Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Zankyou no Terror


Alternative Titles

English: Terror in Resonance
Synonyms: Terror in Tokyo, Terror of Resonance
Japanese: 残響のテロル

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 11, 2014 to Sep 26, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:50 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Original
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.171 (scored by 346,429 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3562
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #83
Members: 633,014
Favorites: 14,388

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2014
nightwalk (All reviews)
Oh, Zankyou no Terror... How much did I praise you during the early few episodes, but how could I know that you will turn out how you did. Zankyou no Terror (Terror in Resonance or Terror in Tokyo in English) was one of my most anticipated titles of the season and I am sure I was not alone. The show also gained a bit of a hype because of the famous Shinichiro Watanabe (Samurai Champloo, Cowboy Bebop), who I am in all honesty no big fan of, but okay, let's get this review started. Just make sure that I will NOT be able to hide read more
Sep 27, 2014
thebionicboi (All reviews)
I'll start this review by saying I started watching this show with no prior knowledge about the writers and the premise, so I had no idea what to expect. What I found was a mature and compelling story that kept me entertained throughout the season.

Even in such an amazing season, it managed to shine through as the anime that defined the summer of 2014. Even compared against such great shows as Gekkan shoujo, Tokyo Ghoul, RE:Hamatora and Aldnoah;Zero, Zankyou no Terror stood on top.

Story: 10/10

There are many stories that focus on anti-heroes and terrorism, yet none have come close to the level of maturity found read more
Jan 9, 2015
waluigia (All reviews)
Zankyou No Terror is not a show about terrorism.

Before you roll your eyes and point your finger at the obvious “Terror” emblazoned in the title, I am serious on this one. While the topic is addressed at times, the crime thriller genre is merely a tool the show wields to sculpt out its socio-political commentary on Japan. If you are expecting a deep-seated exploration of the subject of terrorism, this show will not satisfy you. So please chuck those expectations into the trash and enjoy the show for what it is. Zankyou No Terror tells an engaging tale of generational conflicts, post-war nationalism, isolation read more
Sep 30, 2014
HelghastKillzone (All reviews)
In a season filled with giant robots, teenage dramas and supernatural violence, Zankyou no Terror stands out from the usual crowd with its focus on the rarely explored subject matter of terrorism. Shinichirō Watanabe, renowned director of Cowboy Bebop, Samurai Champloo, and Kids on the Slope, once again teams up with Yoko Kanno and the newly formed Studio MAPPA to delivers one of the highlights of the summer season 2014.

Zankyou no Terror or Terror in Resonance, opens up with two mysterious male teenagers named Nine and Twelve, carrying out a heist at a nuclear fuel reprocessing facility and ends up stealing read more
Sep 26, 2014
Manumento (All reviews)
If you had a tough childhood, blow up an atomic bomb.

Zankyou no Terror is an original psychological thriller show. It is a different take on terrorism, and received massive hype during its airing for supposedly "thrilling" and "realistic" execution. However, what's the anime really about? A couple of kids running around bombing stuff to solve their problems.

Plot:

A video on the internet regarding a mysterious group called "Sphynx" gets the attention of Japan after unknown people destroy a Tokyo Government building. Nine and Twelve, children with number codenames and the masterminds behind the terrorism act, begin their game of riddles where the result of failure is read more
Jan 27, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
**THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS**

From the ensemble of Watanabe and Yoko Kanno who brought us Cowboy Bebop, comes together once again to bring us a work that has quickly garnered attention from the anime community, Zankyou No Terror. It's easy to see why ZnT will catch the eye of the masses. And it's even understandable why, to some degree, it receives such positive praise. In a time where the anime community is saturated with school rom coms, run of the mill fanservice moe blobs and bishounen "self insert" plot armored protagonists, ZnT certainly has a refreshing change of pace. It brings a concept to the table read more
Sep 28, 2014
Ilse (All reviews)
The concept of terrorism is a rather scary and ambiguous one in today's society. Terrorism comes in all sorts of ways; cyber hacking to bombing buildings to mass murdering people. Zankyou no Terror's terrorism was a bit different though. Zankyou no Terror's hype came not only from the fact that Shinichiro Watanabe directed it, but also because of it's new, intriguing terrorism plot. Although I'm not particularly a fan of so-called "deep" anime, I gave Zankyou no Terror a try and due to my lack of psychological thinking, I got rather confused on many parts that seemed to not make sense. Nonetheless, it was an read more
Sep 25, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Zankyou no Terror has easily been one of the most well received anime of the season, and understandably so. It has amazing presentation, unique and memorable music, and it’s directed by motherfucking Watanabe (Cowboy Bebop, Samurai Champloo, etc.). After a fantastic first episode filled with intrigue and mystery, the worldwide anime community waited with bated breath to see what this show had in store. So… While some people were able to continue to enjoy the show from beginning to end, watching the rest of this anime for me was more comparable to staring, frozen at the sight of a terrible accident that kills read more
Mar 1, 2015
White_Hawk (All reviews)
Two kids wanna blow stuff up.
responsibly.
Totally normal, we've all been there, I mean, explosions are cool
Unfortunately laserbeams in video games aren't enough

Unable to let go of the poop of the past, they want revenge on those who tormented them!

So they build some Bakudan and hit up the sunny summer of tokyo!
Sep 26, 2014
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Terror in Resonance focuses on a duo of teen terrorists responsible for a string of bombings throughout Tokyo that have the police baffled over who the culprits are. Mostly focused on our young male leads Nine and Twelve, Terror in Resonance involves the duo using the codename Sphinx to give riddles out to the police in a challenge to have them figure out the location of their bombs before they detonate, leading detective Kenjiro Shibazaki to be involved in the case as only he has the wits and intellect among the police force to connect the dots on the actions and motives involving the bombings read more
Sep 26, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
What do we think of when we hear the word ‘terrorism’? The first thought coming to mind would destruction and death. Terrorism isn’t anything new though for the past few decades. A monumental event that took place on September 11, 2001 really stroke the foundation of this word. Taking a step back though, terrorism has always been around whether it involves domestic terrorism, bio-terrorism, or even cyber terrorism. Where does Zankyou no Terror fit into all this? Well, it all begins with an event that the world witnessed which has now become a global pandemonium.

Zankyou no Terror (Terror in Tokyo or Terror in Resonance) is read more
Sep 27, 2014
Nonononotreally (All reviews)
Terror in Resonance is a fine anime in terms of directing and tension. It’s not hard to see how it excited thousands of viewers into calling it anime of the year back when the first episode aired. That still doesn't make up for its undeniably amateurishly handled script when it comes to mystery stories. Personally, I didn't need to wait for the show to be over before I knew it wasn’t as good as they were hyping it to be. The cracks were obvious since the very pilot and kept getting bigger with each new episode. The reason why everybody else didn’t want to admit read more
Sep 27, 2014
pakoko (All reviews)
Zankyou no Terror pricked up the ears of many anime fans when it was announced to be an original anime directed by Shinichiro Watanabe. Since Watanabe had previously directed widely acclaimed shows such as Cowboy Bebop, Samurai Champloo, and Kids on the Slope, Zankyou no Terror was naturally expected to be Watanabe’s next big work. Couple that with the fact that Yoko Kanno, another big name in the anime industry, handled the soundtrack composition, and the show instantly became a fan favorite coming into the season. So then the question has to be asked: “Does Zankyou no Terror live up to its hype?”

My answer read more
Sep 28, 2014
NishizawaMihashi (All reviews)
And thus, what is easily one of the most politically charged anime in recent memory has come to a close. People are primarily attracted to it for its value as a piece of visual entertainment, but is that all there is to works such as this?

Thus in my determination to explicate on the matter as thoroughly as possible, I would like to present to you with my POFITs on the anime Zankyou no Terror, or as it is in English, 'Terror in Resonance'.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To begin with, allow me to present my case for what is most definitely the primary objective behind this particular anime's conception.

For read more
Oct 1, 2014
BlackPrism (All reviews)
Yet another over-hyped anime that started off the season and just like Attack on Titan, it became a train-wreck as well. Let me make this perfectly clear from the very beginning: this show is all style and no substance. Whatever deep sociopolitical message is ingrained here is hardly ever explored; the show would rather focus on fancy explosions and cool-sounding themes that don't even matter in the end. With that out of the way, I'll start the review.

Story (25%) - 3/10
My reason for giving it such a low score is the fact that the riddles feel so pointless. And this is a big deal since read more
Sep 25, 2014
Verria-Nichole (All reviews)
"Zankyou no Terror" is a terrifying thriller that will resonate with your soul.

I don't know what expectations I had for this anime, but it sure exceeded any thoughts about it swirling around in my mind.

"Zankyou no Terror" is a story about two odd teenage boys, Nine and Twelve. As terrorists, they go by the name of "Sphinx," uploading videos to tell where the next attack will be. The police are powerless to stop these children -- who shouldn't even exist -- from pulling the trigger on this world.
The three main voice actors of this series open the audience to a whole new world of read more
Nov 15, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Feelings of wanting to destroy society and all of its riches in order to reconstruct to their own ideologies have been the forefront of terrorist actions. Lately, the beginning of the 21st Century has cropped up numerous terrorist acts across the globe. So, what better way of showcasing these horrific acts of violence then to make an anime where the terrorists are the protagonists? With Cowboy Bebop director Shinchiro Watanabe at the helm of production in Terror in Resonance, this was sure to be a fiery sensation like many of his previous works. Yet, in spite of the hype, it turns out to be a read more
Oct 18, 2014
ChibiStarChan (All reviews)
"I started watching this really good anime; it's about terrorists." my cousin told me the one day. I was a bit startled by her statement and didn't expect that I'd like 'Zankyou no Terror' this much! *updated*

STORY (8/10): Knowing that this anime would be about terrorists, I was quite skeptical about what the plot would be like. I figured it would mainly be based on crazy action scenes and undeveloped characters but, boy, was I wrong! It turned out being completely different than I expected, and in a good way. The anime always had me guessing. Rather than pouring all of this overwhelming information onto read more
Sep 26, 2014
majinjohn (All reviews)
This is a spoiler free review.

Zankyou No Terror has a very intriguing idea which first drove me to watch this. The idea of the main characters being terrorists really appealed to me, as it is something that hasn’t really been touched on at all. I decided then to give this anime a go and for the first 4 episodes I was not disappointed.
The Artwork and Sound are good without being amazing I thought, although the use of English language in this anime is terrible. The opening episodes have us seeing how the terrorists are committing these crimes. They leave riddles to the police to try read more
Oct 13, 2014
spiwar (All reviews)
I walked into Zankyou No Terror (or Terror In Resonance) with no expectations. But man am i wrong. The anime is something unique, something that's different from the generic moe, shounen show you get every season, and will get you hooked up into the anime right from the first episode.

Story: 9
As i said earlier, this is not your generic moe, shounen shows. The plot is something original, the pacing is steady. It will keep you on the edge of your seat every episode. The ending wraps up the show perfectly and will leave you hanging for a while.

Art: 9
The character design is simple but not read more