Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Akame ga Kill!


Alternative Titles

English: Akame ga Kill!
Synonyms: Akame ga Kiru!
Japanese: アカメが斬る!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 7, 2014 to Dec 15, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: White Fox
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.821 (scored by 407,072 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8222
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #28
Members: 664,076
Favorites: 12,690

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 14, 2014
lonelyintrovert (All reviews)
One misconception in the anime industry is that when a show is dark and contains excessive amounts of gore. Many people automatically think the show is deep and thought provoking. The problem is that many anime studios get so hung up with making the show as badass and dark as possible that they forget about the more important problems that might plague the show, like character development and pacing.

Akame Ga Kill is a great example of this problem.

The story follows Tatsumi, a countryside boy that travels to the capital to join the military and earn money to send to his village suffering from poverty.To read more
Jan 29, 2015
MrPretentious (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Sometimes, Anime Companies takes the risk to try something different. It may fail or it may succeed, but sometimes, they skyrocket to amazing fame and glory, they even set the tropes for many work to come. The Impression the manga fans gave me about Akame ga Kill before it started that it is a unique and excellent shounen Manga and the Anime adaptation is very likely to be the new trope setter for future shounen works. Now that I have watched all it's episodes, here are my opinion on 2 things:

1 - Do I find it unique? hmmmmmm, yeah, sort of.
2 - read more
Dec 15, 2014
HelghastKillzone (All reviews)
Produced by White Fox Studios as 24 episode series, Akame ga Kill! is the anime adaptation of an unfinished manga that follows the exploits of an assassination group looking to overthrow the corrupt empire. While it doesn't even have good writing or the proper foundations, there is no denying that this show takes its audience for a wild ride that is filled with bloodshed and explosions.

Set in a fantasy world, Akame ga Kill! begins with a talented but rather naive swordsman named Tatsumi, arriving in Empire's capital city and dreaming of making a name for himself. He quickly finds himself being stripped read more
Dec 14, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
To kill or not to kill, that is the question. In the world of Akame ga Kill, it’s more than just about killing as survival fits to those who wish to live for something to fight for. Sounds complicated? Not really. Akame ga Kill preys on a simple concept despite playing complexity on the tactical front. To put it into simple perspective, we have a prestigious and well developed Capital taking place as the major setting. While it looks industrialized and well functioned on the outside, there are dark secrets and corruption on the inside. The ones who fight this corruption consists of the main read more
Feb 10, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
**THIS REVIEW MIGHT CONTAIN A FEW SPOILERS**

A lot can be said about a show's 1st episode. It's our first glance into the world that is presented and through that we can establish a lot about what kind of show we're getting into. Of course this isn't always the case but for the most part it is helpful in making 1st impressions. Nowhere is this 1st impression more evident than with Akame ga Kill!. Not even pass the 1st episode and we can already establish that we've walked into a brainless B-movie blood bath.

Akame ga Kill! is just another show to follow the popular trend that read more
Dec 28, 2014
RecklessPeggy (All reviews)
Warning, this review is full of spoilers so you have been warned!

Akame ga Kill..............Start the review, no seriously I have nothing else to say, just start this review. Introducing Akame ga Kill is like showing elementary schoolers pornography Just start the damn review already.

Akame ga Kill is produced by studio White Fox who brought us good anime like Steins;Gate and Katanagatari...... It is directed by a man named Kobayashi, Tomoki and consists of 24 episodes airing from July 7 2014 to December 15 2014. So is the anime any good? I'm gonna be straight up honest to you all I think read more
Jan 2, 2015
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Question: What do you get when you try to make an action-comedy based around the brutal torture, rape, and mutilation of innocent people? Apparently, you get Akame Ga Kill. It’s a blood bath, but it’s also light-hearted. It has deathly serious themes such as the loss of close friends, but it also has frequent fanservice. It has characters with tortured pasts seeking retribution, but they also have slice-of-life comedy personalities. …Have you noticed the problem with the show yet? Ladies and Gentlemen, presenting one of the most hyped anime of the year: Akame Ga Kill (By the way: no. I haven’t read the read more
Dec 15, 2014
TheTragicPrince (All reviews)
When I first heard of Akame Ga Kill I was rather hyped It sounded like it'd be the new fullmetal alchemist a shonen with a great mix of comedy drama and action the similarities are there in in both shows a Boy Is coming from a village to a city to become a military dog of sorts both for different reasons The start admittedly had potential Then right when the first death of a main character happened the show began to fall apart

Story(3/10) The story is quite generic a typical boy coming to a big city to join Military the so He can earn read more
Dec 14, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

There's an implication drawn from war that, no matter how much we desire it to be false, people will get hurt. Now, this isn't strictly between countries. "War" in this context encompasses all battles. Mental turmoil, physical skirmishes, and verbal bashing are simple examples of such altercations. In some way, shape, or form, the people involved will not leave entirely unscathed. And depending on the severity of the situation, death is a possibility. Akame ga Kill! is all about such death, but is not much more than violence without substance.

STORY

The journey starts with Tatsumi, a young village boy read more
Dec 22, 2014
LPGeneratorx (All reviews)
Ah, Akame ga Kill, a show hyped up immensely for the Fall of 2014. To be honest, I was really looking forward to watching the show when it was first announced. I have read the manga, and I thought it was at least decent, if nothing else, and it should’ve been decent as anime material as well, but no, it wasn’t.

Instead what we got was a messily-written, poorly adapted mess of a show that killed itself by the end of it all.

Now, before I start this review, let me just note, that even though I’ve read the manga, I will be judging this show based read more
Dec 14, 2014
Flawfinder (All reviews)
To say the shonen action genre needs to move on from DBZ is like saying that Taylor Swift should never rap ever again. Everyone knows this, and yet nothing is done to fix the problem and we continue to expose ourselves to it, basically telling the producers that we want more of this shit. We want more lazy ridiculous action with worse choreography than Lethal Weapon 4. We want unironic humor with less wit than Lethal Weapon 4. We want our shows to go on for more than one-cour because the longer the better, and whilst the details are a little different, guess what production read more
May 23, 2015
Detective (All reviews)
Akame ga Kill is not the worst anime ever made, but it sure is one of the least genuine. The writing pieces together mismatched elements of shonen adventure and gives them a screwball seriousness about death until the word ‘death’ has lost all meaning. The script is oversaturated with character introductions and sensationalized death scenes that feel simply slimy. The grubbiness that Akame ga Kill exhibits come right from the very bottom of the medium complete with unexplained power ups, an impossibly simplistic corrupt fantasy setting, and hundreds upon hundreds of flat characters.

The amount of fried chicken consumed in this anime is painful. The Prime read more
Apr 30, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*spoilers for Akame ga Kill*

Akame ga Kill is an endearing case of stupidity and an inability to take itself seriously when it needs to while taking itself seriously when it shouldn't. It's far too edgy for its own good, and it's a riot to indulge in, thanks in no small part to its incompetence, blatant spelling out of already black and white matters, and it's tonal incoherence...or at least it starts that way. It then grows into a more generic and edgy anime that tries and largely fails to wring intended emotions out of us with mostly generic and bad characters, equally badly inserted humor, read more
Nov 16, 2016
lawlmartz (All reviews)
Yeah okay, I get it. I’m about two years late to the party. I had just joined MAL when Akame Ga Kill ended, and I thought the flood of reviews for it was never going to stop, so I just kept sitting on this review and never published it. Then I went on the Maury show and they determined that the previous statement was a lie, and that I’m also the father of 18 month old Jimbob. Thanks a lot Maury, you jerk!

No, I finished Akame recently, and while I can’t say that it’s exactly deserving of all the praise that was heaped on read more
Dec 14, 2014
JabonHR (All reviews)
Akame ga Kill! is probably one of the biggest train wrecks of 2014. That's really the only way to describe it. It is a train wreck. In the beginning, the train began running. In the middle, it began to waver a little. By the end, it's crashed into the lake. That, of course, is Akame ga Kill! right there.

Do note that this review will refer to the anime and only the anime, so there will be little to no mention of the manga.

STORY:

As the summary says, the story of Akame ga Kill! is basically about the main character, Tatsumi, being roped into an organization called read more
Dec 14, 2014
Protaku (All reviews)
Akame Ga Kill should have been called Akame Ga Controversy.

With it deviating from the plot of the manga, loads of the original fans were outraged and called for White Fox's head. But as someone who hasn't read the manga, and probably won't for a while, I'd like to call Akame Ga Kill a small success. It succeeds in it's small niche of being the Game of Thrones of anime, and if you watched this while it was airing and didn't get any spoilers --- tell me your secrets, as this review will be completely spoiler free.

Story(6/10): The story begins as a young swordsmen read more
Feb 1, 2015
apatch3 (All reviews)
(Potentially Spoilerific)I began watching Akame ga kill recently, after a long hiatus from anime in general caused mostly by the trials and tribulations of adult life. My time is more precious than it's ever been and I have a limited amount of time for BS. Akame ga kill is BS. This is simply one of the worst shows I've ever seen, the only reason I stuck it out to the end was because I wanted to see how horribly bad it could get.

From the get-go, the show is confused, it doesn't know whether it's telling a serious and meaningful story or whether it's just read more
Jan 18, 2015
DueTomorrow (All reviews)
*Spoiler-free review*
I'm not sure why it was panned by a lot of reviewers, but I actually enjoyed Akame Ga Kill. It's certainly not perfect but it did some things that were executed fairly well in my opinion.

I can see why people had a problem with how a lot of humor was written in the episodes as it can mess with the pace. I saw the random bits of comedy as just that, comic relief. I did find some of it distracting or just simply drawing out the episodes, and at some point, the series started to really feel like it was just read more
Feb 16, 2015
bladeangel (All reviews)
Of all the anime to air in 2014, I think Akame ga Kill was the most dissapointing. Not because it was the worst, but because unlike the other overhyped shows of 2014, Akame ga Kill was actually "good" up until the last couple episodes. It's yet another reminder, along with Claymore and Guilty Crown, of how a bad enough ending can ruin an entire anime. However I tend to be more forgiving than many here on MAL and look at the whole content. I don't feel the slew of reviews giving this anime a 3 are fair.

Let's begin with the bad

The worst thing about read more
Dec 17, 2015
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
(SPOILERS mates look out) SPOILERS!!! HEY SPOILERS AHEAD MAN! DO NOT CONTINUE!! Don't read the next sentence... you little rebel, I like you. v v

I was really disappointed with Akame Ga Kill for many reasons. Especially in the characters department. The biggest thing that made me hate this show was the characters and how the director and creator killed all but "Akame" off. I cannot say it was too much of a bad thing. However due to the lack of most of the characters growth, development, and backstory I wasn't really able to get too attached to them. Not to mention that I didn't get read more