Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Battery


Alternative Titles

Japanese: バッテリー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 15, 2016 to Sep 23, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Zero-G
Source: Novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.821 (scored by 11,585 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #73032
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1732
Members: 34,119
Favorites: 28

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2016
Genjutsuhh (All reviews)
Every so often comes along an Anime within the sports genre which gives us more fun games to explore and exciting moments to look forward to, but how often do we get a sports Anime that goes slightly beyond the standard. One that attempts to push the envelope, one that tries to introduce a thought provoking idea, all the while presenting its sport of choice by its side and using it as an enhancement to its overall storytelling. Battery… Was ‘supposed’ to be one of those shows.


Story:

One thing that I strongly feel a need of getting out before anything else is that this may or read more
Sep 23, 2016
thelectricow (All reviews)
TL;DR at the end

~Contains Spoilers~

Baseball is a great sport. It's the kind of sport that can be modified to fit the capabilities of whatever type of player is playing, something humans of all shapes and sizes can enjoy. However, when comparing it to other sports on TV, in most cases, the action is severely lacking. Summer 2016's 'Battery' takes boring to a whole new level.
________________________________________
STORY: 3/10

Our protagonist, a cocky, arrogant brat who was already good at baseball before the show begins moves into a new town and joins the baseball team. He's a dick to everyone there, even his partner and brother. People don't read more
Sep 26, 2016
Errour (All reviews)
(To make this short, the opening is the only thing that saved this show).

At first, I thought Battery would be another sport anime, following the same path as, almost, every sport story out there, but, all in all, you would still enjoy it.

I was wrong.

While it's nice seeing something different, and exploring a different side of the sport genre, it doesn't mean that it would be a masterpiece, that just because it's different and refreshing it would automatically mean that it will be amazing.

Battery wanted to add all these drama to middle schooler baseball players, it wanted to make it complex: not just kids playing read more
Sep 23, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Baseball seems to be one of those sports where you either enjoy it like the most exciting thing in the world or finds it as boring as watching paint dry. I’ll be honest here, Battery can give off a similar feel. And it’s not just about what the show is but rather what the storytelling can really tell about itself.

First of all, the show focuses on a guy named Takumi Harada. He’s a 6th grader with a prestigious talent in pitching and had to transfer to a new school in the countryside because of his brother’s sickness. No problem right? In fact, Takumi sees this read more
Oct 11, 2016
DJNOSTYLE (All reviews)
After air conditioning and how it feels to take my socks off after a long day of work, anime and baseball (In no particular order) are my two favorite things in the entire world. That being said, when I first caught wind of Battery (No, that isn't a pitch-velocity pun), I was ecstatic. The fact that a baseball anime that emphasized emotion and relationships instead of action and energy was going to come to life was like a dream come true for me. However, after completing Battery, I think it's safe to say that it wasn't a baseball anime at all. Instead, it's a melodramatic, read more
Oct 8, 2016
Gridfire (All reviews)
Do you remember anything about your teenage years? Surely it was a bleak age where nothing exciting happened, everyone you knew was dull and thick as two short planks, and mood swings caused you to fall out with everyone over trifling matters. Wait, hang on a minute. You're telling me you actually enjoyed school and had some good friends? You're telling me that you had hobbies and enjoyed your free time? That puberty wasn't actually all that bad?

Battery, airing on the mainstream-oriented Noitamina block, advertises itself as a thoughtful reflection on youth and adolescence, but in reality it's the most mindless slice-of-life ever conceived. Takumi, read more
Oct 2, 2016
Nachan20 (All reviews)
I've been waiting for Battery to come out for a long time, and when it started I was really excited, but as it kept going I was so disappointed i wanted to give it a score lower than 1. Battery was the most boring sports anime, when you press play in 2 minutes it will literally make you avert your eyes from screen, take your phone in your hands and do everything else but watch the actual thing.

The main character is annoying shitty brat who is full of himself and thinks no one is better than him. He has bad attitude towards his read more
Sep 23, 2016
HT_Re (All reviews)
This is my first review but I'll try my best \o/

Summary:

This anime is not about baseball, is about the development of the kids through sport.

Characters: 5/10

Main Character(Takumi Harada) - He is our typical main sport character, awesome abilities, prodigy etc... But his personality sucks I don't get it why people get to like him, he bad mouth them, he doesn't even respect his mother or apologieses to anyone.

Main Character(Go) - Basically, he thinks Takumi is an awesome pitcher and decides to be his catcher and get with him to the Koshien, has a lot of self esteem issues buf kind of overcome them, I read more
Sep 28, 2016
haylE15 (All reviews)
Story (6/10)

The story follow the rules of a sport anime : a meeting (happen half of the time at least), a MC wanting to be the strongest, bullying, fight between MCs (one being less good than the other or at least thinking so), a reconciliation, rivals and everything. I don't think this a spoil because it really is "cliché" and you expect it.

With only 11 episodes, everything is rushed and you can't really appreciate the story. There is no real good thing to allow this anime to stand above the others. Every other sport anime is better at being a sport anime than this one read more
Dec 1, 2016
punchfalcon004 (All reviews)
This anime has the worst ending I ever seen. The ending of the anime was the biggest betrayal of the season. The main character "Takumi" is a big asshole. This ins't your every day shounen asshole like "Kaiba". No this is the type of asshole that is like a real asshole in real life. That not even the worst asshole. There is another character later in the anime that is worst than him. The opening and ending themes are okay. That the only thing I can say that is good about the anime. The story is bad. It should not take 11 episodes. It read more