Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica Movie 3: Hangyaku no Monogatari


Alternative Titles

English: Puella Magi Madoka Magica the Movie: Rebellion
Synonyms: Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika Movie 3, Magical Girl Madoka Magica Movie 3
Japanese: 劇場版 魔法少女まどか☆マギカ 叛逆の物語

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 26, 2013
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shaft
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 56 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.451 (scored by 130,746 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1382
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #427
Members: 222,557
Favorites: 5,509

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 15, 2013
MotherOfUltra (All reviews)
There're anime where the ending will leave you satisfied.
There're cliffhanger anime for people to die for a sequel.
There're even anime that just leaves cliffhangers and never come back.
There're those garbage anime that you just don't feel anything at all.

And there's Madoka, an anime with an amazing story, art, sound, character, but a soulless and downright devilish ending.

There will be absolutely no plot at all, because I want people to understand and be ready for anything.

And, I tell you, you'll need to be.

[P.S. There are absolutely no plot summaries in here, but the vocabularies and terms I use may indirectly suggest a minor point of the read more
Nov 18, 2013
iSheep (All reviews)
I don't think I've ever given perfect 10's across a rating scale. I don't think the third Madoka Magica movie deserves 10's across the board either, but this is the closest I'll probably ever get.

I dreaded the day that a sequel came to fruition for Madoka Magica. This was a show that ended on a rather ambiguous note but still left a good, everlasting impression in its original run, hinting that there was really no need for a sequel, an explanation, or an "After Story", for that matter. I'm not saying I don't want any more of it, not at all. But seriously, Gen Urobuchi, read more
Dec 10, 2013
Bear1211 (All reviews)
I'm bitter, I'm sad, and I'm filled with despair. To some this might sound bad, but for those who have experienced this film then you know it is the biggest complement I can give.

Story: 9

The final chapter in the highly acclaimed Madoka trilogy/show has come to a close, and studio Shaft has closed this book right (if not heart wrenching). The story is all tied to Homura after the events of the first two films. We follow her as the story travels down a road most fans never saw coming, but since this is the final chapter there is an end to this road. read more
Nov 10, 2014
HelghastKillzone (All reviews)
Puella Magi Madoka Magica: Rebellion is to its original twelve episodes series as to End of Evangelion was to Neon Genesis Evangelion. Both have an extensive and truly mind-blowing foundation to build upon as well as featuring an absolutely earth-shattering ending that leaves the audience feeling shell-shocked.

Veterans of the Madoka Magica TV series know that something is eerily off within moments of the movie's introduction. Given the fairly conclusive ending in the previous installment, the setting in the movie's beginning, is perfect to a fault. Characters, that should be dead, are back and everyone's is best friends with each other including read more
Dec 7, 2013
rtil (All reviews)
There's no escaping the fact that the Madoka Magica franchise is explosive. And with it comes the pressure on the creators to push out more content for the fans. After two films that covered the original series with many improvements and new footage, the first truly new piece of Madoka Magica canon has arrived in the 3rd film, titled "Rebellion".

Before I review the film, I will mention that Rebellion is not intended to be viewed without prior knowledge of the original series - it is required viewing to understand the plot, as nearly the entire story and its characters are reflections and references to the read more
Apr 4, 2014
sjack (All reviews)
This movie was disappointing. While visually and artistically stunning, I found it to be extremely lacking in the story and character department. The first two thirds of the film to me were nothing more but Shaft just masturbating in front of me for an hour with their colossal budget and overly-indulgent animation. Magical girl transformation sequence that lasted too long, overly long fight sequences with the Nightmares, with the only thing they accomplished was to vomit a barrage of non-stop god-like animation, while relatively little progression in the character development and story department occurred.

I don't want to go into any spoilers, but suffice to say, read more
Apr 22, 2014
ChargedCoin (All reviews)
Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica: Hangyaku no Monogatari - Full Review

If you have watched the original Madoka series from 2012 (which you should’ve), you would already know how good the series is, even well-known as the anime that changed the way people view the “Mahou Shoujo”, or Magical Girl Genre; filled with plot twists, good character developments and fantastic story writing. So, it seems that the Madoka series has set a pretty high bar for itself, hasn’t it? Does the movie manage to reach the same standard that it has set for itself, or does it fall short? Let’s get on with the review, shall we?

Story read more
Apr 22, 2014
aaaaddddd (All reviews)
Obviously, it does help if you've already seen either the previous two recap films or the anime itself in order to understand this story, so if you already haven't, make sure you go and give it a look, it is certainly worth your time.

I'll keep it as short as possible in my descriptions, giving you more time to get started on the film!

STORY (10/10):
An excellent piece of storytelling, filled with all the twists and turns you could ever wish for. This movie is like if The Matrix and Inception had an anime child. Yes, it's hard to get your head around it at first, and read more
Apr 10, 2014
eririri (All reviews)
It’s just another ordinary day in school; Madoka and her classmates sit in wonder and disbelief as they struggle to make sense of Saotome-sensei’s daily ramblings. On this particular day, she seems to be sermonizing about Armageddon and the Second Coming of Christ. “Ridiculous”, they must think, but little do they know that the end may well be nigh.

In a surreal land of childlike sketches and jovial colours, the viewers are greeted by ballet dancers skipping to melodious violin, a stitched-together gothic puppet with its tongue sticking out of its wide inane grin, and a rainbow gate with the words “Welcome to Cinema” carved onto read more
Mar 8, 2015
whiteteeth (All reviews)
You either love or hate Madoka, that's my conclusion after discussing this series with friends and acquaintances that have watched it too. I believe it wasn't an anime that was meant for the "magical girl" genre fanatic, but for the anime fans who love crazy visuals and stories with dark twists.

If you want to watch this movie i believe you must be the latter... but i must warn you, this story takes those two thing and drive it to and extreme, so if you don't like this kind of things you are probably going to hate the movie.

Art and animation are a big read more
May 16, 2014
czxcjx (All reviews)
…his hours of slumber were animated by extremely lively and varied dreams, which he could ponder on awaking…
- The Magic Mountain, Thomas Mann

I stand amid the roar
Of a surf-tormented shore,
And I hold within my hand
Grains of the golden sand-
How few! yet how they creep
Through my fingers to the deep,
While I weep- while I weep!
O God! can I not grasp
Them with a tighter clasp?
O God! can I not save
One from the pitiless wave?
Is all that we see or seem
But a dream within a dream?
- A Dream within a Dream, Edgar Allen Poe

You know, Goethe once described Shakespeare (to Eckermann) as a wildly overgrown tree that — for two read more
Dec 11, 2013
Olwen (All reviews)
Spoiler warning! I can't make this review without spoilers. Please don't read the review and blame me for spoilers. You've been warned.

I was pretty excited about seeing this movie at first. I figured that since the series was pretty good, I could trust the makers of the movie to not screw up. But what I did not expect was to see an incredibly boring movie that served only to ruin the great Madoka series.

Art: I think they really improved on this aspect compared to the movie series. I still have some issues with the art style--I think the characters have football heads--but other than that read more
Nov 16, 2013
ZtarWarrior (All reviews)
Sequels can be a tricky thing to pull off correctly, especially when dealing with a series whose original ending wrapped up everything nice and neatly in a way that was nearly perfect and extremely satisfying. Mahou Shoujo Madoka Movie 3: Rebellion Story seeks to add on to a story that was already intended to be over and done with, and takes the Madoka franchise in a new direction all leading up to a shocking ending that has been the subject of much controversy and debate between fans since the film's initial launch in theaters. Rebellion Story does indeed work well as a sequel, however there read more
Jun 24, 2015
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
*This review contains Major Ending Spoilers*

It's not often that a film truly defines itself not in the opening act, but in the final 30 minutes, where it takes of its mask and reveals itself for what it truly is. And not many films accomplish this well.

Madoka Rebellion is a heart-warming love story. It really is. By the time Kimi no Gin no Niwa rolled up in the ending, I was in tears at the emotional and absolutely moving ending to the film.

Really though, bar a few moments, most of the film is actually fairly standard as far as Action/Horror/Fantasy Seinen anime goes with read more
Dec 10, 2013
Detective (All reviews)
I love the Madoka franchise. I had a great time watching this film. There's a lot to scrutinize here. My 7 is a high scoring.

According to Urobuchi, "Rebellion" has nothing to do with the anime TV series. Seeing as it is, though, a sequel to the recap films it is up to debate whether this film is even canonical or not. Rebellion asks for a lot from viewers. It questions older fans by "severing" itself from the main series and develops Urobuchi's central themes in some unconventional ways. Simultaneously it begs the fanbase of the original series to follow along a confusing and often far-flung read more
May 6, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
Let's just rip this bandage off right from the get-go: I am NOT a fan of Madoka Magica in the slightest and the entire franchise makes my skin crawl for reasons I'd rather not get into at the moment. With that said, the TV series was fair enough and most importantly, it ended on a note that millions of fans found to be quite satisfying. Unfortunately, SHAFT in their infinite wisdom decided to slap on a feedbag and start milking the hell out of this franchise because it's the biggest cash cow they've had since the Monogatari series. In late 2013, SHAFT and Aniplex released read more
Dec 20, 2014
Shangetsu (All reviews)
This third and final installment in the Madoka trilogy might seems to live up to it's predecessor at first glance but in the end it is a total disappointment. This review will not be without spoilers so may whoever that read it be warned.

I'll start with the good points of this movie and will slowly bring the main problems with this movie.

Let's start off with the art. While it may not please everyone, the art has been quite faithful to the actual series. The animation is actually one of the show's strong point, some fight were actually well coordinated even though it came at the read more
Jul 18, 2014
Mnemofysh (All reviews)
Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica is easily one of my favourite anime. For that reason, I was super excited to see the third movie. My friends warned me it was confusing - I was sure it wouldn't be too bad. I ended up putting it off... Until last night. Needless to say, I was even more excited when I finally got to watch it.

Right from the start, I found it a little confusing, but that cleared up later on, more or less. I loved how I got more of Sayaka, Kyouko, Mami and even Bebe. The art was depressing, but apart from scenery it wasn't read more
Dec 9, 2013
JebusMatoi (All reviews)
Okay, so I have never been the biggest Madoka Magica fan but since this movie had alot of hype around it, I decided I would finally complete the Madoka Magica saga, and to my surprise, I found this conclusion to be.....pretty meh. Especially if you're not a fan of Akemi Homura, the girl this movie is most focused on.

The biggest part about this movie is how Madoka was finally "saved" from dispair and agony by Homura, but not the way Madoka wanted to be saved. Aside from the super-sized weirdness factor, the way they made the magical gang be more like the Mighty Morphin Power read more
Apr 29, 2017
giannis85 (All reviews)
The third Madoka movie divided many fans and critics because of its ''weird'' first act and (mostly) because of its notorious ending! There are many who deemed it inferior to the TV series, others who treat it as ''misunderstood'', and also others who call it ''completely unnecessary''!
Well, if you ask what I believe, then I think it's truly a misunderstood anime film, and for a simple reason: Rebellion isn't just equal in quality with the TV series... IS EVEN BETTER! Why? Because it's much more daring!
In the post-Evangelion anime history it's quite rare for anime/manga to be daring without the creators feared that the audience/readers read more