Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Suisei no Gargantia


Alternative Titles

English: Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet
Synonyms: Suisei no Galgantia
Japanese: 翠星のガルガンティア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2013 to Jun 30, 2013
Premiered: Spring 2013
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.571 (scored by 131,198 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15022
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #380
Members: 244,431
Favorites: 1,093

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 2, 2013
Veronin (All reviews)
It is a common belief in fiction that the bigger and more explosive a story is, the better it becomes.

In the case of "Suisei no Gargantia", bigger is anything but better. What makes the first half of the anime so special, and so rewarding, is made irrelevant by the bloated mess that follows. And it's a shame- it had the potential to be one of the best anime of these past few years.

Despite being the latest work of the (in)famous Urobuchi Gen, Suisei no Gargantia depicts a much more down-to-earth story. There is no ruthless slaughtering of the characters (though some might deserve it read more
Jun 30, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
A utopia.

How many people have ever dreamed about our world ever becoming one? It's an idea that stretches beyond dreams and imaginations. In such a world, there would be peace, paradise, and colonies where humanity can settle down and enjoy their lives. Well, those are just all dreams of course. People may fill their heads with these ideas but for the Human Galactic Alliance, it's one that they hope to fulfill for many years. Then, there's one young boy among all of this and his name is Ledo. After a certain event, he gets swallowed up into a distortion of time and space while read more
Jun 2, 2013
rossfudgew (All reviews)
Preliminary
After seeing episode nine of this series I feel compelled to write a review about it.

Suisei no Gargantia is by far the best anime of the season, even better than Shingeki no Kyojin and I am really hoping that they renew it for a second season (because I feel they will need more episodes to develop the plot.

Essentially if you have followed the series so far you know that Ledo (the main character) is a solider in the Galactic Alliance which has been in a non stop war with the Hideauze for as long as anyone can remember. Ledo like his solider counterparts were read more
Jul 8, 2013
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Suisei no Gargantia (or Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet) is a show that starts off with plenty of promise. It had famed writer Gen Urobuchi venturing outside the grimness of his previous work to make a more uplifting story, beautiful visuals from Production I.G., and a great premise. It explored thought-provoking concepts while remaining fun and affirming; possessing an optimism and faith in humanity that was simply infectious. However, while the first half of the show flows with a comfortably and naturally (albeit with some wasted time), the second half is clunky and forceful in introducing darker elements to the plot. The end is still read more
May 18, 2015
Raimie (All reviews)
This review entails some spoilers and, potentially, offensive regards to anime.
^
^

So. The two problems this anime faces are characterization and plot. The two key components of what make a good story. I'm just going to condense it down for ease and simplicity.

Gargantia had a lot of potential in the first few episodes. We're introduced to Ledo, a young man who lives among a space-colonized community of humans. However, all he and his fellow kin know is war against cephalopod(octopi, squids) aliens. Piloting highly advanced and durable AI, Ledo isn't accustomed to much outside of his mecha, "Chamber". As given by the summary, we pretty read more
May 25, 2013
raritydash (All reviews)
Preliminary
I skipped over this series at first. Didn't know anything about it, and not being a particular fan of mecha anime I just assumed it wasn't going to be for me. Then I happened to decide to finally finish up Psycho-Pass which I had started not too long ago. That series was immensely satisfying for me and left me wanting more. Hopefully a second season of Psycho-Pass will eventually come... but in the mean time, I decided to see what else the writer had his name attached to and came back to this. I decided to shove my preconceptions aside and give it a watch. read more
Jan 29, 2015
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Watching Suisei no Gargantia is like watching someone who is completely incompetent play a good video game for an extended period of time. Is there anything more aggravating? They ignore obvious powerups right in front of their face, they never know what attack to use at what time, and they have absolutely no idea where they are going. As much as you desperately would like to take the reigns or at least guide them in the right direction, you simply can’t. This process is universally frustrating and cringe-worthy because you know that if this person were only playing correctly, you would be able read more
Jun 30, 2013
mdz (All reviews)
Terse, trite, and tried to do too much.

*This review contains some spoilers for the show*

Suisei no Gargantia was my anticipated show of the season; written by Urobuchi Gen [the mind behind novel renditions of derivative works such as Madoka Magica (to Faust), Psycho-Pass (to works such as BNW/1984), Saya no Uta (to Lovecraftian works), Kikokugai, and so forth], and animated by a studio adept with handling most subjects [Production I.G.]. I was looking forward to it; his works not only make the audience think, but they’re often crafted intricately — excelling in both plot, characterization, and ultimately, presentation.

But the result? A mercurial series effusive with read more
May 13, 2013
Zackstrife2 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well first I must say this is my first review and english is not my native language, so I apologize for my bad english.

Well in all the news anime who popped out this spring, I guess we could say that the outstanding one is Shingeki No Kyojin, however, when I heard of Suisei No Gargantia, I just thought that this one may be the most beautiful one.

Indeed, this is an anime with a storyline who looks goods, I first thought this will be an ordinary mecha, but it's a lot different and this is why this anime is a special one.
The graphics and animation are... read more
Jun 4, 2013
Orsonius (All reviews)
Preliminary
Suisei no Gargantia is the latest work of the (in)famous Gen Urobuchi, who did Psycho Pass last season (IG) and the more known, Fate/Zero and Madoka Magica.

While I did enjoy the latter, Psycho Pass was pretty bad and so had no high expectations of another sci fi with Gen Urobuchi and IG behind it.

The show is still airing and I will edit some parts later on, but my overall impressions of the show are set and will only tweaked slightly after the end which will come soon.

Story

Suisei no Gargantia (Gargantia) sets in the distant future, humanity has escaped Earth and fights squid like Aliens called read more
Sep 12, 2014
DolbyThX (All reviews)
Have you travelled into a different country, in the which you can't speak the local language, the culture is completely different and people has different purposes in life? Well, this is what Gargantia is all about. It gives the impression of being an all-out action mecha anime, but before you realize, it becomes something else.

The first episode begins, and we are quickly taken into a rather pro-active exposition of the show's world: The humanity is in danger, and we must fight the ultimate battle against some Whale-squid-like creatures that inhabit the outer space called "Hideazu"!!. Somehow, the attack plan backfires and our Main read more
Dec 18, 2013
Ixact (All reviews)
If I look back on my experience with Suisei no Gargantia, I can feel the chills of the sea and space envelop my body as a whole.

What a ride.

Suisei no Gargantia was definitely one of the animes I always looked forward to watching every week when a new episode came out, and I believe it does deserve plenty of recognition for what it has done.

Story: 8
The premise from the get-go was very promising - humanity has been forced to leave Earth and is driven to the deep reaches of space, developing highly advanced technology to combat strange foes that spell doom for read more
Jul 15, 2013
Kynov (All reviews)
Epic crazy battle robot? Or maybe a full-suspense atmoshphere?

Well, thats usually appears in every mecha anime, but have you ever feel a mecha anime with heartwarming feeling? I bet not every mecha had that feeling before. I usually avoided mecha anime, I dont have any particular reasons. I always thought every mecha anime is quite generic like you have robot, you used that for battle then WHAM! (put battle scene in here) and voila! Here is a mecha anime. Surprisingly, Suisei no Gargantia is more than that.

STORY (9/10)
Suisei no Gargantia is not your usual mecha anime, if you’re looking for epicness mecha like Tengen Toppa read more
Sep 1, 2013
Satire (All reviews)
"We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch, we are going back from whence we came."

The ocean is a grand, mysterious, and beautiful thing. At times the ocean is calm and soothing; at other times it is chaotic and disastrous. While the ocean can bring us many memorable spectacles and experiences, it can also be seen as tedious and tiresome.

Suisei no Gargantia began with a lot of potential. Boasting action, mecha, sci-fi genres, beautiful animation, a gorgeous ocean scenery, and a strong pilot episode, one can’t help but anticipate read more
Jul 2, 2013
Ressamp (All reviews)
There’s a certain kind of excellence that I always pursue to discover within an anime - one that doesn’t have categories for scores, but rather, lives by one rationale - the desire to achieve and execute a goal. If I can see such a desire within the production team of said anime, I don’t have to rely on 1-10 scores or categories to judge an anime - I’ll simply know that it will be good, because the people behind it, are passionate souls with a love for what they do.

Of course, I’m not here to rattle on about my definition about a “good anime” but read more
Jul 1, 2013
pancake_monster (All reviews)
Suisei no Gargantia (Gargantia On The Verdurous Planet) is a 13 episode television series produced by Production IG, and notable for being primarily written by Gen Urobuchi, the mind behind such shows as Madoka Magica and Fate/Zero. Now before I start this review proper, I feel it's important to note that while Urobuchi has a track record of writing very dark shows with many characters dying and falling into despair, Gargantia is a very much different kind of show for him, for while it contains many similar themes to what he has tackled before, the show has an overall much more positive message to it. read more
Jul 7, 2013
SkannersArray (All reviews)
Urobutchi Gen is an extremely divisive creator, that is nothing new. Urobutcher happens to flourish in the age of the moe boom. Over 70% of anime each season involves high school, club, imouto or some variation of a pandering orgy, Butcher’s butchings were definitely minty treats for twisted buzzards like me. However, just as moe cheapens itself by turning up at every facets of the Anime industry, Gen’s sadistic tendencies also begin to get tired. By the time Psycho Pass was conceived, there were cries of predictability.

Many believe that Gargantia was somewhat a failure, and some of them even called it read more
Aug 7, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Suisei no Gargantia is a recent mecha series from Production I.G, which doesn't tell me much since they've been involved in quite a few projects some good and some terrible. There is an ongoing manga adaptation by Mitogawa Wataru. It came out before the actual anime, but the anime was in production long before the manga's release. I have heard virtually nothing about it, so I'm going into this one pretty much blind. I hope it turns out better than the last time I said that. I need something at least tolerable after Cheese Steak Suppository and School Days or I may have to start read more
May 24, 2014
GiancarloLS (All reviews)
An epic anime with a tremendous misplaced potential. Produced by studio Production IG, one of the most promising anime-studio there is, plus made by the renowned Gen Urobuchi, who's notable for his works: Puella Magi Madoka Magica, Psycho Pass, and Fate/Zero---well, meet their cousin: Suisei no Gargantia (Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet). The stage is set for one of the most misplaced potential anime there is.

Just by looking at these titles: Madoka Magica, Psycho Pass, and Fate/Zero, the veil of darkness is wrapped on these (in)famous anime, yet Gargantia took the opposite take; it's lighter and less casualty-oriented, among other themes that you would not read more
May 21, 2013
Onsaki (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay Gargantia makes me think about my life situation!, like really i'm waiting for the episode to come and it comes late which is the last thing i want more of that anime, and to know that just only the first episode was great and the rest are just some circle that making them do the same thing every time is just frustrating.

I felt betrayed and i felt i'm watching something that i shouldn't to. That's all i was thinking of while i'm watching a 20min episode of an anime without non-reasoning behind it.

Everything was awesome in the first episode but they got the wrong read more