groove. Watching Hinata and Kageyama find a new super quick. Watching the 3rd years overcome the fact this is their last year. The story behind the other teams they played, the back stories of the aces too were well thought out and unique.

Art - 9/10
I've seen better but this was very good especially when it mattered.

Soundtrack - 10/10
It's perfect, the OP and ED, the OST gave the most sophisticated read more
Mar 27, 2016
FurankuSan (All reviews)
Do you think sports anime are corny?
Are you curious to watch one sports anime?
Do you hate anime that has an exaggerated superpowers and there are random electricity coming out of their eyes or Sharingan is activated in the middle of the game? (Don't get me wrong. I love KnB).

THEN WATCH HAIKYUU!! DAMN IT! IT'S SOOOOO GOOOOD.

*Ehem* Anyways, if you're reading this review and you haven't watch season 1, well, here's a synopsis.

One guy named Hinata loves volleyball and dreams to be the ace of one team (Ends up being a decoy). During his middle school, he had a volleyball club but, it had no members read more
Mar 26, 2016
Fulbring (All reviews)
The “second season” for a lot of anime series tends to bring out amazing set-pieces, better story progression as well as the fact that, since the show was successful in the first place, the viewers would love to see more of it. Haikyuu: Second Season is a hidden gem that I loved for the first season, but this second season especially, for the first 13 episode and beyond held a special place in my heart because it was this show during Fall of 2015 that literally brought me back up to speed in terms of my education and just real life struggles. The mental impact read more
Jun 7, 2016
matsuhannah (All reviews)
Listen, you might prefer One Punch Man or Death Parade or Your Lie in April or what have you, but this was my favorite anime of 2015 by far. (I know it went into 2016 but technically it's a 2015 show)

Story: 7/10
Like the first season, the second season's storyline is very simple. Karasuno wants to do well in this tournament and get to nationals. Typical of the genre, nothing too special or new.

Characters: 10/10
This was the thing that made season two so great for me, and there was no way I could give it less than a ten. With a simple plot and read more
May 4, 2016
thecescshow (All reviews)
SUPER SHORT VERSION: If you're a Haikyuu fan, then of course you're gonna like it. If you love sports anime but have never watch Haikyuu, then I strongly suggest you to start watching the first season since there's a huge chance that you'll love it. If you don't like sports anime, then I'll still suggest you to give it a try. It's a refreshing take on the sports genre and you'll definitely appreciate numerous aspects of the anime even if you don't fully enjoy it.

LONG VERSION:
Haikyuu 2nd Season: the season of development and growth. If the first season focuses more on introducing and establishing read more
Apr 21, 2016
datshortazngurl (All reviews)
Overall, I chose to give this anime a 10/10. One of the best sport animes out there. The characters and their development in the story is A1. This anime is the type to get you hyped after every play. The storyline and plot really make you want to binge watch for days. I'll admit that I'm guilty of doing it >_<. I'm planning to get the Karasuno High Banner "Fly" tattooed on my back sometime soon as this anime really inspired my and influenced me. This anime is a MUCH WATCH, regardless if you're not into sports. It is a Masterpiece. Can't wait for the read more
Apr 8, 2016
1000percentheart (All reviews)
Preliminary
I made an account just to review this show and how crappy I thought it was.

Story- 4

It's a sport anime. Now I love sports anime; I've seen the most popular ones of the genre and some of the lesser known ones like Over Drive and Softenni. I came to Haikyuu!! with some pretty high hopes after all the positive reviews the show got, but I still can't think of anything that set sit apart from all the other sports animes.

Weak yet skill protagonist? Saw that in Kuroko no Basket, Eyeshield 21, and Yowamushi Pedal.

Secondary protagonist that starts of somewhat antagonistic? Saw that in Daiya no read more
Sep 22, 2016
KungFuIndi (All reviews)
I really didn't understated the whole concept of a sports anime in general. I could not see how such an anime would be entertaining, other then people who like sports. Then I realize how amazing anime that have a sport genre can really be one of the best things you've ever watched. Haikyuu, by far, exceeds the whole concept of a sports anime, for it does it extremely successfully in both story, and characters.


Hinata Shoyuo, one day riding his bike, happens to see on tv, a live volleyball match in which Karasuno faces a national volleyball team. During the match, he witnesses "The Little read more