Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Chihayafuru


Alternative Titles

English: Chihayafuru
Synonyms: Chihayafull
Japanese: ちはやふる

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2011 to Mar 28, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2011
Broadcast: Wednesdays at Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.281 (scored by 101,693 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #365
Members: 249,262
Favorites: 5,152

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 3, 2012
valdemort (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first time writing a review, so bear with me as I try to sort out my thoughts on this wonderful anime.

I almost didn't watch Chihayafuru, and I hadn't even heard of it until it was already a few weeks into the show. As time went on, more and more people were raving about how great it was, how it was going to be the sleeper hit this season, so I finally decided to give it a shot and see if a show about a card game really was THAT exciting. And let me tell you, it is. I am writing this review read more
Jun 22, 2013
MelKaven (All reviews)
"What the hell is Katura?"
Of course, that was my first reaction.
But then...
Wow...
Just wow...

At first, this anime really didn't catch my interest. It was plain and dry, like trying to shape out the dry clay; but as it went on, I found myself immersed in it. Like a sea of colors vibrantly expanding across an infinite of sky. Yes, even now, fifteen minutes after I finally saw the last episode, I am still numbed by its excellence.

**NO SPOILERS**
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Story:

In the beginning, the story seemed boring. Predictable. Like a boat streaming across still water. It was lifeless, and simple. I expected it to be like any other Anime read more
May 7, 2012
retardation (All reviews)
Man, Chihayafuru is freaking good. I wasn’t going to watch this show. You look at the promo. It’s a shoujo/josei type joint about some chick who plays Japanese cards or some nonsense. How can that be good?

I know a lot of people mess with those mah jong anime that keep coming out. I can’t hate but I never know or care about what’s going on in any of that stuff.

Lucky things happened though. Winter 2012 anime were failing hard so I had to start review crawling. MAL gave this thing an 8+ so figured I’d give read more
Jul 12, 2013
Ruse (All reviews)
Chihayafuru is a sports anime about Karuta. What is Karuta you ask? I had no idea either until I watched this anime. Karuta is a card game based upon Japanese poetry, with a hundred poems as cards so memorization is key. As a reader reads out the first line of the poem, the player's goal is to touch the corresponding card that has the second line of the poem before the opponent. Sounds boring? Well you could not be more wrong. The way Chihayafuru depicts the relationships between the characters and the feelings of those who dedicate their lives to something only to be trumped read more
Jan 13, 2015
Dawn (All reviews)
*This review is spoiler free!*

Chihayafuru is an anime centered around the sport karuta and follows the story of a young girl named Chihaya as well as the friends and rivals she meets along the way. Before jumping into Chihayafuru you may have never heard of karuta and that really isn't an issue. The anime does a great job of creating a story around this sport that is read more
Mar 17, 2012
Miharu-Kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
To review Chihayafuru is a hard task, to describe how brilliant this little-known anime is, to explain why I like it so much, to tell you why it's such a great anime to watch is very hard, because Chihayafuru is unique, the only word I can describe it is unique. It may seem like your ordinary sports-romance-drama series at first glance, though there is absolutely no series of my knowledge to compare it to properly.

The way the story is presented, the way the characters interact with each other, the way the atmosphere feels, It's very real and very unique.

= Story (10) =

The story read more
Apr 2, 2012
WildNeptune (All reviews)
Chihayafuru is an under the radar type anime that I'm pretty sure a lot of people simply passed over. After all, it's about a group of high school students playing a card game called Karuta. What is that you ask? Well, to put simply it is a game where you memorize poems on each card try to swipe them up before your opponent as each card is read. I'm sure you really want to watch this right now

Okay, in case that riveting introduction didn't get you pumped for this show you should know that karuta is simply the gateway for everything else. Everything in Chihayafuru read more
May 29, 2013
MotherOfUltra (All reviews)
This is my very first review, and I'm glad to give my first time to this anime...wait what?
I first started watching this because I was bored. I just thought the art was okay (looking at the poster) and so started this five whole days ago. Pretty long time ago huh.
Well then, all jokes aside, let's start the review.

Overall-10: I haven't had such a beautiful anime for as long as I had started watching anime. The mix of the beauty of karuta, enjoyment of life, perfect sound, smart character selection...this anime was a new experience on my part. At first I was worried on whether I read more
Jul 27, 2014
theshinyone (All reviews)
Chihayafuru is a show that I kind of regret picking up. No, not because it wasn't good or was a pain to watch. On the contrary, it was a very fun 50 episodes (This review includes S2 btw) - filled with many memorable and exciting moments. Unfortunately, it cuts off in the middle of the story, and really, really leaves me wanting for that season 3. That said, it is still a show that I will wholeheartedly recommend due to how special it is, and the fact that it seems somewhat likely that the anime will continue in a couple of years, once there is read more
Jul 15, 2013
TheLlama (All reviews)
As the two seasons present themselves much as a continuous series, with little to set them apart, this review is made and posted for both seasons of the series.

If there is one word that describes Chihayafuru, it is "passion" - indeed, "Chihaya furu" means passionate. On the surface there is little that separates it from typical sports anime, from the focus on the team and team spirit to rivalries to tournament story arcs where you're typically served the main characters' opponents' motivations and reasons for participating in this sport. Through tears and joy we follow the main characters' journey through the world of this sport, read more
Apr 12, 2015
Nishiyamo (All reviews)
When I think about Madhouse, I think about high-quality realizations of foolproof story concepts involving a somewhat guaranteed economic success. Chihayafuru, a series about a bunch of high-schoolers trying to achieve their dreams in becoming the best of the best in a sports called Karuta, represents a fitting example of this project selection pattern. Chihayafuru is a charming, highly likable and somewhat mind-opening anime providing for a high level of entertainment, in which I found myself immersed very rapidly.

As you maybe already know, when producing a sports-related series, it often doesn't really matter what kind of sports is chosen as long as the atmosphere works read more
Nov 25, 2011
bunch_of_wackos (All reviews)
Preliminary
A while back when a popular movie about a certain popular social media network was released one of the best critics it received was related to the scene where there is a code war... the comment was "the movie is so well direceted that a scene that is basically 2 guys in front of a pc feels exciting".

Well chihayafuru is so well tought that a whole series that is "basically" about people playing a memory game, is exciting, and comepeling (sorry ran out of adjetives there).

The premise is simple, but the characters make up for it, the art is clen and consistent and the read more
Sep 25, 2013
czxcjx (All reviews)
--Preliminary Proposition--

Chihayafuru is good, astoundingly and courageously good. There is crying almost every episode and yet it still remains utterly utterly good. It has an abundance of Shoujo romanticism yet it is good. The characters are good. The moments are good. The fights are good. The battles fought are good. The entirety of the show I cherish in my heart. Every episode I cherish. Every single interaction I cherish. The jokes, even though not necessarily of highest standard, I cherish. This show I cherish and cherish again. When it comes to this show I have no choice but to be giddy with love and to read more
Feb 10, 2013
tetsu3 (All reviews)
I didn't have high expectations when I first read the description of the show. However, I got hooked on the first episode and the rest of the season didn't disappoint.

Story (10/10): Most series fall flat in the storyline for three reasons: 1) An uninteresting beginning discourages viewers from continuing the series. 2) The story line is inconsistent. 3) The story doesn't reveal enough, or it reveals too much.
Chihayafuru, however, does it right and in an unexpected way. The story begins with several flashback episodes that help viewers understand and connect with the main characters. The plot itself is expected; after all, the series is read more
Apr 21, 2019
Blurrrietto (All reviews)
Preliminary
I watched chihayafuru when i was a huge weeb, and loved it. After a lots, LOTS of years, i wanted to rewatch this show.

...Well, the result is this review. Stopped watching after ep6.

The directing.
The directing in this anime is awful.
The pacing is way too quick and everything is way too much dramatized.
If you take karuta away, all that is left is a bunch of characters that moves when the plot needs to move.

One of the characters has a very serious reason to have depression, but oh man, the way they handled it was just...brutal. Everything happened so quickly, he cured his depression way read more
Nov 5, 2011
Hazegurl (All reviews)
Preliminary
I know I'm only on the fifth episode but I just have to say that I am loving this anime! Although it isn't labled a slice of life story, I watched it because I think it is one of those true slice of life animes where the story could actually happen. After finding nothing but supernatural type of stories labeled slice of life I was on the prowl for good ordinary slice of life anime. At first I didn't really know what to expect with the Karuta game thing. I didn't want to sit around watching some game be played in every episode although read more
Jul 15, 2015
AlexJetski (All reviews)
Chihayafuru is a very unique show in premise but not so much in execution. It centers around a traditional Japanese card game called karuta and the aspirations of a girl named Chihaya set to become the best player in Japan (and therefore the world) alongside her friends.


Karuta is a one-on-one card game in which players must try to touch cards inscribed with poems as the corresponding poems are read faster than their opponent. The game is explained very thoroughly early on, and while the concept may seem rather dull the show does a great job on making it interesting.



Chihayafuru opens on a few flashback episodes read more
Aug 12, 2014
thedarkstalker (All reviews)
Chihayafuru

Roughly 2 years back a female friend of mine urged me to watch a certain anime, but as I was busy in my own shit at the moment, I just took the recommendation, downloaded the series and that's it. Then came along it's second season, I thought - "Will start it after second season gets complete, maybe" and yes, I forgot again. 5 days ago, browsing through my collection I stumbled upon this title once again, this time I'm happy I chose to pick it up. Sometime the hype is right.

The plot is generic, in fact so generic, that this is probably the biggest reason read more
Dec 2, 2011
AnimeFan500 (All reviews)
I was drawn to this anime because it reminded me so much of Hikaru no Go.The game and characters of Chihafuru is so similar to Hikaru no GO. Chihayafuru is about a game called Karuta. The rules of this game is that the players must memorize the 100 hundred poems- which are written in cards. Setting the cards face down in a certain pattern. When the match starts, the announcer reads a poem verse and the players must knock that card out. The main character Chihaya Ayase who meets Wataya Arata( Karata Master XD) and is drawn in the world of Karata and read more
Oct 22, 2011
X0XjulietX0X (All reviews)
Preliminary
WARNING: May contain itty-bitty spoilers. :) But it won't ruin your judgement on the anime. I'll be back in a couple more weeks to edit this review as I watch more and more episodes.


As of October 22nd, 2011, I have only watched three episodes of Chihayafuru, but so far, it has shown amazing promise. Already I am so emotionally tied to this series that I almost, ALMOST shed some tears. But boy did my eyes did get watery.

The story starts out with the protagonist, Chihaya, a beautiful girl. You quickly read more