Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Koe no Katachi


Alternative Titles

English: A Silent Voice
Synonyms: The Shape of Voice, A Silent Voice: The Movie
Japanese: 聲の形

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 17, 2016
Licensors: NYAV Post
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Manga
Genres: Drama, School, Shounen
Duration: 2 hr. 10 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 9.051 (scored by 249,391 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #89
Members: 444,039
Favorites: 16,725

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 18, 2016
xXShuyaXx (All reviews)
[Story] 7 - Plot holes and cut sub-plots, excluded from the original script/manga.
[Art] 10 - Characters true to their manga designs, high quality animation.
[Sound] 7 - Creative use of sound/music. Nothing too special and memorable besides theme song.
[Character] 7 - Side characters had their story severely cut. Leaving some with empty character.
[Enjoyment] 10 - Tears, sadness, anger, happiness and laughs, the whole package.
[Overall] 8 - Definitely would watch again.

For those wondering how and where I watched this film, I watched in Japan. At Keisei Rosa10 in Chiba on September 17th.

Having read the manga 4 times over and crying every time, I went into the theater read more
May 26, 2017
Detective (All reviews)
Koe no Katachi is dangerous because it is exploitative. I'm not going to pretend to know anything about deaf people. I don't. This movie certainly does not allow any greater understanding into the mind of deaf people is the point I want to iterate. It uses a serious problem as a plot device constantly and reduces Nishiyama to one-dimension. She is the textbook definition of a mary-sue as well as a damsel in distress. This is clearly troublesome when trying to explain deafness to an able-bodied audience.

Nishiyama's entire character is her illness. She is paper thin with her sole character trait being she likes read more
Sep 19, 2016
GohanwaOkazu (All reviews)
Note: I watched it at the Toho Cinema Complex in Ario Nishiarai (*I had thought I could have been the only person on this review list who had really watched it at a cinema in Japan after reading a particularly harsh review, but I was wrong).

A quick overview: Koe no Katachi is a very well done film, although not without shortcomings, and which has dealt with (a) complex issue(s), and which leaves the viewer with questions but no easy conclusions. It is a powerful enough film to remember and ponder over, and people may draw different lessons, or perhaps none.

Pros: The sound and vision (KnK read more
Sep 29, 2016
SuMm (All reviews)
MAY CONTAIN SLIGHT SPOILERS!

Watched it two days ago at TOHO Cinema in Tokyo.

I remember that I was reading manga, but at that time it wasn't coming out frequently and scanlating wasn't going good either, that's why I read about 9 chapters, so I barely remember any events expect the beginning of the story and main characters. But I was waiting for anime adaptation since that time. Even though kinda hoped for series, not just a movie.

I must say that I was a little worried about it airing at the same time with Kimi no Na wa, but it still seems alright, box office going good, read more
Sep 22, 2016
WinkiePinky (All reviews)
Non-spoiler review
Story - 7
Art - 10
Sound - 10
Character - 7
Enjoyment - 10

Overall - 8

[I watched Koe no Katachi at United Cinema, Fukuoka, Japan on Sep 22nd, 2016](hope somebody will liscence it and get it abroad)

Short version; Kyoto Animation again brings great animation on to the table; The glittering eyes, cutesy-moe seifuku characters, great background, and much more. It is one of the finest animation quality out there, and if romance genre is your cup of tea, you will probably like the movie. Even if you don't like romance, it is not a disappointing film.

Ok, I'll start off by saying that I did not read the read more
May 14, 2017
Gin-SanCor (All reviews)
This is gonna be in Spanish and in English. I'll add the translation below, explaining why I put the "low" rating.

The adaptation, from the point of view of someone who had already read the manga (even before any movie announcement existed), was mediocre. The character development was null, except for Shoya and Shoko (also Yuzuru and Ueno, more or less). Mashiba had no importance, the same as almost everyone else. In the manga we got to know why Mashiba was so nice and kind (and also saw him punch the face of our main character when he knew it was him who caused Shoko's pain read more
Jun 15, 2017
Born2Run (All reviews)
A Silent Voice is a movie by the popular animation Studio Kyoto Animation. Instead of cute girls doing cute things, which is what the studio is known for, this movie delivers teenagers crying and wanting to kill themselves because of some bullying back in elementary school. But don't panic, the girls are still cute.

The story is pretty simple: In elementary school, a deaf girl comes in as a new student. She then gets bullied by the other students, one of which is the main character, to the point she gets transferred to another school. The main character then becomes the scapegoat for the bullying and read more
Apr 19, 2017
YBzSerenity (All reviews)
Read All First! / SPOILERS*: (Im sorry if you don't agree, but this is my Review)

Koe no Katachi(Manga) had an amazing story line, filled with great character progression, and a lot of story and insight.

However I strongly believe that the movie did not do the Manga justice and left viewers with a lot of plot holes and questions (from the reaction after the movie). It should not have of been a movie, as there was too much story and character progression to be fit into a 2 hour movie (I really enjoyed understanding why Nishimiya Shoukos mother is why she acts the way she was read more
Mar 24, 2017
Rayaxe (All reviews)
[This review contains NO spoilers]
This is a story about the importance of listening and the effects of not doing so. It something we can all understand and learn from.

Social anxiety, Suicide, self loath/pity, forgiveness/acceptance, attachment, the desire/difficulty to be connect and most of all the complexity of human communication and emotions - all covered in this Movie as you delve into a journey to unravel a facade to find emotions we all contain and hide from others to void the difficulty of conveying them. We follow a character who closes his mind and refuses not to listen to create his own cynical narrative and in read more
May 21, 2017
killooa (All reviews)
I didn't like A Silent Voice as much as I would have liked to. The storyline had so much potential but failed to step out of boundaries. Expressing issues like suicide, mental illnesses, and bullying is a challenge through a movie, but no matter what the mediocre plot remained. I am surprised that it is rated so highly, and I think it's because of the main storyline that everyone loves it so much, but here's why I rated it so low.

While there were signs of character development, there was so much skipping around. Instead of getting the viewer to understand what it really feels like read more
May 17, 2017
HereticHunter (All reviews)
some people say "I love you" is the hardest word to ever say to someone... but is that really true? is it that hard to say? in my case it is hard yes, but not the hardest. have you ever thought of the word "I'm sorry"? I'm not talking of the "easy" "I'm sorry" i'm talking about the "I'm sorry" that comes from the bottom of your heart, the expression of your true feelings, being completely sorry, regretful, that word that burns inside you like hell... now, that's really REALLY hard to say.

at first I thought that this movie was just a movie about how read more
Mar 9, 2017
EliGator (All reviews)
I was lucky enough to catch the very first screening of Koe no Katachi in Singapore's cinemas on March 9, 2017. This is also my first review, so please bear with me if my review layout is not great.

Please also note that my review of this will be Anime-only, as I have not yet read the manga. I do plan on reading the manga to get the full experience though.

Story: 9/10
- The story starts off with a young girl named Nishimiya Shouko, who walks in to a classroom and introduced herself in pieces of paper she wrote before coming in, then "I am deaf." was read more
Apr 19, 2017
Splair (All reviews)
How am I after watching this movie? Angry. This movie was fucking good and it's such a pity that it came out when Kimi no Na wa did, because it deserves so much more recognition. Honestly, I believe it outshines it tenfold but this is a review not a comparison so let me give you my points:

- Great soundtrack/art/animation/the works. solid base. if you like kyoani why are you waiting

- EXPERIMENTAL. The perspectives and aesthetics shown throughout the movie are insane. Like if you think of one of those 'aesthetic tumblr posts' the entire movie is literally in that vibe.

- The noise level. not the read more
Apr 15, 2017
williamanth (All reviews)
Like any other slice-of-life anime, the plot is relatively simple, however there is an outstanding attention to the development of the characters.

As usual for Naoko Yamada, most of the scenes and dialogue from the manga are present, however she adds so much more to the anime, making it a truly emotional experience.

The story is very mature, not in the sense that it is dark and gritty, but more in the sense that the characters are fully realised, presented in a realistic manner.

A Silent Voice forgoes anime archetypes by maintaining internal-consistency in all of its characters, making all of their actions relatable, or at least read more
May 10, 2017
metalrain_15 (All reviews)
A young woman and a young man both on a journey of self-realization, and the latter half on his way to repentance and redemption.

"Koe No Katachi" is yet another masterpiece from the popular and ever-sensational studio, Kyoto Animation, and from its brilliant and rapidly growing author of its one-shot manga, Ooima Yoshitoki.

Koe No Katachi tells us a story of a young Ishida Shoya who was once a bully to a deaf young girl named Nishimiya Shouko and was doomed to being alone for the rest of his life until one day he decided that his life was more than just that and what he (and read more
May 6, 2017
EroBlade8 (All reviews)
Story(9)
The story has many resemblance of teenagers life and i gotta say, this has caught my heart. i see this movie that gave tears of joy like kimi no na wa with a very beautifully written story with me keeping flashbacks about the same situation i have encountered once, and i am here with so much emotion being mellow and grateful thinking of my friends i have made in the yeras. i am no dissabled but i, we(maybe some) might experience this

Art(10)
The art has yet to impressive me because of how beautifully has this been worked on which makes me think that kyoto animation read more
May 19, 2017
canyouread (All reviews)
As someone who hasn't read the manga, I'm confused as to why some people rated the movie so low. The manga must have been a masterpiece, huh. Why can't people just review it as a standalone movie?

Story - 10/10
Rarely have I ever seen a movie/anime/book where the main character bullies someone and gets bullied back, effectively isolating him from his classmates. Do you know why? Because that doesn't happen in real life. Bullies become popular in high school and have a huge follower group. Despite this, I was glad that Koe no Katachi took a different route and made the bad guy into an even read more
May 21, 2017
VaasMontenegro (All reviews)
Mod Edit: This review may contain spoilers.
--

To start of my review, let me say that, as a simple fan of any british bands of the past decades or so, The Who's "My Generation" - which is the opening song of this movie - is pretty niche to be exact.

I was really surprised why they use it as an opening song. I was expecting to have a Japanese song for the opening for this movie (maybe Asian Kung-Fu Generation or ChouChou,) but instead, besides Radiohead(ED of Ergo Proxy) and Oasis(OP of Eden of the East), we got another british band to perform the Opening song read more
May 21, 2017
DeadeyeReViVal (All reviews)
"Friendship is something that defies both WORDS and LOGIC." ~Nagatsuka Tomohiro (Koe no Katachi)

A Silent Voice is somewhere near how you would expected to be emotional when it comes to reading the manga and seen on theater, in case this is one of my favorite film that has been reminding myself how I had really tough life to develop the relationships, friendships and etc. But I personally think it didn't changed that much for me, it was the movie itself were brought us with specific passages that has reminded us in the past and present how we felt to be selfish of what we did. read more
May 19, 2017
Nikolai-san (All reviews)
You know why i rate this anime perfectly? because i understand the story and the plot and the i mean is this is so dramatically but i get what to be in that place of having alot of friends then you will lose it all and get paranoid of what you did in past... my past is kinda the same as the story goes on but it's the same but different way mine is kinda i play my friend's feelings and laugh about it... and then when time comes... my friends that... i played they played my feelings too like a revenge... at first i read more