Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hidan no Aria AA


Alternative Titles

English: Aria the Scarlet Ammo AA
Synonyms: Hidan no Aria Double A
Japanese: 緋弾のアリアAA(ダブルエー)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2015 to Dec 22, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Producers: flying DOG
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.401 (scored by 15,917 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #57382
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1369
Members: 45,241
Favorites: 71

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 22, 2015
Lelouch0202 (All reviews)
When they first announced a new Aria anime I assumed we might be getting a sequel to the original Hidan no Aria, Granted the original was by no means a great show but it was at least half decent. However instead of a sequel we got something called Hidan no Aria AA a spin off series that takes place around the same time.

Spin off's are normally an outcome of a surge in popularity for the main or parent show, From my viewpoint I don't really think the original Hidan no Aria was popular or even good enough to adapt a spin off but nevertheless we read more
Dec 29, 2015
Unagi-san (All reviews)
This title made my autumn anime season colorful. When ongoing was about to end, I realized that I waited the episodes from this anime more than from any other title. So what is Hidan no Aria AA about? Let`s make a short review.

This is alternative version of the original story. Former main character Toyama Kinji was succesfully replaced by a cute girl Akari Mamiya. This is a good example for harem anime creators: cut the male characters from the plot, add kawaii little girls and yuri atmosphere — and it`ll be much better! It was such a brave decision read more
Dec 24, 2015
Minster122 (All reviews)
Story: 5/10
The story wasn't exactly bad, but it was just leaps and bounds behind the original Hidan no Aria series with Aria as the actual heroine. The story was pretty standard for the Hidan no Aria series with our heroines fighting with the mysterious organization I-U with the cliche turn around points. The spin-off takes place in the same time period as when Aria first met Kinji, which was awfully confusing because I'm pretty sure at the time, Aria was living with Kinji and not in some fancy shmancy apartment building. I know the main focus of the series isn't on Aria, but the lack read more
Dec 31, 2015
Keeby (All reviews)
There’s this anime I watched on Tuesdays, namely, Hidan no Aria AA. It’s literally a show about a bunch of lesbians... and they “fight.” Yet the fight scenes are seriously embarrassing! I seriously have never experienced an anime fight that made me cringe this hard until now. Actually, I probably have. This isn’t the worst thing ever, but seriously, with every passing episode, I think to myself: this is so cringey. And yet I sit there, watching the anime. Heck, I even want to watch more; I’m addicted to the cringe! Okay, not really, but I don’t mind watching another episode. Then people get pissed read more
Dec 24, 2015
Kerouyigami (All reviews)
**WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS**
*ALSO, PLEASE DON'T TAKE THIS SERIOUSLY EXCEPT FOR THE PARTS THAT STATE I DO MEAN TO BE SERIOUS*

I don't know how to express it, but this anime was amazing!!! A great plot that unveiled at the end of the show, the typical tsundere/yandere/ecchi involved as with the first Hidan no Aria, except with one big twist. It's about a GIRL this time!!! Hooray! Now onto the critiques!

Story - 9
As aforementioned, this story has a great "plot" which was unveiled towards the end of the anime, as per typical 1-seasons. And then you have that amazing random "final boss" in the last episode, and read more
Dec 27, 2015
Evillordexdeath (All reviews)
So Hidan no Aria AA is bad. Let's just get that right out of the way. It just keeps getting worse, too, introducing more bad characters and concepts every episode. It's actually impressive, in a way, how it outdoes its own record for terribleness later on. The last few episodes become much darker and the transition is really jarring and poorly handled, mostly accomplished by an exposition dump. And it pulls villains out of nowhere with very little setup, making the final conflict extremely difficult to care about.

Probably the worst thing about it is that none of the characters behave like actual peeople. They're all read more
Jan 9, 2016
w9e0e2e3e4pizza (All reviews)
I have watched and enjoyed the first season greatly. So this spin off, it starts off as a massive lesbian humbo jumbo, because you know we take Kinji out of the picture all together with a spin off, then the plot progresses and you get a real plot in one of the late episodes. This anime is just downright awful it so awful its remarkable and I mean its making me write this review kind of bad.

Characters? freakishly obsessive girls and main girl afraid of herself.... then aria who's well aria minus the reason we liked to watch her previously.

Story? well you see with read more
Jan 6, 2016
AftrSkoolNavig8r (All reviews)
The first season of Hidan no Aria is quite under-appreciated among anime fans. Some bemoan the original series of being unoriginal and boring; mostly obtaining its sparse popularity from troll-subs resulting in people treating the original run as a joke. On the other hand, I thoroughly enjoyed the first season of Hidan no Aria for what it was. The one thing I really hated about the original run was how it ended, and an ending that felt empty and incomplete. As such, I was excited for a second season continuing what I enjoyed. This was not that. Not at all.

Despite the title of "Hidan no read more
Dec 31, 2015
TempestWolf (All reviews)
10 sentence review:
This is Hidan no Aria AA's spin-off manga adaptation with completely new female lead and new characters. If you enjoyed and are a great fan of the original Aria of the Scarlet Ammo anime you would definitely enjoy this because it's made for you. Even though it's a spin-off with new, unknown characters it managed to entice me. Old jokes are recycled including all those sundries that made the first season amusing to watch (Bulletproof uniforms, parachutes out of nowhere, Reki's monologue). Old characters make cameo appearance and act as comic reliefs (I had a blast with Kinji's recurring appearance and his exchanges read more
Jan 21, 2016
Zaku88 (All reviews)
I didn't really consider Hidan no Aria to be a massive hit so I found myself quite off guard when I saw this on the calendar. To start, AA is not a sequel to the original Aria, but rather anther story that shares characters with the original. And let me cut to the chase on this one, unless yuri girl-girl interactions are your thing, this retelling falls short of even the original Aria, which itself isn't a particularly good show.

AA follows a group of girls one year younger than Aria's group in the first season. In particular, it follows a seemingly failure of a Butei read more
Feb 29, 2016
Yukuno (All reviews)
Preliminary
I watched the original series , which i gave an 8/10
it was a very enjoyable series to watch and i was sad that it ended, back then i always immediately tried to find if it would have a sequel , i didn't get the information at all so i gave up on trying to find a sequel and instead watched other animes. then years later out of nowhere this series comes out and i was like WAIT WHAT, then the opening started and i heard NaNo , which is one of my favorite singers. and the art looked better then it did before, read more
Feb 29, 2016
Dualbladerkirito (All reviews)
Yo! i want you guys to know this is my first review so please excuse me if my review isn't good enough^^
May contain spoiler read on your own risks

Ok!, First off, When i start watching this anime. i feel kinda disappointed because the story revolves on another MC, i was expecting an Aria and kinji season T•T..soo i was thinking dropping this anime after i watched episode 1. But i also thought.. Hey why not give it a chance?,..

Soo i continued watching this anime up to the end, the main character akari mamiya has full of suprises she isn't all that bad..^^ She's like read more