Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Boku no Hero Academia


Alternative Titles

English: My Hero Academia
Japanese: 僕のヒーローアカデミア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2016 to Jun 26, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.401 (scored by 700,865 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1682
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #14
Members: 1,087,558
Favorites: 32,795

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 26, 2016
Rkpandey (All reviews)
Note: Tl;dr at the end for the lazy ones.
*MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS*


Inspired by American superhero comics, Horikoshi Kouhei's Boku no Hero Academia (or 'My Hero Academia' in English) manga started publishing two years ago, but got gained a lot of popularity only after the release of One Punch Man anime. But being honest here, I must say that I was somewhat disappointed by it.


Story: 6/10
The story is rather childish. In the world of My Hero Academia, on one fine day, out of nowhere, new born babies started having some random super powers which are called 'quirks'. With that, evil villains emerged, and with that heroes emerged read more
Jun 26, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Boku no Hero Academia is an anime that lives and dies by the conventional. While that could be seen as a negative feature in most scenarios, for a superhero shounen that understands its limitations, it's actually quite refreshing.

Being satisfied with maintaining a status quo in a medium that constantly pushes the envelope may seem like the wrong direction to take until you come to realize the confines the show is working with. While some shows of this nature tend to sabotage themselves with poor narrative decisions, most are usually knocked off, not by their content, but by their desire for more, despite not having read more
Jun 26, 2016
Captain220 (All reviews)
Tackling a show in a negative light is usually a very tricky task, and even more so when the show in question happens to have a huge and very outspoken fanbase here on MAL. I'll consider myself to be endangered from the moment I click the submit button for this review, as these people will show no remorse if your opinion happens to be on the more negative side of things. However in this particular instance, I figured that taking the risk may be worth the trouble, seeing as the show in question is very undeserving of the praise it has gotten so far. Boku read more
Jun 26, 2016
karlstein12 (All reviews)
"All men are not created equal. This was the reality about society that I learned at a young age of four."

Thus begins the journey of Izuku "Deku" Midoriya, a dreamer, who's passion and wish is to become like his idol and role model, the Symbol of Peace, the one and only All Might.

There was never a shadow of doubt that My Hero Academia was slated to divide opinions among fans for all the not quite correct-- but inevitable reasons. Enter Izuku Midoriya, a cheerful but an extremely introvert middle school teenager who feels neglected by the society, not because of his depressive tendencies read more
Jun 26, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Perhaps the next “big thing” by Shounen Jump. It was inevitable that Boku no Hero Academia (My Hero Academia) would get an anime adaptation. A matter of time and it eventually did. The premise is rather simple and classic for a battle shounen. It takes place in an academy setting with the main character trying to become a hero after being inspired by All Might (his idol hero) and others who vowed to protect their world from villains. Up to this point, there has been all sorts of battle shounen series adapted by Shounen Jump so it was time for superheroes to step up to read more
Jun 26, 2016
ShaneM (All reviews)
If I were to ask you what you aspired to be, what would be your answer? Everyone lives their life chasing dreams, no matter how big or small. Dreams, goals, aspirations; these elements make up each individuals world and are part of what keeps life unique.

The dreams we focus on throughout the anime Boku no Hero Academia are those of Izuku; a young boy who aspires to be the greatest hero in a world filled with heroes. This is no menial task, seeing that each man and woman in this world was born with a quirk (superpower) that gives them a clear advantage over young read more
Mar 22, 2018
TheMysticLegend (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hi there it's actually my first time writing a review. *I NEVER PLANNED TO WRITE ANY, BUT THIS IS A TRUE EXCEPTION*

If you are a fan of this, it would be in your best interests not to continue reading.

Anyways bear with me. A sentence to summarize this whole show? "the most overrated cliche shounen anime with ripped off ideas from a marvel movie forcefully jammed together with childish ideals"

The story.
I can go on and on about this it was absolutely dreadful and the most cringiest setting I have encountered.
A bland boy suddenly gets superpowers from a hero and starts training and fights for eons. read more
Aug 9, 2018
GregTheWeeb (All reviews)
I love this series so much that I rated it a 1. My reason being there isn't enough intense romantic situations as i would've hoped. What I mean is how the big lady hero is big and people always make posts about how hot she is but I really don't see any fan service at all in the series. Same goes for the momo lookin frog girl. Like there are soooo many slightly decent looking girls but i don't see enough fan service which is a major problem when it comes to making animes. Sure I could always go to Rule 34 for that kind read more
Aug 1, 2018
Jhale (All reviews)
Story 4: My Hero Academia is a story about superheroes learning at an academia. Except it isn't. It starts that way, but it isn't that way. Deku works so hard just to go to a school we don't get to pay attention to. People say it is just a typical shounen, but a typical shounen would have tried to flesh out the school life a little. When you have such a unique school setting for once, you decide to just blow it. It's so stupid. The story is very, very character focused and overly convenient. You go from entrance exams to showing off a really read more
Feb 27, 2019
Vazka (All reviews)
Overrated, childish, and cliche. Those are the first three words that come to mind when I think of this anime.

This is the most overrated anime that has came out in the past 5 years. After watching two seasons of this anime, I've come to the conclusion that this anime is absolute garbage with no redeeming qualities. I actually cant believe that people above the age of 15 can be watching this. It's actually crazy...This review might also contain spoilers. I cant fully explain how bad this show is without including spoilers unfortunately. This review will also not only be about season 1.

This is hands down read more
Jun 26, 2016
Ksuga (All reviews)
In a world, where all of a sudden humanity has gained superpowers called Quirks…
A world, in which almost all humans look like alien mutants and the crime rate has significantly increased…
Where being a hero is considered a profession and Saitama definitely doesn’t exist… There exists a boy who belongs to the minority that doesn’t have a superpower...
The boy, called Izuku Midoriya, has a dream… He wants to be the mightiest hero of all, he wants to become the second ALL MIGHT!

The very young protagonist, despite having no Quirk, tries his very best to become one. But is that possible at all, read more
Jul 18, 2018
deathlytivo (All reviews)
I've come across a few anime of this genre, and I can't rack my brains around how they so consistently amass a large following. Whether the premise is confined to a school; the world; a personal journey; a collective journey; comedy; harem or on a more serious tone. Maybe the recently sensationalised marvel universe has enchanted the masses into submission.

Boku no Hero Academia seems to touch on a few of the above mentioned bases without the core themes being disjointed on paper. The problem however, is that the ultimate relay is a lukewarm exploration into topics it clearly took a more juvenile approach to read more
Aug 13, 2018
Bruno_roen (All reviews)
Boku no hero is one of the most overrated shounens today. And the reason is simple: It's easy to digest, it's generic, full of stereotypes, full of things that make an anime sell.

Story: Is there history in this in the first place? Hardly a story, the story is simply shitty with nothing special. This is one of those completely generic stories of super heroes / battle shounen. Well the premise follows from deku a teenage boy who suffers discrimination and bully for not having superpowers. And now? How will he handle it? Are you going to give an equivalent exchange for that? Will you follow read more
Sep 18, 2018
AmericaWasntLost (All reviews)
A good anime for doing homework or while at work or doing literally anything productive because I don't know how anyone can sit around and watch this while not multitasking.

You really only need to pay attention to 1/16th of the show to know what's going on. the rest is fluff.

I guess this is my spoiler line but who on this god forsaken earth hasn't watched this show by now I'm so sick of seeing it so that's why I even bothered. Usually not the case but everyone says it gets better. does it? does it really?

no.

Story: Typical. Done before. Pathetic useless read more
Aug 14, 2017
xSugoizZz (All reviews)
As i see season 2 of this anime is very good ranked i wanted to try it. People say its a original and refresing shounen but they are all wrong.

Story: The world they live in everyone has superpowers, but the mc dont so he is useless. But even tho he is useless the best hero gives him his power for no reason instead of giving it to someone more op. I mean think about it, if you could choose to give superpowers to a useless guy or guy that make explosions what would you choose??

Art: The art is only good with this anime

Sound: Sound is read more
Jun 26, 2016
Genjutsuhh (All reviews)
For the spring 2016 Anime lineup, Boku no Hero Academia was considered as the main shounen title of the season, and for good reason. It had everything going for it that you’d need in a good shounen and was something that could easily be picked up by anyone at any time. But the real thing to consider here is, even though it managed to stand as a good show to watch overall, was it truly able to Go Beyond (Plus Ultra!!) any of what the genre has set as its standard?


Story:

For the most part, the story doesn’t really have much to talk about. Well, at read more
Apr 2, 2019
Hikou_Senshi (All reviews)
[Spoilers from episode 1]

I don't find the Boku no Hero series good nor bad, simply mediocre. Mediocre and generic are the most fitting words I can find to describe this show. It's like the author took all the basics of an average shonen manga and put them together hoping it would work, and it seems like it worked. Boku no Hero is one of the most overrated animes out there.

We can begin with the story. I have to say the plot didn't have much potential from the very start. The concept was poor (good heroes fighting bad villains) so you can't expect much of the read more
Jul 2, 2016
Dillon18-07 (All reviews)
Boku no hero academia or My hero academia was one of the most hyped anime series of spring 2016 and in my opinion it lived up to the hype.

My biggest disappointment was the episode count being only 13 but that was to be expected as Bones rarely does 25 episode anime. However a season 2 has been announced and if they continue to follow the manga season 2 will be even better.

Story: 8/10
The story is not that original but all the characters quirks make the story interesting enough.

Art: 9/10
The art and animation for Boku no hero academia is great for the most is great, there read more
Dec 6, 2016
morphinup (All reviews)
First thing I just feel the need to say, everyone who is saying this is like One Punch Man... sorry but THAT IS ABSOLUTE BS. Beyond the fact that they're both series with heroes and superpowers and that the character designs are are a little funky/quirky (haha pun intended), there is NOTHING SIMILAR. That's like saying Death Note and Bleach are similar series since they happen to both focus on shinigami as a supernatural element in a previously seemingly normal world and both MC are high schoolers. Bleh. No. Just no. Just needed to get that off my chest, since I feel like people read more
Jun 28, 2016
BlueKite (All reviews)
Seeing the hype of My Hero Academia, I have the general impression that people watch it with the mindset as just another enjoyable fighting shounen with a unique-looking superhero premise. The production values are decent, the atmosphere is fitting for the superhero premise, and the story of a Quirkless individual really gives off that empowerment vibes. However, I like to try to dig beneath the surface. This review is mainly focused on the premise of the show and how it’s possibly flawed upon closer inspection.

First, we get a setting where having superpowers is a normality. How come heroism still thrives in this kind of read more