Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren


Alternative Titles

English: Love, Chunibyo & Other Delusions!: Heart Throb
Synonyms: Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! 2, Chu-2 Byo demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren
Japanese: 中二病でも恋がしたい!戀

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2014 to Mar 27, 2014
Premiered: Winter 2014
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:30 (JST)
Producers: Lantis, TBS
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 209,117 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #219
Members: 358,489
Favorites: 1,527

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2014
Veronin (All reviews)
Some shows are better left without a sequel.

Meet "Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren", Kyoto Animation's latest offering, the esteemed studio that once brought titles such as Haruhi, Clannad: After Story and Full Metal Panic: TSR to the anime industry. The KyoAni of 2014 is no such studio. Instead, we find rubbish like Free and Kyoukai no Kanata on an almost seasonal basis. The KyoAni of before is done and gone. They can't even seem to do sequels right any more.

It remains a mystery how KyoAni managed to mess the Chuunibyou franchise this badly. Granted, the first season wasn't anything particularly special, but read more
Mar 28, 2014
Satire (All reviews)
I think most of the anime watching community has learned to generally expect two things from KyoAni:

1. There will be moe
2. The story and plot will either be subpar or shit.

I want to say that it's nice Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! got a second season, I really do. The first season of Chuunibyou was decent; it had a little bit of eight-grade syndrome, a little bit of romance, obligatory KyoAni moe, and a bit of slice of life. Characters actually felt like they made progress and it was a fairly enjoyable watch overall. I can't say the same about the second season.

I'd read more
Mar 2, 2014
Degr33s (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now if you haven't seen the first season of this anime, then I suggest you should before watching this season.
I liked the first season of Chuunibyou, it was a fun little story that introduced (well to me at least) the "chuunibyou" syndrome. Yūta Togashi is a boy who, during junior high school, had 'adolescent delusions' (中二病 chūnibyō?, lit. "junior high school second grade illness"), believing that he possesses supernatural powers and dubbing himself the 'Dark Flame Master,' therefore alienating himself from his classmates. Finding his past embarrassing, Yūta attempts to start off high school where he does not know anyone, free from his old read more
Mar 31, 2014
VNitsua (All reviews)
I had very high hopes for Chuunibyou demo Koi Shitai! Ren. I have been a fan of the first season ever since I watched it, but I cannot say that with the second season.

With a slice of life, character development is important. Very. Important. And the first season, I believe, did a very good job at that. Behind the whimsical nature of the first season, there was a serious theme of growing up and what is lost when someone does. This was emulated through Rikka. Sadly, the second season doesn't touch this at all.

Instead, the second season has the audience follow the relationship of Yuta read more
Mar 31, 2014
Nateal (All reviews)
There is no sequel to Chuunibyou Demo Koi Ga Shitai!
It does not exist….

Or at least that’s how it should have been. Unfortunately, KyoAni decided to make Chuunibyo Demo Koi Ga Shitai! Ren, a sequel for an anime that's one of the best of its genre.

When a sequel is created for any concluded story, it is akin to flipping a coin; It can either improve and provide a wonderful expansion to the story, or ruin the story and fall flat on its face. Sadly, the latter happened to Chuunibyou Koi Ga Shitai! Ren. The most concise reason as to why that is, is simply because read more
Apr 18, 2014
stream_eon (All reviews)
I'm writing this review to defend the series. I'll give reason why you should watch it too. ABSOLUTELY NO SPOILERS.

NOTES:
1. Don't compare Light Novels with the anime.
2. Don't lose interest with the negative feedback to this sequel.
3. I made everything short and outlined so finish reading this.

STORY: This is worth watching. I'll explain the benefits under.
ART: The art is still superb as ever. You can feel they spent lots of money on this.
SOUND: Still worth remembering as always.
CHARACTER: This is what I like this season, they did not focus only to Yuuta and Rikka, they gave good screen time to other characters too.

BENEFITS:
1. Progress of read more
Jul 10, 2014
Sakuragami (All reviews)
To start off, I have to say that I completely disagree with most of the reviews that I've read.

Yes, I think that the first season ended in a way that it could have ended there, and we'd all go along happy... BUT this season actually had a very real portrayal of young love (to a certain extent).

If you look past the "Chuunibyou" syndrome, and at what each character is actually feeling, I at least, felt a deep pang of nostalgia throughout the whole thing.

Is it the best anime in the world? No. Could the show have done without the sequel season? Yes. read more
Aug 26, 2014
CecaniahCorabele (All reviews)
Sometimes, there is a story that's not needed a sequel.

At the first sight, I have high hopes for the 2nd season of this anime. But it comes out many disappointments, and lack of resources.

Very confusing, the story leads to a direction that is not clear. And if the story had misdirection, then the characters contained in this film becomes dead, within the meaning of the word. The characters seemed to be only made ​to fill the vacancy in this story.

Next, a new character in this story. Actually, this character is a character that is not necessary for this story, this triggers another character (besides read more
Mar 27, 2014
Instantferu (All reviews)
Do you want a good sequel for Chuunibyou demo koi ga shitai ? This isn't your anime.
You wanted a good adaptation of the second novel of chuuni? This isn't your anime.

First season of Chuunibyou demo koi ga shitai was one of the best anime I watched last year. It had romance, comedy, drama, nice animation, music, in a good distribution. Although it wasn't an exact adaptation of the light novel (what anime is, after all) I was really satisfied with it, so when I heard about a second season, I was somehow looking forward to it.

What was I expecting from the second season? Well, first read more
Mar 31, 2014
gagan5867 (All reviews)
Today itself I have read two reviews stating that Ren should never have been made. People are denying its existence. But is it really that bad? Yeah! I agree it doesn't even compare to the beauty shown in the 1st season but come on people its still chuu2byo.

Yep the story line is definitely weaker as compared to the 1st season as some episodes as mentioned in many other reviews seem like filler, one example being Kumin's sleeping contest thing. The humor is not as great as the 1st season but it is still good. Highlighting the major parts here, Dekomori and Nibutani got more read more
Feb 4, 2015
Mist87 (All reviews)
*Stumbles from all the negative press* Ouch, where all the hate coming from? Oh, sorry, breaking the 4th wall of reviewing here... Here we have Season 2 of Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!: Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren. The relationship of Yuuta and Rikka starts this series off... but not with a bang. The second season, between the comedy and silliness that signified the first season, chronicles Yuuta and Rikka struggling with their relationship with all their friends and family providing support. All who watched season 1 will remember how Yuuta decided to work with Rikka and her read more
Jan 11, 2015
VoidHawk (All reviews)
As someone said before, there are shows that should be left at peace after the first season IF you do not know how to handle a sequel.

Whereas the first season was a great joy to watch, for its art, plot, handling of story and overall tidiness of the story, this "thing" of a sequel was just the average garbage sub teen anime out there.

No real story, no real development, the characters that were before interesting and really evolving were now actually devolving, and the last episode was a joke, with no real end and one of the silliest declaration dialogs I have ever seen...the read more
May 17, 2015
Silverquick (All reviews)
Honestly I don't disagree with some of the things said about this second series. But one thing I will definitely say, it keeps and maintains the weapons grade adorableness the first one had.

I have only seen the subbed version, but honestly I thought the dubbed version of the first season as better than the subbed, so my rating may change once I see the dubbed version.

I didn't think the first series had some kind of incredible story, it was just very enjoyable, and incredibly heartwarming just to watch the characters interact. That was really the thing that made it great.

And the second read more
Jun 14, 2015
FrancisUnderwood (All reviews)
I'm a little disappointed considering how much I enjoyed the clearly superior season 1 in comparison to this. Now, don't get me wrong, I enjoyed this season too, just not as much as I did compared to season 1.

I was surprised how much I season 1 entertained me. It was definitely a fun experience and I was very eager to get myself started with season 2. While sing praise towards season 1, I can't say the same for season 2.

Plot wise, Just like season 1, the plot wasn't deep nor complex. But season 1's plot definitely had more depth and it didn't feel forced. We read more
Mar 27, 2014
Cataclysm- (All reviews)
Any fans of Chuunibyou's first season would likely agree that they were looking forward to another season, However this season fell flat on it face and was awful. A poor story, no character development and a matter a fact they suffered regression.

The main point of this season was to progress the relationship of Rikka and Yuuta. In the process the supporting cast which once added to the show's entertainment value(whether it was comedy or the plot) completely felt pointless and were annoying at times. Through series the literally inch closer, holding hands, hugging, a little kiss on the forehead. Any time they had a opportunity read more
Mar 27, 2014
XeroAxel (All reviews)
It has some comedic episodes within the season. But there wasn't really anything that had the same substance and development that season 1 had. Even a core story line in this season, i felt fell flat. And overall it didn't feel like there was really any direction the season was trying to go.

Felt more comedy, than romance, but if you were looking for the good feels from season 1, move along. Would be worth watching IF they do a season 3 so you don't get left behind...otherwise...just be content with the season 1 Christmas Episode as your "ending" and move on.
Mar 30, 2014
SuperDeletedUser (All reviews)
A great example of a show that just didn't need a sequel season.

The first season of Chuunibyou wasn't particularly amazing in my opinion, but at least it had a premise, some conflict, an overall purpose which it delivered on, some entertaining scenes and it mostly tied itself up without leaving many loose ends.

So why did it need a sequel season? It mostly just ends up as a "continuation of the characters from the first season", and the entire thing just felt way too safe. The characters from last season pretty much had all of their character conflict resolved, so now they had to find a read more
Oct 19, 2015
ThunderBoyo (All reviews)
I feel I need to write this review just so that the people like me, who were tempted to not watch Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren due to the collection of unfavorable reviews on the page, can actually give the anime a chance!

I thought this sequel was great! Sure the story and romance in the worlds most slowly progressing relationship does not reach amazing new heights but that does not mean that the anime is not highly enjoyable. For starters one of the perks of Ren is that it continues with the same feel and humorous style as the first series, if you read more
Nov 9, 2014
theeggman85 (All reviews)
I'll be keeping this fairly brief. If you dislike any of the characters in the first season, this review might help you.

I already thought the characters were pretty weak, coming into the second season. What you should expect in the second season is for the characters to remain nearly the same. Or rather, you will see a series of episodes that each trick you into thinking that there will be character progression, that then revert back to the exact same dynamic. It is unbelievably frustrating to watch.

There is one moment in particular, which I can't talk about because spoilers, that happens in the second half read more
Jun 30, 2015
nathh (All reviews)
This is not a terrible anime. In fact, if it was on its own, it would score much higher, but coming to Ren after watching 1st season was a huge dissapointment. Watching characters you liked so much degrade themselves is something nobody should experience.
This is direct continuation of Chuunibyou 1st season. Yuuta and Rikka now live together, because apparently even Tooka knows that nothing will happen in this series. Also, Yuuta's old friend with syndrome of her own moves upstairs, resulting in a very poorly executed triangle.
The high points of this season are definitely scenes with Nibutani and Dekomori. Those two are at their read more