Kekkai Sensen


Blood Blockade Battlefront

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Bloodline Battlefront
Japanese: 血界戦線
English: Blood Blockade Battlefront
German: Blood Blockade Battlefront
Spanish: Blood Blockade Battlefront
French: Blood Blockade Battlefront
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2015 to Oct 4, 2015
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 02:28 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, SupernaturalSupernatural
Themes: Super PowerSuper Power, VampireVampire
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 26 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.621 (scored by 322031322,031 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #12672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #172
Members: 741,904
Favorites: 6,628

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 7, 2015
Hime-In-A-Box (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll start off by saying that if you're a fan of the series Baccano, Kyousogiga, or both, then you're going to love this show.

This series, in my own humble opinion, is basically perfection.
It took only one episode for me to completely fall in love.
Allow me to explain to you exactly what it is I feel about this series.

Kekkai Sensen is directed by Rie Matsumoto, who I personally see as a genius. Her directing style is extremely distinct and very unique. She has a wide range of creative camera angles along with her brilliant tactics into making something engaging or exciting. If you read more
Apr 27, 2015
Pman1994 (All reviews)
For those who have long awaited for a reboot for Trigun... you are going to have to wait a little longer. Until then you can watch Yasuhiro Nightow's other manga get adapted in what I am sure is going to be the best anime of the season that feels like the spiritual successor of Trigun. Kekkai sensen aka Blood Blockade Battlefront.

story and character 8/10: the story itself is not very complex. it can be simply put as an organization of super-powered people fighting against disorder in New York which has now turned into supernatural zone between the underworld and the real world that has been read more
Oct 7, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Sometimes, I don't get anime fans. If you've paid attention to the sales charts, you'll see that Blood Blockade Battlefront's current sales numbers are going toe-to-toe with Shirobako aka the most acclaimed and important anime series in recent times, and that just baffles me. I mean Kyoani’s own beautiful anime with believable character motivations, depth to its story, and (most importantly of all) actual challenges the characters have to overcome came out in the same season around the same time, and yet it just sold decently - which is below the studio’s usual standards. Okay fine, maybe this anime has a swanky soundtrack. Maybe it's read more
Jul 2, 2015
bearnuts (All reviews)
Preliminary
While most of the reviews here have praised Kekkai Sensen, I have to say that this kind of anime requires some sort of acquired taste.

If you watched Durarara and Baccano, and (perhaps rather oddly) like me, dislike both of them for making little sense, explaining a bit of everything everywhere, and having essentially no plot, you may NOT enjoy this series.

Like the 2 aforementioned animes, Kekkai Sensen features plenty of nameless characters that are absurd, scenes that you may not understand (e.g. in fights, who's doing what, and sometimes even who's who), and non-linear storylines. I won't provide an example to avoid spoiling, but read more
Oct 6, 2015
Drace028 (All reviews)
Finally after months of waiting saw the Last Eps of Kekkai Sensen
And it was honestly a clusterfuck of nonsense, I loved it.
Nothing made real sense, chaotic story telling and events happening here and there with no real explanation.
Animation, art and OST were all beautiful
Fight scenes were fluid and characters were as crazy as ever
Storytelling is lost somewhere along the months of waiting for the last eps.
I cannot say exactly why I really enjoyed the last eps, just that I simply did
Overall I would never recommend this anime to anyone that focuses on story/plot or anything that makes sense or follows logic.
BUT
I do that those read more
May 6, 2015
thispleasesbulba (All reviews)
Preliminary
I seem to constantly root for those who treat abnormalities simply as the ground they walk on. Got a superpower added to your life? Stay in school. Turn out to be Akina's best driver? Keep delivering tofu. Lose your sister's sight and receive the All-seeing Eye Of The Gods? Keep delivering pizza.

Kekkai Sensen is packed with such enjoyable concepts, environments and characters. Kekkai Sensen is that friend who goes out of their way to give you shits and giggles because they're such a nice person. This beautifully conceptualised post-alien invasion world gives its best kicks from Leo being so mundane that he normalises absolute chaos read more
Jul 5, 2015
2LongDidntReview (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story - 2
The biggest problem with this series is its inability to tell a proper story as every episode is more or less just a 'character introduction of the week', a notable cousin of the 'monster of the week' trope.

Every episode seems to begin with Leonardo going about his daily life and then something quite random happens and he gets thrown into the middle of the ensuing chaos. Something happens in the middle of the episode which resolves the aforementioned issue (most often with very little input from Leonardo) then somehow it's tied altogether at the very last few minutes of the episode and calls read more
Dec 16, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Kekkai Sensen is an ongoing manga from Nightow Yasuhiro, you may know him as the creator of Trigun. The manga started in 2009, but it didn't receive an anime adaptation until this year. The anime was handled by Bones, a Studio that has a pretty strong track record as far as their works I've reviewed go. Will this be up to their usual standards? Let's delve into it.

Story:

Our story opens in Hellsalem's Lot, formerly New York formerly New Amsterdam. The old New York city was destroyed by a portal opening to another world and this one didn't even have the good grace to read more
May 17, 2015
OneFreakingWeeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ahh, Kekkai Sensen. Where to start with this one. It's such a brilliantly done show that's currently being overlooked by so many...

Story- 9
Starting with the story, I really want to give it a 10, but I can't. It's based around a version of New York where a portal to an alternate world opens, letting in weird sentient creatures. The show is very unspecific about the rules of who and what can leave and enter the fog covered area, as well as what exactly these creatures are. So far it's very enjoyable and seems to be building up to something great, but as I haven't read read more
Jun 20, 2015
Indoors-sama (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kekkai Sensen is one of those anime that by all means deserves to be called AOTY. However, there are a few things keeping it from being such. I'll start with the ratings of the anime that aren't 10/10's so as to let viewers know why I've rated this anime as such. Slight spoilers ensue, but nothing that really tells what happens or anything like that.

Art: It's great, it's just that the animation itself is slightly lacking compared to other anime this season, as well as not meeting the demands for such a powerful story. But I digress, it's great and shows what's happening without fail, read more
Jul 8, 2015
dnautics (All reviews)
Preliminary
This series started out strong in the first few episodes, but eventually fell wayside to mediocrity. I don't understand reviewers comparing this to Baccano! Yes, the story is told in an incoherent fashion like Baccano! but not for the same reasons. It's as if the writers weren't sure where they were going with the series. Well enough of my opinion, here is the short and simple.

Pros:

Original characters
Humorous at times
Original world/atmosphere
Art is pretty good

Cons:

Too much comedy
The "main" plot is mediocre at best
Poor pacing

Conclusion: This series could have been great, i'm not sure what happened after the first few episodes, or what the writers intentions are read more
Jul 13, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Every day is a knockabout of random craziness" - Leo

Well, if that's not lampshading this show, I don't know what is.

Preface:

Kekkai Sensen was an early hit in Spring 2015, but is currently embroiled in some kind of licensing and broadcast dispute which is keeping the final episode from being aired, so as yet remains unfinished. Not like it'll change the course of the show though, because it developed a plot first starting on episode 10.


Artwork and Animation: 6

Another Bones production, the art is decent, but nothing particularly outstanding. What is rather interesting is the choice of setting, and the visuals that come with read more
Aug 25, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’ve never been to New York before. I heard the place has kinds of people and all sorts of opportunities. Having seen the state a bunch of times on television and in the newspapers, I’ve always been wondering what really goes on over there. Then, there comes this series called Kekkai Sensen (Blood Blockade Battlefront) where we see New York in an alternate form. The catch? It’s now a place for both New Yorkers and supernatural beings. Sources from the series states that a portal known as ‘The Beyond’ caused it and that there’s a dimensional fog barrier preventing monsters from crawling out to other read more
Aug 19, 2015
TheHabeo (All reviews)
Preliminary
It has been one great ride through Kekkai Sensen. This review is spoiler free because frankly saying, you won't get much out of reading synopsis or various spoiler reviews. You have to watch this anime to know it (much like any anime actually).

The context of this Anime is simple. However it is delivered in a more eccentric fashion that is somewhat hard to get into at first. Nevertheless, once you get on the ride, you won't want it to stop.

Story: 7/10. The story is not out of the box from what I have experienced. Superhuman organization, evil plans, something that always pulls the protagonist into read more
Dec 1, 2015
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
Kekkai Sensen/Blood Blockade Battlefront Review

Story (6/10) Fair

The story of Kekkai Sensen was fair, nothing uber complex, mind blowing or even addiction to get into in my personal opinion. But the story definitely wasn't bad. There were quite a few episodes that definitely felt like filler/episodic episodes some where good and some where just straight up irrelevant. But the overall story I though was fine.

Art and Animation (10/10) Outstanding

Studio Bones could not have done a better job at adapting this anime. The key animation done by Bahi JD the same dude responsible for the amazingly key animations for Space Dandy did his thing for read more
Jul 10, 2015
bobobobobiy (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of the almost gems in the rough. The story is amusing, sort of episodic, and easy to follow. The art is what it should be, absurd.

But then the flaws start showing. You'll start hearing a stupid tune being whistled throughout the show, and while the song it's based off of is okay, the whistling itself is annoying, repetitive, and irritating.

And then there is one extremely stupid character(not the protagonist). This isn't a spoiler, but basically the character in question is a b****, for a lack of a better word. The dialogues centered around him are dumb, to say the least.

I'll give you read more
Dec 9, 2017
roboweeb (All reviews)
This looked like a really interesting anime from the cover, and from the first few episodes, I thought it was too. BUT, it was too jumbled. It had a good thing going, the only problem was how hard it was to follow.

Story:
I gave it a low score in this section because of how scrambled and hard to follow it was. I had a hard time understanding the powers in this show. From the blood thingys to the main character's eyes, it was all too difficult to follow. Although it didn't really have much of a plot and it might be unfair to grade it read more
Oct 7, 2015
Mustard300 (All reviews)
3 things will greatly affect your enjoyment of Kekkai Sensen. Number one is how much you crave a new story, and are tired of the same High School/harem light novel adaptations that come up every season. Number two is if you enjoy being given lots of bits of information that allow you to piece together a larger plot. Number three is if you enjoy fast paced and constantly changing camera shots and point of view changes. If you don't mind or even enjoy those types of things, you are gonna have even more of a blast with this show.

Story 6- While it pains me read more
Apr 4, 2016
dragoncb234 (All reviews)
This is my first review on MAL, let me tell you this series is extremely overrated for a few reasons.

1. It is another show where people yell out their moves when the fight.

2. They went through all the trouble to make such a great world and great side characters. Then they throw a whiny baby in as the main character that has "special eyes" and that is his only strong suit. He has a few comedic moments in the show but other than that he is a terrible character.

3. The "villain" has no motivation other than causing havoc and the finale just leaves so read more
Sep 5, 2015
A_Fine_Egg (All reviews)
PLEASE NOTE: This review was written before any episode past episode 11 a.k.a. episode 12 a.k.a. "Paint It Black". If this has more episodes past this one, I won't be updating this review.

Kekkai Sensen, otherwise known as "Blood Blockade Battlefront", is an action comedy with lots of supernatural themes and elements. The show's stylish and fast-paced artwork and comedy lead you through scenes between intense supernatural fights involving anything from a man-eating car to vampires.

STORY: 6/10
The story involves our protagonist, young impersonator of Pokemon's Brock, named Leonardo Watch. He was born with special eyes that have superpowers of some sort and is accidentally thrown into read more