Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yotsuba to!

Yotsuba to!

Alternative Titles

English: Yotsuba&!
Synonyms: Yotsuba and!
Japanese: よつばと!

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Mar 21, 2003 to ?
Authors: Azuma, Kiyohiko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Dengeki Daioh

Statistics

Score: 8.891 (scored by 26420 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #182
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #43
Members: 63,410
Favorites: 9,353

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Apr 12, 2008
melieon (All reviews)
Ok, so here we are with little Yotsuba.
If you're looking for an easy-going manga, this is perfect for you.
Not many dialogues, easy to read, and really funny.

And the best thing of it is that shows you that even the sounds of the cicadas is enjoyable(tsuku tsukuboushi x]).
The "motto" of this manga is "Enjoy everything", and that's exactly what Yotsuba does and shares with us.

It's like being as Yotsuba, 5 years old again.
And she's one of a kind. I would like to have a daughter like her xD.
She is always laughing, and when she gets scared she is really cute. She also learns things read more
Sep 14, 2007
Bluesnow (All reviews)
This ongoing manga is basically a story about the life of 5 year old Yotsuba and her day to day experience. For those who have seen or read Azumanga Daioh I'd expect you'll immediately be able to make the connection between the similar story plots and artwork, and you'd be right to make this connection because its made by the same mangaka, Kiyohiko Azuma. Like Azumanga Daioh there is no real "plot progression" (it lost points for story), but thats not really a bad thing if you like this style. Unlike Azumanga Daioh, where stories are told in short panel strips, Yotsubato! is complete chapters, read more
Sep 23, 2008
LPbomb (All reviews)
This is probably one of the funnyist manga's I have ever read. For one, Yotsuba is a good character that really makes the story come alive. Along with this, the other characters add to the story and makes Yotsuba's adventures even better to read. No matter how many times I read it, I loved it each and every time. What this manga does is unlocks the inner child within you and makes you remember all the fun and stupid things you did when you were little. The art, don't make me get started on that! It was in one word, captivating. Even without color, the read more
Oct 11, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
There are slice of life mangas that focus on building and showing the relationships between the main characters, in this case a parent - child relationship, as with titles such as Usagi Drop or Taiyou no Ie. Then there is Yotsubato!, a manga which main premise lies in narrating and displaying the daily life of the child and the different interactions with her surroundings, all represented hilariously.

The story of Yotsubato! is simple: Yousuke Koiwai, the parent, and Yotsuba, the 5-year-old child, move to a new neighbourhood, living next to them a family composed of three girls and their parents. The author proceeds to narrate different read more
Oct 1, 2009
Nek0 (All reviews)
Yotsuba&! is the story about Yotsuba Koiwai, a five-year-old girl who stays at home with her dad. She has no mom and is too young to go to school yet. Yotsuba is a cute girl with green (yes green) hair that’s done in four pigtails, giving her the appearance of a four-leaf clover (“yotsuba no kurōbā” in Japanese), and thus her name. 4channers may recognize her as the website’s unofficial mascot.

The manga is by Kiyohiko Azuma who also created Azumanga Daioh. The similarities between these two are very apparent, and the style of humor is the same, so if you liked Azumanga Daioh, then you read more
Aug 15, 2015
84DaysWithout (All reviews)
Childhood sure has its perks. You get to create mischief without any lasting repercussions, will find amusement in the most trivial of endeavors, are gifted sweets from loved ones who seek to see your cheerful smile and a piggy back ride from those who tower over you. But most of all, every waking moment is a period of grand adventure as your mind is no different from a sponge soaking in the nuances of this world that is so new to a developing conscious being. Five year old Yotsuba Koiwai is the child that many of us have resembled at some point in our lives, read more
Dec 5, 2013
Xiaraith (All reviews)
"Today is always the most enjoyable day."

Comedy always was and will always be a double-edged sword. Either you burst out laughing, laying waste to the nearest furniture in the meantime, you get what you came for or you only manage to grin faintly at best... the summoned feelings can differ significantly between two otherwise similar persons. You don't need to be an expert to find out about this swing of feelings when searching for something fun to read/watch.
But one comedy genre stays out of this top-or-flop cycle, since it deals with themes we all are quite aware of or had been in the past and read more
Sep 26, 2009
yotsuba99 (All reviews)
yotsuba&! is a comedy. :) its written by the author of AZUMANGA DAIOH!. both of the mangas are great. yotsuba&, however, is not an anime. T T why do people not convert it into an anime? i have no idea.

anyways, i find everything about this manga very enjoyable. there is no profanity, but a little use of suggestive words here and there.....

if you enjoy comedy, then you will LOVE this manga. the main character, yotsuba, looks different in almost all of the beginning of the manga. {Vol. 1,2, & 3}. read more
Nov 15, 2010
DreamerofDreams1 (All reviews)
Yotsuba&! is a fun, funny, and fabulous manga that is sure to brighten up anyone's day.


Story 9/10
Yotsuba&! tells of the many adventures of 6-year old named Yotsuba(literally four-leaf in Japanese) and of the people around her. Although their isn't much of a story, the way it is told is Fun (or for Yotsuba SUPER FUN^_^), Funny, Crazy, Cool, and Heartwarming. The only story right now is that Yotsuba moved into a new neighborhood from somewhere "waaaaaaay over there". Of course, the way it is told makes it so that you don't really need a plot or anything like that. Just "enjoy everything" like Yotsuba.


Art read more
Apr 25, 2012
anniebananie (All reviews)
This is a story about Koiwai Yotsuba, a fantastically energetic, curious, and friendly 5 year old who lives with her father. The theme of this manga is "Enjoy everything!" and Yotsuba certainly knows how to do it.

The innocence and wonder of this endearing manga really shine through. There's a pervasive feeling of peace and happiness, and I've found it impossible to come away without a smile and a good mood.

It's a slice-of-life, and it manages to be hilarious and sweet without being cloying. All of the characters are genuine and lovable.

The character design art is very similar to the author's other work, read more
Dec 20, 2016
butthurtbrigade (All reviews)
For the first fifty or so chapters I quite enjoyed Yotsuba, the art is clean, crisp and realistic with the exception Yotsuba herself to provide contrast. The comedy is well thought and relatable to anyone who remembers their naivete as a child or interacts with children. The side characters have their own quirks to make them fun and unique and I grew particularly fond of Fuuka and Jumbo and their wacky hijinks.

Like with a lot of comedies it loses steam after a while as the jokes and situations slowly repeat themselves, I think it's past it's peak and the mangaka should look to ending read more
Nov 8, 2016
sailorleafy (All reviews)
Yotsuba&! is a great slice-of-life that follows the main character Yotsuba enjoying her day to day life. There's a lot of wacky moments which I feel make the manga even better. Almost always Yotsuba is learning and experiencing something new so there's never a lack of surprises (Yotsuba reacting to a scarecrow for example). It's really easy to follow and the art style is really easy on the eyes. I suggest you read Yotsuba&! if you are into slice-of-life since theres no action or mystery. That would also lead me to say, don't expect the manga to be too serious, the way characters react to read more
Oct 4, 2010
Sugarsync (All reviews)
I will not write LONG LONG reviews....even you can tell me it not suitable for a review though....(eventually,it's not a review...just vthe details and how i understand the manga)

OK..

Everyday Is Fun!
That's the the main plot of the story,daily life can be made very interesting with our little Yotsuba...The Plot/Story may be a simple one but 'simple' is very amazing,it made very simple story because so everyone can enjoyed and because the author wanted to make a relaxing manga that can be read not in a hurry....

Character&Dialogues
Many our attention come to our kawaii Yotsuba that wanted to know about the world,things and etc.Many characters (Again) has read more
Jul 12, 2013
SilverGlyph (All reviews)
To be completely honest, the slice of life genre never really appealed to me. I didn't understand what was so riveting about watching people do ordinary things, things we do and see every day. I don't know what in the world made be pick up Yotsuba&!, because what could possibly satisfy me out of a slice of life?

...Lots, actually.

What I didn't realize is that what makes the slice of life genre come alive are the characters. It relies on the characters to make new, insightful, or hilarious observations of the mundane and turn ordinary situations into something unique, or at least look at them from read more
Jun 20, 2011
inhumane (All reviews)
I gave this manga a 10 on everything because I don't see any flaws with it,for a Slice of Life manga it is quiet an outstanding work and honestly who needs a plot?This is SoL!

Yotsuba&! is the best manga I've read to date! along with Azumanga Daioh.Is funny,is cute and it never gets boring or irritating but of course once in a while you will need a break from reading.
For one the characters are absolutely amazing,Yotsuba is a little hyperactive 5-year old who isn't afraid of experiencing new adventures,the characters who revolve around her give her a chance to learn more about the world read more
Apr 24, 2009
MisaTange (All reviews)
Story: It's the story about a 5-year-old girl completely new to the world. She meets new people and experience new experiences with each passing day. You don't see that everyday in anime, do you? But I'll also say this manga has no plot. I'll say a 8/10.

Art: The art is good, isn't that unique but somehow is unique. It's good for this type of anime. 8/10

Character: The character personalty and how they change (and of course, why) is clear and the characters are amazing. All of the characters, especially Yotsuba, are interesting in their own way, Yotsuba with her newbie-ness to the world, and there read more
Apr 19, 2017
yeIiw (All reviews)
This is anything but light-hearted and friendly

If you want to become a failure of a parent, you should read this manga. The little girl is a degenerate and makes my blood boil. If i ever had a kid like that, i'd drop kick that sh1t onto a busy m5 highway faster than a jew in a bank.

While i like children and believe they are the future, yotsuba is not, and is not a recommended read. I love children but yotsuba i want to strangle with my hands because of her "cute" "funny" actions which would otherwise have severe repercussions in any household.

Why does she read more
Jul 12, 2010
ttmuathu (All reviews)
This is the funniest manga I've ever read. From my younger brother (who is just 7 years old and is learning how to read) to my friends and even who are much older than me laugh while reading this manga.
I personally hate kids but somehow I really love, love Yotsuba-chan. She makes every corners of life lively. Even when I'm most depressed, reading this manga can make me happy again.
Feb 27, 2013
RubinP (All reviews)
So far there are 11 volumes of Yotsuba&! and I've really enjoyed reading them all.

Story:
There isn't a specific storyline to this manga, it follows the life of 5 year old Yotsuba and her daily life. What I like about this manga is that because it's centred around Yotsuba,who is a small child and this brings back happy memories of being a younger child myself.

There isn't too much dialogue, and things are nicely spaced out so it's fresh and easy to read.

There is lots of random humour, a lot based around Yotsuba's lack of understanding (as she's still growing up and learning). Also other characters read more
Nov 15, 2013
Fuu-sama (All reviews)
Yotsubato! is a slice of life comedy manga. It revolves around a five-year old girl exploring her neighborhood and just being very cute!

The story is nice, its about a little girl who moved to a new neighborhood, and you might start thinking it will be very mediocre and weird thing will happen, then BAM! she turns out to be something she never knew she was. the fact that she is adopted just raises your doubts, but its totally the opposite.

I really like the art, and how they make Yotsuba pop out more that the others, with her green hair and how she looks read more