Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki


Alternative Titles

English: Wolf Children
Synonyms: The Wolf Children Ame and Yuki
Japanese: おおかみこどもの雨と雪

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 21, 2012
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Chizu
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 57 min.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 8.801 (scored by 176,272 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #153
Members: 306,143
Favorites: 6,323

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 13, 2016
strangel (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

OK so bear in mind that this will be a very subjective review. I watched Wolf Children because I really liked Summer Wars and The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, and because everyone said it was amazing and a tear-jerker. However by the time I finished watching it, I was just angry at it. Here's why:

This movie certainly ranks 10/10 for most frustrating movie I've ever watched. Not even ridiculously beautiful backgrounds and high quality art direction can save a film with slow, barely-there plot and irritating characters. I couldn't empathise with any of them because they consistently made dumb decisions read more
Oct 22, 2013
tehnominator (All reviews)
Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki translates to "Wolf Children Ame and Yuki". What the film's title promises is accurate, but this is secondary to what the film is actually about. This is a movie entirely about the enduring and triumphant nature of maternal love.

Teenage Hana is a hardworking girl putting herself through college. During a class, her eyes fall on a man who enthusiastically and diligently takes notes, but he has no textbooks and he disappears before roll is taken. Intrigued, she searches him out and learns that he sits through classes but doesn't attend the school. From what we see, he works read more
Oct 22, 2012
MerelyPlayers (All reviews)
I saw this film yesterday and, having enjoyed it immensely, was pleased to read that it has won the award for Best Animated Feature Film at the 45th annual Sitges International Fantastic Film Festival (a Spanish film festival). This perhaps comes as little surprise given that it is the work of Mamoru Hosoda, acclaimed director of "The Girl Who Leapt Through Time" and "Summer Wars" (both of which also won the same award at previous Sitges festivals). I dare say that Mamoru has exceeded himself with this film, taking observations and musings from his own life - the film supposedly being based on thoughts he read more
Feb 25, 2016
Paraturtle (All reviews)
Story:
Stories that span a long time (i.e. more than 5 years) have the opportunity to express a change in the characters and in the world around them. It's something that makes great films great. Forrest Gump is a great example of this use. Wolf Children is not. What this film does is give us short anecdotes of Hana as she experiences what it's like to not only be a single mother but a single mother raising werewolf children. You'd think this means the film would have many interesting events that take place; you'd be wrong.

From the get go, the film feels like one long and read more
Mar 12, 2017
ItIsIDio (All reviews)
Wolf Children is a good choice for you if you'd enjoy a mellow movie about a widow raising her two kids. However note that it isn't a particularly exciting or eventful movie, and it mostly focuses on how the mother attempts to raise her children and how these children develop and mature. So it becomes a bad choice if you expect anything beyond the simple lives of these people, even with the supernatural element of werewolf children, it doesn't have narrative hooks and the incentive it tries to give you from the very beginning isn't a particularly strong one to continue watching the movie, since read more
Nov 13, 2012
5camp (All reviews)
The story starts with a rather plain looking college girl and her romantic adventures with this dashingly attractive young man. It turns out that he’s a wolf-man, but the lady doesn’t care because golly, he really is quite a catch. Besides, wolves are cool, so it could be worse. He could be an uncool animal like a sea-cucumber man. They have kids together but raising them in the big city is a bit of a pain, especially since they keep turning into wolves when they get annoyed. So they move to the countryside and start a new life there. It is one half about the read more
Aug 3, 2013
GreyFoxIndy (All reviews)
You know sometimes being the fans that we are of all sorts of media, you think to yourself, there's no way "this" could be better than "that", well this is one of those times you'd be wrong. I'll just start literally by saying "Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki" is amazing 10/10 and must be watched by all.

Now for the rest of my spoiler free review,

The story of Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki can be described as very heart-warming and extremely cute, however with that being said, there are moments where the darker side of the story can be heart wrenching, if you're read more
Jan 8, 2017
peanutbutters (All reviews)
"I'm your average college student, life is normal but everything changed when I met him. I fell in love and had kids."
.... THAT'S IT... No struggle, just a normal teenage girl who lived a "normal" teenage life with hardly any hardships.

You know when you watch the news and you hear something tragic but you can't do anything about it and just go, "Oh.. or Ah.." because it doesn't effect you and it's been said and done soo many times?

This is exactly what this anime movie is. There is hardly ANY development for you to care enough about the characters. Everything just happens way too read more
Sep 8, 2012
Smileeyface (All reviews)
A girl meets a guy, falls in love, finds out that he's a werewolf, but doesn't mind (loving him and having his kids). Sounds familiar? Thankfully, the focus of this story is not the relationship between the couple, but between the mother and her children. Although this makes for an interesting approach to the overused concept of the relationship between humans and their wolf relatives, it falls short in producing a convincing account of their fight to overcome the odds that such a family would be up against.

Just like how the movie can be summarized in two parts, it will also be reviewed in two read more
Apr 23, 2013
vasili101 (All reviews)
Just a fair heads up to whoever may be reading this, this IS my very first review so bear with me.

I have always been fascinated with parenting, though it’s a topic that is rarely portrayed in anime. It’s an experience that on end can bring a person to complete ruin to giving someone a very reason to exist on the other. It’s ironic how being a parent is one of the greatest challenges and hardships that a person can experience but yet nearly everyone is one or will be one. One of the main reasons for this is that no one can tell you exactly read more
May 8, 2014
Flashbenny (All reviews)
This is my first review on this website, and I thought I'd create an account just to review this movie. Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki, or Wolf Children has been recommended to me endlessly, as it was regarded (by them) to be Miyazaki material, if not better.

I have high expectations when it comes to watching Anime movies. Since they do not rely on a series to back up the characters and plot, it's very difficult to create a masterpiece that combines all those elements. Wolf Children exceeded my expectations, though I still can't describe how it compares with Miyazaki movies, I will just read more
Mar 10, 2013
Yeshua149 (All reviews)
This is going to be my first review, so feedback is appreciated.

Have you ever thought about how hard it is for a single mother to raise two children who are only a little more than a year apart? Well, I can tell you right now that’s it’s not as hard as raising two children who are only a year apart and part wolf!

Let me start off by saying that this is one of the best animated films that I’ve had the pleasure of watching. I couldn’t help but have a smile on my face for almost the entire film. If you’ve watched any of Mamoru read more
Sep 11, 2014
Cryptic-senpai (All reviews)
Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki, or Wolf Children, as it is called in English, is a two hour animated film directed by Hosoda Mamoru of Studio Chizu. Hosoda formerly worked at Toei Animation and Madhouse before establishing his own studio.

Ookami Kodomo tells the tale of Hana, a young university student who meets and falls in love with an unnamed man. This man does not attend her university, but he does come for lectures in order to study. He takes on odd jobs to have just enough money to survive. At first, he seems just like any other young man pressed for time and money. read more
Nov 12, 2016
SRGIO (All reviews)
STORY:
Wolf children is a bad movie their characters are one-dimensional and they develop in an inconsistent way with a fast passing. Example of how fast and inconsistent is the movie, it is established that the protagonist is in love with no reason for a character of which they represent him first as a perfect guy or something like that, because nothing is said about him. Who is a werewolf out of nowhere and then have children again for no reason and all in less than 16 minutes for a movie of almost two hours, this is an introduction to what is coming but that means read more
Mar 3, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Growing up is never easy.

In fact, growing up is like an experience, a natural time when we embraces the days we go through. It is from these times where we learn about the world, make connections, and make the most of our lives. It begins with the very first breath we take in and out. The prospect of growing up therefore is like climbing a ladder. The higher you reach, the harder it becomes. But of course, that doesn't stop some people from reaching the top and enjoying their life with people they care about.

That's especially the case for Hana.

Ookami Kodomo no Ame read more
Mar 1, 2017
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

This is one of my older reviews that I have re-written to hopefully not get removed this time.

Story and characters:

This part of the review contains SPOILERS!!!!!!

The story begins with a Japanese college student named Hana. One day, she spots a cute boy in her class who doesn't attend the college, but sits in on the classes anyway. She immediately falls in love with him and follows him around like a puppy! He finally begins talking to her, but he is fairly laconic, which of course makes him even more desirable. Eventually he decides to confess to her that he is a werewolf read more
Jun 27, 2016
TKB928 (All reviews)
Review in brief: While Wolf Children is visually pleasing and tries some interesting things, putting more than a little thought into what's happening on-screen can easily throw your mind out of the aesthetic cradle the movie builds as you realize just how silly and simple the whole thing is. And this movie is not trying to be either of those things. I give it a 4/10 for a its effort and for the quality of the non-story elements.

Review in full: I'll start by saying that this isn't going to be the sort of review that's trying to scourn the movie or read more
Apr 7, 2014
Honest_Senpai (All reviews)
Wolf children, a story about a single mother Hana who is tasked with the mission of raising her children Ame and Yuki on her own after her boyfriend had died. But these are not ordinary children as there farther was part wolf and so are the kids.

Now i doubt there is anyone who is an avid anime watcher that would turn down a heartwarming Mamoru Hosoda film. Its a good way to take a break from 24/26 episode series.

STORY:
The story is about Hana's difficulties after the daeth of ookami she struggles with dealing with kids that can transform from human to wolf read more
Oct 1, 2017
perechenpchel (All reviews)
Honestly, I'm really sad to see high ratings of this movie. Both for the industry and its audience.

Wolf children is bland, unrealistic narrative with some very frustrating messages wrapped all the way up (have sex with a wolf, give birth at home, loose your man and ultimately embrace life in the pastoral wilderness to accomplish mission of raising children, because y'now that what single young mother from colleague is expected to do). Social engineering in its most uninventive and very untalented form.

Please, anime, don't do full-length theater format if you only have end-products like Wolf Children to show. It is very disappointing and shameful for read more
Jun 1, 2016
KurataTrigger (All reviews)
Hey, everybody TheCodeTrigger here and welcome too my first ever anime movie review.

For my first ever anime movie review I will be reviewing the highly acclaimed movie that was directed by a man named Hosoda, Mamoru and aired in Juyl 21st in 2012 Ookami Kodomo no Ame too Yuki or Wolf Children in English.

Now with that out for the way let’s begin.

Story.

Enter Hana a 19 year college student whom meets the love of her dreams named

Ookami whom are secretly hiding his identity as being able too transform into a wolf at any-time throughout his life. He’s not a werewolf where he doesn’t tear up other read more