Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nana


Alternative Titles

English: Nana
Japanese: NANA [ナナ]

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 47
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2006 to Mar 28, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 112,862 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1022
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #276
Members: 275,693
Favorites: 12,721

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 24, 2010
Licorice (All reviews)
"Say, Nana... Do you remember the first time we met?"

These words are the introduction of the beautiful world of "Nana". Ai Yazawa is probably the most convincing shoujo manga writer ever. With colourful, realistic characters, breathtaking events and just a pinch of music she creates a world in witch every girl can forget about reality and fall into the embrace of romantic fantasies.

One of the best things about "Nana" are the characters - we can actually see the reflection of ourselves in some of them and believe, that someone like that can really exist. This is proof that you can make a good anime read more
Sep 5, 2007
algelic (All reviews)
One of the things I like to see the most in anime is how they portray relationships. I’m a sucker for romance, but I hate the cheesy stuff you usually see in typical shoujo anime. Sometimes you’ll find an anime with realistic characters, with the typical flaws of human nature, and usually people love them. We can identify with them. Like in Evangelion many people who have dealt with depression could identify with Shinji (in some levels…).

For those of you who have watched your share of anime about love/relationships, I bet you could identify somehow with “Bokura ga Ita”, “Kimi ga Nozomu Eien” or read more
Apr 13, 2018
Fleure (All reviews)
The background of NANA feels like an endless white night. Things seem to be continuously in motion; beginnings and endings wrapped up in an infinite wave of falling snowflakes waiting to melt into each other. The forefront sits in perpetual twilight; characters seem to be eclipsed by their own shadows with barely enough to catch a glimpse of who they are. The entire landscape depicts the frigidity of life rising from frosty gales to a calmer ether, only to revert to stormier lands. Movement here isn’t linear. Nothing is. NANA, as a whole, is pure kinetics; an explosion of emotional energy circling, clashing and always read more
Jul 14, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Nana is one of those acclaimed anime that everyone seems to know the existence of, but very few people have ever actually watched. The fact that it’s almost 50 episodes long is a bit of a turn-off in of itself, but even the people who have seen it barely discuss the thing anymore. Very few “favorite anime” lists that I’ve read actually include it. It’s up there with Great Teacher Onizuka, Hajime no Ippo, and most of the Major anime in terms of high-ranking MAL darlings that the majority of MAL users will go “oh yeah, I’ve heard how good this thing is. Better put read more
Jul 23, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
Ai Yazawa did it again.

NANA is even better than Paradise Kiss for me. I love all the elements that make up the plot – Music, fashion, a little (a lot) of drama which goes hand in hand with some comedy and finally, Girl Power! It’s almost as if Ai Yazawa knew what I like to see in an anime series.

The story revolves around Nana Komatsu (Hachi) and Nana Oosaki – how they live their lives and accomplish their goals, how they interact with the various men in their lives and the friendship between the both of them. They go through all of this with a read more
Jun 7, 2011
trinitee_303 (All reviews)
NANA is one of those shows that no matter how stupid it is at times, you still find yourself liking it. I would classify this show as a guilty pleasure because in all honesty, it can be compared to teen shows such as One Tree Hill or Dawson's Creek. That's how annoying it is. Despite all that, I still enjoyed NANA to a certain extent. I would recommend it, but not to everyone. Is it a decent show to watch? Yes. Is it as good as everyone says it is? No.

Story (C) - First of all, let me just say that NANA can be read more
Jun 12, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
NANA is a Shoujo, Slice of Life, Romance, Drama about the joys, the pain and the struggles that come with the endeavour known as love and romance. If you enjoy your shoujo or romance then NANA is a must see.

The story itself focuses on two young ladies named Nana and how they came to know each other and connected through the similar experiences they share in life. The first couple episodes introduces the main characters involved and spends an equal amount of time giving us some background on each Nana, then showing how they became acquainted. Then the main story kicks in, which actually feels read more
Oct 3, 2009
Lillyness (All reviews)
Shoujo is probably the last word I would use to describe this anime.

NANA is possibly one of the most complicated romances I have ever come across; this complexity is what makes it so amazing, outstanding and fascinating. It is because NANA is not a typical shoujo which makes it suitable for a wider audience; it's far from your average school-life-love-triangle romance. This anime will make anyone laugh, cry and feel a connection with the protagonists by the end of 47 episodes.

Story - 10/10
Can anyone have any more drama in their life than the characters from NANA? In my opinion, the summary above read more
Nov 30, 2009
Rampant (All reviews)
Preliminary
While the anime adds a definite charm that you cannot get just from the manga, it also adds so many flaws that I had to stop watching it.

The most utterly incomprehensible flaw is that Blast turns out to be the least punk music possible. Nana's vocals sound like a Japanese, girlier version of that mid-90s Creed movement, and nothing in the instrumentals is slightly punky. This was a lot better when I could imagine them being something like a modern, trying too hard to be trendy, Japanese Sex Pistols in the manga.

The art is definitely another terrible translation. In the manga, nothing is especially fantastic, read more
Mar 22, 2011
Technetium (All reviews)
Gotta say, this is one of the most disappointing series to show up in the MAL top list. On the one hand, I found most of the characters really boring. Especially "Hachiko" who I couldn't sympathize with at all, and found I felt no pity for her at all in her fate. The other Nana was somewhat better, but overall, all of the female characters come across as being incredibly weak people who have nothing else in life to live for but to succumb to their men. Jun strikes me as the only one with any inner strength but alas she's a side character we read more
Jul 17, 2015
sneepsnop (All reviews)
I went into this series with no idea of what to expect. I read the synopsis, and it sounded okay, but it does not do justice to the show at all.
I wouldn't say that Nana is shoujo. It has more sophistication and more intricate plot lines than the average shoujo. It treats the characters as people by acknowledging their feelings, their backgrounds, their motives, and that allowed for you to not only get attached to the characters, but to understand them. The characters developed a lot throughout the show, and your perception of them changed as information was revealed to you.
I would definitely read more
Oct 16, 2017
Ankithadam (All reviews)
Story:
The story is about 2 Nanas who meet accidentally and they become really good friends.
Its really good anime which depicts the life of celebrities the difficulties they face and the past which lingers.
Its is also a story about how the small steps we take in life might change our whole life. Its also makes you think about future and the present situations and analyse properly so that our lives may turn out to be better without hurting our friends and families much.
Its not a homosexual movie which i thought after reading other reviews and was not interested to watch but it is not that sort read more
Dec 26, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Love triumphs the human soul in ways we can’t really fathom, and how we can contain it also remains unexplained. Whether it is love in a romantic or friendly fashion, it has always been one of the most sought out themes in stories in every medium imaginable. We are used to the idealistic form of love with numerous tropes and literary devices, but now we’ve grown to appreciate the “realistic” forms of romance. Romance that tries to portray the reality we live in rather than what we hope reality will be. Nana can speak for itself as one anime to be an achievement of perfecting read more
Aug 19, 2008
sabermoon (All reviews)
Yes, I was initially drawn to NANA by Paradise Kiss. After having watched all of ParaKiss in about a day, I was left craving more of that special flavor of drama and the striking art style. However, I was not prepared for the treat I was in for when watching NANA.

Story-
What really struck me about the story was how the two parts of the story are weaved together. The two main characters' lives and personalities are so strikingly different that when they meld, it is truly something beautiful. The span of the story really helps one feel like they go somewhere, accomplish something, while watching read more
Jan 28, 2015
Reimei-Chan (All reviews)
Nana...

Such a beautiful and unique show among the Shoujo genre. We've all have fallen in love at some point in our lives, maybe it didn't turn out for the best or you couldn't stay in love for long because of other circumstances. Ai Yazawa makes a identifiable world that a lot of girls have been in, the feeling of, "Does he love me?" or "Am I worthy enough for him?" She makes it as realistic as possible and does this in a very subtle way not a lot of Shoujo anime pull off quit as well. It can also be watched by guys as well, read more
Feb 18, 2016
goodbyegalaxy (All reviews)
NANA is a regrettably incomplete work. It takes viewers on a journey with an intriguing destination, aggravates them with rocky bumps along the way, and then unceremoniously abandons them on the roadside in the middle of nowhere. The story unfolds in reasonably entertaining ways but is too frequently hamstrung by inadequate build and progression with regard to many core characters, and when combined with the abrupt conclusion to the series, bewildered viewers at the very end may be asking themselves, "Huh? That's it?", as they lament over NANA's wasted potential and wonder what could have been.

From the opening narration, NANA teases a mysterious endgame that read more
Feb 22, 2014
BlackOpps_ (All reviews)
Nana for me was never a recommendation nor was it and anime I saw discussed on every forum, it was litarilly an anime/manga I stumbled upon one night whilst looking for a cute romantic series. I think that was a really lucky night.

Nana is honestly and anime I love a lot. Its one of the most real series I've seen. I had kinda had enough of the typical high school harems that were all the same. Whist watching Nana I found something completely new and different. It still had the romantic feel I was looking for, but portrayed in a more adult way. read more
Nov 29, 2014
connielas (All reviews)
"I need your love, I'm a broken rose." - lyrics from the first opening.

The anime shows aired during 2007 - 2010 were usually the most phenomenal in my point of view. Shows today were lacking the deep sense of plot, enjoyment, drama and the whimsical world of comedy. These days it is hard to look for an anime that will make you re-watch when you have time and remember for a lifetime. Nana is one of those shows that is heart-wrenching, cheerful and life - changing.

Plot: Nana's story would actually be like soap operas in TV but better. You can see how the storyline read more
Jan 22, 2008
lovelove (All reviews)
What can I say about this anime...
It was the greatest anime I've ever watched and is THE number 1 in my list.

Very appealing to women specifically as it has a lot of Drama, Romance, Slice of Life, Shojou...
Has very good music as well and all the characters are HOT.

I recommend everyone to try watching at least two episodes before judging whether you'd like to continue watching or not.

This anime competes with Hana Yori Dango [drama] if anyone has seen.
Dec 1, 2011
kajia (All reviews)
"Epic" - a word used describe the grand and the majestic... not a word you generally associate with romance.

But if there ever was an anime in which the romantic element can be justifiably described as "epic", then "Nana" would be it. Achingly beautiful and searing in its emotional insights, "Nana" takes the romance genre to dizzying heights while still maintaining a strong sense of realism and empathy with the viewer in spite of all its glamour and polish.

"Nana" is a tale of two Nanas, Komatsu Nana (aka Hachi) and Osaki Nana (aka, uh, Nana). (I can't be bothered with their full names, so I'll just read more