Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Selector Infected WIXOSS


Alternative Titles

English: selector infected WIXOSS
Japanese: selector infected WIXOSS

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2014 to Jun 20, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Fridays at 02:49 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Card game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.331 (scored by 48,054 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #24162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #945
Members: 112,331
Favorites: 549

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 20, 2014
Zelot (All reviews)
Wishes.
If you were in a competition in where you won, your wish would be granted, would you compete? Knowing that there are other people who may have a more important or dire wish? Is your wish more important than others? Is it less important?
Do you even have a wish?

Before going into this review, you will need to know what a Selector is. In this series, there is a popular card game called WIXOSS. Among the players, there are Selectors, people who are able to communicate with their LRIG, or the avatar of their deck. The point of this partner read more
Dec 20, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW FOR BOTH SEASONS**

Not many people know what to make of the Selector WIXOSS series. “Eh… it was okay I guess?” seems to be the reaction of most people, and I think that can be largely attributed to the fact that it’s so radically different from anything else in its genre; we’ve never seen anything quite like it. Anime fans simply aren’t sure how to feel about a show centered around a card game that never even explains the rules of its own card game. While most anime in the card genre are about making every conceivable reward obtainable by means of said read more
Jul 7, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
A card game about granting wishes. That’s what Selector Infected WIXOSS is anyways. And judging by the cover, there isn’t anything that seems too peculiar. That is until when the game actually begins. It’s not a normal card game especially when there’s a strange little girl who wants to battle and grant wishes for its owner. So now, it’s a game about fighting to grant wishes through battles. This however turns into a nightmare for the girls learns what’s at stake – an abominable and endless mind struggle against all odds.

Short for the term (Wish-Cross), the game itself consists of card games and battles. It read more
Jun 20, 2014
Nachteule (All reviews)
This season was not really full of surprises. Just as always some light novel adaptions here and manga adaptions there. What I really missed when overlooking the chart of currently airing anime was something fresh which sounded interesting. Of course being a show about a card game, Selector Infected Wixoss did not catch my attention at first at all. Only when I realized that this season isn't close to being good and I even started watching a sports anime about ping pong I thought to myself "Hey, why not check out this anime with the cute girls playing cards?".

I can tell you beforehand, missing read more
Jun 20, 2014
varmala (All reviews)
I was lead into watching this show by the guidance of a certain anime veteran you may or may not have heard of with expectations that were neither high nor low. But at no point in time did I ever think Selector Infected would be bad and even after its completion I still feel the same way. In terms of technicality, Wixoss easily outdoes many of its anime brothers and sisters, but what it has in mechanics it seriously lacks in entertainment and arguably, in originality.

Starting with the artwork, SIW mirrors Madoka Magica to a tee; the opening theme, battle aesthetics and even read more
Aug 23, 2014
liam78787 (All reviews)
So recently I decided to watch the anime 'Selector Infected WIXOSS', from the outside it looks like a simple anime about girls playing a card game, however the actual anime is surprisingly a whole lot deeper and darker.

The animes setting revolves around the card game WIXOSS, the card game itself is pretty wierd and not exactly easy to understand, however surprisingly the animes center focus isn't about the card game, its about the characters playing the game and about there wishes. Now the story has it where there are people who are selected 'selectors' who are able to go through battles in this card game read more
Jun 19, 2014
Asfaria (All reviews)
Selector Infected WIXOSS (SIW) is the newest of a number of anime which many people claim "Only exists because of Madoka Magica." Personally I don't agree with that, but just a heads up in case you get part way into this review and just write the show off because of the few similarities like many people seem to do with these kinds of shows. Yes it is a dark show with a sort of magical-girl-esque style that centers around a group of high school girls, but that's about all the similarities you'll find save a couple towards the end that only seem like they'll be read more
Jan 3, 2015
GeeksOasis (All reviews)
In depth review #4 - Selector Infected WIXOSS

Before getting into this review, I just want to get the elephants out the room first. Selector Infected WIXOSS is really similar to Madoka Magica. The dark themes and the situation these girls where in is just too similar not to mention. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing though since I enjoyed watching both of these anime. I just felt like I was watching something I already seen before. Despite this, I still wouldn’t say Selector Infected WIXOSS is a Madoka Magica clone. This series does a lot of unique and ambitious things right on its own like read more
Jun 19, 2014
miichiin (All reviews)
When I read the synopsis for the series I thought "Wow, this is kind of cute - it's about girls who want to make their dreams come true~" ahahaha... no.

Plot: 8
Given the amount of episodes the anime has, it did a pretty good job of pacing the story. It was a bit slow in the beginning, but that only allows the latter episodes to create a greater impact when the plot takes an unexpected turn. They did a great job building it up, nothing seemed too rushed and it really flowed. The increase of tension and chaos is also well reflected in the read more
Jul 22, 2014
bloodgods (All reviews)
WIXOSS - a card game capable of bringing either hope or despair. Or maybe just straight up despair.

Selector Infected WIXOSS is definitely a genre all in its own. Getting into this show, I was expecting it to be some sort of Yu-Gi-Oh thing, but it was far different from my expectations. The show actually has a lot of parallels with Madoka Magica (the recommendations tab will tell you the same thing) more than anything else. Normal girls who are chosen to posses mysterious powers or abilities must compete against each other in order to get their wishes granted, without knowing what they're really getting read more
Jun 20, 2014
Rawrzz03 (All reviews)
*May contain a few spoilers and sarcasm*

From the very first episode I knew SIW had the potential to become a very good anime, so I kept saying "Please don't disappoint me" until the last episode. Fortunately, it helped.

Story: 9
This strange combination between Mahou shoujo madoka magica and Yu-gi-oh! was a really good one but could have been better. The plot is focused on Ruuko, a standard teenage girl with no friends, who lives with her grandma and brother. One day her brother introduces her to WIXOSS, a card game where you have to battle other selectors and LRIGs to become an Eternal Girl and have read more
Jun 21, 2014
Super_Stix15 (All reviews)
Selector Infected WIXOSS is what I assume is the end result of Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh! being thrown into a blender with chunks of Madoka Magica, and swirled up to create a relatively fresh and exciting take on the card anime genre. I started watching it because I saw that it was directed by Takuya Satou, one of the directors for the anime Steins;Gate, which was amazing. Coming in with high hopes, I must say that I was not disappointed.

Story: 9

The story of Selector Infected is one that will constantly keep you guessing. The show had me consistently thinking about what just happened, and why it read more
Feb 2, 2015
fearlessEdition (All reviews)
Selector Infected WIXOSS- A deconstruction of the ever popular card game anime genre?
Not really…But does it even matter?
Putting the Madoka Magica comparisons aside, WIXOSS is a show that tries to smother the viewer with an array of emotions, as well as unfortunate plot points, bringing up in me that “one…more…episode…” feeling. Yes. WIXOSS has many aspects which make it an enjoyable work that can/will leave one questioning the moral standards of the issues presented. On with it, I suppose.
Without rewriting the synopsis above, we know that the characters in the show play a card game called WIXOSS, however some girls become “selectors,” and are thrown read more
Apr 28, 2015
scotlineV3 (All reviews)
This has got to me among the most pathetic anime in existence, and I say this because Selector Spread Wixoss tries to be suspenseful, dramatic and edgy; but at the end of the day it ends up being dreadful, pathetic and honestly atrocious from beginning to end.

The story starts simple: A girl meets a magical creature that promises her a wish, but what she never realizes is that the price for her wish would cost with agony and despair… or at least that is what the show wants to be. Instead, the show relies too much with victimizing their main protagonists, to the point read more
Aug 19, 2014
Social_Elitist (All reviews)
Anime Reviews:
Selector Infected Wixoss

(NOTE: Pronounciation for Wixoss is not “Weak Sauce” it's “Wheat Cross”)

MINDSET:
If this was approved by That Anime Snob, then the US military should've used this show to indoctrinate people in Iraq to commit incest and act Moe.

SYNOPSIS:
Ruko was living her slice of life until she was recommended to play a card game by her brother to get more friends. This trading card game was known as Wixoss, she soon discovers that she was a selector, and that a selector is a female player who can see special LRIG cards having minds of there own, that will play with other read more
Jun 21, 2014
Baddie007 (All reviews)
This a newly edited review of this anime, 3rd time in a row, (upon the mods insistence), Bueno let's get down to business:

What we have was a card game themed anime with a shoujo element in it where them girls were involved in some strange card game where the stakes are high and the price for losing or winning are huge. At this point one would wonder as to why them girls choose, most especially the MCs, would still play it, even though they may not get exactly what they wish for. Besides, the true title of the series is "Wish- Across". Now I admire read more
Jun 20, 2014
vince1996 (All reviews)
Selected infected the anime that takes the fun card game genre, then breaks it down and gives it a fun outer appearance with dark insides.

Story: 9
The story is the best part of this anime as it takes a popular genre in this it is card games and deconstructs it while giving it a dark theme similar to Madoka Magica. The story is primarily about the main character Ruuko being chosen to become Selector in the card game WIXOSS, to which the story focuses on her darker inner self enjoying the battles for fun rather than wanting to become a eternal girl which creates a dark read more
Jul 9, 2014
Carlzdachu (All reviews)
My deal with Selector WIXXOS is simple… I loved that the girls suffered. I know this sounds awful and maybe there’s a red dot aimed at my head at this point, but bear with me.

There’s little to be gained in an anime about card games and stuff, they’re usually for kids and merchandising and what not, and that’s exactly what you could except of Selector WIXXOS (if you know nothing beforehand), but the moment you realize you’re watching an intense pathetic (pathos related) drama about young girls striving for seemingly impossible desires on very private standards, you realize that their suffering is so relatable… maybe read more
Nov 12, 2014
Drizzy_Dan (All reviews)
Selector Infected WIXOSS was really good. It was basically the JC Staff version of Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica but don't think that it was a complete ripoff just because that's the way I put it. Really, it shares a lot of aspects (Selectors are all girls just like Magical Girls are all girls of course, they can get wishes granted, can become tainted by their wish, must keep fighting). WIXOSS however is a card game where the girls don't usually lose their lives however some girls suffer fates worse than death. For example one girl's wish was to have friends but when her wish became read more
Apr 22, 2015
26paperstars (All reviews)
Selector Infected WIXOSS gives the impression of being like another fantasy, girly-girly game anime. WIXOSS is a card game played by teenage girls and boys alike. A few girls that obtain a special card with a so-called LRIG, are called Selectors. Selectors can play with other Selectors in a special battlefield that they can only see. Yes, cute girls playing cards. Or that's what I thought...

After a few episodes, I was hooked. I liked the fact that I was confused, I was puzzled, I was thinking. I was thinking why there was a vague explanation of the whole game. And just when I thought I read more