Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Love Live! School Idol Project 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

English: Love Live! School Idol Project 2
Japanese: ラブライブ! School idol project 2期

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2014 to Jun 29, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Other
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.941 (scored by 91,368 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6482
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #621
Members: 159,396
Favorites: 2,618

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 1, 2014
Veronin (All reviews)
If there have been any worries about the future of the idol genre, Love Live 2 has dispelled them.

It's hard to deny that the first season of Love Live began with a rocky start. There wasn't much to set itself apart from other idol shows (especially with the likes of Idolmaster and Aikatsu dominating the genre) and it fell prone to melodrama far more than it should have. But, much like K-ON's mediocre first season and excellent second season, Love Live 2 has managed to do more than improve upon its predecessor - it has genuinely become an amazing anime.

I won't lie, I read more
Jun 22, 2014
BullSmit (All reviews)
After finishing 1st Season of Love Live: School Idol Project, I must say, Season 2 sure stepped up it's game. I enjoyed Season 1 a lot too, but Season 2 has just been something else for me.

For those of you who don't know, Love Live: School Idol Project is based off of a real live idol group called Nine Muses. They all go by different names in the anime itself, but it's a pretty neat concept. Their goal in Season 1 is to keep the school from shutting down by forming an idol group.

In Season 2, their goal is to make the Love Live, and read more
Jun 30, 2014
Glacialis (All reviews)
When Love Live! School Idol Project first aired in Japan, it became a hit sensation, captivating the hearts of many. The show was surprisingly good, with an enjoyable cast, entertaining songs, and a solid story. It was a massive success, and with its popularity came a second season. This might make some people feel anxious, thinking this to be a sell out for more money, but their worries can be put to ease; regardless of its intentions, I believe this second season to be even greater than the first time around.

Spoilers for the first season to follow.

Love Live! School Idol Project Second Season follows μ’s read more
Oct 12, 2014
CecaniahCorabele (All reviews)
Love Live! School Idol Project 2nd Season

Love Live! have a simple story, it tells us about 9 girls that competing in a School Idol Competition. Well, if we look deeply to the main idea of the story, Love Live does not have an originality. Although not having an originality, the story is full of excitement, the plot have a great balance between the main story and the fillers.

As for the art, we have a clear and beautiful animation, despite having a CG during dancing and stage performing, Love Live! have a well-produced animation.

What can I say about the sound? Is wonderful in my read more
Nov 17, 2017
RoryBurrows (All reviews)
Ambition – the driving force of a goal.
There’s no doubt that season 1 of Love Live is a truly weak series. There was a lack of detail to characterization; the flow of the plot was all over the place: Shoving cute girls and memes down your throat and then ending on some of the worst melodrama present in anime at the end.
It would be easy to pass off the second season as equally irresponsible as the first; but oddly enough the second season of Love Live works wonders. This improvement in quality it ascends Love Live from being a trashy meme-fest into something of read more
Jul 17, 2014
Lanciare (All reviews)
I've watched IdolM@ster and came to the conclusion that it was the best Idol-related anime and cannot be compared to ...I was wrong

Love Live! School Idol Project is an anime sometimes over-dramatic, but it certainly is an amazing piece of anime. And it certainly lived up to it's name for the franchise in the Anime Idol Industry.

The Story is incredibly simple, we have 9 girls who strive to win a National Idol competition called Love Live! And this was their Final chance as Three of their members are graduating after that year.
Despite being simple, this anime sticks to it's 'Slice of Life' Genre so well read more
Jun 29, 2014
thekatelynn (All reviews)
Story: 8/10

Love Live season 2 has a great story following the first season. I only have two problems with the story. Firstly, getting into season two seems contrived as a second love live festival just happens to be held so Muse can participate. I don’t mind because we got a second season, but it still seemed forced. Secondly, I hated the Halloween episode as it was an excuse for fanservice and the insert song wasn’t very good.

Characters: 10/10

This shows best points are the characters. Each character is well fleshed out and well rounded. Every major character gets screen time and a chance to develop. None read more
Mar 12, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Singing in front of people isn’t easy. Just picture yourself in front of an audience or in an arena of over 10,000 people looking at you and perhaps almost always judging you on your performance. It’s both a thrilling and nerve wrecking experience, especially for idols. But for Muse, this is exactly what they are aiming for – to perform and captivate the audience with their talent in the art of singing. Love Live School Idol Project returns for a second season starring Muse members are they find their way with music.

μ's (pronounced as Muse), makes its anticipated return with all its members back. One read more
Jul 16, 2014
Fantassy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yeah, it's a kind of late review but whatever and english isn't my Main language so im sorry if the vocabulary is not correct.

First of all, The first season, The first season wasn't really that great It was Average/Mediocre for me.
Mostly because at that time there were other school Idols anime which dominated the genre of School idol. But Love live school idol project 2nd season was better and has improved in many ways than it predecessor, which is a good point.

It's basically just an anime about school girls which want to become a School idol group the μ's and want to perform at Love read more
Nov 16, 2017
Pitzer (All reviews)
To continue working on a broken piece is never easy; to fix what is broken is a hassle. It would be easier to leave it be; it would be easier to start something new, up from the ground, to leave the shambles behind, to never think of them again. However, against all odds, the first season of Love Live, no matter how broken, how unbelievably hollow, how ultimately tired and trite it all was, ended up garnering quite an audience; an audience eager to see more. It is during these times - the times when a show that I can at best describe as read more
Apr 19, 2015
Seto_Masamune (All reviews)
Love Live! School Idol Project Season 2 -
Recommend of read a review or watch season 1 before reading this.

Love Live! is a Comedy, Idol anime co-created by music label Lantis and animation studio Sunrise, with it's second season was release in April of 2014. It continues from the end of season 1 (Which i also reviewed), where Honoka Kōsaka and her friends in the school idol group μ's (Muse) tries to enter the second Love live, a school idol tournament that has changed because of success of the first one, has become national wide as idol groups from around Japan compete to be the read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
Love Live School Idol Project is not meant for me. Reviewing a show this girly and happy is pretty much impossible based on my age, sex, and what I enjoy watching. The reason I don’t review Pretty Cure? I’m not a ten year old girl. The reason I review Love Live? Despite obviously being a show for ten year old girls it’s got a raging male fanbase that’s about my age.

A year ago I wrote a review for the first season that I feel, now, complains about all the wrong things. It doesn’t at all hit the nail on the head for how to approach read more
Nov 26, 2018
OVERPOWERED99 (All reviews)
STORY - 9
ART - 9
SOUND - 10
CHARACTER - 9
ENJOYMENT - 9

Honestly, it's not easy to concisely describe just how vivid the second season of School Idol Project is. A beautiful outburst of the soul. A melodic magic that lifts the heart. A lyrical expression full of emotions. These words are close enough to express how I feel but really, it's better if you listen to µ's ("Muse") once more. Because as the saying goes:

"Where words fail, music speaks."

Every journey will always have a start and an end; and within it, there will always be a story. The story of µ's began as a school-saving solution, read more
Jun 29, 2014
shinseul (All reviews)
Wow, Love Live!: School Idol Project Season 2. It is like the best anime in the entire planet to watch. I could of written a review for the ova and season 1 but i didn't find out about this feature on this website. So anyway, onto my review of this shall we? This season has been an emotional roller coaster since there was a lot of sad feels into this season, not as much as the first season but i gotta say that the relationship grew so much for the members of µ's ever since the first season. These two seasons of love live were read more
Dec 21, 2015
MagicalMahou (All reviews)
Success stories have always had a spirit that the Academy and many others have deemed inextinguishable. The soul and passion of the fight to victory has always had an undeniable effect on us humans, who have always had the hidden spirit of desire; the very desire to go the extra mile and make it to the top. And it is in these stories where we see this undeniable burning human passion. We see it in Daniel's eyes in his final match in the Karate Kid. We see it in Rocky, prepared to fight Apollo Creed with everything he has. We see it in Drumline, as read more
Sep 16, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Not too long ago I looked at Love Live. The anime portion of a multi-media project. It was an enjoyable series. The first series introduced us to µ's (pronounced Muse.) µ's formed with three members in order to gain interest in their school to prevent it shutting down. We saw the original three gradually grow into nine. We saw the nine girls coming together as friends & comrades, doing live shows and getting really, really, really homo-erotic with one another. So, our heroines managed to save their school in the end. Where are they going to go from there?

Story:

We open with Honoka giving a speech read more
Feb 5, 2019
psyart (All reviews)
This review will cover the second season of LLSIP. I'll probably make some comparisons here and there to the first season but if you're interested in what I've had to say for the first season, please see the review I wrote for it beforehand.

Love Live, for me, is one of those series that, before watching, I thought I wouldn't like a bit, but after actually heading into it, I ended up loving it. Also, I honestly can't believe I've missed it all this time.

Having said a lot in my review of the first season already, I feel like there isn't much to add here. The read more
Nov 1, 2014
13lueH0ur (All reviews)
“But you guys make me want to root for you for some reason.” - Yukiho Kousaka

Note that this review will cover the two inseparable seasons of Love Live! School Idol Project.

I don’t get idols. A bunch of adorable girls sing and dance their heart out on stage and everyone loves it. And that’s exactly what Love Live is. The only difference is that I actually get it.

I had the honor of picking up Love Live as my very first idol anime due to a friend’s humble (and passionately incessant) request. It’s nothing amazing but it’s something special; simple in its message yet powerful in its read more
May 15, 2016
Nadimi (All reviews)
The only times I ever binge-watch anime is when I'm either extremely bored or the series is extremely entertaining. Although the 2nd season of Love Live! School Idol Project is far from being a masterpiece or one of my all-time favorite shows, it's oddly addicting and, most importantly, far better than the first season.

Despite being turned off by the many problems the first season had, the positive reviews and the amazing art made me want to continue watching this show. Luckily, I was not disappointed.

Although the music is still a bit too generic and immature for my personal taste, there are lots of fun read more
Feb 18, 2015
Micsupreeme (All reviews)
As a continuation from the season 1...
Season 2 of Love Live is fortunately, a Critically important watch for those who enjoyed the initial 13 episodes.
It holds onto its ability to really motivate its audience.
It's upbeat, its charming, it allows for more development, and brings the main series to a well wrapped up, beautiful ending.

Love Live is to be commended for the way it sticks to its motives, it's simple if plotted on a timeline, and uses each and every episode to its fullest, as opposed to going off on spontaneous Moe tangents. Love Live continues to weave its way into your heart in Season 2, read more