Trigun: Badlands Rumble


Trigun - Badlands Rumble

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Trigun - Badlands Rumble
Synonyms: Trigun the Movie
Japanese: トライガン

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2010
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 1 hr. 30 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.951 (scored by 6467564,675 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #6132
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1396
Members: 119,758
Favorites: 218

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 7, 2013
jzmcdaisy2112 (All reviews)
I remember when I watched Trigun that I wanted more out of the show when it ended, and not just because the conclusion of the show sucked. The show might have had it's flaws of a half baked morality message with a style over substance, ADD riddled fun-fest, but the other 90 percent of the show has great characters, more than wonderful art, interesting world building and a killer soundtrack that have produced one of the most fun to watch, funny, and endearing anime shows I've seen yet. So when I heard that a movie based off of said show was in the works, read more
Jul 17, 2013
Squirrel_Fu (All reviews)
*****SPOILERS ALERT*****

While it was fun to see Vash and the gang again I was really disappointed by this. My major problem was the story-line. It was predictable.

1 - Vash rolls into town, destruction (best part)
2 - Introduce the sex appeal (she's useless throughout the movie, but she can beat up a couple nameless thugs pretty good)
3 - Introduce the Bad Guy, he has a strange philosophy where destruction and robbery fuel his massive ego
4 - Re-introduce the old mains, who rally to save everyone
5 - Vash rolls in to save everyone at the last second, because only he can.
6 - Sun glances off read more
Apr 15, 2011
shinnlorankira (All reviews)
I love the anime for Trigun, and I love the manga. Like LOTS of other people, I was beyond excited when I heard about a movie. It's one of my all time favorite Anime. I was only hoping for something as good as an average episode of Trigun though (so pretty amazing), but didn't even get a decent film.

The worst part was probably the story. It is very obvious, every little twist that is. And I don't just mean that Vash isn't dead. If that's a spoiler for you, you're just strangely not aware of the likelyhood of the main character of a large franchise read more
Jan 1, 2011
Scrypt (All reviews)
When you hear the name "Vash the Stampede" mentioned in an anime conversation, what is the first thing you think of? If it happens to be Trigun in the first 5 seconds, I can safely guarantee without you even reading this review that you will like this movie....

...and if I asked if you heard the name "Valentinez Alkalinella Xifax Sicidabohertz Gombigobilla Blue Stradivari Talentrent Pierre Andri Charton-Haymoss Ivanovici Baldeus George Doitzel Kaiser III", and you answered with a smile that it's from the same anime, I can personally guarantee that this movie may even become a personal favorite.

So your probably wondering where I'm getting at read more
Apr 6, 2010
craiger (All reviews)
The day was 4/2/2010, the location was Seattle WA at the World premiere of the Trigun movie, shown to a lucky audience at Sakura Con. The movie was Presented in person by Takahiro Yoshimatsu, and Saoshi Nishimura (the director). It was presented in Japanese only with no subtitles and I do not speaky the Japanesey. So I wasnt able to grasp the depth of the story.... :( but it was good!!!!!

I strongly believe that everyone could enjoy watching this movie. The reasons that make the Trigun series good is also what makes this movie good. If you like Trigun, you read more
May 29, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
Trigun Badlands Rumble is an okay movie but could've been better if the story was about Vash's journey to face Knives rather than the plot we got instead.

The mains story of Badlands Rumble is centered on a robber named Gasback which leads to bounty hunters to gun him down for the reward money, however the film's main characters aren't very dominant onscreen as it leans more towards Gasback & Amelia; a woman who has a grudge against Gasback. The main dilemma is Vash sparring Gasback's life leading his morality being put into question as the criminal managed to get away from judgment. While it brings read more
Mar 4, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Hop along the idiot train everybody, because our top fool (Vash) is here to save the day.

The incessant need for Vash to portray a juvenile imbecile waned on my nerves, as it did during the original series. But having the displeasure to sit through an entire 90 minute movie, without the ability to take breaks through episodes, was especially excruciating. In addition, the same tired, “I’m the hero; therefore, I do not kill,” motive that was annoyingly prevalent, indicated that the writers were making no effort(s) in testing the protagonists resolve. When Amelia, a fresh character introduced in the movie, pushed back read more
Dec 19, 2012
Huntsman (All reviews)
Trigun was a manga series that originally came out in 1996 in Japan that spawned a sequel or reboot in Trigun Maximum in 1998. Together they birthed Trigun the 26 episode anime series that became hugely successful in Japan and the United States. The late 1990's to the early 2000's was a great time for anime in the United States and in general with a boom in popularity with shows like Cowboy Bebop, Big O, Zoids: Chaotic Century, Outlaw Star, Mobile Suit Gundam: The 08th MS Team, Trigun, Blue Gender, Fullmetal Alchemist and others. I had always been an anime fan growing up with anime read more
Oct 17, 2010
obsoleteaccount (All reviews)
I was one of the lucky ones to catch the UK premiere of Badlands in Scotland's film festival cinema, among other animations, in Japanese with subtitles, but missed the first screening in Glascow where the producer himself introduced the movie to the audience.

heres the rundown.

- Awesome and refreshing to see polished Trigun art 12 years after the series.High quality animation deeply rich in detail, movement, and beautifully packed environments. The sound effects were flawless and the music, although not heard frequently, is great.

-The story sits comfortably as a filler in the series which to me was initially a downside since the read more
Jan 18, 2020
Watame (All reviews)
Trigun is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Yasuhiro Nightow (Gungrave, Kekkai Sensen). The manga was serialized in ‘Tokuma Shoten's Shounen Captain’ in 1995, with three collected volumes when the magazine was discontinued in 1997. The series continued in ‘Shounen Gahosha's Young King Ours’ magazine, under the title ‘Trigun Maximum’, where it remained until finishing in 2008. Both manga were adapted into an anime television series in 1998. Madhouse animated the TV series, which aired on TV Tokyo between April 1, 1998 and September 30, 1998, totaling 26 episodes. An animated film called ‘Trigun: Badlands Rumble’ was released in April 2010.

Vash the Stampede, read more
Feb 17, 2013
Kuandohan (All reviews)
I know I'm going to get a lot of slack for this. I've read people's reviews, and forum posts on this film, and I did not get the same feelings as most of them did with Trigun: Badlands Rumble.
This is coming from someone who loves the original series (Nostalgia), and is very interested in reading the manga (I own it).
I must say though, this is probably one of the best extra's you could get after watching the series. But I would not call this an amazing film. It's an amazing special for fans.

Lets talk about the story. It's a simple story, and I'm all for read more
Jan 3, 2011
Psycho_Sanji (All reviews)
Trigun Badlands Rumble is a very good movie, with some nice nostalgia for Trigun fans.

It's in the style of the first half of the series, Vash wandering around getting into trouble and helping people out. He runs into our cool heroine of the movie, Amelia, and she's quite likable. Of course, Meryl, Millie, and Wolfwood are in the house as well.

The story here is not black and white with good guys and bad guys, it's interesting in that the villains of this movie aren't all that evil, and overall the movie has a more laid-back feel than you might expect.

One cool aspect is how read more
Mar 28, 2015
DanteMustDie8907 (All reviews)
Trigun: Badlands Rumble - 6/10

Very good for a movie, feels like an episode of Trigun done in eyecandy graphics and extended to 1.5 hours.
Seriously, i loved it and i think it was perfect, truly enjoyable, just like the show itself.
The story is a little cliche and reminds me of the Cowboy Bebop: Knockin' On Heaven's Door movie but i think this one had a bit more to it, especially the difference in visuals and artwork just makes it all better
Sep 9, 2014
Nyren (All reviews)
Back in 1998, I was only 2 years old, and it wouldn't be another 3 years until I was introduced to anime. So I never got to watch the Trigun series, and to this day I have yet to watch it. Its been on my to do list, but I just haven't gotten around to it. However, now that I have Netflix, I watched one episode of the series, and then went straight to the 2010 movie. I know, a really strange decision, but I did it anyway. And honestly, I don't regret that. Not in the slightest.

Trigun: Badlands Rumble is one of those read more
Oct 19, 2015
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
Trigun: Badlands Rumble トライガン Review


Story (9/10) Great

The story in Trigun Badlands is yes predictable but sometimes you don't need some super deep story in every single story especially in an anime movie which is why I liked this movie a bit more than the Cowboy Bebop Movie. Like said the plot is simple and I which the actual anime had interesting story instead of what it decided to focus on. I think with Vash's personality it fits well in a simple stories like these even though in majority of the episodic episodes in the actual anime I found them uninteresting the movie is different and read more
Jan 3, 2015
LilGreasyKid (All reviews)
After almost 12 years, Yasuhiro Nightow's western sci-fi series Trigun blazes back onto the scene with a new adventure about bankrobbers, consequences and another dose of the Humanoid Typhoon. However, is this blast from the past able to keep up with the times? Let's see...

Story:
The underlining premise of Badlands Rumble is that is right in line with the first episodes of the original series: Wanderer Vash the Stampede brings chaos where ever he goes and even if he isn't the one leveling towns, he tends to cause his share of "peaceful destruction". The series' signature goofy comedy and hectic gunfights are back in full force, read more
Feb 13, 2015
TenshiGirl94 (All reviews)
I didn't like the anime at all. I only made myself watch it because everyone (i.e. american anime fans) wouldn't stop talking about. Suffice to say I would have to agree with Japan on this one: Trigun was nothing special. I will say that I liked this movie. The art was better and I enjoyed the plot, it was far better than the anime. Of course the people who liked the anime are giving this a 3 but whatever. If you didn't like the anime than give this movie a shot! You might be surprised, I know I was!
Nov 19, 2013
arcaneape (All reviews)
Note: While i have watched the parent anime series, this review does not assume viewers have previous familiarity with the Trigun anime series, and will base scores as if the movie is fully standalone. However, I will make note when familiarity does affects scores.

Trigun: Badlands Rumble (BLR henceforth) is an excellent space western that distills the best of the Trigun anime series into 120 minutes of exhilarating action and quirky comedy. Despite being intended for fans, even newcomers unfamiliar with Trigun will find the movie immensely entertaining, while fans will find the movie nearly perfect.

Story: 7 (for newcomers, 8 for fans)
+classic "Western" storyline
+lighthearted, fun tone
+tightly read more
Oct 31, 2011
Angry_Anime_Nerd (All reviews)
I admit that I am not much of a fan of Trigun. I really liked the show, but it's not one of my favs and some of the episodes were either boring or bad. Although, from what I've seen in the series, it's pretty decent. When I heard that there was a Trigun movie that already came out (but not in America) back when I was watching the show, I was skeptical because I have a friend who is a huge fan of Trigun and was ecstatic when he heard that there was a movie coming out. I was planning on watching with with my read more
Mar 3, 2014
ExKeys (All reviews)
To be honest, I expected more. This movie/OVA has it's flaws and strong points.
This is coming from a HARDCORE fan of the original TRIGUN Anime, btw.
I expected a psychological thriller like the Anime. They could have done more. Didn't a lot more Plants survive after the starting of the original Anime? Yes! The were contained in the Ark. There was nothing to grasp except a lacking NEW Plot. I wanted there to be more people like Vash and Knives. Something to drive chills down my spine, more comedy and humble beginnings, more heartbreak, something to have m enjoying it.

Flaws:
- Little to NO Character Development.
- New, read more