Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki


Alternative Titles

English: Wolf Children
Synonyms: The Wolf Children Ame and Yuki
Japanese: おおかみこどもの雨と雪

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 21, 2012
Studios: Studio Chizu
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 57 min.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 8.841 (scored by 138,217 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #202
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #170
Members: 236,042
Favorites: 5,130

Reviews

strangel
Mar 13, 2016
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

OK so bear in mind that this will be a very subjective review. I watched Wolf Children because I really liked Summer Wars and The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, and because everyone said it was amazing and a tear-jerker. However by the time I finished watching it, I was just angry at it. Here's why:

This movie certainly ranks 10/10 for most frustrating movie I've ever watched. Not even ridiculously beautiful backgrounds and high quality art direction can save a film with slow, barely-there plot and irritating characters. I couldn't empathise with any of them because they consistently made dumb decisions read more
I found this review Helpful
tehnominator
Oct 22, 2013
Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki translates to "Wolf Children Ame and Yuki". What the film's title promises is accurate, but this is secondary to what the film is actually about. This is a movie entirely about the enduring and triumphant nature of maternal love.

Teenage Hana is a hardworking girl putting herself through college. During a class, her eyes fall on a man who enthusiastically and diligently takes notes, but he has no textbooks and he disappears before roll is taken. Intrigued, she searches him out and learns that he sits through classes but doesn't attend the school. From what we see, he works read more
I found this review Helpful
islandboy461
Oct 22, 2012
I saw this film yesterday and, having enjoyed it immensely, was pleased to read that it has won the award for Best Animated Feature Film at the 45th annual Sitges International Fantastic Film Festival (a Spanish film festival). This perhaps comes as little surprise given that it is the work of Mamoru Hosoda, acclaimed director of "The Girl Who Leapt Through Time" and "Summer Wars" (both of which also won the same award at previous Sitges festivals). I dare say that Mamoru has exceeded himself with this film, taking observations and musings from his own life - the film supposedly being based on thoughts he read more
I found this review Helpful
Paraturtle
Feb 25, 2016
Story:
Stories that span a long time (i.e. more than 5 years) have the opportunity to express a change in the characters and in the world around them. It's something that makes great films great. Forrest Gump is a great example of this use. Wolf Children is not. What this film does is give us short anecdotes of Hana as she experiences what it's like to not only be a single mother but a single mother raising werewolf children. You'd think this means the film would have many interesting events that take place; you'd be wrong.

From the get go, the film feels like one long and read more
I found this review Helpful
GreyFoxIndy
Aug 3, 2013
You know sometimes being the fans that we are of all sorts of media, you think to yourself, there's no way "this" could be better than "that", well this is one of those times you'd be wrong. I'll just start literally by saying "Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki" is amazing 10/10 and must be watched by all.

Now for the rest of my spoiler free review,

The story of Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki can be described as very heart-warming and extremely cute, however with that being said, there are moments where the darker side of the story can be heart wrenching, if you're read more
I found this review Helpful
Cryptic-senpai
Sep 11, 2014
Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki, or Wolf Children, as it is called in English, is a two hour animated film directed by Hosoda Mamoru of Studio Chizu. Hosoda formerly worked at Toei Animation and Madhouse before establishing his own studio.

Ookami Kodomo tells the tale of Hana, a young university student who meets and falls in love with an unnamed man. This man does not attend her university, but he does come for lectures in order to study. He takes on odd jobs to have just enough money to survive. At first, he seems just like any other young man pressed for time and money. read more
I found this review Helpful
vasili101
Apr 23, 2013
Just a fair heads up to whoever may be reading this, this IS my very first review so bear with me.

I have always been fascinated with parenting, though it’s a topic that is rarely portrayed in anime. It’s an experience that on end can bring a person to complete ruin to giving someone a very reason to exist on the other. It’s ironic how being a parent is one of the greatest challenges and hardships that a person can experience but yet nearly everyone is one or will be one. One of the main reasons for this is that no one can tell you exactly read more
I found this review Helpful
5camp
Nov 13, 2012
The story starts with a rather plain looking college girl and her romantic adventures with this dashingly attractive young man. It turns out that he’s a wolf-man, but the lady doesn’t care because golly, he really is quite a catch. Besides, wolves are cool, so it could be worse. He could be an uncool animal like a sea-cucumber man. They have kids together but raising them in the big city is a bit of a pain, especially since they keep turning into wolves when they get annoyed. So they move to the countryside and start a new life there. It is one half about the read more
I found this review Helpful
Flashbenny
May 8, 2014
This is my first review on this website, and I thought I'd create an account just to review this movie. Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki, or Wolf Children has been recommended to me endlessly, as it was regarded (by them) to be Miyazaki material, if not better.

I have high expectations when it comes to watching Anime movies. Since they do not rely on a series to back up the characters and plot, it's very difficult to create a masterpiece that combines all those elements. Wolf Children exceeded my expectations, though I still can't describe how it compares with Miyazaki movies, I will just read more
I found this review Helpful
Smileeyface
Sep 8, 2012
A girl meets a guy, falls in love, finds out that he's a werewolf, but doesn't mind (loving him and having his kids). Sounds familiar? Thankfully, the focus of this story is not the relationship between the couple, but between the mother and her children. Although this makes for an interesting approach to the overused concept of the relationship between humans and their wolf relatives, it falls short in producing a convincing account of their fight to overcome the odds that such a family would be up against.

Just like how the movie can be summarized in two parts, it will also be reviewed in two read more
I found this review Helpful
Yeshua149
Mar 10, 2013
This is going to be my first review, so feedback is appreciated.

Have you ever thought about how hard it is for a single mother to raise two children who are only a little more than a year apart? Well, I can tell you right now that’s it’s not as hard as raising two children who are only a year apart and part wolf!

Let me start off by saying that this is one of the best animated films that I’ve had the pleasure of watching. I couldn’t help but have a smile on my face for almost the entire film. If you’ve watched any of Mamoru read more
I found this review Helpful
Stark700
Mar 3, 2013
Growing up is never easy.

In fact, growing up is like an experience, a natural time when we embraces the days we go through. It is from these times where we learn about the world, make connections, and make the most of our lives. It begins with the very first breath we take in and out. The prospect of growing up therefore is like climbing a ladder. The higher you reach, the harder it becomes. But of course, that doesn't stop some people from reaching the top and enjoying their life with people they care about.

That's especially the case for Hana.

Ookami Kodomo no Ame read more
I found this review Helpful
ThatGuyWithAHat
Apr 7, 2014
Wolf children, a story about a single mother Hana who is tasked with the mission of raising her children Ame and Yuki on her own after her boyfriend had died. But these are not ordinary children as there farther was part wolf and so are the kids.

Now i doubt there is anyone who is an avid anime watcher that would turn down a heartwarming Mamoru Hosoda film. Its a good way to take a break from 24/26 episode series.

STORY:
The story is about Hana's difficulties after the daeth of ookami she struggles with dealing with kids that can transform from human to wolf read more
I found this review Helpful
Neko_Rory8
Nov 20, 2015
Story:
This anime is more of a movie, then an anime, considering it was 1 episode and I think an hour and 56 minute (I don't know, I'm trying to remember.). The plot is pretty simple: A collage student falls in love with the wolf man (Because they don't say Werewolf in Japan.). They have two children together; The oldest, Yuki, a girl, and the youngest, Ame, a boy. Unfortunately, the father dies(That's NOT a spoiler.), leaving the 3 alone by themselves. Because of complications within the city, Hanna (The Mother) decides it would be better for them to move outside the read more
I found this review Helpful
Takamura-sama
Nov 28, 2015
Spoiler free review. Are we wolves? or are we human? ~ Ame

Story: 6/10
It's about a woman who has 2 children from a wolfman and it's showing her daily life and the children's daily life as half wolf, half human.
it looked more like a Disney film then an anime.

Art: 4/10
I don't know why MAL rates 4 as decent but okay :).
Nothing outstanding, I found the animation a bit annoying because of the eyes being too far away from each other. it's bad for a 2012 anime.

Sound: 7/10
It was good, the voice actors did a great job, the soundtracks were nice and beautiful.

Character: 7/10
I like read more
I found this review Helpful
Hng
Mar 19, 2015
We're constantly amazed at the power of maternal love. A mother lifts a car with inhuman strength to save her baby. A mother throws herself into the train tracks after the carriage goes off the platform. A mother this. A mother that.

The bond that a mother has with her children, it truly does surpass all reason and hold firm on grounds of unconditional love. I say maternal and not parental, because the story is based around the conditions of hardship without a father figure. Unfortunate, but it reflects the harshness of reality, that sometimes families don't always start out complete. But, they can be read more
I found this review Helpful
Toby_Kun
Feb 15, 2016
Probably the best anime I have seen recently. From the director of 'The Girl Who Leapt Through Time' gives us this wonderful fantasy-drama.
This movie is kinda resembling Miyazaki's 'My Neighbour Totoro', only the place it takes place and a bit with the characters. Other than that it is an awesome movie with a totally fresh concept as per my knowledge.

All the three main characters, a mother and her two kids were lovable. Aoi Miyazaki never stops impressing me where she appears here as a mother. Her roles from various movies are always coming with a surprise who peaking high and higher, she really rocks. The read more
I found this review Helpful
TheKazeTrigger
Jun 1, 2016
Hey, everybody TheCodeTrigger here and welcome too my first ever anime movie review.

For my first ever anime movie review I will be reviewing the highly acclaimed movie that was directed by a man named Hosoda, Mamoru and aired in Juyl 21st in 2012 Ookami Kodomo no Ame too Yuki or Wolf Children in English.

Now with that out for the way let’s begin.

Story.

Enter Hana a 19 year college student whom meets the love of her dreams named

Ookami whom are secretly hiding his identity as being able too transform into a wolf at any-time throughout his life. He’s not a werewolf where he doesn’t tear up other read more
I found this review Helpful
yuanpaz123
Jul 25, 2015
This is a very touching movie indeed. It really moved me to a different direction, a different path to take. It shows that love has no boundaries and how loving parents do what it takes to mold their children into very promising adults.

Story (9):
I really loved the story of how a college student changed a lone man's world in just a matter of time. Although that man had some surprising secrets and flaws, she still accepts him no matter what. It was probably fate that they met each other.

The mixture of romantic love, tragedy, and maternal love blends in perfectly to even move mountains read more
I found this review Helpful
HotaruKara
Mar 10, 2013
"The moment a child is born, the mother is also born. She never existed before. The woman existed, but the mother, never. A mother is something absolutely new." ~ Rajneesh
Can one anticipate the future? The struggles, the joys, the pain? It may be a mystery because we humans have to learn from our past mistakes and try to continuously improve ourselves. Motherhood is one of these things, never regretting, only moving forward, that is the only way. Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki is one of these rare animes who come once a year or more, to remind us why we read more
I found this review Helpful