Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

English: Fate/stay night [Unlimited Blade Works] Season 2
Synonyms: Fate/stay night (2015), Fate - Stay Night
Japanese: Fate/stay night [Unlimited Blade Works] 2nd シーズン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2015 to Jun 28, 2015
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Notes
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: ufotable
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.401 (scored by 231,190 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1652
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #169
Members: 361,347
Favorites: 4,282

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 27, 2015
Okocha-sensei (All reviews)
Now, before I start this very long and in-depth review, I'd like to say three things.

1. As opposed to other people, I actually consider 6/10 to be a decent score. It doesn't mean that I thought that this was a bad show, it's without a doubt decent entertainment. I put a lot of effort into writing this review, so even though my opinion may not be the most popular one out there, you should at least give it a shot and listen to what I have to say.
2. I have read the entire Fate/stay night visual novel and am quite familiar with the Nasuverse read more
Jul 24, 2015
CRIMEWIRE (All reviews)
A review for both S1 and S2 with spoilers

Only having experienced Fate/Zero, I never encountered a Type-Moon written work before. But after watching UBW, I’m truly appalled at how terrible Type-Moon’s writing is.

The basis of UBW’s plot is covered by its synopsis. In different wording, it’s a grandiose battle royale-like duel between seven masters who each get a servant to fight for them. The goal is to kill every servant to attain the Holy Grail, which can grant a master and servant any fathomable wish.

This plot, even though basic on the surface, can become a masterpiece with proper execution, as seen in Fate/Zero with read more
Apr 26, 2015
Stelfalador (All reviews)
This Review is written in the perspective of an Anime only viewer thus far.
The overarching story of the Visual Novel is absent from this Review and is solely based upon Ufotables adaptation.


At the end of Unlimited Blade Works we were left with a rather monotonous and filler-full episode.
Season 2 kicks off with a rather hefty amount of character development and back story to further develop the overarching story as a whole.
It's clear and concise, and creates a competent understanding of who the characters are, and what their motives are for.
The first few episodes might be slow, but they are certainly important.


The story read more
Jul 19, 2015
myronator (All reviews)
This review covers the Prologue, Season One and Season Two. My ratings are 6/10, 6/10 and 5/10 respectively. There are spoilers in this review.

The prologue/first few episodes of Unlimited Budget Works establishes the Fifth Holy Grail War; a battle royale between seven servants (made up of mythological figures such as Heracles) and mages where the last survivor is rewarded with being presented the Holy Grail which can grant them any wish they desire. During these episodes it is emphasized how dangerous this war is where even witnesses of the war will be murdered. Then in episode three the feeling of danger for our protagonists disappears read more
Jun 27, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
The franchise of Type-Moon. Fate/Stay Night is a trademark for what the product has been with its key characters, premise, and setting. Fate Unlimited Blade Works is one of its major routes and returns for another season. A show about the Holy Grail sparkles into a pendulum of events and animated by the infamous Ufotable studio. Part 1 delivered what many fans wanted while part 2 attempts to do so yet again.

With the way the first half of Unlimited Blade Works was handled, part 2/Season 2 essentially sets up major events for the story. As for those who remembers, Saber is taken by Caster, Rin read more
Jun 25, 2015
awerture (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review will be harsh, but second season of Fate/Stay Night Unlimited Blade Works fully deserved it. And don't be deceived by the catchy slogan "Unlimited Budget Works". The only thing which is truly unlimited in this anime is characters' redundant talking.

Some of the show's weak points were unavoidable - the original material's storyline quality is dubious at times and the fact that Unlimited Blade Works as a second route of Visual Novel is supposed to be built up over experiences from the first one definitely doesn't help when someone is adapting it. But VN's weaknesses aside, its premise is interesting enough to make read more
Jun 20, 2015
sayan002 (All reviews)
When news about this series was launched, I somewhat had mixed feelings; the original Fate/Stay Night was so horrible, I pity myself for watching it, while Fate/Zero was absolutely fantastic, plus Ufotable, responsible for Fate/Zero, were producing it.

That brings me to Fate/Stay Night UBW.

In short, I'd say that this series was absolutely stunning. I'm so glad it didn't turn out like the 2006 one.

Story- 8
Granted, the story was not as compelling as Fate/Zero. However, I was deeply surprised by the dark elements that were introduced. The 2006 one felt like a sad piece of shit, where viewers are supposed to feel sorry for Shiro throughout, read more
Jun 30, 2015
Amphetamine (All reviews)
Ever since I first watched Fate/Stay Night anime, I got hooked. A lot of people were complaining how it didn't live up to their expectations especially the ones who played the Visual Novel before, but as someone who didn't, I quite enjoyed the anime a bit. Of course afterwards I immediately went to play the game, and I managed to only finish the Fate route for some reason. Then I went to explore a bit for other TYPE-MOON series and discovering Tsukihime and Kara no Kyoukai, which the latter is one of my all time favorite.

Now for years people have been saying that Unlimited Blade read more
Jul 1, 2015
TearfulFriend18 (All reviews)
The Fate series holds a very special place in my heart, the escapades of Shirou Emiya and his servant Saber have enthralled me in a way that a lot of stories did not. From the romance in "Fate" to the climatic "Heaven's Feel", Fate/stay night hasn't just become one of my favorite stories, it's honestly become my favorite thing to come out of Japan.

To give you a bit of background as to where I stand with Fate, I have read the visual novel and its semi-sequel multiple times, I have seen and own the 2006 anime, the prequel Fate/Zero, and the 2010 film adaptation of read more
Jun 28, 2015
ChristopherKClaw (All reviews)
"Just because you're correct doesn't mean you're right!"

The legendary words of Shirou Emiya have spread far and wide around the world ever since the 2006 adaptation of Fate/Stay Night with his infamous "people die when they are killed", and now our frustrating hero is back with more internal contradictions and bullshit ideals than ever. Through the course of Unlimited Blade Works one can watch Shirou go through the difficult process of realizing that his ideals are not only absurd but also simply borrowed from his father in a series of powerful scenes such as "saying the same thing to Archer for two episodes," "never talking read more
Jun 27, 2015
BonnibelPeebles_ (All reviews)
The first cour had a great progress. However, it declined a bit this second cour.

We had more action and character development. Giving focus mainly on the clash between Shirou and Archer. The animation in general was very good, just gave a fallen light in some scenes, but nothing too serious. In this adaptation of Fate managed to convey very well what the Visual novel wanted to spend. It was not a 100% faithful adaptation (maybe 90% faithful ), but unlike the previous studio, that enriched the story, adding more detail and develop harmoniously. We have seen some situations from the perspectives of other characters like read more
Jul 1, 2015
Zarrior (All reviews)
The anime first of all had a different feeling compared to season one for me while the animation style was great as well as the sound the storyline didn't really indulge me as much as the first season did their wasn't that want for more really and the need to watch more and hate the fact that you had to wait a week to watch the next episode there was a lack of that really i mean some episode had a splash of cliff hangar but only three or four really did.

Really the producers replicated some of the antic of popular anime in which something read more
Jul 6, 2015
EbiNewin (All reviews)
This Review applies to both seasons of Unlimited Blade Works. The Video review is up on my channel, but here is the written.

Story - 8/10

If you’re familiar with the Fate series, its pretty much is the same. But in Unlimited Blade Works it follows a different scenario. Sure the beginning is pretty much the same as it was in Fate/Stay Night, but the focus is much different. But to put you up to speed, 7 masters and heroic servants fight in the war to gain the ultimate wish fulfilling device known as the Holy Grail. The story this time around focuses a lot more on read more
Jul 2, 2015
superzombie23 (All reviews)
Warning: Partial spoilers for Epilogue

I gotta say I love the sunset fading to night scene leading to the ending credits. It makes the viewer actually feel like they are experiencing that world in real time alongside those characters. Something about it was too beautiful to put into words. Guess you could say it's a perfect way to end a thought provoking epilogue that makes you think twice about dropping out of school. Right before, Rin was saying there is so much in the world that is worth suffering for and experiencing, so it was worth dropping their things and taking a risk going off the read more
Jun 28, 2015
Wasshio (All reviews)
*spoilers down below for the review of this series*

Here's going to be my Fate/stay Night Unlimited Blade Works anime review as a whole. Now before anyone goes and attacks me, just because either of my rating score or my review, keep in mind what I will say first. The series is pretty much debatable, people can like it, people can despise it. There's an amount of people that goes and tries to debate on the show, me personally, as a person who likes this series, I won't take the show as a masterpiece, because it's not even a 10/10. And if there are people from read more
Dec 17, 2015
RakiRaki (All reviews)
I don't get it, guys. I don't.

Why Unlimited Blade Works? Why this underwhelming, anticlimactic excuse for a spluttering car crash of a visual novel route? Did ufotable have to faithfully adapt every wheel-spinning two hour conversation in which Pollyanna protagonist Shirou is repeatedly called a dweeb for his goofy idealism? Did they have to make sure we were reminded what a complete loser Archer is every time he appears, legs spread like his balls are prickly pears, perched on some conveniently placed rubble? What is actually appealing about Archer when his only major personal distinction from fellow Fate/stay night snarkster Lancer is his adolescent moral read more
Jun 27, 2015
X10A_Freedom (All reviews)
For visual novel readers and anime-only watchers alike, the attraction of the Ufotable-Type Moon pair-up is obvious. Nasu's highly intricate and appealing designs brought to life by Ufotable, who are excellent in visuals and art. This partnership works to great extent but was unfortunately lacking in the other important components such as character development, relatability and execution of the story that are needed to create a compelling narrative.

The problems have mostly to do with the conversion from one medium to another. Visual novels thrive on details, through the use of monologue while anime simply thrives on visual gimmicks. In essence, reading read more
Jul 27, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Everyone has their own set of convictions. Whether they are religiously, politically, or morally based, there are certain creeds that we, as individuals, follow. Depending on the ideals we hold, our very person is shaped, directing the lives we lead and the paths that we take. For me, I uphold a simple one: “a little kindness goes a long way.” So I try to do just that. I hold the door for others, give my thanks whenever I can, and call my family to check up on them. Small stuff, and probably pretty common too, but read more
Jun 28, 2015
SpikeykoaLa (All reviews)
After the first season of FSN:UBW I had high hopes that the second season would make up for at least some of the issues I had with season 1. It turns out it did not in almost any way. I am not a reader of the VN, but that doesn't change the fact that a series needs to work as a standalone piece without the aid of extra information provided by the source material to completely enjoy it.

Story: 6
The story continues directly after season 1 (as one might assume) and the pace picks up considerably since season 1 had so much Shirou cooking read more
Jul 13, 2015
azzazin5577 (All reviews)
Alright lets make this quick

The story was good, the animation was excellent, sound was good, and the characters were okay. So where this anime falls short is the pacing of the entire show.

The pacing was excruciating slow each episode. It took a really long time for the characters to do something resulting in bad payoff each week of an episode. They should've cut some of that slice of life scenes as well as their investigation scenes and concentrated on various characters instead of following just those two main characters all the time.

This is why fate/zero was awesome, we got to know various characters stories read more