Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tokyo Ghoul


Alternative Titles

English: Tokyo Ghoul
Synonyms: Tokyo Kushu, Toukyou Kushu, Toukyou Ghoul
Japanese: 東京喰種-トーキョーグール-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2014 to Sep 19, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.991 (scored by 697,727 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5752
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #6
Members: 1,072,064
Favorites: 30,540

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 24, 2014
bladeangel (All reviews)
Remember when you were little and you tried to bake that really awesome cake following the instructions on a cooking-book and ended up forgetting half the ingredients or using the wrong ones and the cake looked like complete shit and shit was all over the kitchen and then your mother walked in and slapped you across the face? Whether or not you remember, if you can picture that scenario then you can picture how Studio Pierrot's attempt at adapting Tokyo Ghoul into an anime unfolded.

Lets actually start off with the "good" in Tokyo Ghoul. Why? Because it's one sentence long so lets get it read more
Jan 30, 2015
JKinky88 (All reviews)
1) This is a rewriting of one of the first reviews I ever made, I deleted it because I did not know what the hell I was talking about.
2) There will be some minor spoilers, you've been warned ye little b-

You know those stories that have these special entities that live in a world and pretty much kind of like x-men? Well recently that idea has been done a lot, out of most of the things that have done this idea recently, Parasyte is the only one that succeeds in doing it well, Beside it is this mess. Tokyo Ghoul, when I saw this show read more
Sep 18, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Horror movies are amusing at times to watch. Sure, their intent is to strike fear into viewers but most times, they are so predictable and saturated with tropes that it almost seems like a cruel joke. Tokyo Ghoul doesn’t derive far from that. Despite being much longer than a typical horror movie, the series plays around with itself so much that it almost becomes a laughter stock. Don’t get me wrong though. The intriguing idea of supernatural creatures known as ‘ghouls’ living among human communities is quite well-built when it comes with premise. However, the show ultimately kills itself with its execution. Based off of read more
Sep 18, 2014
Stuffies12 (All reviews)
Prior knowledge
Manga: None

Tokyo Ghoul is one of the more hyped up anime this season for a number of reasons. Mainly because it was, as I have heard, a very popular manga. The premise itself is easy to follow. The world is inhabited by two types of people: regular people and ghouls who eat people as a source of food. The main character, Kaneki Ken, after almost being killed by a ghoul is turned into a half ghoul-half human hybrid. By this time, I, who has not read the manga, assumed the show would explore the morality of and question the prejudice between the two groups read more
Dec 4, 2014
MosesTransports (All reviews)
The only thing you'll be left with after watching this series is an extra song in your playlist and a very sour taste in your mouth.

That is, of course, if you manage to wrestle the choppy pacing of eleven episodes of underdeveloped characters that live in the shadow of a wasted premise, beautifully presented through the familliar eyes of the melodramatic queen of a main lead.

Bonus feature: imbecillic censorship.
Jul 24, 2014
Imdadinho (All reviews)
No long reviews that take all our god-damned time.

Those words hit my head when I started this anime.
"It is very strange, this domination of our intellect by our digestive organs. We cannot work, we cannot think, unless our stomach wills so. It dictates to us our emotions, our passions.... We are but the veriest, sorriest slaves of our stomach." Jerome.K.Jerome

Did you ever think you will be rooting for man eaters in an anime? If no, then Tokyo Ghoul is here to disprove you. Tokyo Ghoul is one of the best anime this season and it is sure to keep you on your toes. With read more
Sep 19, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Tokyo Ghoul can be summed up using the same three points that just about every other overhyped adaptation of an unfinished manga series ends up falling under:
1. Incomplete (ends dissatisfyingly with almost nothing resolved)
2. Undeveloped characters (because they were written to have nearly 100x the screen/page time as they ended up having)
3. Mediocre plot (because it was written to be nearly 100x as long)
In other words, Tokyo Ghoul is a commercial for its manga. Watching it as an anime is almost entirely devoid of purpose (and no, I haven’t read the manga).

Synopsis: In a world where mysterious beings called “ghouls”, people who can eat nothing except read more
Jun 23, 2015
313_Archer (All reviews)
I REALLY almost desperately wanted to like this anime, but it failed me and went off the rails like a possessed train.

I’m sorry, to all Tokyo Ghoul fans, I really am. I had such high hopes for this show, but, it had so, so many issues. So, lets get down to it.

This post is spoiler free! :D


Characters: 3/10

The show started with a bang. In the first two episodes, I was ready to adopt Kaneki as one of “my precious babies”. Then show unraveled like cheap sweater. While Kaneki remained interesting, his emotional development got lost in the rather vast world of ghouls. read more
Sep 19, 2014
Manumento (All reviews)
Please tell me, what is the monster inside of me?

Tokyo Ghoul is a dark action supernatural manga adaptation of the same name. It was one of the more hyped anime for the 2014 Summer season, due to the success of the manga and the proposed themes. It is an another take on the survival sub-genre, one that is really popular nowadays in the West, however fails to have a clear direction of where it wants to go with it.

Plot:

After a ghoul - monster that has superpowers and devour humans for living - attack, Ken Kaneki overgoes a surgery that makes him a half-ghoul, half-human read more
Jan 22, 2015
Pr1nc3 (All reviews)
First review on MAL:

Tokyo Ghoul is a dark fantasy and seinen anime adaptation of the manga made by Ishida Sui, and the TV anime was produced by Studio Pierrot containing 12 episodes. There are also some horror elements, but they aren't that present on the animation.

The main character of the story is Kaneki Ken, an ordinary college student, and his life changes when he meets Rize at the café he frequents with his college friend Hide. Little did he know that she is actually a Ghoul, a carnivorous species only able to feed on humans and even other ghouls too, and during the night, he read more
Sep 19, 2014
RazorRamona200 (All reviews)
WTF kind of anime that I just watched?

That's my reaction after watching the last episode and according to the forum commentators, it was pretty much rushed and they were certainly right. I guess you might said that some manga would have better be left as mangas than be adapted as an anime...that is, if studios such as studio Pierrot won't do it right, so I'm gonna keep my review of this anime simple as I present my ratings for each of this anime's category:


Pathetic 1.

Story- it was basically another one of those plot where the protagonist become somewhat of a........let's just say being able read more
Oct 6, 2014
kaizersaber (All reviews)
Tokyo Ghoul, a classic human vs "species that eats humans" cliche, that was pulled off in a dramatic, action-packed manner, that ultimately ended in a disappointing cliffhanger.

TL;DR

Story: 7/10
Art: 8/10
Sound: 6/10
Character: 6/10
Enjoyment: 9/10
Overall: 7/10 (rounded down from 7.25)

Good Points:
+ Gripping and exciting story line
+ Excellent animation and character design
+ Excellent BGM
+ Cool and varied cast of characters with powers
+ Good main character development

Bad points:
- Ends in a cliffhanger (wait for the sequel!)
- Poor OP and ED themes
- Many underdeveloped supporting characters
- Underdeveloped main antagonist
- Underwhelming final two episodes due to lack of resolution (yet)

Other comments
You will love this show if you like:
1. Good action sequences with read more
Nov 8, 2014
realkonnie (All reviews)
(This is my 1st review)

I was looking forward to this show because friends told me how good the manga is & how excited they were about it getting an anime. Tbh I wasn't expecting that much from it but entertainment. Didn't think it would be the anime of the season but still a cool thing to watch !

Story: It starts off with that guy getting mixed blood with a ghoul & becoming some kind of half human / half ghoul dude. That part was ok I guess, you kinda think ghouls are gonna be scary etc since they eat humans. But like every ghoul is read more
Nov 5, 2014
dokiboki (All reviews)
I'm gonna keep this straight up and simple,

This is an anime that you've already seen, a story in which you already know, characters who you already know, and an ending you'd pretty much expect.

Tokyo Ghoul at first had my expectation and interest at a completely maximum level, and the first episode totally delivered that to me, I was sucked into the series and wanted to see more and more of it, BUT after I had begun to watch the second episode and so on, the story and its characters had begun to take a completely cliche' and predictable turn, with a completely unsatisfied ending.

All in read more
Nov 30, 2014
TheAlgea (All reviews)
First of all, just so you know, I have not written many reviews. Ever. Of anything. Also, I realise that in comparison to many other reviewers I'm like a newbie, seeing as I have only watched about 20 animes and have just (since a few months) started reading manga.

Also, while scrolling down numerous reviews I noticed a very distinct pattern: the reviewers who first read the manga and those who either haven't, or just started reading it. Those who read the manga seem to give the show a very low score while those who haven't seem to give it an absurd high score.

Now, I've read more
Mar 29, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
overview:

Everyone has been saying how Tokyo Ghoul: 2 was a piece of shit, but the first Tokyo Ghoul was a masterpiece. I have a revelation to share with the denizens of MAL. The first Tokyo Ghoul...actually wasn't very good. I'm going to depart from my normal format in order to try something new for me. I will divide the review largely into positives vs. negatives.

Some Spoilers!

Background:

Sometimes a popular trend can go completely out of control and the media becomes hyper-saturated with a particular style or genre. For most people on MAL and 4chan, that evil that must be stomped out is "Moe" anime and read more
Sep 19, 2014
Black_Butterfly (All reviews)
What do you get when you have X men meet Resident Evil? That would be Tokyo Ghoul.

Tokyo Ghoul is an anime that contained a large amount of hype stemming from those who have read the manga, and for good reasons too. The premise would sound very enthralling and interesting to those who are in love with the supernatural and psychological genres of fiction, like myself. Since the show also throws in a high dosage of fast-paced graphic violence here and there along with a good soundtrack, you pretty much have the most entertaining show of this season, right!? Wrong. What makes Tokyo Ghoul a below-average read more
Sep 18, 2014
Tobimadara12 (All reviews)
Oh god this show is impossibly difficult.

On one hand, it was actually pretty badass. I mean the concept itself is something very appealing to many fans in general, and the manga was already quite well received. But then, once you actually watch the show, all the hype turns into...confusion. Well here it goes, Tokyo Ghoul:

The show revolves around Kaneki Ken, an introvert who spends all his free time engrossed in literature. By the miraculous hands of the anime gods, he ends up on a date with Kana Hanaz- I mean Kamishiro Rize, a purple haired beauty with the same tastes as him regarding novels and read more
Feb 22, 2015
CecaniahCorabele (All reviews)
One of the most popular anime of Summer 2014, after 1 episode Tokyo Ghoul really break the Top Watching List of 2014. For the fans, Tokyo Ghoul is a good getaway series. But behind the fact, Tokyo Ghoul have a various lack in their performance.

The story told us about Kaneki Ken, a boy who accidentally turned into a Ghoul. Ghoul is a man-eating monster that founded in Islamic Folklore. At first, Tokyo Ghoul seems so promising many things, but in the reality, it failed. The story has a relatively slow pacing, for example in one episode only happened a few events only. And sometimes read more
Jul 14, 2015
Papermate (All reviews)
"Some things are better left unsaid"

I dont' know why, but this quote is implemented into the story of Tokyo Ghoul, literally and practically. I will go in-depth towards this perspective throughout the review but keep in mind I will keep this review short and precise so that you readers can make a choice of either to prioritize this anime over others or to not..
I also will not include a synopsis in this review, because the description of this anime is written on the anime page.

Opinion:
Tokyo Ghoul is far more superior than other anime in that it has a solid story and presented it well within read more