Top wo Nerae 2! Diebuster


Gunbuster 2

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Aim for the Top! 2, DieBuster
Japanese: トップをねらえ2!DIEBUSTER
English: Gunbuster 2
More titles

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 6
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2004 to Aug 25, 2006
Producers: Bandai Visual
Studios: Gainax
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Themes: MechaMecha, SpaceSpace
Duration: 30 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.651 (scored by 3207932,079 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #11822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2089
Members: 68,936
Favorites: 788

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 27, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
Many people will know the name of Hideaki Anno, in particular because of Neon Genesis Evangelion. His directorial debut though, was an OVA called Top wo Nerae (known as Gunbuster in the West), and whilst NGE has many, many advocates, I will admit to being one of the few who consider his debut work to be superior in almost every aspect. That said, I approached the sequel, Diebuster, with a degree of trepidation, in particular because the directorial reins had been handed over to Tsurumaki Kazuya, who also directed FLCL, NGE: Death & Rebirth, and the first two installments of the NGE remakes.

To say read more
Dec 12, 2007
Karura (All reviews)
It is important to note that this is a continuation, and as such, will be reviewed under the assumption one has seen the prequel.

Lets get down to it. Top wo Nerae! 2, alsno known as Diebuster is the indirect sequel to Top wo Nerae/Gunbuster. I enjoyed this short OVA substantially because of its presentation.

Plot
The story follows a girl called Nono who wishes to be a "Topless," which is basically an ace mech pilot to put it simply. Instead of dragging the story out with pointless episodes and scenes you often see in 26+ shows, Diebuster goes straight to the point and sticks with it. read more
May 18, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Some things need to stand alone.

Sequels are a gamble, especially when the time gap between original and sequel grows and grows. They tend to be put under more scrutiny than their predecessors, as they not only have to deal with standing tall as installments in their own right, but they need to provide merit as a sequel to a product that never needed one. The trickiest prospect involved is the anniversary sequel, as that is where you’re most likely to enact the gambit. Some projects of this nature can pay off in a way that respects the original and becomes its own product, perhaps even read more
Jan 8, 2008
pachu (All reviews)
After watching Gunbuster/Top wo Nerae! i was crazy wanting to see more of the history, and then i saw Gunbuster 2/Top wo Nerae 2! To my surprise, on the first scnenes, it appears to be totally different or not correlated to the 1st series.

Then, like the 1st series, it began popping aliens, space and kinda different mechas? Different you say? Yes, the Top wo Nerae 2! mechas look much more like the EVAs than the 1st series mechas. But on the first chapters you note that this 2nd series battles are much MORE OVERPOWERED than the 1st series.

With you think that Dragon Ball Z is read more
Nov 2, 2007
Detri (All reviews)
This is simply the best OVA, and perhaps series ever produced. Basically an alternate telling of Gunbuster, but as a parallel of sorts. The original series, from the 1980's, didn't get too much recognition until Gainax really hit mainstream with Neon Genesis Evangelion.

Diebuster, from the director of FLCL, takes a lot from that series as far as animation style, and improves upon it greatly. The six episode OVA has some of the best art and animation and just does an incredible job overall.
Jun 3, 2015
NotenSMSK (All reviews)
Top wo Nerae 2! Diebuster is a hard anime to review. Basically because it is hard to analyse it without comparing it to its prequel. However: that isn't wrong, considering it IS a sequel and it does connect with the original OVA. Furthermore, it tries to conclude with various references to Gunbuster so rather it would be futile to look at it as a stand alone work and it couldn't be appreciated without the comparison either.

Having said that - the story of Top wo Nerae 2! Diebuster isn't sublime. For one, it lets go of the realistic, more scientifically organized orientation that the first OVA read more
Sep 29, 2010
qrdel (All reviews)
"Nazenara wa.... Nonoriri is a normal girl"

Diebuster, or Gunbuster 2 or Top No Nare 2! or simply Aim for the Top 2! is one of the best attempts that GAINAX has ever made to create a short yet heart blasting show that makes you fall in love with it from the very first minute of the first episode. Not many can achieve it. Somehow, Gainax can.

The story features a robot-girl Nono who, of all things in the world, wants to become a space pilot the most. In order to do so she follows one of the top fighters - Lark, who pilots Dex Neuf - read more
May 1, 2021
YamaGucci_g00n3y (All reviews)
To sum it up, this anime is essentially Evangelion and FLCL combined into a cesspool of GAINAX cliches.

By no means is this OVA necessarily bad, but it feels contrived. GAINAX plots are notorious for being indecipherable, and unsurprisingly, this show's plot is overly elliptical in its pacing, pun intended. It does have a cohesive plot once you do some brainstorming, but like I said, there's hardly time for most viewers to weigh in to connect the dots. I found myself pausing time again to grasp what was happening.

I feel like there's always an effort on part of GAINAX loyalists read more
Mar 1, 2017
Gunhaver (All reviews)
Many people have compared Diebuster to its predecessor, Gunbuster. While it does tie-in and pays substantial homage to its prequel, I'll be reviewing it as a stand-alone work without any comparison to the quality of Gunbuster. However if you're considering watching Diebuster, watching Gunbuster beforehand is a requirement for maximum comprehension and enjoyment.

Story
To divulge the exact nature of Diebuster's plot would be doing a disservice to any potential viewer. Beyond what the synopsis says, the only thing about what happens in the plot itself goes far beyond your typical "humans vs aliens" story that's so typical. What I can say without spoiling anything is that read more
Aug 20, 2010
Parabellum25 (All reviews)
If you desire to watch this in any way, you MUST, yes MUST watch Gunbuster first. Diebuster simply will NOT be as enjoyable or as good of a work if the viewer does not have previous experience with Gunbuster. Hence, I'm going to write this review as if the viewer has already viewed the previous OVA (though I won't spoil anything from Gunbuster)

All at once, Diebuster is a sequel, a tribute, a homage, and a celebration. It's obviously a sequel to Gunbuster, but keep in mind that this OVA was animated for the 20th anniversary of Gainax. Hence, it is extremely self-referential in many ways; read more
Jun 2, 2015
czxcjx (All reviews)
Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann is actually minimalistic. At least that's what Diebuster taught me. With TTGL every background and every space is finely tuned to emphasize the actions of the characters, kind of a variation of the Shaft (at least the non stop-mo stuff) style except that its louder and more wild than stylized. The backgrounds in TTGL are always abstract, action lines, explosions and a focus on movement than space. Kill La Kill takes this to an even greater extreme by layering even more Western animation style comic transformations with all the huge letters filling the screen, emphasizing the presence of the characters and read more
Nov 25, 2009
Mliekseter (All reviews)
There are, perhaps, 3 reasons why this is my Favourite Anime. And one why it nearly isn't...
Firstly, and most importantly, I simply Love the style of it. The Animation is, in my opinion awesome. Ever watched Tengen Toppa or FLCL? Its Gainax at its best, doing those wonderful super-deformed animations that manages to maintain a very high quality of animation. Its not realistic in any sense of the word, but you still find yourself watching it and finding it so easy to understand.
Secondly, the story is a follow on to the original Gunbuster. Which, for me, somewhat set the bar for many Mecha Animes. But read more
Jul 23, 2010
Natsu_D_Luffy (All reviews)
The technical sequel of Gunbuster!!!!!! but the spiritual sequel of FLCL....

Anyway, wile Gunbuster was more of a depressing story, this one is more uplifting and "badass." I would say that it was a prequel to Gurren Lagann in ways such as style and philosophy (I mean just look at Nono).

Over all, this was a more fun show to watch compared to gunbuster and its art was definitely prettier. Also, the director of this show is about 50 million times superior to Anno, as Anno cannot direct his way out of a paper bag.
Jan 14, 2017
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)

Out of all the fears that lurk in the back of our minds, there are some that are obvious... From spiders, darkness and the unknown to more everyday occurrences like violence, death, and the constant threat of insectoid invaders from outer space. But there’s one fear that people often overlook, and it’s one that can completely consume your life... The fear of absolute solitude. Not having a past, not having a future, just being alone, with nobody to look out for you but yourself. For some people, this wouldn’t be so bad... After all, as it’s been said, there’s read more
Apr 15, 2021
redhairbanchou (All reviews)
Diebuster is also known as Gunbuster 2 - positioning itself as a sequel to the 1988 OVA series, Gunbuster, Gainax's first big hit. Indeed, it was produced as a 15th anniversary project for that series. Expect spoilers for Gunbuster - you should watch that first (it's better, anyway) - as well as minor spoilers for Diebuster itself.

Story (4/10): Set about a decade before the last scene of episode 6 of Gunbuster (and thus some 12,000 years after episode 1), Diebuster follows a robot with a profound connection to a character from Gunbuster (if you've seen that, you will know immediately who this is); more on read more
Apr 15, 2021
B3r1x (All reviews)
Top wo Nerae 2! or Diebuster, or Gunbuster 2, or Reach for the Top 2! is a mid 2000s mecha anime by Studio Gainax, well known for producing Neon Genesis Evangelion, Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, and also other shows which I haven't seen.

I have however seen Gunbuster, and it was better than Diebuster.

That's the entire review. Watch Gunbuster instead.

Kidding.

Diebuster is a very average mecha anime, at least in my eyes. Let's start with the good.

The art has some very good moments, especially in the later episodes, though character designs fall a little flat for me.

Sound is fine- nothing is especially memorable, and the OP and read more
Sep 1, 2014
Loopyfish (All reviews)
To me, the difference between a good and a great anime is usually the ending.

After seeing the first OVA series, Gunbuster, the ending to diebuster created overwhelming amounts of satisfaction and sense of fulfillment - this is not an ordinary occurrence in alot of anime.

Please, do yourselves a favor and even if you cannot bare to watch an old anime, from 1989, bare with it and watch the original gunbuster to the end before you watch this.

In terms of overall anime quality; it seems like you average, overpowered mech anime, such as tengen toppa.

I never imagined i'd write a review for this when i started read more
May 5, 2020
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Diebuster serves as a sequel to Gainax’s classic mecha series, Gunbuster, that is set thousands of years following the events of Gunbuster. Focused on a seemingly clutzy teenage girl named Nono, she aspires to become a space pilot and comes to idolize Lal’C Mellk Mal, a girl around Nono’s age who is the pilot of the Buster Machine mecha known as Dix-Neuf. Lal’C is part of the Fraternity, a group of teen mecha pilots called Topless who each have their own Buster Machines used to combat a mysterious space monster threatening humanity’s expansion into space. As Nono interacts with Lal’C and the Fraternity, she comes read more
May 9, 2018
Kanudelgruber (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Diebuster was a disappointment.

I enjoyed Gunbuster very much. It's one of my favorite anime ever. Going into Diebuster, I wasn't sure what to expect, but right from the beginning, something seemed off. I wanted to enjoy this series, but it just didn't appeal to me at all. This series has practically nothing to do with Gunbuster. In fact, I would go as far as to say that this series' story goes directly against the themes of Gunbuster. The only connections to Gunbuster for a majority of the series are just shallow references to the original.

"Hey, remember in episode 2 of Gunbuster when read more
Mar 25, 2018
JigsawStitches (All reviews)
Long story short: Another series with amazing animation, action, and visual design tainted by Gainax being Gainax. This series would be a solid 8 or even a 9, but the bare-bones plot, mostly forgettable characters, absurd plethora of fanservice and uncomfortable exploitation of the female lead leave a sour taste in your mouth. Otherwise this could have been the best thing Gainax ever did. In some ways it's much better than Gunbuster but in others even more frustrating.

--------------

Story: As I said, it's pretty bare plot. Nono wants to become a space pilot because her hero was one. She meets Lal'C, a "Topless" who has a read more