One Outs

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: One Outs
Synonyms: ONE OUTS Nobody wins, but I!
Japanese: ワンナウツ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2008 to Apr 1, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: SportsSports, PsychologicalPsychological, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.351 (scored by 9337493,374 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1852
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #849
Members: 193,332
Favorites: 3,329
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 24, 2010
PureLionHeart (All reviews)
“Nobody wins, but I!”, the subtitle of the series, couldn’t be more accurate.

One Outs is the story of the extremist gambler Toua Tokuchi, his battle to completely crush his opponents in the Japanese Pacific Baseball League and, perhaps less importantly to the pitcher, earn a beefy salary while doing so. While advantageous, and likely to increase one's enjoyment of the series, a deep knowledge of the sport of Baseball is not required. Make no mistake; the series is first and foremost about the character, rather than the vehicle used to display his feats.

The story begins in the island of Okinawa, with the star player read more
Aug 3, 2009
HydraA (All reviews)
So, One Outs is an anime about sports, right? Hell no! Its about Tokuchi owning everyone and kicking their asses! Its very similar to Akagi, so if you enjoyed that the chances are VERY slim that you wont enjoy this one as well!

Story
Well, the story itself isnt really anything special, Its about Tokuchi Toua who is a genius pitcher. He kinda gets forced to join the lowly ranked Lycaons baseball team. Of course his goal is to make their team start winning their matches. So the basic story is pretty ordinary as you can see, but there are two things that makes the whole thing read more
May 25, 2015
karlstein12 (All reviews)
"Winner takes all. This is the universal rule of battle." - Toua Tokuchi.

One Outs, for the most part, only caught my attention after I was looking for similar titles to the recent sports anime, Diamond no Ace. After taking a look at the synopsis I considered it and put it in plan-to-watch only to start and end it months later but in a rather very quick time.

The story sets off in the island of Okinawa, where the pinch-hitter of the struggling and fictional Lycaons team, Kojima Hiromichi, heads off to form a training camp in hopes of reclaiming the ultimate prize that is read more
Mar 31, 2014
Overhaul93 (All reviews)
Pen is mightier than sword, that is what we learn from one outs. From the synopsis one may be confused that Is this baseball? Is this chess? Is this gambling? The answer is Nope its not, its ONE OUTS. Bored of animes with cliche MC, who either suck at everything and gradually develops into a strong character or suddenly gets a powerboost to defeat all his foes, or in the name of friends brings out some kind of hidden power, and stuff, then u r definitely looking for this awesomesauce.

Baseball as a sports isn't popular in my country, as such I dont even know all read more
Dec 16, 2008
Ocelot67 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh boy, where to start. Well, to begin, if you enjoyed Kaiji and/or Akagi, you can stop reading this right now and go watch this show. If not, well, let's get down to it. One Outs is essentially a gambling show revolving around baseball. This would seem boring normally but the production team is apparently able to make even rock-paper-scissors exciting, so baseball can't be too bad. Though a generic sports anime on the surface, it shines in its characters and extremely unique approach to creating suspense. Hell, there's an episode where both teams have to LOSE the game in order to WIN it. It's read more
Nov 15, 2016
TXTSVO (All reviews)
Shit.

I cannot express to you my level of disbelief at the fact that so many people gave this show a rating above 6. This show has to be the most stinking pile of shit I have ever seen in my favourite genre of anime: sports. And I know what people are going to say. "Oh but dude, this isn't a typical sports anime! You just don't understand baseball! You just don't understand Tokuchi Toua's intelligence!" This is false. You would have to be a mentally impaired slug to not understand Tokuchi Toua's intelligence after watching this series. In fact, that's basically the only thing that read more
Apr 16, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
One Outs was a baseball manga written by Kaitani Shinobu. It was adapted into an anime by our old friends at Madhouse, who brought us such classics as Black Lagoon, Petshop of Horrors and Rideback. Unfortunately, they've also been behind some of the worst anime I've ever seen such as Highschool of the Dead and Devil Hunter Yohko. I'm honestly not predicting their best work this time around, although a lot of that is more to do with the subject matter than anything else. I am not a person who cares about sports in the slightest. So, let's look at One Outs and see if read more
Apr 10, 2014
ZettoSan (All reviews)
"Winning a game is not dependent on surpassing your opponents with your strength or waiting for lucky breaks. Conquer the opponent, crushing them, and stepping over the fallen ones ruthlessly. Winning means dominating over countless dead bodies."

One Outs, I admit, was never on my radar. It only recently caught my attention when I found out that Hagiwara Masato, known for voicing Kaiji Itou (a dumb gambler with a crazy lucky streak and serious cunning known for crazy come-from-behind victories), and Akagi Shigiru (an insane gambler with a crazy lucky streak and serious cunning known for crazy come-from-behind victories), would be voicing Tokuchi Towa, a pitching read more
Oct 10, 2019
Cozye (All reviews)
It can be difficult to find a good mind game anime that doesn’t water down the suspense. One Outs is a classic example of this. The story follows our main character Toua Tokuchi who loves two things: baseball and gambling. He plays for a team and demonstrates his skills in both pitching and out thinking his opponents. The show has a darker theme given its more mature art style and character design similar to that of Akagi and Kaiji.

Tokuchi is more than just a generic badass mc. His wit and quick thinking are what keeps the show interesting. The ways and extent to which his read more
Feb 2, 2015
brianez (All reviews)
This anime was partially enjoyable, but my enjoyment was mostly overshadowed by what I see as failed potential. One Outs starts out with a world of potential with the interesting and enigmatic main character, genius pitcher Tokuchi Toua. The supporting characters are interesting as well and immediately given impressive backstory and development. The atmosphere seemed to be setting up for a great baseball journey and even the narrator promised that great unforeseen events would happen later on. However, after the first few introductory episodes the series levels out and becomes uninteresting focusing on one long match after another. Many people say this series is like read more
Oct 16, 2010
htrajan (All reviews)
Hands down my favorite anime. I've rewatched it twice and if it were possible to erase my memories of what happens in this anime, I would likely rewatch it many more times. Now, without further ado...

[Story: 10]
The story revolves around a man named Toua Tokuchi, whose background is effectively unknown. All we know is that he excels in a form of gambling through baseball called "One Outs." This seems to be a theme in madhouse animes, such as Kaiji and Akagi, where the character's past remains a mystery and unknown throughout the story. Anyways, Toua is finally defeated in One read more
Aug 2, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
“Winning is about trampling over corpses… It's not something beautiful. It's brutal. If you want to make it to the top- Steel yourselves.”

I'll admit I may be one of the only sports fans who doesn't care for baseball. Knowing this, the mention of a baseball-centered anime “One Outs” did anything but grab my attention. However, through many friend recommendations and some quoted similarities to the suspenseful Kaiji series, I was ultimately drawn to it. Does it live up to its ranking inside the top 150 rated anime on all of MAL, or does it drown in its own hype?

The first thing I noticed about One read more
Aug 1, 2016
nightwave91 (All reviews)
"A low possibility doesn't mean its zero"
but the possibility of me having fun was too low.
This anime was painful to watch due to my poor knowledge of baseball and its obvious flaws, however i'll keep it short and simple :)

the story is nothing new.. A trash team trying to make to the top with the help of Tokuchi Toua a Bad ass genius manipulative gambler "Hisoka-ish" type of character who can read minds and body language.

the HUGE flaw in this anime was the character development, all of them made out to be absolute clueless idiots, both teammates and opponents
while read more
Jun 2, 2013
pleochroic (All reviews)
this isn't really a sports anime, despite using baseball as a vehicle, and it isn't really a gambling show either, despite the lead character Tokuchi being an inveterate gambler. it is primarily a sort of mystery -- i got the most out of trying to figure out what Tokuchi was thinking, and how he would foil his enemies.

the premise of the story is unique and interesting, and i enjoyed the progression of a lengthy set of episodes each showing Tokuchi being pitted against various nefarious villains. mind, i didn't enjoy the villains, they were all one-note characters, bad guys through and through, constantly read more
Aug 8, 2014
Philphy (All reviews)
*Note* This is my first review, so any feedback on how I can make it better/more useful to the reader is greatly appreciated :), thanks in advance.

At first glance, One Outs may seem to be based around baseball, but that's merely the medium used to deliver the psychological warfare that is entailed within this anime.

Story (9/10):
The story is revolved around a pitcher named Tokuchi Toua (who has had no previous 'official' experience as a professional baseball playe) and how he 'joins' the Lycoans to help them increase their ranking.

The story in itself is nothing special, but there are 2 aspects to this anime that read more
Jul 7, 2019
War_D (All reviews)
Who said gamble mixed with sport isn't good enough? Well, those who have opinion like that should consider to watch One Outs. As the synopsis above, One outs is mostly about gambling in baseball world. Yes, gamble and baseball. Although, the gamble in this term isn't about manipulating score or something like that, it's more one on one gamble, in this term it's Touma vs the club owner.

One outs really did its job in delivering entertaining pyshcological anime by mixing gamble who really has that pyschological things + baseball tense. As we know, sports anime aren't only about winning and losing, but also how they read more
May 30, 2015
_The_Alchemist_ (All reviews)
One Outs was an overall enjoyable series that was definitely worth the watch. It contained an interesting and rather original premise, and captured my attention from the early episodes. However, it was not without it's flaws.

Story 8/10:
The general concept of the show was great. It was original, enjoyable and entertaining. But there were some aspects of the writing that became somewhat repetitive about halfway through the series. It adopted a "Villain of the week" sort of approach, where each baseball team had some sort of unstoppable player that had to be taken out. There was also no sense of what happens outside of the read more
Feb 20, 2015
fuzokyu13 (All reviews)
One Outs is about a gambler named Tokuchi Toua who plays for the Lycaons baseball team with a different contract than other players. At first, I thought that this is just a typical sports anime wherein they train and strive to become champions but it turns out its not. Even if you are not a baseball fan, you will still enjoy watching this. You don't even need to understand baseball just to watch this. I'd say its more like gambling than baseball. I liked the way how he crushes his enemies under his feet so that they could not get back up. The characters are read more
Jan 8, 2017
84DaysWithout (All reviews)
All hail the almighty Tokuchi Toua: A man of many strengths and no flaws. For many this can be an appealing trait for a lead character, but for me it was an eventual cause for boredom in what was supposed to be a high stakes drama.

One Outs did begin on a strong note, introducing a gambling spin on a national pastime with the odds heavily stacked against an enigmatic character, but over time it became increasingly apparent that no one would challenge Tokuchi. He gets whatever he wants, when he wants, however he wants it, and never shows any shred of vulnerability. One Outs is read more
Apr 18, 2015
Webstercity (All reviews)
This anime was very interesting because it was thought out and produced to a really good standard. I tinker this is better compered to other sport animes because when I was watching each episode I didn't feel like I was watching the same thing because usually most sports anime are all the same like for example the prince of tennis.that was a good anime but they kept on repeating them selves. However this anime one outs was different because the plot kept changing , and things would climax to a final show down . When watching this anime , I felt like I was watching read more