Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Animegataris


Alternative Titles

English: Anime-Gataris
Japanese: アニメガタリズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2017 to Dec 24, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: WAO World
Source: Original
Genres: Comedy, Parody, School
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.631 (scored by 15,298 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #50462
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1724
Members: 41,717
Favorites: 72

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 24, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
When I decided to watch Animegataris, the first thoughts in my head were if this show is actually about anime itself or something more. To be precise, Animegataris is essentially what I envision as a series about anime stories. It makes sense given the title by context and not to mention, this show seems to adapt such a formulaic story by expectations. However, the show turned out to be a bit more than what I had bargained for but in the end is quite a thrill ride.

To be honest, watching Animegataris felt like it was targeted to a specific demographic. At first, I wasn’t really read more
Nov 14, 2017
Liao (All reviews)
Preliminary
This was a fine story destroyed by fanservice. And I'm here writing this only cuz I'm f* tired of it.

Ok, I get it. Dudes were trying to show all the aspects of a japanese animation, but they felt on the most ridiculous points of cliché and "chuunibyou" syndrome ever...

First of all, If the anime is not gendered as ecchi, PLEASE DON'T PUT ECCHI SCENES ON IT! Jesus christ mary and joseph! I'm sick and tired of this shit everywhere. It's really frustrating trying to watch a quality anime and see it falling into the roughest possible traps. I felt like I was watching a read more
Dec 24, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
A couple of Re:Zero references and an idiotic “parody” story does not make a good anime. Parody doesn’t equal a lack of effort. I don’t think the creators of Animegataris understood this when making it. No matter how many times this anime calls itself a “parody” it doesn’t get any closer to being good. But what do I know? A stupid and cliche story in an anime? It must be comedy gold!

Other than simply using cliches at every chance it gets, the show in no way comments on cliches in anime.

Story: 2/10
Girl protagonist who is indifferent to anime joins the anime club at her high read more
Dec 24, 2017
syncrogazer (All reviews)
It makes sense that if anime characters in an anime start talking about anime in their anime club then something strange has to happen on a (meta?)-physical level within their own story. Animegataris is a school-club comedy anime that sets itself up on a self-aware journey that (kind of) explores why anime otaku appreciate anime so much. And the best way to do that is through its own medium (of course).

There is a lot of anime in this anime. They talk about anime, they make an anime, they become an 'anime.' if this anime is going to be known for anything as this season peters read more
Nov 6, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
Preliminary
The story is about a group of people restarting the anime club at their school. So this is another club anime, just another club anime. it does nothing to set it apart from the others. It's the same plotline and tropes you have seen in other club anime from the cosplay to the conventions. It doesn't do these tropes even better or worse than other shows it is just that if you have seen one of these you've seen most of them.

The art isn't anything special generic cute characters and animation. The mascot is different at least (as much as it can be.) but that's read more
Dec 24, 2017
Anime99SenpaiT (All reviews)
This anime was great! I'm kind of a novice to anime, but I don't many who love anime. It kind of related to me.
It is a parody anime with a lot of anime references and anime jokes. I liked it because it was fun trying to figure out the references.
I noticed a few like Ru:Zero, Anosuba, Autumn Wars, PreFae, and I think Guden Daran.
The story is very slice of life but the last 2 episodes were just crazy.
Character ideas were really creative and thought into.
The art looked pretty amazing as well.
It was overall an amazing anime and I rate it 8/10!
Feb 1, 2018
Lyfa (All reviews)
Animegataris is an unique anime, that was different from other anime. The first thing that you'll notice is the title, this anime has the word "anime" in it's title as well. Animegataris means "Anime Talking". From this title you can already indicate that this anime is an anime that talks about anime. This is exactly what is is as well. The story is set in an animeclub in a highschool, this club will do all kind of anime related activities like: watching anime, cosplaying, visiting conventions etc. Most of us animefans will totally love the idea of making an anime about being an animefan and read more
Dec 24, 2017
EvanLoh (All reviews)
<SHORT REVIEW>

If this anime doesn't want to be serious itself, then why the heck should I be serious with it? I LOLed so hard at the last 3 episodes. So fuckin' hilarious! DON'T TREAT THIS ANIME SERIOUSLY! DON'T! ESPECIALLY NEAR THE END! IT'S JUST MAKING FUN OF ITSELF.

I rated this an 8/10. It was a fun and enjoyable ride. Never have I thought this anime could give me so much enjoyment. I highly recommend this to those who want REFERENCES, PARODY and an anime that CONSTANTLY MAKE FUN OF ITSELF. At first you can relate to the characters easily, but near the end please just read more
Dec 24, 2017
Tomm01p (All reviews)
Some shows end up being something different that what you might have expected. Coming into Animegataris, I was expecting some classic school club setup with the exception of the club being about anime. That was the case maybe the first couple of episodes, but the show itself recognized that this isn't going to be enough and just decided to put up a show. What show, you might ask. Well, as for startes, Animegataris turned out to be propably the most ridiculous anime I've had the pleasure of seeing. And boy did I like it.

The original setup of the show centers around a girl named Minoa, read more
Feb 20, 2018
blaice (All reviews)
If I could say anything that seems to sum up my final thoughts, it is merely this—full of itself. The anime is like a stuck up piece of trash that sees itself as something greater than it is. All this show is, is one shitty attempted plot-twist after another. They even throw in a little pathetic attempt at "love?" and draw it out for a couple episodes, for no real reason. That also sums up this show to a tee—no reasoning. Everything that happens in this show is merely a convoluted fucking mess and the last two or three episodes read more
Dec 29, 2017
overDere (All reviews)
Animegataris. It is an anime about otakus, and it is anime FOR otakus. Its biggest appeal is being full of meta references from otaku culture and other anime or genres. You'll see a lot of references that otakus practice like ship wars, or the famous three episode rule.

...The anime starts as that. And I loved it when it was only simply that. The anime is full of references from other anime that are just fun to spot, like famous scenes, quotes or characters. Often it's just enjoyable to see a mention of Ru:Zero, Anosuba, or Guden Daran.

But as the episode numbers reaches the end, it read more
Dec 24, 2017
ppyporpeem (All reviews)
Animegataris is time capsule anime of our generation similar to that of genshiken or the even older otaku no video.

What do I mean by a Time capsule anime?

Basically it is an anime that reference a multitude of other anime while making fun of meta elements of the anime fandom/production.


An anime about anime and otakus, for otakus.

It is something akin to a recap of everything we have come to love or hate over the past years, reflecting the anime fandom's many cultures.

On the basis of what this anime is supposed to be, they may have earned a very high 8/10 to a 9/10 as they read more
Dec 21, 2017
jsmoothz (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is surprisingly a really good anime that I would say I enjoyed way more than I was expecting to. The story is out there and characters are not exactly the shows main focus, the sound isn't anything special (i will say that i really like the opening song personally though) and the art is as usual with most anime, pretty good which is likely why this show has received such a poor rating. However I will say that I really enjoyed the anime, especially the later episodes.

Story: circumstances lead to formation of anime club by mc and a bunch of otaku, student council is read more
Feb 13, 2018
Leptonyx (All reviews)
I'll be perfectly honest and that this anime probably doesn't deserve such a high score, I pretty much dropped it after 8 episodes however seeing I was so close to the end I decided to finish it and hell is it a fun ride.

Story 3/10: Holy crap the story is so dumb, but i think I like the satire and stupidity the creators put into it. Most episodes is basically just a guide on how to be an otaku and honestly that's just plain annoying but some episodes I relatively liked 5, 6 in which i get some insight into Otaku culture. The student council read more
Dec 29, 2017
thetsundereguy (All reviews)
Well I didn't have high hopes for this anime but I finish this anime laughing during every minute of it.

This anime made a lot of jokes and as a whole is a parody to the anime industry and it's fans on how weird it can get, which made me laugh a lot during my time seeing it. Its a weird anime but its pretty funny and the characters are pretty enjoyable and made fun of a lot of anime stereotypes. The best I can say for the art and sound for this anime is that is decent but, looking pass that, you can find read more
Dec 27, 2017
abhiss (All reviews)
I thought this was a pretty good show, so I wanted to go ahead and add a review providing some positive notes and defense of the series. I think it deserves some more attention, and hopefully some of what I mention will help some people who are on the fence about watching it after seeing it's current rating on this site. I'll remain vague about some specific aspects, but the review won't be entirely spoiler free.

I started watching this show because I am a sucker for series that center around the mediums I like, gaming and Anime. If a show is about characters doing something read more
Dec 26, 2017
imSOunique (All reviews)
So how to describe this anime in one line...
If you dropped it in the first couple of episodes, then YOU DEFINATELY HAVE TO WATCH IT.

When the show started, after watching the first episode I dropped it right away, since this 'otakus are going around doing random otaku stuff' is definately not my cup of a tea. Recently, since I had way too much free time, I randomly checked out episode 12, and boy, I was wrong. After a couple of minutes I decided to give the anime a second chance.

To be fair the anime does a really good job of disguising itself as "your cringefest read more
Dec 15, 2017
MarketplaceFox (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you enjoy catching references to other anime within anime, this show has got you more than covered. If you don't really care about doing that, this show really doesn't give much of anything to you, except some funny scenes and random fanservice.

Obviously, it's written for people who are already anime otaku, about a group of anime otaku. At first, I thought it was kind of fun, and the characters were relatable and somewhat entertaining. But the farther I watched, the more ridiculous they got, showing the more extreme kinds of otaku; sort of the kind of people you would not want to actually talk read more
Apr 1, 2018
Superyio123 (All reviews)
Story-5

The storyline progressed quite smoothly throughout the anime. The episodes leading up to the climax (last 2-3 episodes) progressed at a good pace, however, the last 3 episodes felt rushed, making it a bit difficult to follow along with the plot and may end up confusing you. I actually had to backtrack and rewind a few parts to fully understand and register what happened. Everything is pretty predictable until you hit episode 10 when things get a bit too crazy and out of hand; trust me, there will be moments when you question the sanity of the people who produced Animegataris. However, I personally enjoyed read more
Jan 22, 2018
Tristel (All reviews)
I don't have much to say about the show, other than it tried to do more than it should. It started out as a cute show about a girl discovering the world of anime fandom, more or less a simple slice of life. This was fine. As a long time anime fan, it was nice to have a simple show about people enjoying the medium and exploring its various aspects. Of course there was the drama with the school council, but that wasn't too bad. Then the show decidedly to suddenly breach some alternate reality stuff and just got really weird as the real world read more