Seikaisuru Kado


KADO: The Right Answer

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: KADO: The Right Answer
Japanese: 正解するカド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2017 to Jun 30, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Original
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.841 (scored by 3322333,223 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #42422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1416
Members: 91,260
Favorites: 172
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 30, 2017
Arachnophobic (All reviews)
No spoilers, except just one: this show is a spectacular train-wreck. If you like good science fiction, beware: this show begins extremely well but manages to destroy everything it built up and trample on its viewer's expectations in every way imaginable in its final episodes.

After hearing that this was an anime that had heavy parallels to Arrival, and watching the first five episodes, the sci-fi buff in me was ecstatic. Here was a mature, well-written and absolutely gorgeous looking and sounding sci-fi anime that was headed in a direction that didn't seem hackneyed. It was thought-provoking and sparked a lot of discussion among the viewership. read more
Jun 30, 2017
addictionado (All reviews)
Story: 3
Seikaisuru Kado begins with an intriguing premise: An alien arrives on Earth bearing gifts to advance humanity. To ease communication between the alien and the government, a gifted negotiator offers his services. Over time, the alien and negotiator learn about each other and become friends, overcoming their many differences. Meanwhile, the alien's gifts are so vastly powerful and beyond human understanding, that they threaten existing international resource and power relations. Soon, the bigger, more concerning question looms: Why?

That's a lot to work with, and the first 8-9 episodes actually do quite well in exploring these ideas. However, if you're after intelligent, well-considered, or satisfactory read more
Jun 30, 2017
Shingster (All reviews)
A battle of words and ideas between the finest diplomats of Japan and a being from another dimension that comes from a cube.

Please be aware that there are slight spoilers in character analysis and story analysis.

Once every anime season there is a chance you will encounter an anime that has a premise that is completely new and hasn’t been seen before and one that completely engrosses you in both its setting and story and can keep you entertained until the end. In this case Seikaisuru Kado certainly fits that bill as its one anime that I have yet to get bored off read more
Apr 21, 2017
Dryvern (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seikaisuru Kado - I have now seen up to episode 03

Premise: An other dimensional being of un-fathomed & seemingly exponential unlimited power & of great technology arrives in Japan to offer humanity the perfect opportunity to grow.

The Evolution -
Promoted is a progressive proposal for mankind - to value compassion & sharing (heart/good) - to grow.
To accomplish such, a unification of all, end conflict - needs that require fulfilling:
0. Universal communication/clarity - toward understanding
1. Endless power source
2. Resources & technology un-restricting living
3. Un-breakable food supply
4. Plentiful water supply.
5. Goal for exploration & progress of interests (ones not of control)

(So far 0-1 have been accomplished - read more
Jun 30, 2017
BlackCicero (All reviews)
Seikaisuru Kado is a tale of the meeting between humanity and a being from another universe and how events unfolded thereafter. I didn't expect this anime would have been as good as it was and at least for the first 75% of the series I thought the show was very consistent.
The way how the story was constructed along with its premise, allowed the show to have a great base from where the story could go in a multitude of directions. The direction the show eventually went wasn't one that I personally got a lot of satisfaction from but it was still to the point where read more
Apr 28, 2017
reherd (All reviews)
Preliminary
From just episodes 0-3 it looks to me like this series will be the best of the season. Adult demographic SF with emphasis on concepts; more talk than action. Art for alien parts is eye-candy; terrestrial, ordinary, at least by comparison. Characters have actual character but it's too soon to know what if any development will occur. I have some concerns about the alien being too powerful and too benevolent, but further plot developments may put twists into the initial situation -- I like what I've seen so much that an original twist or two might even be in store. read more
Apr 29, 2017
codehithesh (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime story is similar to the recent hollywood movie "The Arrival". The anime so far looks interesting. I think the CG in the anime is great for non-living things but human animation is still jerky and robotic. But i think its a lot better than other anime with CG like the recent Berserk.

The differences between the hollywood movie "The Arrival" and the anime is the shape/form of the technology the alien species transfer. In the movie the alien gifts humans a language that can alter time and stuff where as in the anime it is more of a solid tangible looking thing called read more
Jun 16, 2017
mira-pyon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Disappointing.

If I were to describe this anime it one word, it would be disappointing. What started off as a beautiful political journey pushed by science and philosophy, within episodes became generic and predictable.

Story: 4

As said before, the story idea and story itself were fantastic. The pace was perfect - not too slow to bore us, but not to fast to make us super confused. There were many new terms used, but, for the most part, were explained in a way that was easy to understand, or simply didn't take away from the overall experience. Each episode was a joy - wanting to know what would read more
Jul 3, 2017
Djidji (All reviews)
Note: This review contains spoilers. Also, don't pay too much attention to the rating I gave here.

Negotiation. Getting what's in your interest is the goal of negotiations. But defeating your opponent and temporarily gaining what you want will always come back to bite you in the long term. What's best for you is giving both parties something in their interest. That sounds easy, but it's extremely difficult in fact.
There isn't just one answer, for one thing. We aren't God. We'll never know what was right and what was the right answer for our whole life. But, even if we don't know, we just have to read more
May 2, 2017
MeepyMeep (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly, one of the best anime of the season. The story is exquisite, the characters are for the most part very likeable, the CG is eye candy and the soundtrack both for the opening/ending and for the ost of the anime is honestly amazing.

Initially, I was a bit thrown off by the CG in the anime but the art style blended it in quite well so it's easy to lose sight of it. The animations for the humans are still quite robotic in comparison for the animation used for Kado and other non-living things. Which I do admit is rather frustrating at times but it read more
Jul 3, 2017
SunlitSonata (All reviews)
When there exists many assured commercial and critical successes sustaining a company or studio money, sometimes they would want to take risks. Maybe they'd hire more auteur directors, try original story concepts or do something to aim for a new crowd that wouldn't previously enjoy their work. That was likely the thought of Toei Animation, when in addition to their successes with Dragon Ball Super and the juggernaut One Piece, they decided to create Kado- The Right Answer, an all CGI original sci fi series having debates about such complex topics such as the ethics of humanity and how prepared they would be for sudden read more
May 22, 2018
raiyne76 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Spoiler Free:

I was prepared to give this anime a 9/10 until I hit around episode 9. It managed to raise my expectations extremely high for the better first half- and then it took all of its amazing potential and shattered it. I stopped at episode 10 after seeing the impending train wreck and decided to read summaries of the last two instead of wasting time.

As a science fiction fan who enjoys the like of Arthur C. Clark and Frank Herbert, the beginning concepts for this anime were right up my alley. They even seemed a bit new - at least, they were something I'd read more
May 28, 2017
ikarishinji49 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Up to episode 7, the show keeps piling up evidence that the author is incredibly naive about political and economic issues, and is focusing the whole show in the idea the world is undergoing a "revolution" caused by Kado. In episode 7, they introduce the Samsa device that allows people to become aware of their multidimensional selves, thus eliminating the need for sleep. When the Japanese government representatives are discussing this, all they are thinking about is how this would improve human productivity, without a thought for the fact that it's precisely excess productivity caused by excess population that is leading the environment to a read more
Jun 30, 2017
Pman1994 (All reviews)
Ah This show, I thought this might be the one show that would prove to me that Toei as an animation studio isn't as bad as I thought it was, after all, every reboot/sequel of a show they've done recently has looked bottom of the barrel cheap (with sailor moon crystal season 3 being a weird exception) and their only good shows this past decade only make up for looking cheap with impeccable or eccentric art design and directing (kyousugiga, Mononoke) so when i see there first real attempt at a 3d show actually look decent I had some hope. add that to the shows read more
Jun 30, 2017
Markezzo (All reviews)
Sci-fi stories have as of late become more action-oriented or filled with fantasy-tropes, straying far from being speculative stories about our future and how we might change over time. This is why Kado came in like a welcome breath of classic air, bringing up the interesting questions that the genre is well-known for.

Being interesting alone was however not enough to make this series great.

We start our journey of interdimensional exploration with some rather slow pacing, sometimes used well to flesh out characters, other times to waste an episode on watching the futuristic paint dry. Yet it keeps you hooked by introducing crazy concepts, such as read more
Jul 18, 2017
Raycont (All reviews)
Minor spoilers ahead

Story:

So our story starts with a very interesting set-up, a being from another dimension - the anisotropic - comes to Earth and wants to advance humanity and help them find the right answer.
This leads to a couple of interesting questions:
Is it a good thing for humanity to advance through the help of outside forces?
Will humanity be able to handle this much advancement at once?
What are the consequences for the world?
Who is this anisotropic being and why does he do what he does?
And what is the right answer?

These questions are the driving forces behind the story of Kado - the right answer and it's read more
Jul 1, 2017
Cacahuatay (All reviews)
After hearing lots of praise for Seikaisuru Kado, I finally decided to give it a go. And I was not disappointed... well at least for the first few episodes. Everything started going downhill after the second half. The anime introduced itself as a spectacular sci-fi mature type of anime; however, it trailed off and the sci-fi aspect was completely lost, in my opinion, when the romance was forcibly put into the anime. I especially hate it when a random side character is given a 'main role' for the sake of advancing the plot.


[Story] -- 5: Mediocre
Speaking of the plot, as I mentioned before, read more
Jul 4, 2017
lenigma (All reviews)
*spoiler alert*

It's truly been a while since I've seen such a spectacular trainwreck.

8 episodes of a slow-burn sci-fi with first contact, politics, technology and negotiations become shitty fantasy drivel. The way the genre shift and twists are executed is so terrible I don't even know what this author was trying to accomplish.

I mean if a romance was going to be the main point/solution instead of you know science and negotiations then maybe they should have spend some time developing that instead of spending 2/3 of the shows building the mcs' relationship only to destroy it in one scene so a character with like 3 read more
Sep 4, 2018
huntress1013 (All reviews)
Saikasuru Kado. What can I say? This is easily the most disappointing show of the year. The ending of the show really messes so much up it isn’t fun. It has been a while that I have seen a show or read a book that started out this good and then crashed and burned like Kado. It is even worse than “Langoliers” by Stephen King which created an amazing atmosphere a great mystery and had a laughable ending. Why is it worse? Because in the case of Kado, it was not just that the ending was weak. This was Donna of “Doctor Who”.

Animation read more
Mar 5, 2018
Casterisk (All reviews)
!First Things First There Will Be Spoilers, You Have Been Warned!



I'm not mad, I'm just disappointed. This anime had so much potential and I stand by my belief that things could've been improved even a little by allowing it a 24 episode run time rather than 12, but should nothing of the story and development change that'd all be for naught in the end.

For me this anime wasn't a complete waste of time, I seriously enjoyed it up to episode 8 and actually wouldn't have minded if they ended it there, went on a month long hiatus then came back with a fully fleshed out read more