Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Versailles no Bara


Alternative Titles

English: The Rose of Versailles
Synonyms: Berusaiyu no Bara
Japanese: ベルサイユのばら

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 40
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 10, 1979 to Sep 3, 1980
Premiered: Fall 1979
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 19:00 (JST)
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.371 (scored by 16,279 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1722
Members: 52,774
Favorites: 1,935

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 25, 2007
mistress_reebi (All reviews)
Since when did history become interesting? Lady Oscar (The Rose of Versailles) may seem like it came from the French Revolution judging by the animation style, but the storyline is extremely well written. There is an excellent cast of characters each with their own personality. Lady Oscar is a classic and should be viewed by every anime fan, especially those who are into shojo.It's similar to the Hollywood movie, "Marie-Antoinette," however, it shows the events going on inside and outside of Versailles with a plot that is more enjoyable. (It isn't an anime showing the day and the life of Marie-Antoinette partying. Also, her personality read more
Feb 25, 2010
RobdeFR (All reviews)
[This review is spoiler free]

I finished Versailles No Bara. I am perplexed by this late experience of mine and I’m angry at myself, angry because I could have watched this one sooner, after all, I have it on my “plan to watch list” since the time Live-Evil were still subbing it, that makes it 4 or 5 years, a lot of time. Why haven’t I watched this title sooner? Oh well, better late than never.

At the beginning I was feeling a little hesitant to start watching Versailles No Bara/Rose Of Versailles because I kept hearing people comparing it to Revolutionary Girl Utena. I didn’t dislike read more
Oct 18, 2014
Lydiia (All reviews)
Wow, what a story. I can't believe I haven't watched this anime until now. No, I can't believe what I just watched. I'd always thought that the forbidden love romance between Romeo and Juliet was tragic... I'd always thought that Shingeki no Kyojin was epic. I'd always thought that stories like Clannad and AnoHana were masterpieces. But wow, Rose of Versailles puts all of these shows to shame. Who knew that an anime, which some people (idiots) call "cartoons", could portray such a realistic, romantic, tragic, and captivating historical story about the events leading up to the french revolution - 1700s. Rose of Versailles read more
Feb 15, 2016
Fleure (All reviews)
It’s the eve of the 18th century and France is flailing between hubris and chaos.

The air is stale in Paris; an odious despair engulfs the streets as the common man struggles to eat. The color of the Seine slowly begins to fade. Yet, the scarlet-stained roses of Versailles continue to bloom with such fervor, such elegance, and such nobility. Surrounded by decadence in its purest form, these roses thrive; unaffected and ignorant of the tumultuous tempest that brews, seeping insidiously into the soils of the earth.

One rose, the noblest of them all, with a chivalrous conviction breaks off - known better in the read more
Dec 13, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
The Rose of Versailles is an old school anime. It aired from 1979-1980 and was based off of a manga from the early 70s. It was brought to us by TMS, the same studio behind the mediocre Magic Knight Rayearth, the excellent Glass no Kamen & the decent enough Kousetsu Hyaku Monogatari. Is this one a classic worth revisiting? Let's find out.

Story:

In the years leading up to the French revolution, a young woman works as the Captain of the Royal guards, as she was raised like a boy. This is our heroine, Oscar François de Jarjeyes. Can she navigate through the turbulent times?

Okay, I'm read more
May 30, 2009
MagEarwhig (All reviews)
Story
It’s based on the French Revolution, though that doesn’t mean the story is completely unoriginal, the author added few original characters like Oscar Francois de Jarjayes, who happens to be the main character. A bulk of the first half of story focuses on Marie Antoinette and certain nobles trying to take advantage of her or trying to oppose her due to her being young and impressionable. While the second half focused on planting the seeds of the historic Revolution with the Royal family sort of fading in the background in favour of Oscar, Andre and other characters that where somehow involved in the upcoming revolution.

The read more
Jan 15, 2015
vegetablespirit (All reviews)
It's without hesitation that I'd consider Rose of Versailles to be the definitive masterpiece of the shoujo genre. Clearly defined, ambitious, and relentless, it accurately dramatizes the period of instability leading up and into the French Revolution, all the while developing memorable and unique characters. Thanks to this grace, it has had an influence on anime and manga to this day.

Our main character, Oscar François, is one of a strange background. Born a woman, raised a man, the series chronicles her life as she vows to relentlessly protect Marie Antoinette. She's among the most well-portrayed female protagonists in the medium, never faltering to the read more
Apr 2, 2010
ohtori_akio (All reviews)
Before you read this I will ask of you to not judge it solely on the high ratings. I feel like I have explained the reasons for giving them quite well. Please in your rating, let me know the way to improve on it and I will promptly do so. The high animation rating is based on what could be accomplished at the time the anime was made as I realise that it would be sub-standard if it were made nowadays.

This anime is one of my favourite and I have seen many in 15 years but only a couple have managed to come close in read more
Jun 16, 2015
BlerdGirl (All reviews)
If you combined certain elements of Revolutionary Girl Utena with the novel Les Miserables by Victor Hugo, you'd get Rose of Versailles.

One of the best aspects of the anime is the plot, which revolves around the years leading up to the French Resolution. Not only is the historical aspect of it based on real events (with some creative liberties taken), but also real people such as General Francois de Jarjayes (who inspired the main lead character Lady Oscar).

Another great aspect of the plot is that discusses classism (discrimination btw. classes), gender roles, power struggles, and justice in a way that entertains the viewer, pulls read more
Sep 21, 2011
kajia (All reviews)
As a general rule, I'm not into shoujos - joseis yes, but not shoujos. "Rose of Versailles" is a shoujo.

And it's also one of my favourite anime.

"Rose of Versaille" is an old fashioned telling of an old story. The oldness is all too obvious in its painfully outdated presentation (such as the overuse of panning, static frames), the agonizing lack of finesse (such as the over the top and often random dramatisation), and the poor quality sound production. And yet, right from the start, I could sense potential underneath its crappy exterior.

I was not disappointed. It took me a few episodes to get used read more
Jul 14, 2015
FullmetalCowboy (All reviews)
Critic’s Log – July 14, 2015. Review #95: The Rose of Versailles



When it comes to World History, The French Revolution was always a fascinating subject to me. There happens to be one anime that is a portrayal of French History and even the French Revolution, even if the whole thing is a build-up to the French Revolution. The anime I am referring to is… THE ROSE OF VERSAILLES



Oscar Francois de Jarjayes was raised as if she was a boy, she would later command the palace guards at Versailles in the years before the French Revolution. Her beauty as well as her strong noble spirit read more
Jul 3, 2010
Seabury (All reviews)
70’s. Somehow, the ‘70’s-ness made this show better. The ridiculous sound effects crack me up every time, and that's good because otherwise the show might just be too heavy. The animation is at times downright shabby by our standards, however what do you expect, some three decades later? To enjoy this show, you have to accept that it has a lot of faults, and that despite that it entertains quite strongly.

At times I felt like this show was too dramatic, it felt a bit silly and predictable. Many times, I felt that I wasn't in the mood to watch another episode, but I put read more
Sep 4, 2016
Gundroog (All reviews)
Rose of Versailles is a typical shoujo romance set not long before and during French Revolution. It executes both badly. There are gonna be spoilers here.

One of the big problems with this show is presentation, large part of the french revolution revolves around royalty and nobility treating common people like animals and disregarding their rights or wishes despite them making up majority of the population. However in RoV for some reason a lot of time is spent showing her going to balls, spending money, gambling and generally acting deplorably but they way it's shown it's almost as if you're suppose to empathize with her and read more
Apr 8, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)
Rose of Versailles review(it's biased af)

Bara wa bara wa.......Oscar!

Story 10/10
The story is about the France revolution from the 18th century and the events that lead to that revolution. Rose of Versailles depicts the fateful meeting of Marie Antoinette and Oscar, which is bound to influence history and change the life of the people facing the French Revolution as the clock ticks toward the end of the French royalty.
The story has a slow pace in the begining but thats just a preparation for the big play that will occur later. We are introduced to the classic atmosphere of France 18th century, the stuning peisage carefully evidentiated read more
Jun 12, 2016
canciochi (All reviews)
ROSE OF VERSAILLES (Anime TV Series)

After I completed Rose of Versailles, I was trapped in a limbo and wished to stay there.

This 40-episode anime is a good fictionalised version of French history, revolution and of the iconic but ill-fated Queen Marie Antoinette's life. For someone studying this subject, this is helpful in remembering certain points. Note that main characters Oscar Francois de Jarjayes—a girl her father raised as a man— and André Grandier are among the other fictional characters. Oscar and Andre, the very reason why I wanted time to stop.

I like how Riyoko Ikeda masterfully put together the voices of the people and of read more
May 2, 2013
dublincore (All reviews)
Age hasn't necessarily treated it well, but Rose of Versailles remains a compelling and gripping viewing experience for even modern, jaded audiences, as long as they enter into it equipped with a bit of patience, a fondness or tolerance for heavy-handed sentimentality, and open-mindedness with regards to their entertainment.

Rose of Versailles tells the story (with a few deviations) of four people, living in the years leading up to the French Revolution. Two of them, Marie Antoinette and Hans Axel von Fersen, are fictionalized but nonetheless fairly 'real' portrayals of their historical counterparts. The other two, Oscar Francois de Jarjeyes and Andre Grandier, are (almost) wholly read more
Jul 26, 2014
RandomChampion (All reviews)
-Spoiler Free Review-

Rose of Versailles is a historical drama that was made in the 70's. That's right - the 70s with its distinct shoujo character designs, dated animation techniques, and some music with hints of disco. In an age flooded with 1080p productions employing the use of advanced computer animation, this anime's age might be a turn-off for those looking for the latest eye candy. However, this anime excels in the holy trinity of visual narrative; that is, characters, plot, and direction. Anybody who values these aspects should not miss this anime, as they lead the way to a powerful experience rarely read more
Jul 14, 2012
Solemnmind (All reviews)
The everlasting dilemma when you choose a historical setting for your story; is it more beneficial to aim for historical accuracy or inaccuracy? Pretentious historians would most likely point at "accuracy" and label it obvious while I personally think that a tone of creative liberty allows the narrative to soar into more admirable levels of grandeur. Rose of Versailles is not only famous for being among the first titles ever produced in the Shoujo genre and its strong female lead but also for the fact that it takes place before, during and after the French revolution using non-fictional characters like Marie Antoinette and Maximilien Robespierre read more
Apr 29, 2015
PowerUpOrDie (All reviews)
They make magnificent cheese in France, and Japan can make a magnificently cheesy anime set in France. It's best to approach 'Rose of Versailles' the same way one would approach a Rafael Sabatini novel or the Errol Flynn 'Robin Hood' movie from the 1930's, as swashbuckling adventures, melodramatic romances, and cackling villains abound (oh, and somebody spilled a truckload of shojo glitter). This legendary anime is a grand old time.

'Rose of Versailles' is licensed by Nozomi Entertainment and can be legally streamed on Crunchyroll.

-Story-

Melodrama done right. I know I've lambasted other series for being melodramatic, but those cases involved situations where there were inexplicable tone read more
Feb 27, 2017
Hanakotaba (All reviews)
Since when a shoujo anime become so fascinating and remarkable?!

The Rose of Versailles or Versailles no Bara in Japanese is an unbelievably a gift to be given. Such an intriguing premise that executes itself tremendously well with the shoujo genre as a whole. Beforehand, many non-shoujo fans including myself have critcised and generalized shoujo as overly dramatic, overly romantic, and often predictable because how many shoujo anime/manga execute their stories. The Rose of Versailles is....... different and unique. At anyone's perspective, it is like your typical shoujo anime but once you've watch the anime in it's entirety.... You're definitely in for a treat.

The read more