Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sword Art Online II


Alternative Titles

English: Sword Art Online II
Synonyms: Phantom Bullet, SAO II, Sword Art Online 2, SAO 2
Japanese: ソードアート・オンライン II

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2014 to Dec 20, 2014
Premiered: Summer 2014
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.291 (scored by 408,057 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23782
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #21
Members: 644,730
Favorites: 6,797

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 3, 2015
Veronin (All reviews)
*Minor spoilers ahead*

There are a lot of things that can be said about Sword Art Online, and most of those things are not pleasant. I will not mince words: I am no fan of the series. The first season was filled with so many issues, both significant and minor, that even watching a single episode was an incredible test of patience. There were some neat ideas hidden in between the mountains of nonsense, and while I can understand why the show was so enjoyable to so many people, in my case, it was like an aneurysm waiting to happen.

There is often a dichotomy of read more
Dec 29, 2014
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Before I start this review, let's all take this moment to bow our heads and close our eyes as we pray to the great and almighty Jesus-kun.

Oh Jesus-kun, let your humble servants be like thee oh Lord. Let us become OP, plot armored, self insert chick magnets so that we can build our own harem. Bless the harem oh Lord, that it be deemed worthy of your hax abilities, AMEN!

Story: 2/10

You know how you can tell if a story is retarded? When the only way it can continue is if your main character makes an extremely illogical decision, that anyone read more
Dec 25, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

*Sigh... What am I doing with my life? Seriously: What do I have to gain by bashing this show? I’m certainly not the first one to rip this anime and its inane hype train a new one and I definitely won’t be the last. Therefore, forcing myself to sit through yet another collection of incompetent pacing, plot points that make no sense what so ever, and an unbearable self-insertion protagonist doesn’t really seem to be worthwhile, does it? And yet here we are. Goddamn it… Ladies and gentleman: It’s fucking back

Synopsis: After restoring VRMMORPGs to their previous glory by being the total badass read more
Dec 20, 2014
Vene (All reviews)
It came, almost like if it has been created for one purpose: polarize the public opinion, and yet the same scenario from back then take place, to be or not to be.... mediocre? I guess the answer was already given in that first season, I'll just throw it here, if we're watching this sequel we already know what to expect, there won't be a glorious comeback, we're watching the wrong franchise otherwise, SAO II is the same old SAO after all.. and for those who understand this basic concept, it might be entertaining somehow, I won't hide that fact, just make sure to leave the read more
Dec 20, 2014
Elegade (All reviews)
Another flagship of the Anime Industry has ended again today. While some people would be delighted by Sao II ending, most are left wanting more and eagerly anticipating the next Sword Art Online. While the series itself is not perfect, I wouldn't say it's garbage as some would say it. I am going to cover the three arcs as separate rather than as a whole so it would highlight their strengths and weaknesses better, then combine it to an overall score.

Story, Phantom Bullet(8/10): The first arc is the meat of SAO II. It has the most episodes spanning 14 of the overall 24. Here, read more
Dec 20, 2014
jiroutachi (All reviews)
I started SAO II because hearing so many people saying it would adapt arcs that are vastly superior to the previous ones made me really curious about how far this franchise could go, and I bet wasn't the only one. As I bet that I'm not the only one who was left absolutely, utterly disappointed (but not surprised) upon seeing all of the same old bullshit that made the first season so terrible repeating itself.

This review may contain spoilers from now on.

Sword Art Online II adapts two arcs from the novels: GGO and Mother's Rosario. Oh no, wait, it's three arcs: there's also the read more
Dec 20, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Sword Art Online is a series that needs no introduction. To be quite frank, the first season spawned a lot of controversy with the adaptation. As a show taking place in an online realm, the series had a lot of potential but never really capitalized on them when it came down with the story and characters. Luckily, season 2 does freshen up a bit with some brand new storylines and characters. In particular, one of the first story arcs involves Kirito stepping forward into a new realm known as GGO.

To trace back a bit, the series is based off a light novel of the read more
Jan 3, 2015
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
It was Fall of 2012, and it almost seemed as though the world was in a bleak dark place of temper tantrums and violent outbursts. These were formed due to the nature of one simple questions: Is/Was Sword Art Online really that good or bad? Both sides had convincing arguments to their reasons for disliking or liking the show. But, ultimately, it has now become a staple of how every year, there is that one over-hyped show that defines anime of that year. Now it’s 2014 and we finally have its sequel under the cheers and groans that look forward to or dread it.

Now the read more
Aug 19, 2015
MykeJinX89 (All reviews)
Mod Edit: this review may contain spoilers.

Sword Art Online... You know, I hear alot of fanboys say that the second season is much better than the first, but I say they're dead wrong. When I started watching this season, I told myself that I'm not taking anyone's word for it and will let the show speak for itself. If you ask me, Sword Art Online should've ended after, y'know, Sword Art Online. Even if Aincrad was a terrible arc, it would've ended with at least some dignity. But nope, Fairy Dance just had to drive whatever dignity it had into the ground.

The second season of read more
Dec 20, 2014
AzureNatlis99 (All reviews)
Another season, another helping of extreme controversy, a countless number of attacks on the fan base, even more flame wars, and perhaps the largest amount of unfair criticisms and double standards ever seen in an anime.

In my review of the first season, I stated that "Sword Art Online was the most over hated anime of recent decade." Considering what I've seen in this season and the newest criticisms against it(despite it correcting most of the weaknesses of season 1), I still stand by what I said back then.

So what do I think of it? This season has solidified my opinion that I've had about the read more
Apr 8, 2015
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
It is time to review a story that never should have taken place. By any measure of realism and sensible writing, the show would have ended after their escape from SAO, the technology would have been banned in the wake of the public outrage, and there would be no need for further walls of snarky reviews at MAL.

But there was more money to be made, and what are realism and sensible writing compared to that? So here we are then.

When reviewing season 1, I implied that the second arc was a cashcow, and I feel the same applies here. It is a thinly veiled attempt read more
Dec 20, 2014
Reyxe (All reviews)
It's my first review here and english isn't my native so, forgive me if I make some mistake!

Let me start this review by saying, yes, your eyes aren't fooling you, i rated this as a 9, i'll explain my reasons below, it's going to be long but i'll add a tl;dr version at the end of every 'arc'.

SAO is a series that doesn't need any introduction, its really popular, loved and hated, but, before you watch SAO2, i need to tell you something so you can enjoy it to its full potential, first, SAO as a whole is NOT about action nor romance, it does read more
Jun 28, 2015
iSuckAtWriting (All reviews)
‘Right here, I can’t tell you what I’m thinking and what I feel. I want you to see my world!’

SAO was a one trick pony. Its death game premise burdened the already heavy task of climbing Castle Aincrad’s 100 floors. But the illusion of the unconquerable castle would often break, as the anime proper would skip floors at the story’s convenience. Halfway through, the show lost the sense of scale it needed to cover for what the characters lacked. In many ways, we saw their world, but not their feelings. SAO was a lukewarm experience.

Which makes me proud to say SAO II is actually quite read more
Dec 21, 2014
Sorainnosia (All reviews)
When Sword Art Online II appears, a beam of light peep out in my mind and hope that the sequel able to cover all its mistakes.

But again, my hope was shattered into a dust

Based off the light novel written by Reki Kawahara, Sword Art Online II is a sequel of Sword Art Online. The series started after the Alfheim Online's Arc, in a new game called Gun Gale Online, where a string of deaths begins occurring in the game. Our main character, Kirigaya Kazuto is assigned to enter Gun Gale Online to investigate the cause of the deaths.

The story is divided into 3 arcs: read more
Dec 30, 2014
MrSparklePants (All reviews)
Ok. So there's a lot of reviews for this out there so mine's going to be a little different. Bear with me guys. Bear. With. Me.

One. Two. Three Four Five
Everybody grab a gun and c'mon lets ride...

Yep. That Mambo N.5 appropriation pretty much sums up the first arc of SAO II. The only problem is the people driving seem to even more geographically challenged than me, and as the anime's seemingly directionless take becomes apparent you'll find yourself yelling 'For fuck sake use a GPS'. Yep. This anime has trouble navigating itself.

But smash on the beaks and hop on out. Lets step back, shall we, read more
Mar 22, 2015
TikiTDO (All reviews)
-- Overview --

The SAO franchise, and particularly SAO II, is a very controversial series. It is disliked by a lot of people, and the complaints are quite damning. For these people the story seems disjointed, the characters make decisions that don’t make sense, and the pacing is all over the place. Those that make such complaints are happy to describe how they think they would act if they ever found themselves in a similar situation. These people generally have something in common. They have either never played any MMOs, or played them very casually. In this I am sorry because they will likely never understand read more
Mar 26, 2015
RarestProGamer (All reviews)
*Review contains minor spoilers of Sword Art:Online and Log Horizon too*


I have seen thousands of people who compare Log Horizon with Sword Art:Online and how much it is better from SAO and most of them people are from here only. Don't get me wrong as a gamer person myself, I like both series. My review covers up 2 anime of same genre!


Story- Overall, the Plot is totally messed up all the 5 arcs (SAO,ELF,GGO,Excalibur,Mother's Rosario), even though the very first SAO arc of the first season is still slightly better than the rest.To sum up this is the order SAO>Mother's Rosario>GGO>Excalibur>>>ELF. But, I don't read more
Dec 20, 2014
A1i0s (All reviews)
When I heard SAO was getting a second season, I was excited. Yes, SAO is one of my favorite animes, but I try not to let that cloud my judgement for how I would score it.

Story: 6
As you can read in the series description, a player of a shooter VRMMO is killing people in the game. This is the first arc (Phantom Bullet). Kirito gets sent into the game because he's apparently the closest thing to a professional gamer at the disposal of the company trying to solve the mystery of how the player is killing people. Sinon is a sniper in that same read more
Dec 9, 2015
Lindle (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

There's no way to review Sword Art Online that won't piss someone off, so I might as well come out and say it and piss of both the fandom AND the hatedom:

This wasn't as bad as the first one.

Both of the two main arcs of Sword Art Online II (disregarding the mini-arc inbetween the two) actually manage to fix a major problem with their predecessors, creating an overall better experience in the process. Unfortunately, they make new and different mistakes instead.

The series begins with Gun Gale Online. Surprisingly, this was neither as aggressively boring nor as aggressively bad as either previous arc, read more
Jan 20, 2015
Gabe-KC (All reviews)
*may contain spoilers ; yeah I've read the novel, but this is about the anime adaptation*

Oh God... I don't know how to begin. I did enjoy SAO 2, but once again I can't rate it with numbers. I have to write down my feeling, since that's the only way for a writer to make himself understood :)

So in 2012 this anime called Sword Art Online appeared. If you are interested in my opinion about it, please read my review, I won't spend any time to repeat what I've said there. But in 2014 we got the sequel. It was announced, that it will be about read more