Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yuri Kuma Arashi


Alternative Titles

English: Yurikuma Arashi
Synonyms: Yuri Bear Storm, Love Bullet: Yurikuma Arashi
Japanese: ユリ熊嵐

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2015 to Mar 31, 2015
Premiered: Winter 2015
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 00:30 (JST)
Studios: Silver Link.
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.181 (scored by 18,335 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #27972
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1176
Members: 54,075
Favorites: 481

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Watching Yuri Kuma Arashi is like trying to memorize the first 100 digits of Pi. Succeeding might technically be considered an accomplishment, but good lord is it meaningless.

Yuri Kuma Arashi is a textbook example of an anime that tries to be too damn smart for its own good. It's a show which attempts to utilize intricate symbolisms and references rather than to present a story which you can take at face value. By hiding content in-between the lines, it tries to provide a plot which is unorthodox, deep and thought-provoking. However this is nothing more than a façade which tries (and fails) to cover up read more
Mar 30, 2015
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Surrealism: it’s something that you are either into or you aren’t. The plots of these shows are usually far harder to comprehend than your average anime and the actions of the characters won’t always make logical sense, but if you merely change your perspective, you will see what the show is really trying to say. Yuri Kuma Arashi, which translates into “Lesbian Bear Storm”, is no exception to the formula of surrealist art; it is NOT for everyone. While most shows are driven by their plot or by their characters, YKA is a show driven by its themes and the messages that the read more
Mar 31, 2015
SkyNoHoshi (All reviews)
Yuri relationships and bears. What are you thinking? One could say this is one of anime’s weirdest creations, but I think it’s one of the greatest, this year in fact. It is one of the first few anime that aired this year (and season) and as well as the one which focuses on girl-on-girl relationship.

Yuri Kuma Arashi was probably picked up by many because it was directed by Ikuhara Kunihiko, the director of the well-famed Mawaru Penguindrum. To give some background of the story, there was a planet Kumaria that exploded on space which showered around Earth. This caused the bears to become violent read more
Apr 7, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
"Everything is good in moderation" ..now if you were to say that to Ikuhara he would probably pimp slap you with a proverbial hand and skip off into the schizophrenic sunset of left field allegorical stew, while conjuring new ways to make even Satoshi Kon's nuttiest creations to look like tamed Saturday morning cartoons.

Yuri Kuma Arashi is a dreamfactory chalked full of symbolism and motifs with everything being beyond what's presented at face value. This isn't for casual viewing and if unprepared to really dig deep it can be either taxing or repulsive upon initial impression. I normally don't like to judge works based on read more
Apr 19, 2015
w7n (All reviews)
Very lengthy review!
Warning: Spoilers present (but no detailed spoiler present).

Now, how do we review a show that
>is so unique that it's almost absurd
>has very polarized views
>is hard to review without spoiling detailed stuff?

Answer: To be in the sexy way.

Get what I mean? Bet you don't. I don't either.

OK seriously:
To review this show, simply trying to interpret all the symbols is not enough. More analysis must be done on whether the symbols are portrayed well, and whether the plot & characters are well done.


Now first, about how much you would expect: Don't expect a flawless masterpiece or you would likely be disappointed, and of course don't read more
Aug 22, 2015
Zadion (All reviews)
Yuri Kuma Arashi is to me the anime version of 2001: A Space Odyssey. That may seem to be a completely bizarre, nonsensical comparison, but there is one shared trait between the two that supersedes in value every single trait they don't share: each story is written by a director who is clearly creative, intelligent, and has a lot of talent and great ideas but is so absorbed in delivering some metaphysical message or lump of symbolism he forgets the prime element of storytelling is... *gasp* the story! (Shock! Kuma shock!) Due to the radical focus on the message, the actual execution is so wildly read more
Mar 30, 2015
BerserkerGuts95 (All reviews)
When Kunihiko Ikuhara said he was going to make Yuri Kuma Arashi the self-titled "Gundam of Yuri" I was a bit spectacle of how something like that would turn out and if he could even pull off such an elaborate ploy.

I was glad to find out that I was wrong.

YKA is a 12 episode series by Silver Link and the basic story is about a young girl named Kureha who lives in a world where a giant "Barrier of Severance" divides humanity from the world of human-devouring bears who started to attack humans after a great meteor shower covered the lands. Two transfer students, who read more
May 2, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog post. Spoilers ahead!)

(As supplementary material for this review, please refer to my writing on the symbolism for this anime, Yuri Kuma Arashi and the Effects of Symbolism, found here: http://thechuunicorner.com/yuri-kuma-arashi-and-the-effects-of-symbolism/)

Love is such a simple word. But when you think about it, there is a lot more to it than at first perceived. Love can be used to bring someone wonderful happiness or utter sadness. Love can make you extremely nervous or completely at ease. Love can even be used to bring about total beauty or despondent sin. This omnipresent feeling is incredibly complex, being something that everyone feels read more
Mar 30, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
To be honest, Yuri Kuma Arashi (Yuri Bear Storm) is one of those shows you’ll want to like or hate from the early start. Make no mistake, this is not your ordinary slice of life series or one of those shows where cute girls do cute things. To put it into easier perspective, Yuri Kuma Arashi appeals more to fans of surrealism, or those who seeks out more than just a plot and its characters. Symbolisms, foreshadowing, and many plot elements are exclusively packaged into this series that hits peculiarity from all directions.

The show has this strange vibrant radiance to it. From the first few read more
Mar 14, 2015
Dikki_weeblitist (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yuri Kuma Arashi, I’m sure that your first impression on it was the series is purely about “lesbian”. No doubt, Yuri Kuma Arashi is a series that talks about something related to lesbians, but what the series wants to present to the audience is more than the lesbian theme. Yuri Kuma Arashi, was translated to “Lesbian Bears Storm”. The title, however, is very misleading. “Yuri” actually refers to pure maiden while “Kuma” actually refers to sexual predators. In other words, Yuri Kuma Arashi actually is a show that symbolizing the difference between pure romantic friendship between two girls & the real lesbianship. Ikuhara might had read more
May 12, 2015
Lord_Rutsah (All reviews)
Preliminary
So you wake up one morning and decide to create the perfect human. So naturally you go out for a walk with your favourite butcher's knife. Hey black male man, nice muscles you have there, "SLASH!" hey white guy, can you give me a hand? "SLASH", hey asian girl, nice everything, "SLASH". So you just stick together the best parts you found and set your new creation for a walk. But instead of recognising your brilliance and worshipping you as a god, everyone starts screaming. And then Mary Shelley writes a book about it. Do you know why that is? a) Because they're giant pussies. read more
Mar 31, 2015
RecklessPeggy (All reviews)
Yuri Kuma Arashi. I’m going to be flat out honest, I utterly loathe this show for the sheer fact that I’ve fallen in love with it. Now I must caution you all, this show will alienate you if you haven’t seen Ikuhara’s previous works like Penguindrum or Utena so upon viewing this as a first title his style can be rather overbearing. But, back to the topic at hand, there are some anime out there that can only be described as otherworldly and Yuri Kuma is just that. Today I will be reviewing the anime Yuri Kuma Arashi so without further read more
Mar 30, 2015
fullmetalgeass (All reviews)
Kunihiko Ikuhara sat down one day, picked up a Mad Libs book, and found his first prompt: "Adjective, Noun, Noun." Of course, he chose "Lesbian," "Bear," and "Storm" as any normal and respectable individual would.

Although it certainly might seem like Ikuhara just threw some words together to make this series, Yuri Kuma Arashi (Lesbian Bear Storm) is not a "thrown-together" series by a long shot. Now please bear with me-- I promise the puns won't be this terrible-- for my take on YKA.

Disclaimer: Although I am majorly biased towards Ikuhara (Utena and Penguindrum are my #1 and #2) I'd like to think that read more
Apr 4, 2015
jimreynold2nd (All reviews)
Shaba-daa… Shaba-daba-daabaa. This anime is a prime example of why people should not quit watching a non-linear show after the first few episodes.

Art is outstanding – beautifully designed characters, colorful background, lots of attention to details and expression. The OP is good on its own; the soundtrack blends into the storytelling perfectly and doesn’t distract you.

Despite all that, Yuri Kuma Arashi is definitely not an easy anime to watch. As many people may have noticed, the first three episodes – no, make it five episodes – had one of the highest WTF-per-minute factor. The story didn’t make any sense. Asteroid exploding, cute-looking bears uprising and read more
Apr 11, 2015
chv (All reviews)
No spoilers!!!!

Many of the reviews I see here are talking about how this show is "difficult to watch" as if it is a chore. My advice is to just not think too hard about the deeper meanings and simply enjoy the cute characters, art, and story. After you become interested in the show, you can always watch it again in order to analyze it.

I decided to watch this show based on the art I had seen...and I was not disappointed because the art used in the show is very good and appealing to the eye. The outfits and character design are very cute as well. read more
Mar 30, 2015
gayanime (All reviews)

When it comes to making anime that is overflowing with metaphors and symbolism, Ikuhara is your guy. I remember hearing about the project and was excited for a yuri anime to be directed by Ikuhara, since he's always included it in his past work. I came with the expectation that this show was going to be revolutionary like Utena (pun not intended) and Penguindrum. Yuri Kuma fulfilled it to an extent. The first couple of episodes of the anime don't give it any justice since the fan service is everywhere, but the show does get better. The show encompasses the read more
Aug 16, 2015
KirklandF (All reviews)
This has to be one of the weirdest animes I've seen but I love it. It starts out really slow and kinda dull but picks up after a few episodes. You'll start out EXTREMELY confused until a couple episodes before the ending, but I liked that it felt like a puzzle you slowly put together. I gave it a 10 but I'm sure this isn't everyone's thing but damn I loved practically every second....gau gau
Sep 1, 2015
Xenocrisi (All reviews)
I am not english, so i apologize if i make mistakes.

ʕ•̫͡•ʔ♡ʕ•̫͡•ʔ Yuri Kuma Arashi. I bet your first impression of this show has not been nice. Bears ʕ ☯ ڡ ☯ ʔ, invisible storm and Yuri, this is what you'll get from the first three episodes and probably even at the end of the series, Why? Because you didn't pay attention to the Yuri elements, dialogue, characters and especially to the symbolism (or you were just too lazy to find explanations on the web ʕ – ▃ – ʔ ). But what is Yuri Kuma Arashi about? Symbolism, love and drama. If you don't read more
Aug 22, 2015
MidnightPuppet (All reviews)
+Cute characters and very good character development
+Pretty animation
+Very surreal and symbolic
+Weird (In a good way)
+Lesbians
+Building up lore and pretty good twists
+good character backstory
+Goddamn that opening

-Not for everyone

Yuri Kuma Arashi I found to be much better than I expected. At first it seems pretty playful and cute and it also seems like it's gonna have a lot of lesbian fan service but actually no. The fan service isn't overly sexual at all. Plus the anime gets deeper and more drama as it goes on. It's so damn surreal and has such a pretty atmosphere. I'm a artist so I eat weird shit up like a read more
Oct 5, 2015
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
A little note here, this anime is touching on a personal level to me, so apologies in advance if you don't wanna hear this sappy childhood tale of mine.

Now then, what is Yuri Kuma Arashi about? It's got it all, it's the best bear-hunting anime I've ever watched for one. If you enjoy bear-hunting and would like to watch an anime that accurately simulates the sport, Yuri Kuma has all you need. Now grab those bear traps and head out to the woods!

It's also an anime about societal exclusion and discrimination. Is the anime about how people (Lesbians in this show) are discriminated and excluded read more