Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nana


Alternative Titles

English: Nana
Japanese: NANA [ナナ]

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 47
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2006 to Mar 28, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.531 (scored by 94,211 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #912
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #237
Members: 217,724
Favorites: 11,055

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 24, 2010
Licorice (All reviews)
"Say, Nana... Do you remember the first time we met?"

These words are the introduction of the beautiful world of "Nana". Ai Yazawa is probably the most convincing shoujo manga writer ever. With colourful, realistic characters, breathtaking events and just a pinch of music she creates a world in witch every girl can forget about reality and fall into the embrace of romantic fantasies.

One of the best things about "Nana" are the characters - we can actually see the reflection of ourselves in some of them and believe, that someone like that can really exist. This is proof that you can make a good anime read more
Sep 5, 2007
algelic (All reviews)
One of the things I like to see the most in anime is how they portray relationships. I’m a sucker for romance, but I hate the cheesy stuff you usually see in typical shoujo anime. Sometimes you’ll find an anime with realistic characters, with the typical flaws of human nature, and usually people love them. We can identify with them. Like in Evangelion many people who have dealt with depression could identify with Shinji (in some levels…).

For those of you who have watched your share of anime about love/relationships, I bet you could identify somehow with “Bokura ga Ita”, “Kimi ga Nozomu Eien” or read more
Jul 14, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Nana is one of those acclaimed anime that everyone seems to know the existence of, but very few people have ever actually watched. The fact that it’s almost 50 episodes long is a bit of a turn-off in of itself, but even the people who have seen it barely discuss the thing anymore. Very few “favorite anime” lists that I’ve read actually include it. It’s up there with Great Teacher Onizuka, Hajime no Ippo, and most of the Major anime in terms of high-ranking MAL darlings that the majority of MAL users will go “oh yeah, I’ve heard how good this thing is. Better put read more
Jul 23, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
Ai Yazawa did it again.

NANA is even better than Paradise Kiss for me. I love all the elements that make up the plot – Music, fashion, a little (a lot) of drama which goes hand in hand with some comedy and finally, Girl Power! It’s almost as if Ai Yazawa knew what I like to see in an anime series.

The story revolves around Nana Komatsu (Hachi) and Nana Oosaki – how they live their lives and accomplish their goals, how they interact with the various men in their lives and the friendship between the both of them. They go through all of this with a read more
Jul 17, 2015
sneepsnop (All reviews)
I went into this series with no idea of what to expect. I read the synopsis, and it sounded okay, but it does not do justice to the show at all.
I wouldn't say that Nana is shoujo. It has more sophistication and more intricate plot lines than the average shoujo. It treats the characters as people by acknowledging their feelings, their backgrounds, their motives, and that allowed for you to not only get attached to the characters, but to understand them. The characters developed a lot throughout the show, and your perception of them changed as information was revealed to you.
I would definitely read more
Jun 7, 2011
trinitee_303 (All reviews)
NANA is one of those shows that no matter how stupid it is at times, you still find yourself liking it. I would classify this show as a guilty pleasure because in all honesty, it can be compared to teen shows such as One Tree Hill or Dawson's Creek. That's how annoying it is. Despite all that, I still enjoyed NANA to a certain extent. I would recommend it, but not to everyone. Is it a decent show to watch? Yes. Is it as good as everyone says it is? No.

Story (C) - First of all, let me just say that NANA can be read more
Jun 12, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
NANA is a Shoujo, Slice of Life, Romance, Drama about the joys, the pain and the struggles that come with the endeavour known as love and romance. If you enjoy your shoujo or romance then NANA is a must see.

The story itself focuses on two young ladies named Nana and how they came to know each other and connected through the similar experiences they share in life. The first couple episodes introduces the main characters involved and spends an equal amount of time giving us some background on each Nana, then showing how they became acquainted. Then the main story kicks in, which actually feels read more
Oct 3, 2009
Lillyness (All reviews)
Shoujo is probably the last word I would use to describe this anime.

NANA is possibly one of the most complicated romances I have ever come across; this complexity is what makes it so amazing, outstanding and fascinating. It is because NANA is not a typical shoujo which makes it suitable for a wider audience; it's far from your average school-life-love-triangle romance. This anime will make anyone laugh, cry and feel a connection with the protagonists by the end of 47 episodes.

Story - 10/10
Can anyone have any more drama in their life than the characters from NANA? In my opinion, the summary above read more
Jan 28, 2015
Reimei-Chan (All reviews)
Nana...

Such a beautiful and unique show among the Shoujo genre. We've all have fallen in love at some point in our lives, maybe it didn't turn out for the best or you couldn't stay in love for long because of other circumstances. Ai Yazawa makes a identifiable world that a lot of girls have been in, the feeling of, "Does he love me?" or "Am I worthy enough for him?" She makes it as realistic as possible and does this in a very subtle way not a lot of Shoujo anime pull off quit as well. It can also be watched by guys as well, read more
Dec 26, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Love triumphs the human soul in ways we can’t really fathom, and how we can contain it also remains unexplained. Whether it is love in a romantic or friendly fashion, it has always been one of the most sought out themes in stories in every medium imaginable. We are used to the idealistic form of love with numerous tropes and literary devices, but now we’ve grown to appreciate the “realistic” forms of romance. Romance that tries to portray the reality we live in rather than what we hope reality will be. Nana can speak for itself as one anime to be an achievement of perfecting read more
Jan 8, 2016
amandasparkles (All reviews)
if this is the 12 years old me that's writing this review, i will give it a solid 2. The first time i watched this, i only lasted 5 episodes and i said "no more". Few years later, i feel like i'm missing out because everyone who are familiar with anime love Nana. So i watched it again. I guess its because i'm much older and mature, i actually understand and feel the emotions the characters were portraying.

The characters are realistic and the story seems as if it is actually happening somewhere in this world. I feel like i'm watching a real live action read more
Feb 18, 2016
goodbyegalaxy (All reviews)
NANA is a regrettably incomplete work. It takes viewers on a journey with an intriguing destination, aggravates them with rocky bumps along the way, and then unceremoniously abandons them on the roadside in the middle of nowhere. The story unfolds in reasonably entertaining ways but is too frequently hamstrung by inadequate build and progression with regard to many core characters, and when combined with the abrupt conclusion to the series, bewildered viewers at the very end may be asking themselves, "Huh? That's it?", as they lament over NANA's wasted potential and wonder what could have been.

From the opening narration, NANA teases a mysterious endgame that read more
Nov 29, 2014
connielas (All reviews)
"I need your love, I'm a broken rose." - lyrics from the first opening.

The anime shows aired during 2007 - 2010 were usually the most phenomenal in my point of view. Shows today were lacking the deep sense of plot, enjoyment, drama and the whimsical world of comedy. These days it is hard to look for an anime that will make you re-watch when you have time and remember for a lifetime. Nana is one of those shows that is heart-wrenching, cheerful and life - changing.

Plot: Nana's story would actually be like soap operas in TV but better. You can see how the storyline read more
Mar 12, 2015
foREVer-san (All reviews)
To girls trying to make their dreams come true. Two life stories joined together by pure chance. A hundred feelings that every girl has to cope with. A beautiful story about love and friendship, choices and dreams.

"Nana... how come being happy and making your dreams
come true are two different things?
read more
Nov 30, 2009
Rampant (All reviews)
Preliminary
While the anime adds a definite charm that you cannot get just from the manga, it also adds so many flaws that I had to stop watching it.

The most utterly incomprehensible flaw is that Blast turns out to be the least punk music possible. Nana's vocals sound like a Japanese, girlier version of that mid-90s Creed movement, and nothing in the instrumentals is slightly punky. This was a lot better when I could imagine them being something like a modern, trying too hard to be trendy, Japanese Sex Pistols in the manga.

The art is definitely another terrible translation. In the manga, nothing is especially fantastic, read more
Mar 7, 2016
May-Chan2 (All reviews)
Nana was the 2006-2007 anime (long) of the Madhouse studio. It´s one of the most popular animes Shoujo. The anime also has some josei to reveal more mature and profound passages in the plot.

STORY (8/10)
Nana tells the story of two different girls in search of dreams in Tokyo. Nana Osaki and Nana Komatsu, the two have an interlaced fate, so that the two begin to live in the same apartment. The Osaki wants to be a singer of success and Hachi want a job and be with her boyfriend.
Regarding the direction, Nana has ups and downs. There are moments of comedy and drama (drama read more
Aug 16, 2015
hikky (All reviews)
What was so special about NANA for me was that it didn't feel as if I needed to personalize the story, as if I was approaching something foreign and making it familiar to me. Nana spoke to something that already existed in myself. NANA was a story about Nana(s), but it was also my story, not in any particular way... it just was.

There was something so honest about it--it wasn't about art, or fame, or sex, or money, it wasn't even about music itself. It was about people, and how we cannot go on without love. We need love almost more than we need to read more
Aug 16, 2015
Ochinn (All reviews)
Now I understand the prologues that begin during each episodes.

Nana is one of those anime series that is just realistic and not one of those magical girls with big boobs or high school romance cliche. I've always had a soft spot for anime with character development. Nana is a perfect example for character development, and I enjoyed every minute of it.

I did not know what to expect from this show, it has been on my "Planning to watch" list but I never got the chance to watch it. And I don't regret watching it. I just love how this show is like an read more
Jan 19, 2015
Lompa (All reviews)
There is a lot I'd like to tell you about this simply epic anime.
Even by the first episode I was caught, I just couldn't stop watching or think about it.

This anime really touches you deep in your heart and soul and what makes it even more epic is that you can really imagine yourself as one of the characters. This isn't your typical happy-go-lucky story this is what you can call a real-life story.

The characters are so realistic that sometimes it's hard to understand that they are animated and actully not real human being. This may sound amazing but I am not even going out read more
May 1, 2016
Dzsoz182 (All reviews)
Every time I went to a manga store the shelves were full of Nana and I wondered...hmm I should really watch this.
Before I started watching it, I already knew it was going to be good - MAL review score above 8, Madhouse, etc. I just didn't imagine it to be this good.
I was first a bit afraid that it will be a fully music-centred anime but it is not. There is a little bit of music in it but don't worry, it's completely fine.

Story 10/10

Nana is a story about friendship. Friendship between girls, mostly, so it might not be the best thing to read more