Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Yokohama Shopping Log, Yokohama Shopping Trip, Touge
Japanese: ヨコハマ買い出し紀行
French: Escale à Yokohama
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 14
Chapters: 142
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 25, 1994 to Feb 25, 2006
Genres: Drama Drama, Sci-Fi Sci-Fi, Slice of Life Slice of Life
Demographic: Seinen Seinen
Serialization: Afternoon
Authors: Ashinano, Hitoshi (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.721 (scored by 1442014,420 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #422
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #207
Members: 54,811
Favorites: 4,130

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 13, 2008
TheCriticsClub (All reviews)
Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou (abbreviated to YKK outside Japan) is an example of the proverbial “diamond in the coal mine”. Written and drawn by Ashinano Hitoshi, the manga was serialized in Kodansha's [b]Afternoon[/b] magazine for almost 12 years, and has gathered a number of devoted fans around the world despite the lack of licensed English translations. This comes as no surprise since it is one of the few series which deserves to be treated as a works of literature rather than of pop culture. YKK is a testament to the true potential of manga and the series is recognized as such, having been deemed worthy of read more
Jul 18, 2007
Yuunagi (All reviews)
"This gentle calm and quiet is the twilight of an era.
I will probably watch the passing of this twilight age."


Content:
The stories featured in YKK are mostly light and melancholy. Readers who are used to action, sex, fanservice, violence, and/or intense drama would either be A) disappointed, or B) surprised that stories without the said elements could possibly exist and still be enjoyable.

YKK is characterized by mono no aware, a Japanese concept that describes beauty as an awareness of the transience of all things, and a gentle sadness at their passing. Entertaining old customers in a coffee shop, riding through desolate roads on a scooter, reminiscing read more
Jul 27, 2013
lpf (All reviews)
As the sea assaults continents, slowly but surely, humanity is declining. Telecommunication is no more. Government gave way to local organisation. Quietly witnessing this apocalypse unfold, humans are living peacefully.

Among the many ways fiction depicts apocalypse, "peacefully" is uncommon. We like to think of the world ending in brutal, dramatic and lightning fast ways. Of humans against their fate struggling. But the end of the world in this manga is gradual, slow enough to give mankind the time to accept his fate, sit back, and enjoy the last hour of his age. Whatever will be will be – the die is long cast.

So unfolds the read more
Jan 7, 2017
Kns- (All reviews)
"The festival like world, had slowly settled to a leisurely pace. To think that an era... came to its twilight so pleasantly. I think i will continue... watching this twilight world...as long as time flows".

Nothing remains motionless; all - whether quickly or quietly - moving, mutating, turning, hesitating between being and non-being.
The world is conceived as a single stream, eternal emergence and disappearance: some things go away, others come; some blossom, others wither and dry up; some become stronger, others weaken; The wet dries, the dry moistens; some things are created, formed, others are destroyed. Formed with time again transformed. Everything gradually passes from one read more
Aug 8, 2010
galadriel_832 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was shocked and disappointed after I decided to pick YKK up after checking it had nothing but 10 reviews. So here comes a balancing effect, observations of one of the few who do not consider it a masterpiece.

This manga is a lot like some children's TV program about "what the Teddy Bear did today".

Sure it's "pleasant" to read but that's about where it's good aspects end.

There doesn't seem to be any kind of real continuing story, except "life, which goes on" which hardly is sufficient for a "masterpiece".

We are presented with very haphazardly explained new technology - one might even say, perfectly justifiable, read more
Nov 27, 2011
TrenchKamen (All reviews)
It is a brilliant stroke to tell a story about transience through immortal cyborgs. Maybe many Westerners would even find that counterintuitive, because transience--more specifically, mono no aware, the nuances of which I will not belabor here, but if you are not familiar, look it up, it's a treat--is a particularly Japanese literary theme, and most Western works focus only on the rapid change the future brings. But there is a constant in that, change and transience, and though we have the saying "the only constant in life is change", I don't think Americans have come to understand that paradox fully. It's given token observance read more
Sep 12, 2020
Krunchyman (All reviews)
“The spaces between the lines on a page epitomize the bulk of your life… but oh does that not make for a banal narrative?” — Krunchyman

Has Hayao Miyazaki and Isao Takahata taught us nothing about the art of slice-of-life? Over the years, I have entertained a myriad of the aforementioned genre in hopes of finding a relative facsimile of the famed Studio Ghibili. Shows like Mushishi, Haibane Renmei, A Whisker Away and A Silent Voice have been nothing short of utter disappointments and have soured my tastes for the genre. Even the preordained replacement of Miyazaki, Mamoru Hosoda, feels like an extremely read more
Sep 10, 2008
Maltovski (All reviews)
First of all, I’m going to start off by saying that I think YKK is amazing. Not just amazing. Absolute genius. It possibly the most thoughtful, beautiful, and well crafted story of any manga. It takes real skill to create an interesting manga, essentially, about several people living their 'run-of-the-mill' everyday lives. From something as simple as a friend visiting, or going to the beach, its creator, Ashinano, crafts a wonderful, detailed story with equally as beautiful art to match.

I'm not going to bother going through a detailed synopsis, but basically, YKK follows Alpha, a robot looking after a coffee shop for her owner who read more
May 4, 2010
Sjiveru (All reviews)
Reading YKK always puts me in a strange mood. Often reading seems to be the only way to trigger this mood in modern American society. Reading YKK makes me want to sit back and appreciate things, rather than just going through life doing what I've always been doing. Whenever I'm forced to take a break, I always have an impulse to go for a long walk - even though I know that as soon as I get back in I will die from allergies (I live in Austin, TX, in all seriousness a contender for "Allergy Capital of the US"). The only reason I read more
Sep 18, 2015
YoungVagabond (All reviews)
I signed up to MyAnimeList in July 2008, and read YKK within a year. At that time, it was rated around a 9 and perennially ranked in the top 5 manga, including a stint at #1. Now, 6+ years later, it's rated 8.67 and #48, while Akira is in the top 25, a JoJo series is in the top 10, and two Urasawa manga are in the top 6.

In other words, good job, manga MAL readers!

YKK is about a young woman, Alpha Hatsuseno, who owns a small coffee shop in rural Japan and runs errands on a motorized scooter. read more
Aug 4, 2016
TimeStopSamurai (All reviews)
Preliminary
Like a mighty phoenix I rise from the flames to bring you this review. Like a good neighbor Time Stop Samurai is here with a brand new review. When you think about overrated garbage what comes to your mind? Aria the Origination? Monogatari? Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso? When I see the phrase one title rises above the rest, Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou (YKK) or as its known in English Yokohama Shopping Log. YKK as I will be calling it, is an ephemeral slogfest that tries to be deep while being a thinly coated moe pandering slice of where nothing happens. This show panders to read more
Oct 21, 2008
StarfleetCpt (All reviews)
Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou is one of those works that just comes along and doesn't manage to gather a huge fanbase, but the cult following it does gather will remember this story for a lifetime. It's simply outstanding, and manages to carry a story larger than its obstensibly slice-of-life tone with just enough subtle hints to carry it into the realm of mystery and science fiction.

Story: 10 (Outstanding)

The story is about Alpha Hatsusueno, an unusual young woman living in the outskirts of Yokohama, Japan. After a brief conversation with Ojisan, her closest neighbor, we quickly discover that this sometime-in-the-future Yokohama has been wiped out by rising read more
Jun 17, 2011
reluctantbeeswax (All reviews)
YKK is a manga that revolves around a female robot named Alpha who lives in a far-fetched, but peaceful japan. To start off, YKK was a 90s manga, so a lot of the clothes style and technology are 90s and surprisingly haven't changed much over it's 12 years run. The plot is simple, Alpha a robot who runs cafe and gets occasional customers, and seems to live life in the moment. Some people dropped YKK because they didn't find the story engaging enough or it was too boring. Personally I think that YKK is a soothing, very laid-back and has a nostalgic feel with mysterious read more
Dec 11, 2020
suflors (All reviews)
A gentle breeze blows past, the overgrown grass seeming to dance through it, you can near taste the saltiness of the sea. You're heading towards Cafe Alpha, a lonely, quiet cafe on a cliff overlooking a small beach. You know that on a quiet day like today, you'll be the only visitor. Alpha will take your order, and sit with you while you drink your coffee, talking to you about anything, everything, laughing, getting mad, and maybe after a while she'll just start staring off into space, deep in thought. It's hard to believe that she's a robot, with the way she moves and acts, read more
Apr 14, 2012
As3d (All reviews)
It is the time when the whole world, which
had been like a festival, slowly calmed
down. Here is an introduction to the gentle
time called The Age of the Calm Evening..

Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou, one of the simplest manga you may see, I encouraged to write this review after reading the Epilogue chapter (I didn't do that before ). Yes, it's 14 volumes but the simple story and details made this looks like 5 volumes manga, but it has its own charm, YKK's story is Post-Apocalyptic while the life is changed after rising the sea level, and the population is reduced, there was a lot of new animals, read more
May 15, 2021
aaoi_ (All reviews)
Many people run through the rushes and tandem of life, escaping into fantasies about how their lives ought to be. "I'll quit my shitty job", they'll say. "I'll start this or that project", they'll say. Whether they will or won't is irrelevant, but they most often don't; the tidings of time wearing any will and ambition they had left until they have come to tolerate living more than truly embrace it - life becomes but an alternative to death.

Yokohama Kaidashi Kaikou to me is a similar escape, both before and after this manga entered my life I had fantasized of a similar existence. A quiet read more
Jul 27, 2018
pluvia33 (All reviews)
Let me start by putting this out there: Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou is not only my favorite manga ever, it is my second favorite overall work of entertainment after the Suzumiya Haruhi series. So this will be a rather glowing review. However, I will do my best to express why I consider this to be an absolute masterpiece and talk about a few aspects which may prevent others from feeling the same way.

Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou is an award winning manga by Hitoshi Ashinano. The series follows Alpha, an android who runs a café by herself, as she goes about her daily life and explores a beautifully read more
Aug 24, 2021
Plucaptain (All reviews)
This is my first review so don't judge, but I saw some absolute bellends giving this masterpiece hate so I had to do something.

Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou is a masterpiece (hence the straight 10's). as long as you like slice of life, you have to read this. It's an extremely bittersweet story, taking place in the twilight years of humanity, I believe that "mono no aware" describes it YKK perfectly. Translated to "the pathos of things", mono no aware is the awareness of impertinence and time passing (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mono_no_aware).

Story 10:

The premise is pretty simple, the eruption of mt. Fuji led to flooding of Japan (and read more
Feb 17, 2021
jeremypascal (All reviews)
The waves find their way past the shining streetlights and crash onto the eroding street. There's someone watching, a figure made to look, act and feel human. Here she stands, taking in this beautiful sight. There's no hurry, she's already closed her shop. There probably wouldn't be any customers anyway...

This is the setting of Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou (YKK), a calm beautiful and post apocalyptic slice of life manga.

Story(10/10): YKK is the journey of Alpha Hatsuseno, a human like robot, through the "twilight age of humanity". Human civilization is in decline. Sea levels have risen and once big cities became small towns or were abandoned completely. read more
Nov 23, 2019
SpinachGreen (All reviews)
Yokohama shopping trip is truly the best slice of life manga out. Told through the lens of Alpha, an undying android, it's set in a post apocalyptic japan where the sea level has risen (and continues to rise), flooding cities and roads. There aren't many people left but those who do group together in tight-knit communities.
Our main character, Alpha, runs a remote cafe on the coast. She gets few visitors and she waits for the return of her mysterious master. Her origins are unclear and very little is revealed as the manga progresses.

The setting and characters are unique and enjoyable - Seeing the read more