Sakura Trick

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 桜Trick
English: Sakura Trick
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2014 to Mar 28, 2014
Premiered: Winter 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Pony Canyon, TBS
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: 4-koma manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, Girls LoveGirls Love, RomanceRomance, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Theme: SchoolSchool
Demographic: SeinenSeinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.991 (scored by 104631104,631 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #38532
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #793
Members: 235,043
Favorites: 1,416

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 26, 2014
eririri (All reviews)
This right here is a cult classic, a chef d'oeuvrea buried under erroneous preconceptions and unfounded criticism. This gem is obscured because it does not shine; it is buried because its tone is that of abyssal black. Sakura Trick pries into to the darkest corners of our subconscious, the most visceral of our cognition, the most carnal of our urges, and the most primal of our instincts. Its sublimity will ever be debated yet always remain objectively irrefutable; the fundamental insight it provides into human and perhaps animalistic nature may shape the basis of sexual psychoanalysis for millennia to come.

Superficially, Sakura Trick appears to read more
Mar 29, 2014
smallwaves (All reviews)
At the start of the season, Sakura Trick came in strong. While there has been tons of yuri undertones in anime, characters with physically intimate relationships are still pretty rare, so seeing two high school girls locking fingers and making out was what one would consider "the bees knees", and animation segues in vain of Hidamari Sketch, and even the same DIRECTOR? Hell yeah. Sign me up. This could never get tiring, right?

Turns out, it takes a mere half a season for it to go from a novelty to a daily routine. After a dozen and half make out sessions, they stop meaning anything and read more
Mar 31, 2015
MelonMilk (All reviews)
Sakura Trick is a refreshingly different Slice of life show, it throws away the concept of static timelines often seen in SOL shows, there is continuity between each episode and changes in each character and their relationships, minor or major, can be felt together with the passage of time.

The show presents to us a cast of multifaceted characters and the relationships they share, not solely romantic bonds, but also the ties between friends and between sisters.

What I loved most in the show was how it built on its characters. Sakura Trick avoids the use of heavy dialogue and inner monologue as a means read more
Feb 12, 2015
Playcool (All reviews)
Sakura Trick is a weird one.

For starters, if you dont enjoy yuri at all, it wont reccomend you to try this one out.
The main focus is yuri fanservice after all. There is a story with romance, BUT, the way it is executed is poorly most of the times. So again dont like yuri?! SKIP THIS!


Now, I said it was a yuri fanservice, so what can you expect, if you do enjoy yuri like myself??
Every episode is divided by 2 mini episodes, most of the times, each has a different kind of mini arc story going on.
And for the most part, in each of read more
Nov 4, 2014
Kapodaco (All reviews)
Something that I find fairly interesting about Sakura Trick is the title itself. What comes to mind when "Sakura Trick" is uttered? Sakura, which is a flower with a lovely shade of bright pink, and trick, a fake-out of sorts, which may contain mischievous undertones. What was the inspiration for the name of this title? Every time I see this title, I can't help but feel like I'm about to stumble upon a beautiful disaster, or a "sakura-colored trick," if you will. Of course, the term "trick" can also be defined in other ways, but for the purpose of stating an argument, the previously stated read more
Jun 13, 2015
Pixoniatus (All reviews)
Story: perfect, from the beginning to the end. Each episode bring the same enjoyment, and we follow the story step by step. Haruka and Yuu make us feel plenty of feelings.

Art: beautiful.

Sound: the OST is wonderfull, I can't stop listening to the opening.

Character: Haruka and yuu are just perfect, and the other characters are really good too. Some are funny, some are serious, but each of them has his own story. This is not only about the main characters, this is about their whole life, including their relations with their friends and family.

Enjoyment: In first I ws only watching a funny yuri, but once you read more
Jun 30, 2019
dlxuniuniu (All reviews)
So this is the first review I write here on MAL and surely you are asking "Why do you write a review for an anime which aired almost five years ago?"

I know we have already July 2019 and Sakura Trick aired in Winter 2014, so almost five years past already. I am not a guy who is good at writing reviews or generally writes a lot. Maybe no one will ever see my review about Sakura Trick, but my intention is not to compare my review with the one's from other users. I have already seen some very good reviews about Sakura Trick and read more
Mar 28, 2014
DatDamnPR (All reviews)
Romance and comedy comes together quite well! This is a rare occasion that I've watched a "yuri" genre series. But this series is a lot more than just that. Friendship, caring for one another, and being there for one another is what I got most out of this series. Sure it's nice to see cute girls kissing but this series does a great job of not focusing on that. The kisses are well placed so that the story itself is not interrupted. It's a great story! The art and music are fantastic, and the character development is superb. It's very cute, and also leaves you read more
Aug 16, 2015
Astxrisk (All reviews)
Cumming into this anime, I expected great things. By expecting great things, what I mean by that is.. I really wanted some good yuri to jack off to. This review is all 12 episodes, so it'll contain heavy spoilers. Overall I believe this anime is in my top two favorite animes. Trailing behind the greatest masterpiece of all time; School Days. If you have not seen my review on School days, I advise you to look at that first to have a good idea on how my reviews are.

Moving on, Sakura Trick was first off, very enjoyable. My penis was hard 90% of the read more
May 6, 2014
miochan21 (All reviews)
II think the yuri animes that I have watched and I know have bunch of people in one place that are lesbians. Those animes are so unrealistic to the extent and it makes me grin in amusement. They exclude straight people right off the bat and fully focus only in the yuri part. Sakura Trick has a realistic touch that might happen to some of the people around their ages, or even older.

The storyline is fairly good; the slice of life comes in and realistic in some ways. We see high school student’s daily lives and ups and downs can be seen in this anime, read more
Apr 13, 2014
chokoichigo (All reviews)
My love for this anime is endless!
It's filled with fluff and moe characters who look at least 5 years younger than their actual age, like so many other animes, but still it manages to set itself apart.

What I really like about this anime is the fact that a romantic relationship between two girls is not seen as completely normal, because this gives it a more realistic touch, unlike animes like Strawberry Panic! where literally everyone is a lesbian.

The anime nicely balances the 'oh, nobody should know, since we're both girls' and the general development of one's first romantic relationship, like 'What should I expect read more
Jun 4, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Sakura Trick is a yuri anime from this year, started in January finished in March. The manga it's based on was written and drawn by Tachi and the anime version was handled by Studio Deen. Studio Deen has done several yuri series/ series with heavy yuri content before. Including Maria sama ga Miteru, Yamibo and Simoun. So far, none of these series have been bad, although some have come closer than others. That being said, Studio Deen has done some pretty egregious anime in other genres. Such as Kore wa Zombie desu ka. Still, they do have a pretty good record so I'm cautiously optimistic read more
Feb 24, 2015
Micsupreeme (All reviews)
~A personal journey into the world of forbidden love, buried under a pink veil~

On the surface, Sakura Trick doesn't seem like the kind of anime to have many unique or redeeming elements. Its vibrant, predominately pink colour scheme and slice of life presentation will impress nobody from a glance. With the further belittlement of the Shoujo and Yuri tag associations, its no wonder that few come to appreciate Sakura's delicacy.

A lot of Sakura's strength is in its simplicity. It is an uplifting representation of Shoujo, that ironically plays no tricks. Its straightforward almost to a protesting, influential extent, and it exposes the genre from a read more
May 26, 2015
jc9622 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I somehow came across this anime after finishing Aoi Hana... I wanted to give it a watch but I gave up on this show very easily. It just isn't for me.


Story 4/10
Since I only watched 2 episodes, this might not be an accurate score for the story. You have 2 girls (best friends?) entering high school and this high school is closing down in 3 years. In order to remember their high school experience, these 2 girls shared a kiss (a long kiss). That's all i've seen so far and I'm not watching anymore episodes.



Art 5/10
The Animation is decent but not great...


Sound 3/10
I haven't heard read more
Jan 18, 2016
TsundereOsama (All reviews)
It has lesbians in it, but they didn't fuck hard enough with their blurry parts in the first episode so i would give this a 12.1 on the richter scale. i like the part where the yuri and the have no but japansese cartoons are very ok when they have chinese subtitles and russiandub at the same time in korea. how long do i need to make this i can't even think of anymore words i know, so heres a funny joke- hector is mexican 9/11 lesbians fishcats. ok still more words so heres the review
story- what, i thought this was hentai
outstanding 10- art, not read more
Oct 22, 2018
FrilioFriolo42 (All reviews)
There are some animes that have a awesome story, breathtaking art and visuals, extremly well developped characters, and thoses animes are sure to be critically acclaimed as an 10/10 masterpiece must-watch anime. And thoses animes deserves it.

But Sakura Trick is something else.
There isn't a leading thread to the plot.
The visuals are suitable, but not great.
The character do not revolutionize anything.

But it's an anime that I found so enjoyable and entertaining, that never bored me, with characters that are so cute, that I must give it an 10/10.

If I should summarize what this anime made me feel, let's just say that it gave my dick and read more
Jul 22, 2016
Yuu_Masuhara (All reviews)
Sakura Trick series is simply about everyday lives, which means the plot spins around the heroines. The school becomes the story regularly takes place. It's a lively show, the main heroines are Haruka Takayama and Sonoda Yuu who's currently a classmate and be a damn-too-good friend since Junior HS. Basically we can't ignore the present of other heroines that look really like main characters too, Shizuku Minami, Kotone Noda, Kaede Ikeno, and Yuzu Iizuka. While Yuu and Haruka (main heroines) are so lovey-dovey with each other, almost neglecting other presents, the others are steamed-up and funny. The fusion of slice-of-life, school life, yuri, and comedy read more
Nov 13, 2017
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
To be perfectly honest i don't understand the mediocre reviews on this. At the time of writing this has a 7.17 when i feel this should have around an 8-9.

This is honestly a good and funny show to watch. The group of friends we see are all fun and interesting in there own way and they all have someone that they fit really well with. But this right here could be seen as a problem. There are duo's that should be couples together but some aren't while the others are. I guess what i'm trying to say is that some are never in an official read more
Mar 31, 2014
JAKQ7111 (All reviews)
This was a refreshing look at semi-realistic high school relationships, particularly lesbian relationships. The characters were all quirky and unique, and I enjoyed each of them in their own ways. (except maybe Kotone and Shizuku) The jokes were nearly always funny, and the show did not overdo the yuri fanservice, and instead gave us genuine character interactions which made us love each of them more. This is easily my favorite Studio Deen work, and at this point, my favorite show of the winter season.
Nov 28, 2015
MutedNerd (All reviews)
When it comes to Yuri I try to avoid them because of the possible chance that it could cross the line between Ecchi and P**n, and I do not watch anime for that reason.

Sakura Trick was the first Yuri that I went into fully aware of it being a yuri, because of what I had seen around the internet and heard from other people. I was greeted with something that I believe could almost be a kid show in my opinion. Homosexuality is a very touchy subject and not everyone agree's with it in one way or another. But Sakura Trick did something with it read more