Forum Settings
Forums
New
Aug 15, 2016 10:22 PM

Nov 2015
Actions speak louder than words - what if my only action is that of loudly speaking words? What speaks louder then, the words or the action? One could say: Only the banality of your personality speaks loudly in such a case.

Interview with kamisama751 (@filthyjesus)
Interviewer and reviewer: Yours truly.

Tell us more about yourself.

I am kamisama751 (won't tell you my real name here :P) and I am still a student living in Europe.

Back in 2007 I started getting into anime and have mostly watched shounen shows. As time went on my tastes changed. So I started to consume moe, ecchi and other types of shows increasingly. Just last year I subscribed to a few youtubers with critical thinking and their content actually helped me further refine my taste. This is how I got to my current state. Of course, I have also watched some anime before 2007 but I don't really know what it is at that time.

Recently I started consuming other mediums like manga and live action, mostly or maybe because I am somewhat exhausted from anime. However, I still love it.

How exactly do you employ critical thinking to decide your enjoyment? To elaborate: do you tend to notice the philosophical allusions in the anime and then judge the soundness of it and thereby make your judgement, for example?

Yes, for example that for the theme but they should also explore it. Mostly the critical thinking, what a show did right (theme exploration, characterization, ...) and what wrong (inconsistencies, forced/unnatural progression, ...), affects my enjoyment automatically no matter if I want it or not. Nevertheless, there are still many things going noticed even if I try not to focus on it and I don't go very deep into it usually. The switch to turn it off seems to be not working so well.

Editor's note: nigga be talking 'bout his infinite IQ. much sweg
Give us a brief history of your time on MAL. Which sections of MAL are you the most active on?