Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Battery


Alternative Titles

Japanese: バッテリー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 15, 2016 to Sep 23, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: Zero-G
Source: Novel
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, SportsSports, DramaDrama
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.761 (scored by 1482214,822 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #91922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2174
Members: 41,248
Favorites: 43

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2016
Genjutsuhh (All reviews)
Every so often comes along an Anime within the sports genre which gives us more fun games to explore and exciting moments to look forward to, but how often do we get a sports Anime that goes slightly beyond the standard. One that attempts to push the envelope, one that tries to introduce a thought provoking idea, all the while presenting its sport of choice by its side and using it as an enhancement to its overall storytelling. Battery… Was ‘supposed’ to be one of those shows.


Story:

One thing that I strongly feel a need of getting out before anything else is that this may or read more
Sep 23, 2016
thelectricow (All reviews)
TL;DR at the end

~Contains Spoilers~

Baseball is a great sport. It's the kind of sport that can be modified to fit the capabilities of whatever type of player is playing, something humans of all shapes and sizes can enjoy. However, when comparing it to other sports on TV, in most cases, the action is severely lacking. Summer 2016's 'Battery' takes boring to a whole new level.
________________________________________
STORY: 3/10

Our protagonist, a cocky, arrogant brat who was already good at baseball before the show begins moves into a new town and joins the baseball team. He's a dick to everyone there, even his partner and brother. People don't read more
Sep 26, 2016
Errour (All reviews)
(To make this short, the opening is the only thing that saved this show).

At first, I thought Battery would be another sport anime, following the same path as, almost, every sport story out there, but, all in all, you would still enjoy it.

I was wrong.

While it's nice seeing something different, and exploring a different side of the sport genre, it doesn't mean that it would be a masterpiece, that just because it's different and refreshing it would automatically mean that it will be amazing.

Battery wanted to add all these drama to middle schooler baseball players, it wanted to make it complex: not just kids playing read more
Sep 23, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Baseball seems to be one of those sports where you either enjoy it like the most exciting thing in the world or finds it as boring as watching paint dry. I’ll be honest here, Battery can give off a similar feel. And it’s not just about what the show is but rather what the storytelling can really tell about itself.

First of all, the show focuses on a guy named Takumi Harada. He’s a 6th grader with a prestigious talent in pitching and had to transfer to a new school in the countryside because of his brother’s sickness. No problem right? In fact, Takumi sees this read more
Oct 11, 2016
DJNOSTYLE (All reviews)
After air conditioning and how it feels to take my socks off after a long day of work, anime and baseball (In no particular order) are my two favorite things in the entire world. That being said, when I first caught wind of Battery (No, that isn't a pitch-velocity pun), I was ecstatic. The fact that a baseball anime that emphasized emotion and relationships instead of action and energy was going to come to life was like a dream come true for me. However, after completing Battery, I think it's safe to say that it wasn't a baseball anime at all. Instead, it's a melodramatic, read more
May 5, 2018
yuzumatcha (All reviews)
Being a silent user on mal who just updates my list, I am writing my first review to give this anime some justice. I doubt people will read it (due to its low popularity and the already present bad reviews here) but hey it's worth a shot.

First of all, I believe one’s expectations is the most important thing before consuming any medium. As many reviewers here have already said, do not expect it to be a typical baseball anime. Go watch Diamond no Ace or One Outs, the latter you are into the psychological aspect.

In essence, Battery is a character-focused driven drama. However, I believe read more
Oct 8, 2016
Gridfire (All reviews)
Do you remember anything about your teenage years? Surely it was a bleak age where nothing exciting happened, everyone you knew was dull and thick as two short planks, and mood swings caused you to fall out with everyone over trifling matters. Wait, hang on a minute. You're telling me you actually enjoyed school and had some good friends? You're telling me that you had hobbies and enjoyed your free time? That puberty wasn't actually all that bad?

Battery, airing on the mainstream-oriented Noitamina block, advertises itself as a thoughtful reflection on youth and adolescence, but in reality it's the most mindless slice-of-life ever conceived. Takumi, read more
Oct 2, 2016
Nachan20 (All reviews)
I've been waiting for Battery to come out for a long time, and when it started I was really excited, but as it kept going I was so disappointed i wanted to give it a score lower than 1. Battery was the most boring sports anime, when you press play in 2 minutes it will literally make you avert your eyes from screen, take your phone in your hands and do everything else but watch the actual thing.

The main character is annoying shitty brat who is full of himself and thinks no one is better than him. He has bad attitude towards his read more
Feb 26, 2018
KoheleT (All reviews)
I want to tell that I was shocked when I came to see the page of the anime in MAL and saw the score 5.79 in the overall.

At first I wanted to give this anime the rate 9 but in the review when I started to link all the details in the anime I got the score 6 but after all I really didn't thought that the anime will be that bad for another users.

Also, for me its took a while to finish this anime and its just 11 episodes (shame on me), I started to watch and stopped at the 7th episode and then read more
Jan 25, 2018
CanAKATheIndigo (All reviews)
Disclaimer: This review might contain spoilers on the anime "Battery". Please excuse me if I make a mistake or you don't understand a part, as English is not my first language. Thank you.

Now that January is about to end, I have decided to settle debts. Books, series and comics that I have yet to review and I have not done for one reason or another. The reason, in the case of Battery, is that it became one of my biggest disappointments of 2016 as anime.

And it started in an intriguing way and in those first impressions I expressed my good feelings. Which were lost in read more
Jan 17, 2019
CandyPool (All reviews)
This anime is slice of life, not only focus on sport. The plot is good but all 11 episodes only feels like the begining of a story. The character is half good and half bad, protagonist took one of the worst ways to go through puberty: selfish, self-centered, never listen, never learn, say mean things 99% of the time, very cold and didn't consider anything, etc. Luckily all he thinks about is baseball, and there are many good people around him. What I like is the supporting characters, together with the unlikable protagonist, were able to create a 'harmony'.

Protagonist is bad, but other charcaters are read more
Jan 7, 2019
Lord_Valzin (All reviews)
If you liked Ace of diamond, big windup and major, you will not enjoy this.
The two brothers have talent, but the older one has a bit more if I remember correctly.
The story is about the big brother not little one really. The big brother is the hot shot at a school, where the team isn't that good like most anime where they have to get the team all big and all.
Like stark said it's more character drama not the tournament. This anime does have something which could and does happen in real life. The main character got "tortured" beat up in the storage room (where read more
Sep 23, 2016
HT_Re (All reviews)
This is my first review but I'll try my best \o/

Summary:

This anime is not about baseball, is about the development of the kids through sport.

Characters: 5/10

Main Character(Takumi Harada) - He is our typical main sport character, awesome abilities, prodigy etc... But his personality sucks I don't get it why people get to like him, he bad mouth them, he doesn't even respect his mother or apologieses to anyone.

Main Character(Go) - Basically, he thinks Takumi is an awesome pitcher and decides to be his catcher and get with him to the Koshien, has a lot of self esteem issues buf kind of overcome them, I read more
Sep 28, 2016
haylE15 (All reviews)
Story (6/10)

The story follow the rules of a sport anime : a meeting (happen half of the time at least), a MC wanting to be the strongest, bullying, fight between MCs (one being less good than the other or at least thinking so), a reconciliation, rivals and everything. I don't think this a spoil because it really is "cliché" and you expect it.

With only 11 episodes, everything is rushed and you can't really appreciate the story. There is no real good thing to allow this anime to stand above the others. Every other sport anime is better at being a sport anime than this one read more
Aug 26, 2019
Choke_Me_Zaddy (All reviews)
I love Sports Anime, now I don’t like participating in many sports but I enjoy watching anime made for them. Now it’s not very often I go around say that I openly dislike a sports anime, because of the ones that I actually have watched, I’ve heavily enjoyed most of them. So despite having a rather low score on MAL, I went in with an open mind, watching Battery. So after sitting through 11 episodes of it, I can completely understand why the score is 5.76 on MAL.

This was bad. Like pretty bad. There isn’t much of a positive to this anime, it’s not read more
Aug 14, 2019
floppywave (All reviews)
I recently decided to watch this anime again. It struck me when I first watched it, mostly for its particular pace and the fact it's not about players playing baseball. Indeed, this anime revolves around kids and how baseball affects them or, more accurately, their feelings in regards to it.

Battery is a series of novels written around 90's and 00' by Atsuko Asano. Therefore the anime is just "advertising" to promote the novels. I think it's important to point this out because the anime has been clearly cut. Not only in the second half we just see unresolved drama. We don't get to see a read more
Nov 16, 2017
leezodne (All reviews)
Battery - Middleschool Baseball has never seen this kind of drama.

A part of the story instantly made be curious just by reading the synopsis, though the pilot episode seemed to be a bit shaky. It was fine because we will see the characters' development as the story progresses, but it fell midway. I had hoped for it to be a sport anime with a dramatic plot. Turns out it was just drama with a hint of baseball. It seemed to me that it was 85% drama and 15% baseball. I could have lived with it, but the plot and conflict were just looped over and read more
Dec 1, 2016
punchfalcon004 (All reviews)
This anime has the worst ending I ever seen. The ending of the anime was the biggest betrayal of the season. The main character "Takumi" is a big asshole. This ins't your every day shounen asshole like "Kaiba". No this is the type of asshole that is like a real asshole in real life. That not even the worst asshole. There is another character later in the anime that is worst than him. The opening and ending themes are okay. That the only thing I can say that is good about the anime. The story is bad. It should not take 11 episodes. It read more